Well I test drove the new Navara ...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2008, 6:48 am

venum wrote:would it have been better if I said Primera :?:

:twisted:

Primera?.....I think I'm familiar with those cars....is that a Nissan too? :lol:

Go Slow I passed in McEarney yesterday and asked specifically about the 3.0 Manual Ranger. The sales guy simple said he dosn't know if or when they will bring another batch.

I also, asked if the Manual Hurricane Model (the 2.5L) is coming with the common rail engine and he said that it is ONLY with the automatic version. They had one in the showroom and I popped the bonnet to see for myself and yes there was a WL engine in there.

So as it is right now, you only get the common rail with automatics....unless they decide to import manual models with them.

venum

Postby venum » October 15th, 2008, 7:53 am

Stuck I feel, just for kicks, I gonna arrange a test drive from SSL of the 2.5L

I need to test on a second one

the one we drove was governed according to TL

Mr. Go Slow, the 2.5l (4AJ1 engine) is a direct injection fuel system

the 3.0L (4JJ1 engine) is common rail and Auto only
Last edited by venum on October 16th, 2008, 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 15th, 2008, 9:41 am

Ok off to test the new BT-50 in a bit .... Will update at lunch time.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 15th, 2008, 12:32 pm

OK I am feeling the mazda! I like the style, the ride and handling, very decent, the power was adequate and the price is (one of the few) under 200K.

For direct comparisons to the Navara, the Mazda is smaller = a lot more manageable.

The Navara has more power, but the Mazda has a much better spread of power ... The power band on the Navara seems to last only between 3000 - 4500 rpm, which passes ... like that ... lol. A lot of it, yes, but a very narrow delivery ... The mazda seems to pull evenly throughout, not strong like the Navara, but consistent.

I actually felt like I was shifting unnecessarily quickly on the Navara, I'm thinking because the power is so strong and so high up in the powerband (for a diesel - 4000 rpm according to google) that by the time power hit, it's time to shift ... wasn't the 'funnest' thing with the shorter gearing from 1st to 3rd.

The LOCAL Navaras don't come with an LSD?? WTF?? WTF?? That's a big deal ... Planning to go on some diesel boys runs and have fun off road, no LSD = asking for a tow ... a lot ...

Both have a decent ride and handle well, so can't complain there about either one.

Both are stylish, but I'd give the slight edge to the Navara for being the manly man's pick.

Not feeling the D-Max honestly, so Toyota for it tomorrow! I'm eyeballing the 3.0 but that a lot of $$$, but we'll see ...

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » October 15th, 2008, 1:14 pm

Venum - thaz a plan

Mr. Go Slow - just tell us what youthink of the van after yuh test drive it nah ..

btw - urbandictionary.com - donkey punch : i really doh tink youwanna be doing that buddy ... :|

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 15th, 2008, 2:54 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:The Navara has more power, but the Mazda has a much better spread of power ... The power band on the Navara seems to last only between 3000 - 4500 rpm, which passes ... like that ... lol. A lot of it, yes, but a very narrow delivery ... The mazda seems to pull evenly throughout, not strong like the Navara, but consistent.

I actually felt like I was shifting unnecessarily quickly on the Navara, I'm thinking because the power is so strong and so high up in the powerband (for a diesel - 4000 rpm according to google) that by the time power hit, it's time to shift ... wasn't the 'funnest' thing with the shorter gearing from 1st to 3rd.

strange, my PB is from 2500 to 4000 rpm......cant be different for the Auto. :?

like how you keeping us informed man....keep it up! 8-)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 16th, 2008, 8:38 pm

biggy82 wrote:strange, my PB is from 2500 to 4000 rpm......cant be different for the Auto. :?

like how you keeping us informed man....keep it up! 8-)

Actually ... IT can be quite a bit different, remember the manual is a six speed, so the gearing is different = shorter and the power delivery is improved, so shorter gearing + more power = faster shifts once power hits.

Glad you like the reviews, I'm gonna keep 'em coming till I buy something

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 16th, 2008, 8:53 pm

Ok so the 3.0 diesel manual from Toyota ...

Nice looking truck. Very maneuverable, shifter/clutch is decent, power was nice, with a broad spread of torque, however, it didn't seem quick or powerful ... My review of the power = 'meh'.

Truly the Only truck that made me feel like I was in something with brute force was the 1st Navara I drove (the second one was 'meh' as well) ... The 2.5l Mazda and 3.0l Hilux and 2.5l common rail ranger were all decent, adequate ... nothing special.

The underpowered award goes to the 2.5l Toyota which definitely feels lazy.

The ride of the 3.0l Lux was nice, build quality in the 3.0 guise (door slam test and such) was fine, frankly all the trucks felt sold and quality built. If I had to pick nits, the Navara could fell a bit 'truckish' and jittery on broken pavement.

The 3.0 Lux also comes with dual airbags and LSD.

It's is a solid offering, didn't get to throw it into any high speed corners to feel the 'tippyness' so can't comment on that. Short test, as demo vehicles are practically non-existent.

Overall, it's decent, but for me, it's not worth 30K more than the Mazda / Ranger offerings.

Current price is 224K ... The facelift models are roughly 12K more for the manual and the auto will be about 265K !!?? Wow, that's alot!

However the facelift models (top tier 3.0 auto) will be coming with stability control (much needed from what I hear about Hilux handling).

Will try to get an L200 test tomorrow.

venum

Postby venum » October 17th, 2008, 8:04 am

Good info man

keep it coming

awaiting teh L200 test

Postby wagon r » October 17th, 2008, 8:19 am

...i wish i could go on the test.... :oops:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 17th, 2008, 9:23 am

^^^yuh will not be able to "sideways sand test" those vans eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 18th, 2008, 11:41 am

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ Dude , the gang had a chance to check out the Dmax,
Lets just say that i`m waiting for that review .... :roll: Dont want to bias your opinion just yet :D

where d review?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 18th, 2008, 4:07 pm

For real... those older Isuzu were workhorses... that with some bells and whistles should give us a damn good vehicles...

alarms_wiz

Postby alarms_wiz » October 25th, 2008, 4:53 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Why the hilux is NOT an option ... For me anyway:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/aZF8N9NItHI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Seems the front left tyre pressure on the lux was way off (look Closely at the video). Any vehicle with bad tyres or incrrect presure will behave dangerously. I corner harder than that with some broader tyres and the lux holds the road nicely. Also anyone wih a lux that has a hard cover on the tray will not have this problem as that extra weight really improves the handling.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 5th, 2008, 11:21 am

Just drove the 2.5 manual Isuzu D-max LS 4x4 (high end version) .... roughly 185K on the road.

This truck was ... the WORST of all!! The engine took the prize for being the most anemic and unresponsive of all the trucks driven, hell the 2.5td 'slowyota' was zippy by comparison.

The engine noise ... wow what a sound, like nails on a chalkboard! Apparently when the Isuzu trucks come from Japan, they are quiet as a lamb, but as soon as they get some of the local diesel, they start singing that tractor engine sound... Yet another reason to be wary of the common rail technology until T&T sorts out it's diesel quality issues.

The clutch itself was like prodding a wet sponge ... talk about no feeling. :x

The cornering or lack thereof ... Now admittedly, I drive a small sports car, but honestly, how people are able to drive a wallowing hippo like this is beyond me! Slow Savannah cornering, and I mean slooooow, had me sliding in the seat from the body roll ... What rubbish!

The interior was spartan, and apparently they throw in a radio as a freebie, because the test vehicle didn't have one :?

The ride over broken pavement was nice enough and the vehicle felt put together with no obvious rattles.

Went to test the Mitsu L200 as well, but no manuals until December and the manual mitsu is $219,000! WTF! So I think that could fack off, as I can get the AUTO Ranger with the 2.5 common rail for just a little more cash. :idea:
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on November 5th, 2008, 4:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 5th, 2008, 12:40 pm

^^^ Nick009 - No review necessary from me again...

Postby wagon r » November 5th, 2008, 1:31 pm

^ hahahahahahah....yuh see why we withhold our comments ... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2008, 9:54 pm

is the lsd navara issue restricted to the 4x2 ?

or all models ?

Trinitim

Postby Trinitim » November 21st, 2008, 5:09 pm

GREYPATCH what is LSD?? Sorry eh but i new to this whole van and diesel thing and I have my eyes on a 4 x 2 Navara so I would love to be informed thanks.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 22nd, 2008, 9:30 am

:google:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 22nd, 2008, 10:29 am

he might google and get the definition for drugs :lol:

google Limited Slip Differential

Trinitim

Postby Trinitim » November 24th, 2008, 9:32 am

Thanks Biggy82

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 24th, 2008, 3:46 pm

oh ok.. sorry there

Limited Slip Diffential

:google:

BETTER?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 24th, 2008, 5:27 pm

MEANIE! :mrgreen:

nick009

Postby nick009 » November 24th, 2008, 7:43 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:Just drove the 2.5 manual Isuzu D-max LS 4x4 (high end version) .... roughly 185K on the road.

This truck was ... the WORST of all!! The engine took the prize for being the most anemic and unresponsive of all the trucks driven, hell the 2.5td 'slowyota' was zippy by comparison.

The engine noise ... wow what a sound, like nails on a chalkboard! Apparently when the Isuzu trucks come from Japan, they are quiet as a lamb, but as soon as they get some of the local diesel, they start singing that tractor engine sound... Yet another reason to be wary of the common rail technology until T&T sorts out it's diesel quality issues.

The clutch itself was like prodding a wet sponge ... talk about no feeling. :x

The cornering or lack thereof ... Now admittedly, I drive a small sports car, but honestly, how people are able to drive a wallowing hippo like this is beyond me! Slow Savannah cornering, and I mean slooooow, had me sliding in the seat from the body roll ... What rubbish!

The interior was spartan, and apparently they throw in a radio as a freebie, because the test vehicle didn't have one :?

The ride over broken pavement was nice enough and the vehicle felt put together with no obvious rattles.

Went to test the Mitsu L200 as well, but no manuals until December and the manual mitsu is $219,000! WTF! So I think that could fack off, as I can get the AUTO Ranger with the 2.5 common rail for just a little more cash. :idea:

damn boy :S so much for that

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 15th, 2008, 9:07 am

Ok i read all 6 pages......mr go slow thanks a million for your reviews...you saved me alot of time.

What did you end up getting?

My options now are between the navara and the ranger

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2008, 10:16 am

My options now are between the navara and the ranger

yea,...

ford has a special now...
169K fo a manual

and 175k for an auto...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 15th, 2008, 12:56 pm

Ice, ranger is cheaper now so you mite wanna take advantage of that

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 15th, 2008, 1:22 pm

^^why is it cheaper? newer model recently came out or something?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 15th, 2008, 1:25 pm

clearing stock for 09 models....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”