The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

douglaking

Re: CS Lancer!

Postby douglaking » February 11th, 2012, 12:44 am

^^ Where in Penal

venum

Postby venum » February 11th, 2012, 12:28 pm

brotherhood

If ut is a CS3 then it appears that your spark plug seal on that spark plug

Located on underside of he tappet pan cover

raybic

Postby raybic » February 11th, 2012, 8:51 pm

want to raise boost in 4g93t gdi, upgraded to walbro pump, front mount the same size as the side, exhaust front to back 2.25, oil cans kn filter, can i comfortably raise boost to 7 psi without having to tune or make the engine go off. can i use the gfb boost controllers or the hallman ones? electronic or manual. also what to buy a gfb recir bov. any opinions tuners?

Postby BrotherHood » February 12th, 2012, 12:07 am

venum wrote:brotherhood

If ut is a CS3 then it appears that your spark plug seal on that spark plug

Located on underside of he tappet pan cover

Problem solved.

The seal that you talk about venum is letting a bit of oil pass and wet the plug 1 but the real problem was the two plug wires. Bought them at Autotune Supplies in St. Helena and changed them right outside the stoor. I immediately got the response. I am in proper working order now.

Apparently, the CK and Cs uses the same plug wires. THis one I got is NGK and the box had written on it for CK4 Lancer. Will post a pic tomorrow. Too tired to do that.

The car in question is a CS3 venum

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 12th, 2012, 6:39 am

Very good info there BrotherHood.
You changed your plug seals too?

Postby BrotherHood » February 12th, 2012, 3:47 pm

^^^. Plug seal changed, Don't want any of my plugs getting wet by oil.

Below is the plug wires I purchased. $145 total at Autotune Supplies, St. Helena.
IMG00591-20120212-1537.jpg

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 12th, 2012, 4:10 pm

allyuh i have a fan controller for sale new 800 bought from w2j /teknet/gerrard i bought assuming this was my problem it wasn,t so it setting here 1355A126 text or call 385-7555

Postby BrotherHood » February 12th, 2012, 4:31 pm

^^^ pm Biggs3ne.

Also, if that was not your problem, what is it and how have you been able to correct it?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 12th, 2012, 8:56 pm

mety57 wrote:allyuh i have a fan controller for sale new 800 bought from w2j /teknet/gerrard i bought assuming this was my problem it wasn,t so it setting here 1355A126 text or call 385-7555

Hey Mety57, I'll give you a call tomorrow bro.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 12th, 2012, 9:06 pm

BrotherHood wrote:^^^. Plug seal changed, Don't want any of my plugs getting wet by oil.

Below is the plug wires I purchased. $145 total at Autotune Supplies, St. Helena.

I changed my plug seals about two weeks ago, changed all four @ $45 each. Also changed the gasket one time as well. I had a considerable amount of oil in my plugs. Fairly simple DIY job.

On another note, I am a bit confused guys, this is what's up: I usually top up the radiator every week, usually get that pop sound when I pull off the cap. I already know that I have to change the radiator because of some small holes that will spring major leaks in the future. The thing is I noticed that my coolant reservoir bottle is filled almost to the brim. I borrowed my cousin's owners manual and it said that the level should be between max and min. I never ever topped up the reservoir bottle. Can anyone explain the reason for this? Is this normal, abnormal?

I already have plans to change the fan controller and the thermostat this week, a new radiator will be purchased in a few weeks.

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 12th, 2012, 9:35 pm

pressure pushing from the radiator and back to the bottle over time the cap loses tension or the rubber in it or u can have a blown head gasket and the pressure builds

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 12th, 2012, 10:01 pm

mety57 wrote:pressure pushing from the radiator and back to the bottle over time the cap loses tension or the rubber in it or u can have a blown head gasket and the pressure builds

Mety57, A blown head gasket was the first thing that came to mind, but in an earlier post idlemind told me that symptoms of a blown head gasket are mainly water on the oil dipstick and overheating i think. I think that I will go ahead and change the head gasket just to be on the safe side. I'm not concerned about the cost of the replacement head gasket, I'm more concerned about the work.

I'm not too sure if I want to attempt this as a DIY project cause it's alot of bolts and harnesses to get by in order to get to the gasket.

Has anyone ever attempted this on their own?

Postby BrotherHood » February 12th, 2012, 11:18 pm

Na I only do basic stuff. All fluids, spark plugs, filters, and anything else relatively simple. Anything deeply internal I leave for the mechanic.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » February 13th, 2012, 10:33 am

douglaking wrote:So I would like to know if any of you have ever tried to change your fog lamp bulb in a CS3, if so can you provide a detailed description :(

Never did this before I'm accustomed to head lamp change...

Anyone?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 13th, 2012, 10:41 am

douglaking wrote:
douglaking wrote:So I would like to know if any of you have ever tried to change your fog lamp bulb in a CS3, if so can you provide a detailed description :(

Anyone?

DouglaKing, it is pretty simple. I will list out the details for you shortly.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 13th, 2012, 3:50 pm

as for my problem, the right side fan motor wasnt working, ran a direct wire and didnt get any movement....went by bella saturday and got one from a local PCE crashed CS3A...normally parts men doesn't like to seperate parts but the fan frame was broken and the motor and fan was still attached so I got it...paid 400 for the motor alone...brand new is like 220 USD b4 shipping, taxes and duties so I came out good still...tested it on d car and was working...I hadda pull out the upper radiator hose to get the fan housing out so I gonna flush radiator, change thermostat and put new coolant (Texaco 50/50 with some distilled battery water) one time...

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 13th, 2012, 4:54 pm

aye turbo u forget me with the deck bracket

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » February 13th, 2012, 6:34 pm

wen we making the next lime dread...is almost 2yrs now since the last 1..

Postby BrotherHood » February 13th, 2012, 8:42 pm

Anytime after carnival good for me.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 13th, 2012, 9:08 pm

douglaking wrote:

Anyone?

You can either do it from underneath the car or you can take out the headlamps.

Once the headlamps are removed you should have access to the bulb holder once you stick your hand right down there. You gotta turn the holder anti-clockwise as well to unlock it.

Remove the old bulb and replace with exact type, the number should be written on it.

I don't think you would need more details than this James

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 14th, 2012, 11:45 am

mety57 wrote:aye turbo u forget me with the deck bracket

I didn't forget you, didn't install the new deck as yet

douglaking

Postby douglaking » February 14th, 2012, 8:27 pm

Mitsu lime.....yay I belong...lol

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 14th, 2012, 8:48 pm

aye allyuh tranny done 6000 to rebuild

Postby BrotherHood » February 14th, 2012, 11:22 pm

douglaking wrote:Mitsu lime.....yay I belong...lol

Yeah somebody call ah date na.

mety57 wrote:aye allyuh tranny done 6000 to rebuild

Mine is rebuilding at present. Getting it back tomorrow. Costing me $5700 so we are on the same budget here.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 14th, 2012, 11:48 pm

woweeee.... thaz rel $$$ 2 rebuild! y not buy 1 n done?

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 15th, 2012, 12:04 am

i feel i gonna convert to the twin cam 4g15 and tranny so i,m have some gdi parts and engine for sale

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » February 15th, 2012, 7:52 am

geometron wrote:woweeee.... thaz rel $$$ 2 rebuild! y not buy 1 n done?

$6,000.00 is reasonable for a tranny rebuild. What you need to remember is that the parts costs alot of money and make up the bulk of the bill.

I won't advise anyone to purchase a tranny unless it's brand new or if you know the history of it. I have also heard many say that the rebuild makes it as good as new.

Postby BrotherHood » February 15th, 2012, 9:39 am

Biggs3ne wrote:
geometron wrote:woweeee.... thaz rel $$$ 2 rebuild! y not buy 1 n done?

$6,000.00 is reasonable for a tranny rebuild. What you need to remember is that the parts costs alot of money and make up the bulk of the bill.

I won't advise anyone to purchase a tranny unless it's brand new or if you know the history of it. I have also heard many say that the rebuild makes it as good as new

Thumbs on that. Anywhere in that vicinity is what is costs to rebuild the CVT transmission. Biggs said it all there. The parts make up the bulk of the cost. Also, the cost of one of those transmissions is more than that. brqand new which is the best option means you have to face DM. I heard some ridiculous prices. Better you buy a car.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 16th, 2012, 12:55 am

foreign used dus wuk best also!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 16th, 2012, 8:04 am

^^^yea they do most times BUT with a re-build you know everything inside the tranny like new so u have more peace of mind....OR convert to gearbox at around 4-5 K :D

Return to “MITSUBISHI”