COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

kamakazi

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 156 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby kamakazi » July 29th, 2020, 7:00 pm

people who say the earth is flat should be forced to buy a Subaru...
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
screwbash wrote:a lot of companies an employees done lock dong for quarantine for 14 days so might was well close the entire country and let we starve off the virus again. i wonder if they targeting pnm supporters an companies so they wont be able to vote or they targeting unc supporters to stop votes.

The fine for spreading conspiracy theories like this should be $200,000 and 10 years in Jail.

Second time caught doing this the death penalty.

Anybody caught saying the Earth is Flat should face the same penalty.

I would ask you to please leave these kind of conspiracy theories to people like Tucker Carlson and Richard MadCow sorry I mean Rachel Maddow of MSNBC (More Sh!t Nothing But Crap)

Postby goalpost » July 29th, 2020, 7:20 pm

ED like a broken record, whooo boi

Numb3r4

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 154 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby Numb3r4 » July 29th, 2020, 7:21 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
jsali wrote:Hours passed since the last post and that have me anxious...what going on? :?

I want to know about all potential cases/rumors..

Hello jsali,

Hope all is well.

I understand you eagerness to keep abreast with the current events as we battle this Pandemic.

The important thing is that we remain calm and patient and most importantly the correct mindset to act.

Sit back and relax, the experts will advise us shortly.

They are working tediously as we speak.

And when the experts advise us how is that going to help us? have you seen the level of illiteracy among Trinis?
According to Trinis on facebook, Rowley invented Covid, Kamla spread it and Covid is also a Hoax at the same time.

Until a law is passed to charge people for not wearing a mask in public like it is done in the US, shut down all bars and cinema, we are completely and utterly fcked.

I now went to buy food and I pass a bar with a bunch of people liming sitting and socializing and talking ah pack of assness. Since when grown men have time to go and talk sh!t in a bar 11 Am on a Wednesday? This is a prime example just how serious people think Covid is, they literally don't care.

So without laws we are doomed.

Since when do Trinbagonians obey the law?

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2020, 8:39 pm

on the flat earth issue - you need to understand the social context that goes along with it. One of the big proponents of it is Kyrie Irving, who is out there but not insane or stupid.

The world is a sphere. But whole generations grew up learning the earth from a 2D rectangular chart on the wall. How do you make a 3D Sphere into a 2D chart? Well, it's not possible without heavily distorting the map. But this 2D map was taught in schools at all levels, even when Kyrie was a kid he would see this map. And now with the social justice movement - folks are now realizing that map is wrong - and worse than wrong, it was purposefully distorted to focus on an anglo-centric world view.

https://youtu.be/m7-y8MNzJKI?t=2210

Some of the things taught in schools, respected and held up as fact is not just wrong, but part of systematic discrimination against people like Kyrie. I'm not saying Kyrie is correct, but I understand why he sees things the way he does.

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2020, 8:42 pm

pugboy wrote:sweden’s model hasn’t proven to be any great success

even so our population is a very badly behaved bunch, rates would increase dramatically
and well not to mention the vene factor

sMASH wrote:LEAVE D DAMN COUNTRY WHERE IT IS.
secure the susceptible, go about ur business, let this ting ride tru.

locking down does nothing but kill the economy and people finances, and delay the spread. Spread WILL happen as long as someone has it and comes here. u cant keep ratcheting the country every time u get a bump.

our unofficial practices, is more or less in line with sweden's official practices, and their rate of transmission is leveled out, inspite of world trending upwards still.

their curves have turned. and they have little to change to be as normal. they got more deaths initially becuase of the old age homes. that has been addressed. now, their new cases adn deaths, have turned and slowing down.

their first wave woudl be high, but they would not get a second wave cause they dont have much to come out from.
other places, will have to be very careful cause as soon as one case moves around undetected, it will get spread around.

sweden will not have people in the population to spread it to, so they will not be able to carry it to the susceptible.... eventually.

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2020, 8:46 pm

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 8:49 pm

maybe so
but the key point is their population followed the usual social distancing etc rules

ain’t no way trinis doing that i can put my head on a block

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2020, 9:03 pm

^that graph is riddled with survivor bias. People like me would probably be dead well before seeing the end of that graph.

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2020, 9:08 pm

pugboy wrote:maybe so
but the key point is their population followed the usual social distancing etc rules

yeah, but is not very stringent measures like what we put in place. but somewhat like what we are actually doing.

most people gonna get it sooner or later, most people will get it and not be badly off, might as well carry on our business.
let ED and the others be protected from the wider population, until enough peopel get it, that it cant be spread.

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2020, 9:10 pm

the bigger difference is also probably quality of healthcare. San'do General probably has less resources than the hospitals in Stockholm.

if that virus gets a hold in a major hospital here... how many do you think will die?

getting my affairs in order :drinking:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 29th, 2020, 9:21 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

Swedes have self discipline to wear masks and be smart. Their government and many employers have also made it possible for persons to take time off when sick, work from home etc. Their healthcare system was ready for it.

I admire their approach, they knew long term lockdowns till a vaccine would be pointless so they tried to live with it and faired well enough.

However, a more appropriate comparison to what could and will happen to Trinidad is the US.

I predict in a month we could be almost 1000 cases, and 5000 by end of Oct.

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 9:46 pm

those of us with elderly family surely don’t want to think of everybody getting it to achieve herd immunity in a hurry at cost of them dying

Postby Gladiator » July 29th, 2020, 9:53 pm

So today I learned that my co-worker lives with someone who tested positive. He was asked to put all of the persons he was in contact with on a list by Ministry of Health rep. I would be on that list together with about 10 other workers. They told him that everyone on the list would be secondary contacts.

Should we all go to work tomorrow??? Or should we self isolate???

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 9:59 pm

stay home and isolate to be safe

they will call you

Gladiator wrote:So today I learned that my co-worker lives with someone who tested positive. He was asked to put all of the persons he was in contact with on a list by Ministry of Health rep. I would be on that list together with about 10 other workers. They told him that everyone on the list would be secondary contacts.

Postby goalpost » July 29th, 2020, 10:47 pm

Terrence seems to forget what the purpose of a lockdown is. It's to reduce the strain on our hospitals. If we continue behaving as we are now, it's possible we might have problems with overcrowding of our hospitals and other centers set up to deal with covid.

If the Govt stance is no lockdown, then fine, but they need to put other things in place. How can they tell people to stay home if sick, when a lot of ppl can't afford to (no sick leave). What happened to the pandemic leave? Why not adjust it to be applied to people tested positive and primary and secondary contacts? These people can easily be laid off.

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 11:48 pm

sMASH wrote:

yeah, but is not very stringent measures like what we put in place. but somewhat like what we are actually doing.

most people gonna get it sooner or later, most people will get it and not be badly off, might as well carry on our business.
let ED and the others be protected from the wider population, until enough peopel get it, that it cant be spread.

In one US state I think it was New York; people who isolated themselves at home were still being infected. They figured that those persons had family members that were going out and becoming infected then in turn infecting them. There were a lot of multigenerational households. That's probably the case in Trinidad too. Also you don't have to be old to be vulnerable. We have a pandemic of NCDs. The figure for the number of persons with diabetes alone is about 177000! To say nothing about all other commobidities.

Ain't no way you can isolate the vulnerable here. The entire population has to be protected to protect the vulnerable here. While a full lockdown like in March and April may not be feasible, certainly they should be considering moving back 1 or 2 phases? And even while we weren't getting cases they were saying this may have to happen if we get a next wave. Well it happening now. But d tune change apparently.

My logic is any activity which wearing masks is not possible i.e drinking a beer, dining in at a restaurant, beachlime and bathing should be banned for 2-3 weeks. Even Deyalsingh himself a couple of weeks ago said a small but risky part of the economy should not threaten the rest of the economy. Think about it. You allowing up to 25 ppl in every bar without masks. Multiply that by the hundreds (or thousands by some accounts) of bars that exist. We only lucky that so far no positive case has been known to visit a bar. That will soon change. And they might even end up being a super spreader.

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2020, 4:57 am

Plenty of them bars move to get around that 25 people in bar limit. You eh realize how much of them build outside sheds and put seating and start to sell food as well.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2020, 6:31 am

pugboy wrote:stay home and isolate to be safe

they will call you

Gladiator wrote:So today I learned that my co-worker lives with someone who tested positive. He was asked to put all of the persons he was in contact with on a list by Ministry of Health rep. I would be on that list together with about 10 other workers. They told him that everyone on the list would be secondary contacts.

and so on, and so forth....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 30th, 2020, 7:24 am

Why all the beat up....terrence say learn to live with the covid

Postby Redman » July 30th, 2020, 7:30 am

The article goes on to Sweden’s apparently successful management of the c19 without lock down....la little long but full of data and references.

https://blog.argonautcapital.co.uk/arti ... -lockdown/

Governments and an obedient media focused exclusively on Imperial College’s now discredited doomsday scenario built on a hypothetical, badly coded model5, ignoring its author’s history of failed doomsday predictions6 and the different views of other scientists7.

Alternative evidence-based (i.e. theories based on facts) population samples already existed: the most prominent being the Diamond Princess Cruise Ship; which at the end of February accounted for over half of all confirmed infections outside of China8. “Cruise ships are like an ideal experiment of a closed population”, according to Stamford Professor of Medicine John Ioannidis. “You know exactly who is there and at risk and you can measure everyone” 9.

Quarantined for over a month after a virus outbreak, the entire cruise ship ‘closed population’ of 3,711 passengers and crew, with an average age of 58, were repeatedly tested. There were 705 cases (19% total infection rate) and six deaths (a Case Fatality Rate of just 1%) by the end of March (eventually 14 in total10). This compared to 116 deaths that would have been predicted by the Imperial model11).

Over half of the cruise ship cases were asymptomatic12, at a time when the official “science” behind the lockdown, Prof. Neil Ferguson (UK), dismissed the lack of any evidence for a high proportion of cases so mild that they had no symptoms13 and Dr Anthony Fauci (US) had written in the New England Journal of Medicine that in the event of a high proportion of asymptomatic cases, the COVID mortality rate would ultimately be “akin to a severe seasonal influenza”14 (a statement which he now at least seems to have clearly forgotten in his enthusiasm for a vaccine solution).

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2020, 8:02 am

We did not really have a lockdown

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » July 30th, 2020, 8:15 am

Lets hear what Rowlers have to say
Capture.PNG

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2020, 8:49 am

he goin an blame kamla for something with this new outbreak.
wait and see.

Postby goalpost » July 30th, 2020, 9:39 am

That press conference gonna be a fiasco

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2020, 10:06 am

If Rowley had a username here, what would it be?

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2020, 10:06 am

maj. tom wrote:he goin an blame kamla for something with this new outbreak.
wait and see.
Precog crime like in minority report movie style? Lol

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2020, 10:12 am

1 new case - #157

ImageImage

Postby goalpost » July 30th, 2020, 10:21 am

Wouldn't all those primary contacts also have their own primary contacts? And so on, and so forth?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 30th, 2020, 10:43 am

Yea ripple effect

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2020, 10:53 am

Just assume everyone has it and carry on.
Take all the usual precautions.

The government does not have to mandate your behaviour.