The Religion Discussion

Humes

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby Humes » May 9th, 2012, 8:40 am

bluefete wrote:Anyways, in the absence of an omnipotent being, why is the void not filled by something else? Does not the natural world teach that a vacuum is soon filled or some such thing? I am not a physicist so the correct saying is cloudy in the mind at this time.

bluefete, that's a physical law related to the physical world. It has to do with physical space being filled, not the metaphysical attributes of the object that fills said space.

So even if we were saying that God is only a physical being, then the void left by his absence could be filled by anything, including air, a pencil sharpener, a tree, Patrick Stewart or a beef roti, depending on God's physical size.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 9th, 2012, 9:43 am

bluefete wrote:AdamB: Undoubtedly, Mohammed was all those things. However, did he raise people from the dead and give sight to people who were born blind?

It is true that some ancient prophets (Elijah, for example) raised people from the dead. However, Jesus' purpose was far greater.

There were instances when people came to crown him king and he ran away. He often said that His kingdom was not of this world.

What did Napoleon Bonaparte say about Jesus?

Napoleon I (1769 -1821) was the emperor of France and one of the greatest military commanders of all time. Napoleon knew about shaping history!

"I know men and I tell you that Jesus Christ is no mere man. Between him and every other person in the world there is no possible term of comparison. Alexander, Caesar, Charlemagne, and I founded empires but on what did we rest the creations of our genius? Upon force.

Jesus Christ founded His empire upon love; and at this hour millions of people would die for Him." 2

"Everything in Christ astonishes me. His spirit overawes me, and His will confounds me ... I search in vain in history to find the similar to Jesus Christ, or anything that can approach the gospel." 3

1 Quoted from "Napoleon I," Microsoft (R) Encarta. Copyright (c) 1994 Microsoft Corporation. Copyright (c) 1994 Funk & Wagnall's Corporation.
2 Josh McDowell, Evidence That Demands a Verdict, Here's Life Publishers, San Bernardino, 25th printing, June 1986, page 127.
3 Josh McDowell, Evidence That Demands a Verdict, ibid, page 106.

http://www.changinglivesonline.org/solitary-life.html

Trying to answer your questions:
did he raise people from the dead and give sight to people who were born blind?
Jesus did these things BY THE PERMISSION AND LEAVE OF ALLAH. Did Moses split apart the Red Sea by himself?? No, it was a gift given to them by ALLAH in order that their people to whom they were sent would recognize that they could not do these things of their own, so it confirmed that they had been sent by ALLAH.

Jesus in the Glorious Qur'an

Introduction
The Qur’an tells us a lot of wonderful things about Jesus. As a result, believers in the Qur’an love Jesus, honour him, and believe in him. In fact, no Muslim can be a Muslim unless he or she believes in Jesus, on whom be peace.

The Qur’an says that Jesus was born of a virgin, that he spoke while he was still only a baby, that he healed the blind and the leper by God’s leave, and that he raised the dead by God’s leave.

What then is the significance of these miracles? First, the virgin birth. God demonstrates his power to create in every way. God created everyone we know from a man and a woman. But how about Adam, on whom be peace? God created him from neither a man nor a woman. And Eve from only a man, but not a woman. And, finally, to complete the picture, God created Jesus from a woman, but not a man.

What about the other miracles? These were to show that Jesus was not acting on his own behalf, but that he was backed by God. The Qur’an specifies that these miracles were performed by God’s leave. This may be compared to the Book of Acts in the Bible, chapter 2, verse 22, where it says that the miracles were done by God to show that he approved of Jesus. Also, note that Jesus himself is recorded in the Gospel of John to have said, “I can do nothing of my own authority” (5:30). The miracles, therefore, were done not by his own authority, but by God’s authority.

What did Jesus teach? The Qur’an tells us that Jesus came to teach the same basic message which was taught by previous prophets from God—that we must shun every false god and worship only the one true God. Jesus taught that he is the servant and messenger of that one true God, the God of Abraham. These Quranic teachings can be compared with the Bible ( Mark 10:18; Matthew 26:39; John 14:28, 17:3, and 20:17) where Jesus teaches that the one he worshipped is the only true God. See also Matthew 12:18; Acts 3:13, and 4:27 where we find that his disciples knew him as Servant of God.

The Qur’an tells us that some of the Israelites rejected Jesus, and conspired to kill him, but Allah (God) rescued Jesus and raised him to Himself. Allah will cause Jesus to descend again, at which time Jesus will confirm his true teachings and everyone will believe in him as he is and as the Qur’an teaches about him.

Jesus is the Messiah. He is a word from Allah, and a spirit from Him. He is honoured in this world and in the hereafter, and he is one of those brought nearest to Allah.

Jesus was a man who spoke the truth which he heard from God. This can be compared with the Gospel According to John where Jesus says to the Israelites: “You are determined to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God” (John 8:40).

The Virgin Birth of Jesus
Muslims believe in the virgin birth of Jesus. When the angels announced to Mary (peace be upon her) about Allah’s promise that she will have a son, she was surprised, since she was a virgin. “How can this be?” she thought. She was reminded that it is easy for Allah to create whatever he wills.

She said: My Lord! How can I have a child when no mortal hath touched me? He said: So (it will be). Allah createth what He will. If He decreeth a thing, He saith unto it only: Be! and it is (Qur’an 3:47).

It is not difficult for Allah to do anything he wants. He can create a child with both human parents or only one. No miracle is beyond His power. After all, He had created Adam (peace be upon him) from neither a man nor a woman. He created the rest of us from both man and woman. What is so hard if Allah decides to create a human being from a woman only? He only commands “Be!” and it occurs.

Some people think that since Jesus, peace be upon him, had no human father then God must be his father. The Qur’an rejects this view. The position of Jesus with Allah is comparable to the position of Adam with Allah. Just because Adam had no human parent does not mean we should call him the Son of God.

Lo! the likeness of Jesus with Allah is as the likeness of Adam. He created him from dust, then He said unto him: Be! and he is. (Qur’an 3:59).

According to the Qur’an, everyone except Allah are His servants.

And they say: the Beneficent hath taken unto Himself a Son. Assuredly ye utter a disastrous thing, whereby almost the heavens are torn, and the earth is split asunder and the mountains fall to ruins, that ye ascribe to the Beneficent a son, when it is not meet for (the Majesty of) the Beneficent that He should chose a son. There is none in the heavens and the earth but cometh unto the Beneficent as a slave. (Qur’an 19:88-93)

The Miracles of Jesus
According to the Qur’an, Jesus, on whom be peace, performed the following miracles by Allah’s leave:

1. Spoke while he was only a baby.
2. Healed those born blind.
3. Healed the lepers.
4. Revived the dead.
5. Breathed life into a bird made of clay.

In the Qur’an Allah quotes Jesus, peace be upon him, as saying:

Lo! I come unto you with a sign from your Lord. Lo! I fashion for you out of clay the likeness of a bird, and I breathe into it and it is a bird by Allah’s leave. I heal him who was born blind, and the leper, and I raise the dead, by Allah’s leave. And I announce to you what you eat and what you store up in your houses. Lo! herein verily is a portent for you if you are to be believers.
And (I come) confirming that which was before me of the Torah, and to make lawful some of that which was forbidden unto you. I come unto you with a sign from your Lord, so keep your duty to Allah and obey me. Lo! Allah is my Lord and your Lord, so worship Him. That is a straight path. (Qur’an 3: 49-51).

Again, in the Qur’an Allah tells us about the situation on the Day of Judgement:

In the day when Allah gathers together the messengers and says: What was your response (from mankind)? they say: We have no knowledge. Lo! Thou, only Thou art the Knower of Things Hidden.
When Allah says: O Jesus, son of Mary! Remember My favour unto you and unto your mother; how I strengthened you with the holy Spirit, so that you spoke unto mankind in the cradle as in maturity; and how I taught you the Scripture and Wisdom and the Torah and the Gospel; and how you did shape of clay as it were the likeness of a bird by My permission, and did blow upon it and it was a bird by My permission, and you did heal him who was born blind and the leper by My permission . . . (Qur’an 5:109-110)

Not all of these miracles are recorded in the canonical gospels, the four gospels contained in the Christian Bible.

The fact that Jesus spoke while he was yet a baby is not written anywhere in the Bible. This should not be surprising, because none of the Gospels can claim to recover every single event in the life of Jesus. Instead, the gospel According to John seeks to emphasize that the events were too many to record.

Similarly, the miracle of breathing life into a bird made of clay is not attested by the Christian Bible. This too should not make us wonder. It is obvious that the writers of the gospels could write down only the tradition that was available to them. Furthermore, they could not write down everything they knew about Jesus for they were writing on papyrus material that were very limited in length.

What is worthy to notice here is that the Prophet Muhammad, may peace and the blessings of Allah be upon him, was honest enough to promulgate this information about Jesus. The religion taught by God through Muhammad would deny the divinity of Jesus. Any human being, therefore, who wished to deny the divinity of Jesus would have tried to belittle Jesus. Since Christians looked upon the miracles of Jesus as a proof of his divinity, we might expect that any human being who tries to deny the divinity of Jesus would not have informed people of miracles not previously known to them. He might have even tried to deny some of the miracles recorded in the canonical gospels. On the other hand, the prophet Muhammad honestly conveyed the message delivered to him from Allah. (May the peace and blessings of Allah be upon him.)

Allah tells us the truth without fear. Human beings trying to win followers tell us only what is conducive to winning us over. They usually withhold information that could lead to opposite conclusions. On the other hand, Allah informs us about the miracles of Jesus even if people use this information to support their prior commitment to the doctrine of the divinity of Jesus. Allah does not need to win worshippers. Those who worship Allah does so for their own good. And those who worship false gods do so to their own detriment.

What Allah emphasizes, though, is that the miracles of Jesus do not prove he was divine. The miracles he performed were a sign, a proof, that he was God’s messenger. He performed them with God’s help and permission. Those who use his miracles as proof of his divinity would choose to forget the following sayings of Jesus:

I can of my own authority do nothing. (John 5:30)

They also forget the declaration of Peter:

Jesus of Nazareth, a man approved of God among you by miracles and wonders and signs, which God did by him in the midst of you, as ye yourselves know. (Acts 2:22 KJV).

These passages suggest that Jesus did not do miracles on his own. These, rather were accomplished by God’s leave. Allah reminds us of this. Jesus also constantly repeated to his audience that the miracles he performed were by God’s leave.

What did Napoleon Bonaparte say about Jesus?

Who is Napoleon? 18th century...Really!! He is nobody who opinion should be consulted on these matters.

Napoleon Bonaparte (French: Napoléon Bonaparte [napoleɔ̃ bɔnɑpaʁt]) (15 August 1769 – 5 May 1821) was a French military and political leader who rose to prominence during the latter stages of the French Revolution. As Napoleon I, he was Emperor of the French from 1804 to 1815. His legal reform, the Napoleonic Code, has been a major influence on many civil law jurisdictions worldwide, but he is best remembered for his role in the wars led against France by a series of coalitions, the so-called Napoleonic Wars

Napoleon's baptism was held in Ajaccio on 21 July 1771; he was piously raised and received a Christian education; however, his teachers failed to give faith to the young boy.[163] As an adult, Napoleon was described as a "deist with involuntary respect and fondness for Catholicism."[164] He never believed in a living God; Napoleon's deity was an absent and distant God,[163] but he pragmatically considered organised religions as key elements of social order,[163] and especially Catholicism, whose, according to him, "splendorous ceremonies and sublime moral better act over the imagination of the people than other religions".[163] L'Empire et le Saint-Siège". Napoleon.org. Retrieved 15 June 2011.

Criticism

Napoleon ended lawlessness and disorder in post-Revolutionary France.[190] He was, however, considered a tyrant and usurper by his opponents.[191] His critics charge that he was not significantly troubled when faced with the prospect of war and death for thousands, turned his search for undisputed rule into a series of conflicts throughout Europe and ignored treaties and conventions alike. His role in the Haitian Revolution and decision to reinstate slavery in France's oversea colonies are controversial and have an impact on his reputation.[192]

Napoleon institutionalised plunder of conquered territories: French museums contain art stolen by Napoleon's forces from across Europe. Artefacts were brought to the Musée du Louvre for a grand central museum; his example would later serve as inspiration for more notorious imitators.[193] He was compared to Adolf Hitler most famously by the historian Pieter Geyl in 1947.[194] David G. Chandler, historian of Napoleonic warfare, wrote that, "Nothing could be more degrading to the former and more flattering to the latter."[195]

Critics argue Napoleon's true legacy must reflect the loss of status for France and needless deaths brought by his rule: historian Victor Davis Hanson writes, "After all, the military record is unquestioned—17 years of wars, perhaps six million Europeans dead, France bankrupt, her overseas colonies lost."[196] McLynn notes that, "He can be viewed as the man who set back European economic life for a generation by the dislocating impact of his wars.[191] However, Vincent Cronin replies that such criticism relies on the flawed premise that Napoleon was responsible for the wars which bear his name, when in fact France was the victim of a series of coalitions which aimed to destroy the ideals of the Revolution
Last edited by AdamB on May 9th, 2012, 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 9th, 2012, 9:56 am

bluefete wrote:[However, did the angel Jibreel say anything about Jesus Christ to Muhammed?

Read or search the Noble Qur'aan...angel Jibreel delivered the entire Qur'aan to Muhammad over a period of 23 years.

Jesus is mentioned more iin the Qur'aan than even Muhammad!!

Jesus spoke as a babe in the cradle to defend his chaste mother, who was accused of an extramarital affair that conceived him. The first words he spoke was "INNEE ABDULLAH" - "SURELY I AM A SLAVE (OR SERVANT) OF ALLAH. This statement nullifies the belief of those who say he is the SON OF GOD or GOD (as part of the TRINITY)!!

"He [Jesus] said: 'I am indeed a servant of God. He has given me revelation and made me a prophet; He has made me blessed wheresoever I be; and He has enjoined on me prayer and charity as long as I live. He has made me kind to my mother, and not overbearing or miserable. So peace is on me the day I was born, the day that I die, and the day that I shall be raised up to life (again)!' Such was Jesus the son of Mary. It is a statement of truth, about which they (vainly) dispute. It is not befitting to (the majesty of) God that He should beget a son. Glory be to Him! When He determines a matter, He only says to it, 'Be,' and it is" (QURAN 19:30-35).

For more check out this web site: http://islam.about.com/cs/jesus/f/jesus_quran.htm

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 10:17 am

AdamB wrote:
996vtwin wrote:
Humes wrote:Whatever science can't explain, it admits it can't explain, and keeps looking for an answer that can be supported by empirical evidence and/or sound logic. It doesn't just grasp at unfounded or unprovable stories to explain things.

So why do they persist with the idea of string theory?
same reason scientists persisted ages ago with the idea that the earth was not the center of the universe and the sun and moon did not rotate around the earth I guess.

I remember from my O'Level History days that Columbus (or some seamen) was afraid to fall off the edge of the Earth because the earth was flat.
Earth is geo-spherical in shape
The Quran mentions the actual shape of the earth in the following verse: “And we have made the earth egg shaped”. [Al-Quran 79:30]

The Arabic word Dahaha means egg shaped. It also means an expanse. Dahaha is derived from Duhiya which specifically refers to the egg of an ostrich which is geo-spherical in shape, exactly like the shape of the earth.

Thus the Quran and modern established science are in perfect harmony.

bruddaman, references to the earth being round have existed waaaaaaaaaaaay beyond 1,400 years ago
the history book s were somewhat misleading...many scholars proved through observation and inferrence that the earth was round.......it's just that nobody had actually made the trip to prove it
It makes sense that the koran would stipulate that the world was round, seeing that islamic scholars were at the forefront of navigation back in their day, so naturally when they were drafting their book, they would put all their knowledge into it..........just more evidence that some brilliant men wrote the book

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 10:20 am

AdamB wrote:
MG Man wrote:I just want to know where the muslims were, and what they were doing, when the romans were turning jesus into a conversation piece

MG, check the history books nah man...Prophet Muhammad was sent over six hundred years after Jesus.

BTW the muslims eventually defeated the Romans when they were ruling Syria - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muslim_conquest_of_Syria

that's the best you can do?
show me verifiable evidence of the existence of your faith beyond 2,000 years ago
names, places
and u never answered me on how islam was spread to africa in those early years.........still waiting

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 10:27 am

AdamB wrote:
996vtwin wrote:
Humes wrote:Whatever science can't explain, it admits it can't explain, and keeps looking for an answer that can be supported by empirical evidence and/or sound logic. It doesn't just grasp at unfounded or unprovable stories to explain things.

same reason scientists persisted ages ago with the idea that the earth was not the center of the universe and the sun and moon did not rotate around the earth I guess.

I remember from my O'Level History days that Columbus (or some seamen) was afraid to fall off the edge of the Earth because the earth was flat.
The Quran mentions the actual shape of the earth in the following verse: “And we have made the earth egg shaped”. [Al-Quran 79:30]

The Arabic word Dahaha means egg shaped. It also means an expanse. Dahaha is derived from Duhiya which specifically refers to the egg of an ostrich which is geo-spherical in shape, exactly like the shape of the earth.

bruddaman, references to the earth being round have existed waaaaaaaaaaaay beyond 1,400 years ago
the history book s were somewhat misleading...many scholars proved through observation and inferrence that the earth was round.......it's just that nobody had actually made the trip to prove it
It makes sense that the koran would stipulate that the world was round, seeing that islamic scholars were at the forefront of navigation back in their day, so naturally when they were drafting their book, they would put all their knowledge into it..........just more evidence that some brilliant men wrote the book

Mohammed was just a front for the real writers. Also they make a big bruhaha about the description fo the development of the fetous, but the complete development and the description of the reproductive system (including the errors) was coppied from hippocrates work, which was in circulation at the time.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 10:28 am

blast for me ;p

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 10:41 am

MG Man wrote:blast for me ;p

MG Mannnnnnn!!!!an!!an!!nananaananananannnnnn!!!

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 10:47 am

that's SIR MG Mannnnnnn!!!!an!!an!!nananaananananannnnnn!!! to you eh

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 10:56 am

MG Man wrote:that's SIR MG Mannnnnnn!!!!an!!an!!nananaananananannnnnn!!! to you eh

Yes SIR MG Mannnnnnn!!!!an!!an!! anaananananannnnnn!!!... now bend over beyotch *thwack* :evilbat: :|

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 9th, 2012, 10:56 am

AdamB wrote:
MG Man wrote:I just want to know where the muslims were, and what they were doing, when the romans were turning jesus into a conversation piece

MG, check the history books nah man...Prophet Muhammad was sent over six hundred years after Jesus.

BTW the muslims eventually defeated the Romans when they were ruling Syria - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muslim_conquest_of_Syria

that's the best you can do?
show me verifiable evidence of the existence of your faith beyond 2,000 years ago
names, places
and u never answered me on how islam was spread to africa in those early years.........still waiting

MG,
The religion of the muslims was completed by ALLAH just over 1400 yrs ago...so 2000 yrs reference is asking for the impossible...also muslims as defined now could not have defended Jesus from the Romans because we did not exist at that time.
Why didn't the Jews/masses defend him if they recognized him as the prophet of ALLAH (i will use instead of THE ONE TRUE GOD)? Because they would have been crushed!!
Why didn't the people of Moses not do the same when they were slaves under the Pharoah? Each prophet's mission is different, their core belief is the same (Oneness of belief in ALLAH) but we cannot or should not compare them to say that one is better or greater than the other.

Islam in Africa - A RESULT OF TRADE (just like in Indonesia which has the highest muslim population, where not a sword was raised).

Islam in Africa, the development of the Muslim religion on the African continent.

During Muhammad's lifetime a group of Muslims escaped Meccan persecution (615) by fleeing to Ethiopia, where the Negus gave them protection. The spread of Islam in Africa began in the 7th and 8th cent. with the Umayyads, who brought the religion to the Middle East and to the littoral of North Africa. Along the coast of Africa Islam spread among the Berbers, who joined the Muslim community and almost immediately drove north across the Mediterranean into Europe. In Morocco, Muslims founded the city of Fès (808), which soon thereafter gave refuge to Andalusian Muslims fleeing an uprising in Córdoba (see Idrisids). On the east coast of Africa, where Arab mariners had for many years journeyed to trade, Arabs founded permanent colonies on the offshore islands, especially on Zanzibar, in the 9th and 10th cent. From there Arab trade routes into the interior of Africa helped the slow acceptance of Islam and led to the development of Swahili culture and language.

Prior to the 19th cent. the greatest gains made by Islam were in the lands immediately south of the Sahara. The Islamization of W Africa began when the ancient kingdom of Ghana (c.990) extended itself into the Sahara and the Islamic center at Sanhajah. Mansa Musa (1307–32) of Mali was among the first to make Islam the state religion. By the 16th cent. the empire of Mali and its successor-state Songhaj included several Saharan centers of trade and Muslim learning, such as Timbuktu. In the region of the E Sudan, Islamic penetration followed the route of the Nile. By about 1366, Makurra, the more northerly of the two Christian kingdoms of the E Sudan, became Islamic. The other kingdom, Aloa, was captured (c.1504) by the Muslims.

In the 16th cent. the Somali conqueror Ahmad Gran unsuccessfully attempted to convert Ethiopia to Islam. In the late 18th and early 19th cent., Africa, like the rest of the Muslim world, was swept by a wave of religious reform. Militant reformers, such as the Fulani and the followers of Hajj Omar, greatly extended the area over which Islam held sway in W Africa. Usumanu dan Fodio (1809) founded the Sokoto caliphate, which was eventually incorporated under British rule into Nigeria.

The Muslim brotherhoods also gained many new converts (see Sanusi). European colonialists in many cases adopted Muslim law as a unifying administrative structure, rather than the indigenous and often competing tribal customs of their artificially demarcated colonies. Islam in Africa has to varying degrees incorporated tribal and pre-Islamic practices, and the Muslims of Africa have accepted claims of several self-proclaimed Mahdis. In the 20th cent. Islam has gained more converts in Africa than has Christianity, which labors under the burden of identification with European imperialism.

Bibliography

See J. S. Trimingham, Islam in West Africa (1959), Islam in East Africa (1964), Islam in the Sudan (2d ed. 1949, repr. 1965), Islam in Ethiopia (1952, repr. 1965), and The Influence of Islam on Africa (1968); J. and L. Kritzeck, ed., Islam in Africa (1969).

The Colombia Electronic Encyclopedia, 6th ed.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 11:06 am

just by trade????? well if u really believe that bs, then no point really in further debate.............
'completed 1,400 years ago'........hoss you even put any thought into what u say? or u just repeat blindly?
where the heck was islam before the revelation?
you guys quick to say islam was always there, even before the revelation, but how? where? in what form?
the glaring truth, is that some fellas took the old testament, doctored it, added in what they wanted, took out what they didn't like, and crafted a new book of social control, with which to spread power
and even if I am 100% wrong and god did in fact write that book, it is so horribly flawed and left open to interpretation, then I think god really did a pi$$ poor job writing it

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 9th, 2012, 11:24 am

AdamB wrote:
996vtwin wrote:

honestly, is all your referenced material from wikipedia??

a simple internet search (since u like to do that and the results valid)

http://www.answering-islam.org/Quran/Sc ... h_egg.html

Sura 79:30 reads

Wal'arda ba'da dhalika dahaha
and is usually translated as

And the earth, moreover, hath He extended (to a wide expanse); (Yusuf Ali)
And after that He spread the earth, (Pickthall)
And the earth, He expanded it after that. (Shakir)
But some years ago, a new dawah[1] translation was made which reads (why new translations?)
"He made the earth egg-shaped."[2]

Based on this special translation, the following argument is sometimes presented:

The Holy Qur'an tells us that God had created the earth ovoid in shape (which is the nearest description according to recent scientific evidence, and not like a ball). This is one of many great evidences for the truth of the Qur'an.

So how come as times passes translations changes?

Why is it that religious bodies are always quick to show that their teachings correlate with science?
Especially when they have so many issues with the science movement.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 11:31 am

not to mention, the idea of the earth being 'round' was not new 1,400 years ago.........citing that as 'evidence' to validate the book is just sad

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 11:41 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:honestly, is all your referenced material from wikipedia??

You crazy uncle?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 9th, 2012, 11:53 am

crossdrilled wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:honestly, is all your referenced material from wikipedia??

You crazy uncle?

burr?? wah u mean?

alot of what the man quoting is what he is finding on wikipedia:
http://wikiislam.net/wiki/Flat_Earth_and_the_Qur'an
Muslim Apologetics

Anyway, to answer your question about why did Allah Almighty use the word "dahaha" in Noble Verse 79:30, well it's because the word is the most precise out of all. It describes the roundness and the flatness of the earth at once. [8]

Some will also claim that the root word for dahaha is duhiya which means ostrich egg.

4. Earth is geo-spherical in shape
The Qur’an mentions the actual shape of the earth in the following verse:

“And we have made the earth egg shaped”. [Al-Qur’an 79:30]

The Arabic word Dahaha means egg shaped. It also means an expanse. Dahaha is derived from Duhiya which specifically refers to the egg of an ostrich which is geospherical in shape, exactly like the shape of the earth.

Thus the Qur’an and modern established science are in perfect harmony. [9]

Nevertheless, many Muslims still cling to the belief that dahaha means an ostrich egg, despite the scientific difficulty this presents in that the earth is an oblate spheroid while the ostrich egg is a prolate spheroid. Thus the earth and the ostrich egg are dissimilar in three dimensions. ect.
Last edited by mamoo_pagal on May 9th, 2012, 1:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2012, 12:04 pm

MG Man wrote:just by trade????? well if u really believe that bs, then no point really in further debate.............
'completed 1,400 years ago'........hoss you even put any thought into what u say? or u just repeat blindly?
where the heck was islam before the revelation?
you guys quick to say islam was always there, even before the revelation, but how? where? in what form?
the glaring truth, is that some fellas took the old testament, doctored it, added in what they wanted, took out what they didn't like, and crafted a new book of social control, with which to spread power
and even if I am 100% wrong and god did in fact write that book, it is so horribly flawed and left open to interpretation, then I think god really did a pi$$ poor job writing it

Oh no you didn't!!!!!! :shock:

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 12:07 pm

why not?
the man basically insult every other religion a few pages back by sayin islam is de one true religion and christians are delusional etc..........surely he cannot take offence now...

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2012, 12:15 pm

True True.........

After reading this thread though I always think if i wasn't into my religion Agnosticism is the next best thing.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 9th, 2012, 12:35 pm

MG Man wrote: then I think god really did a pi$$ poor job writing it[/b]

DOESN'T SAY MUCH FOR YOUR "THOUGHT PROCESSES"!!!

WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE PURPOSE OF YOUR EXISTENCE OR CREATION? IF NOTHING, THEN COMMIT SUICIDE AND FIND OUT!!! IT MAY BE BETTER FOR YOU BECAUSE THE CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR ATTEMPT AT INSULTING THE ONE TRUE GOD IS FAR WORSE!!!

I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAVE SAID WITH THE BEST OF INTENTIONS. IT'S UP TO YOU TO ACCEPT OR REJECT. ISLAM IS NOT A RELIGION OF "EVERYTHING FLOWS TO THE SEA."

I JUST HOPE YOU REMEMBER ON THAT DREADFUL DAY THAT SOME SEMBLANCE OF THE MESSAGE CAME TO YOU BY AdamB. NO EXCUSE WILL YOU THEN HAVE.

ASSALAAMU 'ALAIKUM (MAY THE PEACE AND BLESSINGS OF ALLAH BE WITH YOU).

If there are some who post on this topic / visit / read with cleanliness of heart and seeking the truth...then please feel free to PM me, it is pointless conversing with persons who lack knowledge / common sense / ability to put 2 and 2 together.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 12:38 pm

I sense you may be upset

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2012, 12:41 pm

AdamB wrote:
I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAVE SAID WITH THE BEST OF INTENTIONS. IT'S UP TO YOU TO ACCEPT OR REJECT.

far too many people have died at the hands of religious campaigners who had 'the best of intentions'

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 9th, 2012, 1:19 pm

AdamB wrote:
MG Man wrote: then I think god really did a pi$$ poor job writing it[/b]

DOESN'T SAY MUCH FOR YOUR "THOUGHT PROCESSES"!!!

WHAT DO YOU THINK IS THE PURPOSE OF YOUR EXISTENCE OR CREATION? IF NOTHING, THEN COMMIT SUICIDE AND FIND OUT!!! IT MAY BE BETTER FOR YOU BECAUSE THE CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR ATTEMPT AT INSULTING THE ONE TRUE GOD IS FAR WORSE!!!

I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAVE SAID WITH THE BEST OF INTENTIONS. IT'S UP TO YOU TO ACCEPT OR REJECT. ISLAM IS NOT A RELIGION OF "EVERYTHING FLOWS TO THE SEA."

I JUST HOPE YOU REMEMBER ON THAT DREADFUL DAY THAT SOME SEMBLANCE OF THE MESSAGE CAME TO YOU BY AdamB. NO EXCUSE WILL YOU THEN HAVE.

ASSALAAMU 'ALAIKUM (MAY THE PEACE AND BLESSINGS OF ALLAH BE WITH YOU).

If there are some who post on this topic / visit / read with cleanliness of heart and seeking the truth...then please feel free to PM me, it is pointless conversing with persons who lack knowledge / common sense / ability to put 2 and 2 together.

so you are half quoting truth's from wikipedia and this is supposed to be a reflection of your truth, cleanliness of heart ect:

http://wikiislam.net/wiki/Flat_Earth_and_the_Qur'an
Muslim Apologetics

Anyway, to answer your question about why did Allah Almighty use the word "dahaha" in Noble Verse 79:30, well it's because the word is the most precise out of all. It describes the roundness and the flatness of the earth at once. [8]

Some will also claim that the root word for dahaha is duhiya which means ostrich egg.

4. Earth is geo-spherical in shape
The Qur’an mentions the actual shape of the earth in the following verse:

“And we have made the earth egg shaped”. [Al-Qur’an 79:30]

The Arabic word Dahaha means egg shaped. It also means an expanse. Dahaha is derived from Duhiya which specifically refers to the egg of an ostrich which is geospherical in shape, exactly like the shape of the earth.

Thus the Qur’an and modern established science are in perfect harmony. [9]

Nevertheless, many Muslims still cling to the belief that dahaha means an ostrich egg, despite the scientific difficulty this presents in that the earth is an oblate spheroid while the ostrich egg is a prolate spheroid. Thus the earth and the ostrich egg are dissimilar in three dimensions. ect.

"The earth is flat. Whoever claims it is round is an atheist deserving of punishment."
—Sheik Abdul-Aziz Ibn Baaz, supreme religious authority of Saudi Arabia, 1993 [1]
Last edited by mamoo_pagal on May 9th, 2012, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 1:25 pm

mamoo = Uncle
pagal = Crazy

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2012, 1:38 pm

If one who does not accept Christ or Allah (a Hindu or atheist for example) has to go to hell whose hell do they go too?

Does the Muslim hell have 1st lien on the soul or does Satan get first preference?

Postby RBphoto » May 9th, 2012, 1:40 pm

What is this thing called... satan? If god is all powerful, why not kill satan so he doh tempt us mortals to play up in we MC and go to hell :x

Humes

Postby Humes » May 9th, 2012, 2:53 pm

AdamB wrote:it is pointless conversing with persons who lack knowledge / common sense / ability to put 2 and 2 together.

Heh.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » May 9th, 2012, 4:19 pm

crossdrilled wrote:What is this thing called... satan? If god is all powerful, why not kill satan so he doh tempt us mortals to play up in we MC and go to hell :x

Apparantly Satan is quite poweful. You remember he tried to Tempt Jesus. It is written in Revelations the final outcome of Satan. But for now he is here.

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2012, 4:29 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
"The earth is flat. Whoever claims it is round is an atheist deserving of punishment."
—Sheik Abdul-Aziz Ibn Baaz, supreme religious authority of Saudi Arabia, 1993 [1]

in islam, u not supposed to rely exclusively on leaders for interpretation. there are the two main codes of belief available, which are the quran and hadith. it is up to each individual to study these things and gain knowledge for themselves. if something confuses u, u can access those supposedly more knowledgeable persons for clarification. but they may misinterpret as well.every body is human, and subject to error.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » May 9th, 2012, 4:37 pm

AdamB wrote:
bluefete wrote:[However, did the angel Jibreel say anything about Jesus Christ to Muhammed?

Read or search the Noble Qur'aan...angel Jibreel delivered the entire Qur'aan to Muhammad over a period of 23 years.

Jesus is mentioned more iin the Qur'aan than even Muhammad!!

Jesus spoke as a babe in the cradle to defend his chaste mother, who was accused of an extramarital affair that conceived him. The first words he spoke was "INNEE ABDULLAH" - "SURELY I AM A SLAVE (OR SERVANT) OF ALLAH. This statement nullifies the belief of those who say he is the SON OF GOD or GOD (as part of the TRINITY)!!

"He [Jesus] said: 'I am indeed a servant of God. He has given me revelation and made me a prophet; He has made me blessed wheresoever I be; and He has enjoined on me prayer and charity as long as I live. He has made me kind to my mother, and not overbearing or miserable. So peace is on me the day I was born, the day that I die, and the day that I shall be raised up to life (again)!' Such was Jesus the son of Mary. It is a statement of truth, about which they (vainly) dispute. It is not befitting to (the majesty of) God that He should beget a son. Glory be to Him! When He determines a matter, He only says to it, 'Be,' and it is" (QURAN 19:30-35).

For more check out this web site: http://islam.about.com/cs/jesus/f/jesus_quran.htm

John 8:58
Then Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”

Jesus clearly says I AM!

There is no other other prophet in HISTORY who has made this claim. Jesus Christ is GOD. That is what differentiates him from all other false prophets.
John 14:6-7 - Jesus said to him, “I AM the way, the truth, and the Life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

Also I wanna say I am not discrediting any muslims in here. I know nothing about Muhammed nor Muslim. But according to scriptures and History Jesus Christ came and dies for us all so we could see heaven.