The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

mety57

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby mety57 » March 11th, 2012, 12:22 am

but brotherhood it have mistu putting down cutarse too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGv02ZJjkyU 9.73 so dough feel is only sr woking

mety57

Postby mety57 » March 11th, 2012, 12:26 am

and i sure i would of done a better time if it did hook up good

Postby BrotherHood » March 11th, 2012, 12:22 pm

mety57 wrote:but brotherhood it have mistu putting down cutarse too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGv02ZJjkyU 9.73 so dough feel is only sr woking

:D :D gee dem fyaahz

genghis

Postby genghis » March 11th, 2012, 6:32 pm

^^ dem men racing mile eh! not 1/4 mile!
iz Mile!

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 11th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Guys I love my Mitsubishi and really hate the idea of putting in an SR, but at the end of the day it is what I can afford. As I said I'm currently in the research phase and the 4G63T makes the SR look like a snail....but when mitsu made the lancer and evo they sure as hell did a good job making the too completely different from each other.

I agree with you both, Brotherhood and Idlemind, if i open the bonnet of a mitsu I would sure as expect to see a mitsu motor. The sight of another manufacturer's engine would be a turn off. As for resale value I don't think it would make a difference. My 2002 CS3 has a poor resale value as I found out in Jan this year when I had it up for sale. I realised that it was bess I keep the car and periodically upgrade it as opposed to buying a new car.

venum

Postby venum » March 11th, 2012, 11:06 pm

geometron wrote:dunno y "original" vehicles dus maintain their prices when d car's engine and components going thru d same stress as a modified car would. i bet is the interior or summm...b14 men an dem shud knw

the idea of cross breeding is purely for power and performance,

u will get resale value if the conversion is done well and teh results are desireable to the buyer

however, from what I have seen conversions are crossbreeding are almost always never perfect, not that they can't be, its just that there are always some little things that never get done because it is just too much time or technically difficult to do or get someone to do properly

which is why the resale value of a cross breed is usually lower - the vehicle has been tainted in the buyers mind and there is the perspective that something will always be "off" or not right

then there will always be the maintenance issues that follow a cross-breed

when you change OEM stock parts and configuration for non-OEM simple maintenance may be modified so much that it is difficult to the mechjanic and labour prices go up

e.g. put a SR in yuh CS

1. engine mounts need to be fabricated - more difficult to get mounts and harder to change

2. car has to be rewired to be done properly - good luck getting a good electrician to do it. more opportunities for problems down the road

3. your creature comforts may not work as they should, your gauges will be off

4. axels and brakes need to change - more installation and maintenance headaches

5. gremlins - these conversions usually have some gremlins that are hard or long to sort out

the idea that the buyer usually gets is that they are buying a more difficult vehicle to maintain - the performance may be better . . . but when the problems come, they come good

my 2cents

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 12th, 2012, 12:16 am

yepz...that iz y builders hadda study, allocate, plan and execute their projects well...research n good info dese days is a hell ova ting to cum by

mety57

Postby mety57 » March 12th, 2012, 12:19 am

genghis wrote:^^ dem men racing mile eh! not 1/4 mile!
iz Mile!

yes mile but at 1/4 mile 9.73 and 23. something at mile

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » March 12th, 2012, 9:14 am

Biggs3ne wrote:but when mitsu made the lancer and evo they sure as hell did a good job making the too completely different from each other.

well at least the EVO X and the normal CY4A are more similar unlike the cedia/EVO VII that are different mechanically and mostly physically with the exception of the front doors and interior...the CY4A comes with the non turbo engine so hopefully you can get a manual CY4A to mate up with a EVO engine without much issue...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 12th, 2012, 10:42 am

If that can be done the cy would be very close to the evo.

CY4a is not 4wd though.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » March 12th, 2012, 11:50 am

I know its not 4WD but I'm sure it can be converted easily....the ralliart CY is 4WD tho...
what i was saying is that you take an original manual CY4A GT and swap in the EVO 4B11T engine and mate it to the 2WD gearbox...thas if its a str8 forward swap...if that could be done it would be a nice upgrade...only bad thing is that ur front wheels would be smoking alot

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 12th, 2012, 1:58 pm

After much thought and consideration I have decided to leave my motor as it is. The 4g63T comes with a ton of fabrication and $$$, and well the SR20 mods just seem to risky to me. At the end of the day it is all about safety first. All I wanted was to get a bit more speed and performance out of my ride, I sure as hell not going to compromise my safety for that.

Any one has ideas how I can get more performance out of my ride?

Can the 4g18 be turbo'd?

How much of a difference does cold air intake make?

I welcome your feedback and tips guys.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 12th, 2012, 2:28 pm

First things first...replace the cvt with a box...
wrt to CAI, mine runs to below the passenger headlight and ive wrapped the piping with heat shield.
Performance is better than stock, a bit noisy though.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 12th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Why replace the CVT with a gearbox? What's the cost of doing this?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 12th, 2012, 5:56 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:Why replace the CVT with a gearbox? What's the cost of doing this?

Biggs3ne wrote:After much thought and consideration I have decided to leave my motor as it is. The 4g63T comes with a ton of fabrication and $$$, and well the SR20 mods just seem to risky to me. At the end of the day it is all about safety first. All I wanted was to get a bit more speed and performance out of my ride, I sure as hell not going to compromise my safety for that.

Any one has ideas how I can get more performance out of my ride?

Can the 4g18 be turbo'd?

How much of a difference does cold air intake make?

I welcome your feedback and tips guys.

thatz a str8 4ward ans pallie... also 1.5-1.75 " exhaust, remove catalytic converter, iridium spark plugs...

as for 4g18 turbo....that more headache u askin 4...best bet is a 4g93T GDi frontcut... then all ur problems/ques shud be solved/answered :D

Postby Ted_v2 » March 12th, 2012, 6:10 pm

^wut he said

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 12th, 2012, 7:57 pm

93t GDI??????

Ask idle about that.

Best thing for 4g18 is box.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 12th, 2012, 9:04 pm

I heard that the 4G93t is endless headache. What kind of box do I have to get for the 4g18? what's the best? what's the price?

Geometron, why do i have to increase my exhaust piping if I'm not putting in a bigger engine? Will it make any difference at all? I currently have stock exhaust with a chrome tip. A mechanic once advised me not to go bigger with the exhaust because then i'd have to go bigger with the engine as well, and well vice versa.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 12th, 2012, 9:08 pm

idlemind wrote:First things first...replace the cvt with a box...
wrt to CAI, mine runs to below the passenger headlight and ive wrapped the piping with heat shield.
Performance is better than stock, a bit noisy though.

Where did you source the CAI kit? What's the average cost and is it a DIY installation?

Also, have you experienced any gain in horsepower? Any Fuel Consumption improvement?

Postby BrotherHood » March 13th, 2012, 12:39 am

Biggs3ne wrote:why do i have to increase my exhaust piping if I'm not putting in a bigger engine? Will it make any difference at all? I currently have stock exhaust with a chrome tip. A mechanic once advised me not to go bigger with the exhaust because then i'd have to go bigger with the engine as well, and well vice versa.

You can safely increase exhaust piping to 2" with a 4cylinder engine and get performance gains. The result is better exhaust flow.
Anything over 2" and you just have a big heavy exhaust and makes the car not as responsive. 2" and over would better suit 2000CC and over.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 13th, 2012, 10:09 am

Biggs3ne wrote:Why replace the CVT with a gearbox? What's the cost of doing this?

The gearbox allows for more engine response than the preset gear ratios of a cvt.
Not sure of the cost, but its more about availability to source a F5M41 box from a CS and its ECU.

geometron wrote:
thatz a str8 4ward ans pallie... also 1.5-1.75 " exhaust, remove catalytic converter, iridium spark plugs...

as for 4g18 turbo....that more headache u askin 4...best bet is a 4g93T GDi frontcut... then all ur problems/ques shud be solved/answered :D

Good upgrades quoted there.
But I rather turbo a 4G18 coz you have alot more upgrade options than a stock 4G93T GDI. Theres very little you can do to a GDI. Plus it isnt that clearcut a swap.
raybic has done some extensive work on his. He has probably ventured the furthest into a 4G93T GDI than most.

ZeroOne wrote:93t GDI??????

Ask idle about that.

tbqh, getting rid of the GDI was the best thing I couldve done.
It wasnt turbo, but I had my fair share of issues if youve ever taken the time to read this thread youll see.

Biggs3ne wrote:I heard that the 4G93t is endless headache. What kind of box do I have to get for the 4g18? what's the best? what's the price?

Geometron, why do i have to increase my exhaust piping if I'm not putting in a bigger engine? Will it make any difference at all? I currently have stock exhaust with a chrome tip. A mechanic once advised me not to go bigger with the exhaust because then i'd have to go bigger with the engine as well, and well vice versa.

Its not that much headache eh Biggs. raybic has covered alot of ground.
He converted from a 4G18+cvt to 4G93T+tiptronic 5 fwd.
I got my 4G18+box on tuner, ever so often a deal pops up, you hadda keep an eye out.
wrt to bigger exhaust, YES it works without upgrading the engine size.
But its tricky, if you go too big it wouldnt make sense. The biggest you should go is 2.5"
After that you get a lag and a performance cut.

The best thing to compliment a bigger exhaust is a CAI.
More air breathing in..and better flow out..

Biggs3ne wrote:
Where did you source the CAI kit? What's the average cost and is it a DIY installation?

Also, have you experienced any gain in horsepower? Any Fuel Consumption improvement?

I got my CAI from ebay, but it had to do a lil bit of altercations.
mainly because the 4G18 doesnt have a MAF on the air intake, and these kits comes with adapters to bolt onto the MAF. So basically you have to get about a 12" more piping.
When we meet up for the run I can show you what I did.

I think it cost about $40 US. And its totally DIY.
Definitely more performance felt. But because the piping runs close to the radiator hose. I decided to wrap the CAI to keep it cool. The sound is sweet if you dont mind a lil noise.

Regarding gas, $100 super fulls my tank for about 4 days driving piarco to glencoe in traffic both directions. THIS is what really sold me, you get a nice pull from the box and the hit on the pocket soft.

Postby BrotherHood » March 13th, 2012, 11:10 am

idlemind wrote:Regarding gas, $100 super fulls my tank

X2 :D :D

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 13th, 2012, 11:43 am

^^^ yea super fills my tank as well, I still find I could get more mileage out of every full-up though. I barely make 3 something KM.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 13th, 2012, 11:47 am

idlemind wrote:

The gearbox allows for more engine response than the preset gear ratios of a cvt.
Not sure of the cost, but its more about availability to source a F5M41 box from a CS and its ECU.

geometron wrote:

Good upgrades quoted there.
But I rather turbo a 4G18 coz you have alot more upgrade options than a stock 4G93T GDI. Theres very little you can do to a GDI. Plus it isnt that clearcut a swap.
raybic has done some extensive work on his. He has probably ventured the furthest into a 4G93T GDI than most.

ZeroOne wrote:93t GDI??????

Ask idle about that.

tbqh, getting rid of the GDI was the best thing I couldve done.
It wasnt turbo, but I had my fair share of issues if youve ever taken the time to read this thread youll see.

Biggs3ne wrote:I heard that the 4G93t is endless headache. What kind of box do I have to get for the 4g18? what's the best? what's the price?

Its not that much headache eh Biggs. raybic has covered alot of ground.
He converted from a 4G18+cvt to 4G93T+tiptronic 5 fwd.
I got my 4G18+box on tuner, ever so often a deal pops up, you hadda keep an eye out.
wrt to bigger exhaust, YES it works without upgrading the engine size.
But its tricky, if you go too big it wouldnt make sense. The biggest you should go is 2.5"
After that you get a lag and a performance cut.

The best thing to compliment a bigger exhaust is a CAI.
More air breathing in..and better flow out..

Biggs3ne wrote:

I got my CAI from ebay, but it had to do a lil bit of altercations.
mainly because the 4G18 doesnt have a MAF on the air intake, and these kits comes with adapters to bolt onto the MAF. So basically you have to get about a 12" more piping.
When we meet up for the run I can show you what I did.

I think it cost about $40 US. And its totally DIY.
Definitely more performance felt. But because the piping runs close to the radiator hose. I decided to wrap the CAI to keep it cool. The sound is sweet if you dont mind a lil noise.

Regarding gas, $100 super fulls my tank for about 4 days driving piarco to glencoe in traffic both directions. THIS is what really sold me, you get a nice pull from the box and the hit on the pocket soft.

Thanks for the feedback idle. As for the gearbox, I not sure if I could take on that stress in traffic nah. I work in St. Clair and live Curepe and the traffic is just disgusting. I don't know how you do it nah. I guess I will have to adapt because the GB in my CS sounds as like fun to me. Well it must be better than shifting from D to DS, vice versa.

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2012, 7:40 pm

super . . . bleh

ours runs PREMIUM ONLY

Blondie coming up on 200,000km soon

no major issues

needs some small parts - boot rubbers need to change, right side has a small tear (has the factory fit now)

stabilizer bar link rubbers need to change.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 13th, 2012, 8:12 pm

Saw her the other day...looking in good shape man.
Mine coming up on 200,000km too...well at least the body lol

mety57

Postby mety57 » March 13th, 2012, 9:01 pm

hey guys i have to get a cedia lancer gas pedal and if possible x cable so somebody call meh 385-7555

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 13th, 2012, 11:09 pm

GDI mety?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » March 14th, 2012, 10:01 am

Fellas I need your help deciding between 15" and 17" rims. Currently on 18" full face chrome and fed up of changing bushings and rack ends. Can you also recommend tire profiles as well to suit the rim size.

Postby BrotherHood » March 14th, 2012, 3:50 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:Fellas I need your help deciding between 15" and 17" rims. Currently on 18" full face chrome and fed up of changing bushings and rack ends. Can you also recommend tire profiles as well to suit the rim size.

I had 20" on mine about a year ago. Yeah I like the bling bling. Was not getting all the lock but at original ride height it rode pretty well on 225/30.
I'm back of the OEM 14's now but considering going back on the bling bling in future. All my mounts and bushings are polyurethane though.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”