T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby noshownogo » May 19th, 2011, 8:13 am

The 2011 Volvo S60 is available now with 1.6-litre petrol GTDi engine with 180 hp (T4) and torque of 240 Nm starting at $365,000. The T4 engine also benefits from an 'on-demand' overboost function that sees torque grow to 270Nm when needed.

*Not all features show are representative of local offerings

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 19th, 2011, 12:23 pm

^^ Would be great in the S40 which I like more than the S60....is it available in the S40 or does the S40 only come with the 2.0T?

nes123

Postby nes123 » May 19th, 2011, 12:25 pm

ek4ever wrote:acesinghit I test drove the 2L Octavia and that was the one for me @ $206K....but the rep said it would no longer be offered. The 1.4 twincharged would make a great motor for the Octavia but maybe VW does not want the competition with the Jetta.

BTW anyone has an idea of the cost of an A3 with the 1.8T???

Did the rep say which high end model we are getting in place?is it the 1.8TSI? knowing how ppl are in sweet T&T I can imagine when we get the 1.2TSI octavia it's gonna be more than 200k if not starting at...case in point a smaller discplacement 1.4TSI jetta for over 220k.... :?

mammoo

Postby mammoo » May 20th, 2011, 1:55 pm

mammoo wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
cinco wrote:worth the price???
are you mad
just go buy the skoda versions 50k less and the same dam vehicle

But Skoda does not offer the 1.4TSI motor. If they put that in the Octavia it would be a great buy. As I understand it too, the Jetta is not coming with the 1.4TSI again. Can anyone confirm this?

For now you have to go with the 2L Octavia but I also heard that they were going to stop bringing in that too....so you're just left with the 1.6 which is a bit too lazy for my taste and the more expensive 1.8T

The 1.4TSI Jetta has been sold out & we only have the 1.6 in stock to last us until the NEW 2011 JETTA arrives in sept/oct 2011.
When that car lands, the only engine option available would be the same 1.4TSI (SuperTurboCharged 160hp)! Should be priced around $235k.

We are NOW getting the Golf Estate (Variant) with the 1.4TSI engine only special priced at $230K

Casadoma

Postby Casadoma » May 21st, 2011, 7:00 am

prices went up

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 21st, 2011, 7:03 pm

that kia optima is so AWESOME!!!!!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 22nd, 2011, 1:20 am

noshownogo wrote:The 2011 Volvo S60 is available now with 1.6-litre petrol GTDi engine with 180 hp (T4) and torque of 240 Nm starting at $365,000. The T4 engine also benefits from an 'on-demand' overboost function that sees torque grow to 270Nm when needed.

*Not all features show are representative of local offerings

This take rel long to reach dred..i highly doubt all those features shown in the pics would be included in that 365k price though.
hopefully they offer the 2.0T with it

Postby equipped2ripp » May 22nd, 2011, 3:32 am

Why you all need to quote the pics? :?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 23rd, 2011, 11:00 pm

uh. sorry? :roll:

Postby SUPAstarr » May 24th, 2011, 7:39 am

saw 2 of those volvos on the road looks like it has a hunch back....bleh, ugly jus like the Cruze, the pictures fooled me

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » May 27th, 2011, 2:47 pm

All Tucson's sold out/book up till September..steups

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 29th, 2011, 12:37 am

Nasrallah wrote:All Tucson's sold out/book up till September..steups

A rep told me last night all sold out until next year.

And the prices gone up 'for no apparent reason' too.

TUCSON 4X2 GL GAS 2.0
$234,200 (From $226k)

TUCSON 4X4 GL GAS 2.0
$251,000

TUCSON 4X4 GL DIESEL 2.0
$279,900

TUCSON 4X2 GLS 2.0 Fully Loaded
$273,700

TUCSON 4X4 GLS 2.0 (EXEC PACK)
$309,200

Postby Stephon. » May 29th, 2011, 1:19 am

norstar2k wrote:
Nasrallah wrote:All Tucson's sold out/book up till September..steups

A rep told me last night all sold out until next year.

And the prices gone up 'for no apparent reason' too.

The demand is high.

nes123

Postby nes123 » May 29th, 2011, 11:57 am

I sorry but for 309k I rather spend that on an entry level tiguan...better engine and quality IMHO :?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 30th, 2011, 12:25 pm

mammoo wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
are you mad

But Skoda does not offer the 1.4TSI motor. If they put that in the Octavia it would be a great buy. As I understand it too, the Jetta is not coming with the 1.4TSI again. Can anyone confirm this?

For now you have to go with the 2L Octavia but I also heard that they were going to stop bringing in that too....so you're just left with the 1.6 which is a bit too lazy for my taste and the more expensive 1.8T

The 1.4TSI Jetta has been sold out & we only have the 1.6 in stock to last us until the NEW 2011 JETTA arrives in sept/oct 2011.
When that car lands, the only engine option available would be the same 1.4TSI (SuperTurboCharged 160hp)! Should be priced around $235k.

Are there any plans to bring the Polo (HB or sedan)???

235K for what would be the 'entry level' VW locally is ridiculous. VW has long said they're ditching the entry-luxury brand position for a mass production, affordable brand image... to rival Toyota, GM etc.

Anyways, that new 1.4T with its power output would be the equivalent to a 2 litre. Thus it would make sense to bring the 1.2T or 1.4T (in 120hp spec) as the 1.6 litre replacement

Postby Stephon. » May 30th, 2011, 12:29 pm

nes123 wrote:I sorry but for 309k I rather spend that on an entry level tiguan...better engine and quality IMHO :?

My father sold his after only having it for a little under 2 months :x I think it's very underrated though, was a nice SUV while it was around.

Postby Habit7 » May 31st, 2011, 7:33 am

^^^ yeah the Tuscon is great
I drove one in some mountain dirt road in central america, I tried to destroy it but it could rel take a beating. Afterwards it drove on tarmac without a squeak.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » May 31st, 2011, 10:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:
nes123 wrote:I sorry but for 309k I rather spend that on an entry level tiguan...better engine and quality IMHO :?

My father sold his after only having it for a little under 2 months :x I think it's very underrated though, was a nice SUV while it was around.

If you don't mind me asking why did he sell it?

Postby Stephon. » June 1st, 2011, 2:24 am

tiger balm wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

If you don't mind me asking why did he sell it?

Someone made him and offer for it and he took it.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » June 1st, 2011, 12:52 pm

damieG82 wrote:
mammoo wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
are you mad

Are there any plans to bring the Polo (HB or sedan)???

235K for what would be the 'entry level' VW locally is ridiculous. VW has long said they're ditching the entry-luxury brand position for a mass production, affordable brand image... to rival Toyota, GM etc.

Anyways, that new 1.4T with its power output would be the equivalent to a 2 litre. Thus it would make sense to bring the 1.2T or 1.4T (in 120hp spec) as the 1.6 litre replacement

Yes we will be bringing in the 1.4Turbocharged (85hp) Polo HB.

The 235K is NOT the entry level Jetta. It's actually fully loaded just as the current model is (see above). The past 1.4TSI Jetta was 233K so for a bigger car (2011 Jetta) u only pay $2K more.

The VW which u have prolly been reading about to compete with rival toyota etc is in the US Market which has NO standard features as we do. U actually get a downgraded Jetta for a Rival (2airbags, 2wheel disc brakes, no fogs etc etc).

Currently the only engine option we have is the 1.4TSI (160HP), nothing else is available until further notice. The 1.4TSI is actually faster than a 2L naturally aspirated and burns alot less gas. New Technology!

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » June 1st, 2011, 12:56 pm

Stephon. wrote:
tiger balm wrote:If you don't mind me asking why did he sell it?

Someone made him and offer for it and he took it.

Thanks

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 8th, 2011, 9:37 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:that kia optima is so AWESOME!!!!!

saw it last week for the first time..some dude from champs fleurs..a white one..

looks much better than pics!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 10th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Anyone have an idea of when the new Elantra will get here, what we're getting and prices?

gofaster8

Postby gofaster8 » June 10th, 2011, 6:36 pm

price list needs sum updatin

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » June 11th, 2011, 1:54 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:Prado is now $712K for the VX grade,
and there's the Hilux with cruise control and vehicle stability control with the 3.0 turbo diesel for $315K.

All Prados sold out till August and the VSC/CC Hilux till July.

better put a lil more and get th AUDI or a porsche....

$700 K for a prado???

Agreed! Why would anyone pay 700K for a toyota is beyond my ability of comprehension. Why would you even look at a Japanese vehicle when 700K could get you a very good Euro.

Postby Stephon. » June 11th, 2011, 2:20 pm

Any Japanese car that you then have to watch like a hawk after you buy with the fear of it being stolen for more than 250k should be left in the showroom. In Japan

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » June 11th, 2011, 2:24 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I would never pay 172 for a JAPANESE Corolla and i could get a EURO Skoda Octavia for 174....just my .02

You talk a lot of sense there bro. I think the main problem with people in Trinidad is that they don't take the time to do enough research on the price/reliability factor of the cars they choose to buy. At 172K, I WOULD NEVER buy a Japanese when I can get a Euro for just 2K more.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 11th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Some Japanese vehicles are better than some European vehicles...

Also, some people prefer Japanese over Euros because of resale, cheaper parts, availability of parts, cheaper service (labour) and they grew up with Japanese vehicles, so they would continue buying Japanese brands.

Same can be said for Americans who grew up with American brands and they would swear on Ford, Chevrolet etc. over an European brand.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » June 11th, 2011, 6:30 pm

^^^X2

Postby Habit7 » June 13th, 2011, 1:54 am

But euros offer better safety standards, more standards features(in T&T), less risk of theft, more resistance from theft, genuine parts and IMHO more character and driveability than the usual Japanese econobox.

But if you think that car manufacturing reached its apex with Mitsubishi Evo or Subaru Impreza japs are your thing. But when the Skoda Octavia won best small family car (the staple of most trinis) in the JD Power Survey 2011, I would think it is most likely to put a smile on my face when i drive it rather than a Toyota Corolla.