trottle body cleaning

Polydor

Postby Polydor » February 12th, 2008, 12:53 pm

blazing wrote:
[X]~Outlaw wrote:the PCV valve needs vacuum to operate properly if its plumbed as shown in the pic oil vapors just staying in your engine. The right way to do it is plumb it inline between the PCV valve and the manifold...same goes for the breather that goes to the air intake. This is how I did mine..and u could use a filter for pneumatic power tools (they use it to filter water vapor out of the air line so it doesn’t damage the tool) for a fraction of the price for a commercial OCC. Its like 200$ in peaks and it works great...there is even a tap under it to make draining it easier. Mine is usually 1/2 full every 5k km. I use a light oil..10w30

saw it there just last week. You can also use any air/water seperator filter used in refrigeration systems. I'll wait until i get 2 good aluminium cans though.

Rudman, you should reattach the vacuum hose and add a 2nd can

The Positive Crankcase Ventilation valve, or PCV :|

It needs vacuum :!:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 12th, 2008, 1:33 pm

^^So why won't a catch can offer any vacuum between the PCV and the Throttle body? Just asking eh, because U and Dave seem to have the same opnion.

Postby Dave » February 12th, 2008, 1:39 pm

me eh know bout the pcv one, i know to lave that bugger alone
btw, got my can last night, hopefully soon would be doing the install but only on the vent to intake tube

blazing

Postby blazing » February 12th, 2008, 4:50 pm

a sealed catch can will maintain vacuum once both ends of the line are hooked up to it. It just becomes a reservoir to trap oil from going into the engine. Vacuum and fumes will still route to the manifold.

Rudman, between PCV and manifold, not throttle body. And i have the bigger TB for you..minus the sensors though.

and between crank breather and intake.

This catch can is missing a baffle and gauze material, but you get the idea.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 12th, 2008, 6:15 pm

blazing wrote:Rudman, between PCV and manifold, not throttle body. And i have the bigger TB for you..minus the sensors though.

Yippie!!.... :D

Blazing, just to make sure that I understand you, these are the two points you are refering to?

Postby Dave » February 13th, 2008, 8:27 am

i feel so

so what do u do with what is collected?
put it back into the engine if it is a sizeable amount? or its negligible and discarded whenever oil is changed?
or it just there for style and it collects nothing?

blazing

Postby blazing » February 13th, 2008, 4:53 pm

Rudman, yes inbetween those 2 lines

Dave,

that's the interesting part with catch cans. You can:

1) Leave it to collect oil and discard with oil change (good)
2) Leave it to collect oil and put it back into the engine (not recommended)
3) Attach the drain from the can to a hose leading into the sump (less maintainance)
4) Attach the drain from the can at an angle into the exhaust downpipe (intermittent smoke)

personally, i would just throw it away every oil change.

Postby Dave » February 14th, 2008, 8:21 am

you contradicted yourself with 2 and 3
u say throw away and then put back in sump
ent it came from the engine but was just blown out and assuming u had the correct amt. in the 1st place and now collected some, u are technically short in the engine

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 14th, 2008, 11:39 am

i usually just dispose of oil collected when i do a oil change

Postby wagonrunner » February 14th, 2008, 11:44 am

Dave,
in some cars that i know of, it's normally poured back in. but then too, the rate of fill on the OCC had a part to play.

question to those who say not to?
would it have picked up contaminants, etc from the crank-case to the oil-catch can?
why is not recommended?

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2008, 1:22 pm

The oil in the can would have been burnt if left alone. Pouring oil out of the can back in to the engine could introduce contaminants from the catch can, as all the blowby which is passing through the can will not only deposit oil, but the blowby gas solids and other vapors, which in my oppinion will make this oil go bad, and probably of worse quality than the oil inside the engine.

Postby Dave » February 14th, 2008, 1:38 pm

i just wanna know what to do when meh can get filled, call the #1 in the #2 business, lol
will try to install soon and show off meh can

my application warrants it, thin oil and rpm's swinging fast sprays oil in intake and lowers detonation ability, i need da octane

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 14th, 2008, 1:50 pm

^^ water injection :D

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2008, 2:29 pm

Dave wrote:i just wanna know what to do when meh can get filled, call the #1 in the #2 business, lol
will try to install soon and show off meh can

my application warrants it, thin oil and rpm's swinging fast sprays oil in intake and lowers detonation ability, i need da octane

Discard.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 14th, 2008, 2:36 pm

was going to say the same thing outlaw said....and he could run more boost with it too.....

i'll throw away the oil.......it was meant to be burnt.....if manufacturers needed the oil soo badly. they would have fitted a can and used a drain to the sump......besides....it can pick up contaminants easier when it is in the form of a mist.......
in my experience as an engineer i've learned two important things about oil....
1) never reuse old oil in any form, and
2) always use oil from an unopened container....never take oil for a container u didnt open.

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2008, 3:12 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^was going to say the same thing....and he could run more boost with it too.....

i'll throw away the oil.......it was meant to be burnt.....if manufacturers needed the oil soo badly. they would have fitted a can and used a drain to the sump......besides....it can pick up contaminants easier when it is in the form of a mist.......
in my experience as an engineer i've learned two important things about oil....
1) never reuse old oil in any form, and
2) always use oil from an unopened container....never take oil for a container u didnt open.

Agree with you there, but,

Um, That is a little too general.
1) there are ways we reuse old oil and recondition oil, buy this is not the forum for that, nor is motor vehicles the application.
2) We have documentation and procedures to ensure oil containers was handled properly and re-sealed in industry. Motor oil is not hydroscopic like brake fluid, so a re-sealed container would keep it good clean.

For everything on oil, noria.com is your best resource.

blazing

Postby blazing » February 14th, 2008, 4:40 pm

Dave wrote:you contradicted yourself with 2 and 3
u say throw away and then put back in sump
ent it came from the engine but was just blown out and assuming u had the correct amt. in the 1st place and now collected some, u are technically short in the engine

i was just listing the different methods of hooking up the catch can. Some people dont mind throwing it back in the engine, personally a quart of oil on standby to top up is not a bad investment for me and i would rather put fresh oil than blowby. Its up to preference really.

And yes you are correct, there will be less oil in the engine but this same trapped oil would have been routed to the intake manifold and burn off anyway.

QG

Postby QG » February 15th, 2008, 6:51 pm

Rudman wrote:^^Last got a can by Marud Marketers, Union Rd, Marabella.

Dave, I decided to not mess with the operation of the PCV setup, as you suggested, and make life simple. The catch can is now between the tappet pan and the air intake.

Its working out a lot better!.... :wink:

After the Throttle body cleaning and servicng done, do u get any idle problem? I drive a 4G18 SOHC Lancer and i got the Throttle serviced but idle problem still there. Why this happens to Mitsubishi vehicles :? :? .

Do u drive a silver grey lancer with gearbox?

Postby Hook » February 15th, 2008, 7:59 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:

lol...technically, yes :twisted:

Postby RBphoto » February 16th, 2008, 10:29 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:
After the Throttle body cleaning and servicng done, do u get any idle problem? I drive a 4G18 SOHC Lancer and i got the Throttle serviced but idle problem still there. Why this happens to Mitsubishi vehicles

Happens to most vehicles, as the car needs to re-learn. Reset ECU

Postby *KRONIK* » February 20th, 2008, 10:19 pm

rite. so lil hijacking of the thread takin place here

as in Rudman's iengine........ there are two lines for the Tappit pan.......

1 to the IM and
2 to the intake duct just b4 the throttle body

does the one to the throttle body serve a purpose??
cuz why would the manufacturer put a line in the intake duct to dirty ur throttle body with oil fumes and oil??

and the one to the intake manifold..........with the PCV........ it oils up ur IM.....
how and why and what is a remedy to clean and control this??

blazing

Postby blazing » February 21st, 2008, 3:21 am

line before tb is crankcase breather

line to manifild vents blowby into the engine via PCV to be burnt... emissions purposes

remedy..catch can

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 21st, 2008, 8:02 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:
Rudman wrote:^^Last got a can by Marud Marketers, Union Rd, Marabella.

Dave, I decided to not mess with the operation of the PCV setup, as you suggested, and make life simple. The catch can is now between the tappet pan and the air intake.

Its working out a lot better!.... :wink:

After the Throttle body cleaning and servicng done, do u get any idle problem? I drive a 4G18 SOHC Lancer and i got the Throttle serviced but idle problem still there. Why this happens to Mitsubishi vehicles :? :? .

Nope.......no idle problems whatsoever. Sorry to dissapoint you, but I drive a CK2 red lancer with an automatic tranny:

Postby *KRONIK* » February 21st, 2008, 7:11 pm

blazing wrote:line before tb is crankcase breather

line to manifild vents blowby into the engine via PCV to be burnt... emissions purposes

remedy..catch can

Ok i understand up till there but the oily residue in the IM how u cleaning that if is possibble and the oil catch will it creat severe pressure differences as oppossed to stock which could inhibit vehicle performance?

blazing

Postby blazing » February 22nd, 2008, 12:26 am

catch can will not cause any difference.

there is only one sure way of cleaning the intake manifold... take it off and sand blast or glass bead it.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 22nd, 2008, 8:41 am

^^Sounds a bit extreme. Kinda reminds me of them Honda boys who wanted to port their head and poured 10lbs of blasting sand into their intake manifold while the car was running!.... :shock:

Needless to say, they posting to find out why their engine check light is on and the engine is making a funny noise!..... :|

Postby RBphoto » February 22nd, 2008, 11:14 am

*KRONIK* wrote:

remedy..catch can

Ok i understand up till there but the oily residue in the IM how u cleaning that if is possibble and the oil catch will it creat severe pressure differences as oppossed to stock which could inhibit vehicle performance?

I have been told that it is best to leave the intake headder alone and not clean it while still on car. If you clean it on car, you risk introducing all the deposits from on the sides into the engine. There should be no problem with backpressure.

Postby RBphoto » February 22nd, 2008, 11:16 am

Rudman wrote:^^Sounds a bit extreme. Kinda reminds me of them Honda boys who wanted to port their head and poured 10lbs of blasting sand into their intake manifold while the car was running!.... :shock:

Needless to say, they posting to find out why their engine check light is on and the engine is making a funny noise!..... :|

I would have thought a good soaking in a gas or kerosene bath overnight might do the trick. Also spray out with carb cleaner?

QG

Postby QG » February 23rd, 2008, 7:32 pm

ok no scene. Good suspension there rudman (in pic).

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2008, 10:28 pm

bhagan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

remedy..catch can

I have been told that it is best to leave the intake headder alone and not clean it while still on car. If you clean it on car, you risk introducing all the deposits from on the sides into the engine. There should be no problem with backpressure.

Ok... scene...
but if i do add an Oil Catch Can thingy...... this will prevent the oily residue in my IM from building up and eventually would clean itself not (not like brand new but greatly reduced) from the air passing over it?????????

i just curious as to the benefits of such system!