Discuss this why did this car score the highest in SQC

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 9th, 2008, 3:35 pm

I really hope I get some high numbers with this stuff :)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2008, 4:42 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:mods - i feel d last page & some of this page where d topic rail roaded shud be deleted ........

clean up on isle 5 .....
:)

Lance

Postby Lance » December 9th, 2008, 6:32 pm

We have a pair of X-program 5 1/4'' for sale

Postby SR » December 9th, 2008, 8:45 pm

and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » December 9th, 2008, 8:58 pm

nigel x4 and sr x6 i spoke to the man with the primera and he admitted he didn't know that car ausio was the way to go...it sounded way better

Racegod

Postby Racegod » December 9th, 2008, 11:48 pm

SR wrote:and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

oh the horror :( ...

move dem b!tches who dont want the equipment to another cate! men like me would really put that kinda thing to use! :oops:

Sully

Postby Sully » December 10th, 2008, 6:24 am

I wasn't aware that the primera competed in all of those competitions. I was there when he had the SQ/QPL install, but didn't know that the car was built for gallery as well.

As for dj Q, to each his own, just make sure your goals are S.M.A.R.T, with emphasis on the A.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 10th, 2008, 6:41 am

DJ Q, you seem to be thinking like me in my early days when I just got into the hobby.
You can be a top installer and tuner, but at the end of the day, pro audio speakers just DO NOT have what it takes to reproduce music as accurately as the SQ oriented car audio brands.

But... say what if you want to try it, more power to you.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 10th, 2008, 7:25 am

why not, right?
i have the equipment already so i'll try a lil sumn sumn

just make sure your goals are S.M.A.R.T

please explain

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 8:02 am

jeff wrote:a rookie install, lets use 1 of the rookies install from earlier on this season

1 pair componenets up front ~ 1200
1 4 chanell amp ~ 1500
headunit ~ 1500
10 " 306 in box ~ 600
3 way cross ~500
wiring etc ~300

total system for sq rookie = 5600
your rookie spl system = 8500

I didnt know man could use pioneer subs in sq, I guess it just backs up what I say when I use the 95% install %5 equipment quote.

I saw sully said that hardly more than a 10" is used. this is my problem with respect to compeating in sq, I like the deep bass from a 15" . :oops:

im still undecided of where I want to be with respect to spl & sq, I like good quality sounding audio for daily use (not too loud) so sq is an option but I like it loud enough sometimes for the bar lime on a weekend so I want a bit of a gallery system too. this is the main reason why I'm looking into an adjustable enclosure port, adjust port length & hpf to suit for bar lime & daily use & have my pro audio dj speakers on stand by for the bar lime & my component speakers permanantly installed for everyday use.
spl is not really my thing because as said a few times in this thread, a true spl system is only for a few seconds use & true spl systems are not for daily music playback.

what can you guys advice me on? (sorry to spam but I made my contribution already, I believe the s2000 got its score because it used good quality equpiment & the fact of it having less equipment means that it is less complicated to tune or as sr "less things to go wrong".)

casper

Postby casper » December 10th, 2008, 8:08 am

-bushman- wrote:
jeff wrote:a rookie install, lets use 1 of the rookies install from earlier on this season

1 pair componenets up front ~ 1200
1 4 chanell amp ~ 1500
headunit ~ 1500
10 " 306 in box ~ 600
3 way cross ~500
wiring etc ~300

total system for sq rookie = 5600
your rookie spl system = 8500

I didnt know man could use pioneer subs in sq, I guess it just backs up what I say when I use the 95% install %5 equipment quote.

I saw sully said that hardly more than a 10" is used. this is my problem with respect to compeating in sq, I like the deep bass from a 15" . :oops:

u never heard jeff's install or wat???

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 8:09 am

no :oops:

I have a lot to learn before I make my moves yet.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 10th, 2008, 8:12 am

Guys don't misunderstand the "less equiment = less things to tune".

With this system, there is almost nothing to tune. Gains on the amp, maybe? hpf and lpf also on the amp, possibly? 3 band eq on the hu iirc? phase adjustment on the sub?

The tuning of this car is all in the install. How can you tune with install?

That's your homework for the weekend ladies and gentlemen.

casper

Postby casper » December 10th, 2008, 8:18 am

nigel1977 wrote:

^^^speaker placement and phasing???

Postby SR » December 10th, 2008, 8:24 am

nigel1977 wrote:Guys don't misunderstand the "less equiment = less things to tune".

With this system, there is almost nothing to tune. Gains on the amp, maybe? hpf and lpf also on the amp, possibly? 3 band eq on the hu iirc? phase adjustment on the sub?

95 % correct

i will comment after i see peoples "homework" reports :)

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 8:30 am

nigel1977 wrote:Guys don't misunderstand the "less equiment = less things to tune".

I assume its just that you send the full frequency range (no modifications or adjustments to change the response curve if thats what you guys call it) to the amps & just adjust the hpf & lpf's on the amps to acquire what bandwidth you want to send to the speakers.
also placement of the speakers is also a factor.
is this what you mean when you say "tuning with install"?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 10th, 2008, 9:01 am

Staging, imaging, time correction, etc.

Am i right?

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » December 10th, 2008, 10:01 am

Racegod wrote:
SR wrote:and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

oh the horror :( ...

move dem b!tches who dont want the equipment to another cate! men like me would really put that kinda thing to use! :oops:

I doh understand what the problem is we both competed in the same category and i won a pair of speakers, Now the speakers are mines and i could do what i want to them.

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 10:23 am

wait, wait, wait....... man does win speakers & thing?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 10th, 2008, 11:37 am

Just a guess as to tuning with install...

Angulation of speakers esp tweeters, playing with the level controls on the passives, sound damping the doors for midbasses, phase control for subwoofer, mounting subwoofer to the chassis for the sweet low end, decoupling of the speakers from chassis, using the loudness and Eq on the head unit and well the xovers on the deck.

Thas all i can think of really.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 10th, 2008, 11:41 am

nigel1977 wrote:^^^Also not trying to argue, do you prefer to drop around 10 k on a sub, enclosure, amp, wiring, batteries, deck to do 30 second spl as opposed to have a sound quality system you can enjoy 100% of the time?

Boy I find this going through my head everytime Im sitting in the SPL lanes...I mean the coaxils are nice but I want the height like in uncle wagon.. Or maybe I could get the feel like in jeff van...Then I hear shammer voice saying I take 4th in the world.....Yippee :|

casper

Postby casper » December 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
nigel1977 wrote:^^^Also not trying to argue, do you prefer to drop around 10 k on a sub, enclosure, amp, wiring, batteries, deck to do 30 second spl as opposed to have a sound quality system you can enjoy 100% of the time?

Boy I find this going through my head everytime Im sitting in the SPL lanes...I mean the coaxils are nice but I want the height like in uncle wagon.. Or maybe I could get the feel like in jeff van...Then I hear shammer voice saying I take 4th in the world.....Yippee :|

dilemma

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 10th, 2008, 12:18 pm

playing with the level controls on the passives,

John what you mean by that?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 10th, 2008, 12:36 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:playing with the level controls on the passives,

some passive crossovers have tweeter attenuation positions , and you adjust the level of the tweeters to suit!

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 12:37 pm

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 10th, 2008, 1:14 pm

-bushman- wrote:

Intruder.. i mean bushman learn to read na :roll:
i highly doubt there will be any sponsoring of speakers now

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 1:19 pm

it real hurting me here now, if I had known that all along eh, I thought all man used to get was a trophy.

but as sr no longer sponsering does that mean no one else ever sponsers?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 10th, 2008, 1:20 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:playing with the level controls on the passives,

some passive crossovers have tweeter attenuation positions , and you adjust the level of the tweeters to suit!

passive xovers have adjustments :shock:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 10th, 2008, 1:22 pm

Yup. Some passives have real flexibility in them! Not all tho.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 10th, 2008, 1:26 pm

-bushman- wrote:^^^

it real hurting me here now, if I had known that all along eh, I thought all man used to get was a trophy.

but as sr no longer sponsering does that mean no one else ever sponsers?

highly doubt it, if i had gotten them i wudve atleast tried them out or competed with the set in my doors as it cost more than twice what i paid for my comps i competed with