PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

fouljuice

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby fouljuice » May 7th, 2016, 2:45 am

iselltt wrote:Anyone watched the launch of the 1080 GTX and the 1070 GTX?

Yeah I feel I getting a 1070.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 7th, 2016, 9:47 am

3x the performance at doing what..... The hardware spec isn't 3x what the previous gen had

Edit
Just read a post of the launch details
3x more energy efficient and up to double the performance in certain VR applications

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 7th, 2016, 12:13 pm

Waiting for real world benchmarks, especially @ 3440x1440p. Most likely waiting for big pascal, no problems with my 980Ti.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 7th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Dem could hdmc for about a 3 years

My 970 wukkin rel bess

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 7th, 2016, 7:49 pm

http://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2016/5/7/11615806/nvidia-gtx-1080-1070-pascal-specs-price-release-date

The hotly anticipated Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 is now official, marking a major leap in performance and efficiency with the introduction of the new Pascal architecture. How major? Take the ultra beefy and expensive Titan X graphics card from last year, slice its power demands from 250W to 180W, cut its price from $999 to $599, and then throw in a bit more performance on top. Virtual reality and multi-monitor gaming have also been foremost concerns in Nvidia's Pascal development, and the graphics company has a super cool new technology to make both better, called simultaneous multi-projection.

The Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 will be available from May 27th at a retail price of $599. A so-called founders edition, featuring speed-binned chips (i.e. the ones that outperform the base spec the most and offer the most overclocking headroom), will be sold by Nvidia for $699. The GTX 1070 follows two weeks later, on June 10th, at a price of $379 from Nvidia's partners or $449 for the founders edition.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/3067377/components-graphics/nvidias-beastly-geforce-gtx-1080-and-gtx-1070-the-10-key-things-you-need-to-know.html

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 7th, 2016, 11:02 pm

Sweet heatsink

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2016, 3:14 am

If i had only held out for a few months eh lol
Small ting
Interested in what Polaris has to offer to rival this

Postby ismithx » May 8th, 2016, 2:08 pm

lol at the Misc bargain section, the amount of GPU's selling off in there now

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 4:26 pm

Them new cards have some big leaps. The 1070 is amazing and would be able to handle anything for a good number of years, and its less than 400 US. For a bit less than 3k u at for years.
The reduced power consumption and subsequent cooler operation is significant enough to justify not buying 980's or titan's unless is for moderate use.

And the vram capavity is good for the life time of that card.

The new cards so attractive that them resellers will have a hard time getting their cards sold

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2016, 5:18 pm

The MSI version should be sick as usual...the current gen 900 series by them sexy af.

Was never really a fan of EVGA's reference like cooler designs

Postby Spitfir3 » May 8th, 2016, 5:43 pm

was looking at upgrading to the gtx 970 in the near future but with this 1070 on the horizon i will hold off a bit longer
im expecting the 970 prices to drop in the coming months so i may just end up getting whatever is cheaper since either card should suit my needs

@Rondaldo
how your 970 handling yuh games buddy?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2016, 5:57 pm

I'm using the MSI 4G version and I loveeeeeeeeeeeeee it tbh...does what I need it to do without any probs...maxes out GTA V and the temps tend to stay in the 60s when it's under load @ stock clocks as opposed to my friend's EVGA SSC version that hits 70-80s under load(lel EVGA). Currently idling @ 31C. Even under load I still can't hear it :lol:

Can't see myself upgrading anytime soon...only got the card this year :lol:
Only thing I don't like is that there aren't any backplates from MSI available for it. I won't mind SLI'ing it in the future if the price is right...will see how the prices look in December.

I doh see the reason upgrading unless you're an uber 4k freak tho. IK men who wanting the 1070/80 just to run 4k on dey 1080p monitor in DSR mode :|

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 8th, 2016, 6:18 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:If i had only held out for a few months eh lol

I waiting more than a year.
I wanted the 970 but because of the 3.5GB and plenty reports of coil whine, I wait for the 960/960Ti but was disappointed, and prices hardly change for either 970/960 throughout the year.

The most I waiting again is for Polaris to launch and see if it will cause Nvidia to change prices.
My 460 stop working in January (it last about 5 years) so I definitely need a new card. Is only so much the Intel HD530 could do.
And I hope they don't have shortages at launch because I had to wait months to get my i7-6700 at the MSRP.

And wrt to Founder's edition

http://www.gamersnexus.net/news-pc/2427-difference-between-gtx-1080-founders-edition-and-reference

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 9th, 2016, 8:49 am

There will probably be shortages most likely due to the new 16nm manufacturing process, pre order as soon as it's available.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 11th, 2016, 9:21 pm

Recently got some new stuffs, GSkill KM780 mechanical keyboard (cherry reds) and LG 29UM67 Ultrawide. The keyboard was a steal at $99 but me and my bad luck, one week after they had the RGB version for $120. With regards to the monitor.....holy shickle bums, I am never going back to 16:9 and nothing less than IPS. Colors really do pop like waw, just waiting to see what AMD comes out with in polaris. I will be switching back to team red since this monitor is a freesync monitor so better I fully utilize it.

Fully recommend both of them but caution if you are bringing in a monitor now, I paid $935 to clear it.

iM@st@1

Re: RE: Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » May 11th, 2016, 11:03 pm

amd-dude wrote:Recently got some new stuffs, GSkill KM780 mechanical keyboard (cherry reds) and LG 29UM67 Ultrawide. The keyboard was a steal at $99 but me and my bad luck, one week after they had the RGB version for $120. With regards to the monitor.....holy shickle bums, I am never going back to 16:9 and nothing less than IPS. Colors really do pop like waw, just waiting to see what AMD comes out with in polaris. I will be switching back to team red since this monitor is a freesync monitor so better I fully utilize it.

Fully recommend both of them but caution if you are bringing in a monitor now, I paid $935 to clear it.

Who you brought it in with?

Consider yourself lucky cause i got robbed by customs, they charged me duty on my predator x34, saying some bs bout if it doesn't have a serial port but has hdmi it not classed as a monitor but rather a display.

Made a complaint to consumer affairs but already considered it dead $.

& yea i can't go back to 16:9 either + gsync & 100hz is everything they say it is, amazing display. Enjoy it

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 12th, 2016, 1:44 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote: IK men who wanting the 1070/80 just to run 4k on dey 1080p monitor in DSR mode :|

1070 x 2

Want to keep living that 1440p, 144hz, G-Sync life.

I using 970s since 2014. Time for a change.
This Christmas is gonna be gud. :)

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 12th, 2016, 2:30 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
amd-dude wrote:Recently got some new stuffs, GSkill KM780 mechanical keyboard (cherry reds) and LG 29UM67 Ultrawide. The keyboard was a steal at $99 but me and my bad luck, one week after they had the RGB version for $120. With regards to the monitor.....holy shickle bums, I am never going back to 16:9 and nothing less than IPS. Colors really do pop like waw, just waiting to see what AMD comes out with in polaris. I will be switching back to team red since this monitor is a freesync monitor so better I fully utilize it.

Consider yourself lucky cause i got robbed by customs, they charged me duty on my predator x34, saying some bs bout if it doesn't have a serial port but has hdmi it not classed as a monitor but rather a display.

& yea i can't go back to 16:9 either + gsync & 100hz is everything they say it is, amazing display. Enjoy it

Websouce and funny thing is not to long ago my partner brought in a asus pb278q and they charged him $500 to clear, both we around the same weight. Customs here does play in dey ass when it comes to what items really are, a simple google search and they would know that there is no TV called a acer predator, hell even common sense would tell someone that. Once I brought in some thermal paste and they declared it as industrial something and charged $200 to clear.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 12th, 2016, 5:46 pm

amd-dude wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Websouce and funny thing is not to long ago my partner brought in a asus pb278q and they charged him $500 to clear, both we around the same weight. Customs here does play in dey ass when it comes to what items really are, a simple google search and they would know that there is no TV called a acer predator, hell even common sense would tell someone that. Once I brought in some thermal paste and they declared it as industrial something and charged $200 to clear.

I nearly sell my pb278q to make back that loss but decided to hold on to it as a secondary. Consumer Affairs say they will have a response for me by Monday so hoping I get reimbursed.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » May 13th, 2016, 1:59 pm

So i have a bit of a problem here, i purchased a Samsung 850 Evo m.2 unknowingly that my Asus Z97 A/USB 3.1 doesn't support it even though there is a m.2 port onboard it only supports Pcie m.2 while the samsung 850 evo is sata m.2. So i ended up buying a Pcie adapter card to get away from all the stress. Installed it in the Pcie slot and still nothing, doesn't show up in the bios neither when trying to install windows. Stayed up all night trying different configurations and still nothing. I then decided to plug in a sata cable onto the card because theres a sata port on it as well and bam, it shows up. But it's still not what i want. I want to be able run directly through the pcie lanes without having to use a sata cable. What are some options, im also running the latest bios. With the sata cable im currently getting about 600 read and write speeds, i know this could bump up alot if i get it to run properly off the pcie slot. Anyone with any ideas ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 13th, 2016, 4:13 pm

I'm not sure if you will find what you are looking for.... The drive you bought has a SATA 3 controller/interface. Connecting it to the Pcie ports would not increase performance significantly if at all cause the drive is essentially a 2.5" 850 evo packaged smaller. To get the speeds you are thinking about you have to get a pcie m2 ssd

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 13th, 2016, 4:25 pm

Totally agree with Kamakazi, you pretty much getting the maximum performance out of the drive as it is. You needed the PCIe ver.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » May 13th, 2016, 5:10 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Totally agree with Kamakazi, you pretty much getting the maximum performance out of the drive as it is. You needed the PCIe ver.

yea i kinda figured that out a while ago. The ssd itself won't go past 6Gbp/s, what i really wanted though was to see if i could get the bios to recognize it without having to plug in the sata cable from the add-in card to the board, but im thinking also that sata controllers wont allow itself to pass through Pcie lanes? im not so sure

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 13th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Nah that won't work, it's just not compatible, how it connected is the only option.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » May 17th, 2016, 11:12 pm

So after all the bench marks I watched from all the Major Tech reviewers such as Tech of Tomorrow, Linus Tech Tips etc, we're all now sure that the gtx 1080 murders the 980ti, Games making 60-70fps on ultra settings in 4k

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2016, 8:58 am

I tried to comment on Jayz2cents to chain him up to borrow some of the other cards she's do the 3 way sli.

There is new software to help utilize all the vram in 2way sli, so I thinking it should be available in 3way as well, and because of that 3 way could scale better than the previous generations of cards.

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » May 18th, 2016, 9:59 am

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 18th, 2016, 10:16 pm

The weirdest crap happened tonight on my Windows 10... Start button and other icons on the menu bar not working... Anyone knows 'why' this happened?... I already fixed it... Just wanted to know why this happens... It seems that this has happened to alot of people... :S

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2016, 10:21 pm

trump2016 wrote:Anyone play the new Doom yet?

Played the BETA I ain't hyped anymore might pick it up on a cheap sale in 3 years from now.

Doom has become just another console port, just a dumbed down multi player game for the masses. I have been done with all those console ports some years now, I pretty much play Arma 3, DayZ, H1Z1, Heroes of Newerth and mostly these days Path of Exile. Incredible ARPG a diablo 2 clone with modern day graphics basically.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 18th, 2016, 10:38 pm

-Roach- wrote:The weirdest crap happened tonight on my Windows 10... Start button and other icons on the menu bar not working... Anyone knows 'why' this happened?... I already fixed it... Just wanted to know why this happens... It seems that this has happened to alot of people... :S

How did you fix it btw?