one more time ("illegal tint") define...

x2bord

Postby x2bord » September 12th, 2009, 11:30 pm

:shock: :shock: Well I never hear fvckin sheit so.... $2000 for tint in ur car?? WTF! My car tinted 20% for over 3 yrs now, and I ain't payin no $2000 if they cetch me. The most ah go do is pull out meh tint. Ah will fight that in court FOR SURE since they DON'T have a tint meter or any stipulated illegal tint density. Btw good work noiz toys for highlighting the issue on papers.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 13th, 2009, 4:56 am

i wash my cefiro twice a month, have stained up dirty ole 15 inch rims,
one of the fogs have water in it,
but on the inside there was a $60000 audio system that no one knew off when the car was completely tinted. No one suspected that the vehicle would bear that on the inside.
Vehicle was safe

Within 2 weeks after having to lessen the tint level in the car, even the female hospital attendants where i work was asking questions about all that music.

Then came along the robbers.

thats the only purpose i used tint for.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 13th, 2009, 5:00 am

noyztoyz wrote:
1) We live in the tropics in a changing climate where I in my 20% tinted vehicle fully air-conditioned have problems dealing with the heat.
Its going to get a lot worse now. Also there stands the harmful cancerous effects of UV radiation which me and my little kids in the car seats in the back will be forced to accept now.

you should get your a/c checked........I drove a car with NO tint and a glass sunroof for a year and had no issue with heat or the a/c struggling.......do a search and you will find virtually clear tints that still keep your car cool.....and there are security films to deal with bandits...........in any event, the argument about tint deterring bandits is a weak one.......ppl with heavily tinted cars get their windows smashed too......

with security films to deal with bandits, at the end of the day you will still have to be replacing glass and that expensive film on your door window once they try the first time.
And if they try and fail the first time, i bet an ovary that they will come back again. Too much easy money and no repercussions involved.

I have no problems with heat and UV radiation i just raised that point to show the many possible injustices that the new tint laws serve, got that idea from reading this tred also.

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2009, 9:43 am

the injustice is sitting in traffic trying to listen to my Kenny G when 60k audio kangkalanks decide to crack open their audio........u know expensive it is to replace fillings when they rattle loose????

Postby Hook » September 13th, 2009, 10:26 am

*car passes playing Busy Signal's "One More Night"...the bass disappears and only comes in at the low part of the line...there are no women in the car*

yeh.....those guys.....

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » September 13th, 2009, 11:12 am

I still find it hard to understand how having tint is more of a serious crime than someone driving down the shoulder and putting lives at risk?
Does a broken lens on your light mean the light is not working or illegal (even if the light is working)?
What really are illegal lights if no definition is made to the public, I can understand after-market add-ons, but what about the running lights that come with most newer model cars now? Most of these are running lights, the rally guys know what real fog lights are.

Does the law allow changes to the fines without change to the law itself? maybe a legal person can help with this? I know the minister was looking for ways to provide an income to help off set the expenditure of the budget, but the fines are not the way. There has to be other things, why not take away or lower benefits for ministers and those high up in the ministries and government offices, (they are their to serve the people not to gain what the general public can't), this way you can add triple amount of income at inset to help with the expenditure.

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2009, 11:35 am

ppl the tinit exercise that was done for the summith will be repeated from Oct 1st eh.

CHMOG...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2009, 12:44 pm

noyztoyz wrote:but on the inside there was a $60000 audio system that no one knew off when the car was completely tinted. No one suspected that the vehicle would bear that on the inside.
Vehicle was safe

thats the only purpose i used tint for.

Must be one hell of a great sound q system.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 13th, 2009, 3:38 pm

ppl the tinit exercise that was done for the summith will be repeated from Oct 1st eh.

CHMOG..

Correct is right. In fact I'm surprised it hasn't started already. :?

Brace yourself for popo stopping you for all sorts of stupdity, including the illegal "fogs" (that would have been on your car when licensed).

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » September 13th, 2009, 3:53 pm

After reading the various threads we just debating amongs our selves about the tints.

One man done get ah stupid response from the transport authority via a letter.

The comissioner of police at one time say all tint in police vehicles illegal and must be removed. Initally they started this but has stopped now.

As I tell people the budget was to raise quick money to facillate the govt quick spending. It is easier to catch and charge a man with dark tint than to run down a man who break a red light.

Is known the govt doing things and getting away with it and lots of licnease and police officiers will take advantage of this.

Which one more serious or harmful , running a red light or driving with dark tint?

Why not we come together and hire a layer to fight about this ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 13th, 2009, 4:11 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:After reading the various threads we just debating amongs our selves about the tints.

One man done get ah stupid response from the transport authority via a letter.

The comissioner of police at one time say all tint in police vehicles illegal and must be removed. Initally they started this but has stopped now.

As I tell people the budget was to raise quick money to facillate the govt quick spending. It is easier to catch and charge a man with dark tint than to run down a man who break a red light.

Is known the govt doing things and getting away with it and lots of licnease and police officiers will take advantage of this.

Which one more serious or harmful , running a red light or driving with dark tint?

Why not we come together and hire a layer to fight about this ?

Lawyers not going to be told rip off dark tint, remember how dark the Human Rights king glass on his land cruiser was when someone busted it out

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2009, 4:27 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Lawyers not going to be told rip off dark tint, remember how dark the Human Rights king glass on his land cruiser was when someone busted it out

you think they will ask for their call card first before asking them to rip it off?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » September 13th, 2009, 6:14 pm

as isay lets come together and hire a good layer to advise us on this.

My car has factory tint but i repaced my windscreen bacause of a crack.

I dropped my car by a tintshop to put on the piece for the front and picked up the car after dark.
next day in light i notice this front piece is dark so its a matter of time before i may have to pull it out.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 13th, 2009, 6:18 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

you think they will ask for their call card first before asking them to rip it off?

how many lawyers drive b12,13,14,15

My 20% on for a few years with dark grey interior with no issues, Mr. Cato has no problem with it either so if anyone tries to strip it one call is all it takes

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2009, 6:59 pm

2 questions.

1 is there a fine for tint at present ?

2. Does the 2k fine outlined in the budget have to be enacted (passed as a law) for it to be effected ?

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2009, 7:03 pm

Hook wrote:*car passes playing Busy Signal's "One More Night"...the bass disappears and only comes in at the low part of the line...there are no women in the car*

yeh.....those guys.....

yeah, dey does be like 'Phil who?????' :?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 13th, 2009, 7:29 pm

Greypatch wrote:2 questions.

1 is there a fine for tint at present ?

2. Does the 2k fine outlined in the budget have to be enacted (passed as a law) for it to be effected ?

1 no
2 it have to be amended into the motor vehicles act but first it have to be passed in the lower house,then the senate then proclaimed by the president
i hope is so yes

Postby Greypatch » September 13th, 2009, 7:33 pm

thanks man....

so at present a licence officer is the only person to determine same ?

police cannot make u take off tint..but they can impound same and then you go to a judge the next day

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » September 13th, 2009, 8:09 pm

i willing to help finance a lawyer to fight this case for us if it does get bad.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 13th, 2009, 10:05 pm

^^THat's because this administration uses a "strong arm"...albeit misdirected.....tactic toward "solving crime" / dealing with the issues. And they "fling" resources at something/a "problem", with no planning.

In this case, it's dealing with road accidents, and road/traffic violations...........

Solution? Show d population d popo wukking by putting plenty roadblock.

They can't catch any REAL criminals, only the ones that drive up to them.

A more proactive solution would have been radar - speed traps? MOre police to ticket shoulder drivers on a morning? Monitoring the oh-so-plentiful cameras on the E/W highways for shoulder drivers and recklessness? Can't they use the cameras to see the taxidrivers and others that continue to break red lights at high speeds on said locations? No. Even a simple Clarification of the flippin MVA rules on tint?

....but no. That'd be too difficult

Just "throw" resources at something and hope it works...no forethought, and no concern for the population in general.

Postby shogun » September 13th, 2009, 10:51 pm

Whats even funnier,i actually called the traffic branch of the police last week and the guy actually was there agreeing with me in that they did things back to front,actually saying he doesn't know why they enacted the "illegal tint" crackdown without having some kind of standards to go by first and that it's too subjective.So you have to wonder what kind of jokers we have "protecting" us if they couldn't even get something relatively easy as tint regulations right...the only thing i could come up with is (1) they know they are failing at solving crime or at any kind of intelligence gathering,so they are desperately grasping at anything to appear to be doing something... or(2) use some tactic{in this case tint} to deflect attention to the public and make us feel partly responsible for them not being able to properly deal with crime "the tint thing makin' it harder to solve crime boy!"...but i want to see what excuse they'll come with when/if ALL the tint is gone and the crime rate remains high....bunch of faukin' retards!

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2009, 8:25 am

shogun did he offer any advice on how to deal with the current situation ?

Postby Greypatch » September 14th, 2009, 8:28 am

I believe this has to be followed up by

Civil Society
TAA
All Automotive interest groups
The opposition

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:here is a letter from the Transport Commissioner defining the "legal density" of tint

here is the resulting letter back from the TAA sent out to the media for publishing

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 14th, 2009, 8:31 am

HAS it EVER been proven that TINT is a cause or motivator for CRIMINAL activity???

forkign DOTISH trinidadian authorities!

x2bord

Postby x2bord » September 15th, 2009, 11:12 pm

I know it's a matter of time I may get "strip" down. For the past two Fridays in Sangre Grande, exercises have been conducted by droves of police officers @ the evening hrs, stripping ppl of their tints... even 35% WTF!. I passed through unnoticed... lucky to get by (with my 20%) whilst they were busily attending to their "victims". I am avoiding that place on Fridays now :shock:
Believe me, don't pass by them when the sky is overcast, somehow the tint looks darker and ur sure to get stripped. So much unnecessary killingz all over d place, (massacres goin on dese days!) and the police don't WANT to catch dem criminals!! but wen man put ah lil tint on he vehicle ( 35%!) HE is d biggest criminal cuz he do somethin illegal!!!. Y Tishiera eh haul she......... steups. She is d cauze... :evil: