COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 207 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 6:39 pm

You keep waving that Swedish flag as though it is the solution to all and sundry.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 6th, 2020, 6:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
nismotrinidappa wrote:450 is reasonable for thermometer?

I paid $399 in the mall. quality was very good and the seller tested it to show it reading accurately.

went to get booklist today, security lady stand about 6 feet away and aim the thermometer at my hand. I eh know what she measuring, but is not body temperature.
Stormtrooper trained

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 6:58 pm

bluefete wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Correct me if i am wrong but all in all we got 13 new cases today?

Recheck the seer man prophecy for today.

Shakes sources more forthcoming than our own government... sad yes. That we have to rely on whistleblowers for up to date statistics on a highly infectious disease.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 7:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Correct me if i am wrong but all in all we got 13 new cases today?

11 new cases, it was 199 24hrs ago.

Thanks. I know we recorded 11 but i couldn't remember if the other 2 was dated early this morning or late last night.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2020, 7:04 pm

sMASH wrote:[img]...[/img]

pugboy wrote:You keep waving that Swedish flag as though it is the solution to all and sundry.
South Korea is the method to emulate -- not Sweden.

When the number of new daily cases per million is looked at, TTO is about 6/M. Sweden 30/M, USA 110/M.

South Korea is one of the best in the world at 0.8/M.

If you want to lower daily cases, wear masks, wash hands, disperse crowds, close bars and gyms.

How Arizona did it

Arizona's downward trend in cases came after the state reimposed coronavirus restrictions amid a summer surge.

"We did take some further steps," Ducey said on Wednesday. "We were in the unhappy but responsible position of dispersing large crowds, so bars and nightclubs and gyms all closed temporarily," he said.

"But upon putting those steps out there, we've seen improvement every week, week-over-week for four weeks," he said.

https://www.cnn.com/2020/08/06/us/arizo ... index.html

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 7:09 pm

pugboy wrote:You keep waving that Swedish flag as though it is the solution to all and sundry.

Swedish people were more willing i guess to put their lives at risk for the greater long term good. Some people will frown upon it and call their response draconian but i guess only time will tell if they did the right thing. As in, how long did it take to get a working vaccine, how long did it take for that working vaccine to effectively penetrate Sweden's population and based on the time that this took did the loss of life outweigh the loss in economic activity (if lockdowns were taken instead to slow the spread of the virus before sufficient vaccination took place). Sweden's approach is scary to consider. And I guess history will tell who adopted the best response to the virus. As, a working vaccine could come out tomorrow and be massed produced by the end of next week leading to global immunization by the end of august (which would mean that in hindsight sweden's approach was rushed). Or a working vaccine is produced by end 2021 (keep in mind none of the vaccine projects have been approved by WHO and who knows how long that approval peocess may take). And becomes mass produced by march 2022. Leading to full global immunization by mid 2022. In that case sweden's approach may have been correct as 2 to 3 years of consecutive lockdowns will stifle the hell out of any economy.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 6th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Work from home was after finding out.
And they haven't said who the staff is so can't say if interactions happened.
bluefete wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Nah we working from home
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ohh dizzy, hope all is well..

Question: as they told you to quarantine, those days are being taken from sick leave, vacation leave or this is an exception to the rule?

But if you working from home ... Did you have contact with staff recently?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 7:22 pm

^ they didnt disclose that information to prevent against discrimination. When someone in my workplace was associated with the wife of patient 0 they treated him like he had the plague. It was just awful. So i can understand them trying to protect their employees mental health.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2020, 7:25 pm

elec2020 wrote:

Swedish people were more willing i guess to put their lives at risk for the greater long term good. Some people will frown upon it and call their response draconian but i guess only time will tell if they did the right thing. ...

In that case sweden's approach may have been correct as 2 to 3 years of consecutive lockdowns will stifle the hell out of any economy.

Eurozone GDP contraction was 12.1% in Q2. Sweden's was 8.6%. Both are painful and unprecedented.

Postby sMASH » August 6th, 2020, 7:41 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ they didnt disclose that information to prevent against discrimination. When someone in my workplace was associated with the wife of patient 0 they treated him like he had the plague. It was just awful. So i can understand them trying to protect their employees mental health.
technically, thats the correct response. u have to treat people like they have the plague, cause we have a plague. social distance y'all.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 7:43 pm

^ wonder how much tnt will be. If we go on another lockdown i think -15 to -20 for the year. If we continue as is (regardless of who comes into power next monday) with no lockdown maybe -10 for the year. My figure may seem large but keep in mind that GDP = consumption expenditure + investment + government expenditure + (exports minus imports) and we all anticipate consumption, investment and exports to have fallen significantly over the year and imports to have remained about the same. In other words 4 out of the 5 variables in that equation may have worsened considerably for 2020.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 7:46 pm

sMASH wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ they didnt disclose that information to prevent against discrimination. When someone in my workplace was associated with the wife of patient 0 they treated him like he had the plague. It was just awful. So i can understand them trying to protect their employees mental health.
technically, thats the correct response. u have to treat people like they have the plague, cause we have a plague. social distance y'all.

Yh but i mean treating them with disdain and contempt can be very disheartening to the persons involved. I think reddit has a forum where people talk about how they were treated by friends, family, etc when they found to be covid positive. Some really tough stories.

Postby maj. tom » August 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

It IS a plague. Go home/hospital and stay quarantined. There should be no other interaction with other people "to make them feel that way." I have read that a lot of those cases in America where they're being shunned and treated badly were the boasters that they "don't need no mask," and how all these measures were violating their rights. So take it. If i encounter anybody with that attitude here and they get it, you bet your ass i laughing at them and ghosting them irl.

It's not a disease like AIDS. If somebody with Covid look at you too hard and breathe, you get it.

Postby sMASH » August 6th, 2020, 7:57 pm

hope.

the perfect solution is we all just live and work at home off of amazon.
second best is what them technologically advanced society, like japan and korea do.
but we cant afford that, and dont have the infrastructure.

once u keep super spreader activities to a minimum, like schools, ministries, banks, work, elections to a minimum, u will get a paced spread. and we will more or less progress like sweden. u will see a bump in new cases and deaths, as long as u continue to test. but once it steadies off, it will taper off soon after and then u get ur natural immunity.

if u go to re introduce stringent lock down measures again, as soon as u roll back, somebody will spread it up and u will get a second wave... just dragging on the inevitable.
what we doing now should be continued, no less restrictions, but no more.

keep all the foreigners in thier bubble, and send them back.

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2020, 7:58 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ wonder how much tnt will be. If we go on another lockdown i think -15 to -20 for the year. If we continue as is (regardless of who comes into power next monday) with no lockdown maybe -10 for the year. My figure may seem large but keep in mind that GDP = consumption expenditure + investment + government expenditure + (exports minus imports) and we all anticipate consumption, investment and exports to have fallen significantly over the year and imports to have remained about the same. In other words 4 out of the 5 variables in that equation may have worsened considerably for 2020.

Perhaps. I also expect imports to drop. TTO's major imports are industrial and transportation.

Trinidad and Tobago mainly imports oil, iron ore, fuel, vehicles, water heaters, ethyl alcohol, iron and steel, pumps and catalysts.

Postby matr1x » August 6th, 2020, 7:58 pm

210 baby!!!!!!

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 7:59 pm

Yes, hope is all the world has

But we have a govt who shutdown schools but not bars......

sMASH wrote:

hope.

the perfect solution is we all just live and work at home off of amazon.
second best is what them technologically advanced society, like japan and korea do.
but we cant afford that, and dont have the infrastructure.

once u keep super spreader activities to a minimum, like schools, ministries, banks, work, elections to a minimum, u will get a paced spread. and we will more or less progress like sweden. u will see a bump in new cases and deaths, as long as u continue to test. but once it steadies off, it will taper off soon after and then u get ur natural immunity.

if u go to re introduce stringent lock down measures again, as soon as u roll back, somebody will spread it up and u will get a second wave... just dragging on the inevitable.
what we doing now should be continued, no less restrictions, but no more.

keep all the foreigners in thier bubble, and send them back.

Postby sMASH » August 6th, 2020, 8:06 pm

leave the bars and rests. once they not over jumbling up. that is where gg hadda do he part.
if any thing, remove excess seating, and employ only seated or take out services, no standing congregation. eat and ride or buy and ride.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 210 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Gg gone cold long time and he just dunno how to start

He good at shutting the small fish, sauce, sealots bathers etc
All the excuses he made about sauce gonna have big customer crowds and violate the health ordinances
Are exactly what every block on the Avenue is violating right now.

#hypocrite

Postby adnj » August 6th, 2020, 9:16 pm

University of Washington updated their model for Covid-19 related deaths in the USA:

295,000 (891/M) expected deaths by December 1, 2020.

Germany 155/M, Sweden 720/M.

http://www.healthdata.org/#

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Heard one of today’s is a mt hope nurse who was in wide contact on the job.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 6th, 2020, 9:27 pm

Heard that there are Doctors who were diagnosed with Covid?

True or False

Also anyone heard that the CMO offered his resignation? Who is his replacement? Why?

Serious questions.

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 9:29 pm

They were put under self quarantine and testing today.

Numb3r4 wrote:Heard that there are Doctors who were diagnosed with Covid?

True or False

Also anyone heard that the CMO offered his resignation? Who is his replacement? Why?

Serious questions.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 6th, 2020, 9:34 pm

Cool.

Postby Dave » August 6th, 2020, 10:12 pm

News reported that the CMO resignation was not true and the health minister said it was a Unc plot.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 6th, 2020, 10:42 pm

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ wonder how much tnt will be. If we go on another lockdown i think -15 to -20 for the year. If we continue as is (regardless of who comes into power next monday) with no lockdown maybe -10 for the year. My figure may seem large but keep in mind that GDP = consumption expenditure + investment + government expenditure + (exports minus imports) and we all anticipate consumption, investment and exports to have fallen significantly over the year and imports to have remained about the same. In other words 4 out of the 5 variables in that equation may have worsened considerably for 2020.

Perhaps. I also expect imports to drop. TTO's major imports are industrial and transportation.

Trinidad and Tobago mainly imports oil, iron ore, fuel, vehicles, water heaters, ethyl alcohol, iron and steel, pumps and catalysts.

Fair enough. I just spitballing figures here. But u right with reduced production import should fall. I do however anticipate food import bill to increase as (i think) the agricultural community has expressed concern on merting traditional levels of output. And if resources do become scarce you can expect prices to go up. Wasnt that one of the reasons behind the increase in the price of split peas. That supermarket owners said that their suppliers raised prices?

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2020, 2:18 am

you all realize that even if you doh lockdown, when we get widespread community spread like a 50-100 per day the targeted lockdowns (for the places where covid + ppl plus all their contacts were) would not be the few we getting now but in the hundreds or thousands per week?- the buildings may only need 1 day to sanitize but the employees who are quarantining would need 14 days. the economy is screwed either way. so we might as well do a partial lockdown and get it under control.

it's a pity most businesses don't have online shopping- they could be making money even if their doors have to close

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2020, 3:31 am

matr1x wrote:210 baby!!!!!!
You seem happy.

Postby matr1x » August 7th, 2020, 3:43 am

aaron17 wrote:
matr1x wrote:210 baby!!!!!!
You seem happy.

I am! The mismanagement is really showing

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2020, 4:10 am

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Fair enough. I just spitballing figures here. But u right with reduced production import should fall. I do however anticipate food import bill to increase as (i think) the agricultural community has expressed concern on merting traditional levels of output. And if resources do become scarce you can expect prices to go up. Wasnt that one of the reasons behind the increase in the price of split peas. That supermarket owners said that their suppliers raised prices?

There are multiple forces at work:

- Supply shortage due to worker illness or business shutdown, transport issues, increased demand, etc.
Supply surplus due to transport issues, market contraction, consumer sentiment, etc.

If you really want all of the answers, you will need a detailed analysis. But what typically doesn't change is automated production such as oil.

- Food prices will likely increase because of the risk of unsold goods driving reduced planting.
- Transportation of people costs go up because of forced density reduction.
- Clothing costs go down because of fewer public outings
Energy costs go down because of decreased uses of oil.
- Restaurant food suppliers prices go down because of decreased patronage
- Grocery store packaged foods go up because of increased demand.
- and so forth.

I would expect that growth sectors will be health, PPE, sanitation, home entertainment, telecommunications, and food delivery.

Contracting sectors will be nearly everything else.

The examples are there if you look at smaller EU countries' economies.