Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: tyres

Postby Big Z » September 3rd, 2011, 10:01 pm

Try Laughlin...
I'm having issues with my Kumho supplier... these weren't the tyres which I ordered.
However, after checking the reviews, I decided to give them a try. Quite happy so far, even though I haven't driven them much.

Price on my particular set: about $645 + installation (average $50 per tyre)

15" - cant say.

Treadwear - 340
Temperature - A
Traction - AA

Postby bushwakka » September 4th, 2011, 10:01 am

^^how they compare to the sp sport maxx? they look like they down a class?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 4th, 2011, 5:51 pm

Cant say whether or not about it being down a class.
Again, impressions on the KH31 are still initial. Only about 200 km on the tires so far.

Got alot of rain on the highway today so got a feel for the wet handling.
(Aquaplaning is not a test of tire handling, by the way. Aquaplaning is a function of thread depth and tyre pressure)
No aquaplaning, for those interested.
SP Sport MAXX were ok in the dry and horrible in the wet.
KH31 seems ok in the dry as well but way better than the SP Sport MAXX in the wet.
Cant compare to the Nitto Neogen as yet, as these were also better than the SP Sport MAXX in the wet.

The braking oversteer seems a bit reduced from yesterday... but will confirm on the test track next weekend.

Postby bushwakka » September 4th, 2011, 10:56 pm

^^hmm, wasnt my experience with the sp sport maxx in the wet, i find they are pretty awesome all around. what u referrin to? brakin distance? turn-in corners?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 4th, 2011, 11:25 pm

Every swift sport owner will tell you the same about the SP Sport Maxx. Good in dry. Terrible in wet.
General lack of traction in wet... braking, cornering and anywhere else you need it.
Car gets super tail happy in the wet.

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2011, 4:45 pm

bought a pair of kumho's KR21's
205/60/13
for my father's car...he doesnt drive fast(100-120 for the most)so they should last him a while
paid 740.00 for the pair which includes new valve stems and speed balancing
tires alone were 680.00

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » September 10th, 2011, 1:12 pm

the sp sport maxx are horrible on wet roads!Trust meh i found out while cornering!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 12th, 2011, 6:15 am

sp sport max is also very loud, I get horrendous road noise from them...

Big Z

Postby Big Z » September 17th, 2011, 5:42 pm

About two weeks in and I find that these Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 have noticeably less lateral traction than the previous tyres. As mentioned before, this is only noticeable when applying the brakes and cornering. Forward traction is good though.
Overall, I would not recommend this tyre to Swift Sport owners. However, it should be fine on the regular Swift or similar FWD family cars.
However, the tyre does seem to be progressive... haven't had any incidents of snap over steer as yet.
The hunt for a good 16 inch tyre continues....

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2011, 7:01 pm

So, guess how much i paid for a pair of New Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres (19560/15) this weekend

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 19th, 2011, 8:16 pm

X_Factor wrote:So, guess how much i paid for a pair of New Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres (19560/15) this weekend

Your left kidney?

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » September 21st, 2011, 6:17 pm

Big Z wrote:About two weeks in and I find that these Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 have noticeably less lateral traction than the previous tyres. As mentioned before, this is only noticeable when applying the brakes and cornering. Forward traction is good though.
Overall, I would not recommend this tyre to Swift Sport owners. However, it should be fine on the regular Swift or similar FWD family cars.
However, the tyre does seem to be progressive... haven't had any incidents of snap over steer as yet.
The hunt for a good 16 inch tyre continues....

Compered to the Maxxis MA-Z1 Victra on a scale of 1-10

Postby X_Factor » September 21st, 2011, 8:05 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
X_Factor wrote:So, guess how much i paid for a pair of New Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres (19560/15) this weekend

Your left kidney?

nopes, not even close

i paid 840.00 for the PAIR!!
didnt even need tires but bought them because of that price!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 21st, 2011, 8:51 pm

that is one hell of a deal man.. Care to share where you bought them at said price and if there are any left?
I have helped out so many people on this thread and looked high and low for good 15" tyres and NEVER seen anything like those selling that cheap..

Please inform!

Postby X_Factor » September 21st, 2011, 9:38 pm

ACL( automotive components) in arima had a sale saturday gone
I was in the area and saw alot of cars and decided to check them out
saw the pair and took it without asking a question
it was 195/50/15's i bought and not the 60

got some Kendall synthetic tranny oil for 20$ a quart as well!!

they only had one pair at the sale price and after getting it i had to fend out about 3 other ppl tryin to get them...(lol)
but im sure if u call them you can find out if there is any thing else.....they had 205/60/15 on sale, same eagle F1's i dont think they were sold out

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 22nd, 2011, 1:12 am

205/60/15 is my IDEAL size... I need to give them a call and find out for sure...
WHYYY don't i know about these sort of sales before they happen?

I know I only changed my tyres about a year ago to the Kumho SPT, but for that price i woulda picked up the goodyear and considered mothballing them for a while.. Possible use could have also been for dex rubber! They are supposed to have supreme dry grip..

I must call them tomorrow and see

Postby X_Factor » September 22nd, 2011, 7:06 am

yeah!....give them a call
well i guess i was in the right place at the right time, cause i didnt know about the sale either...

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2011, 10:21 am

dredman1 wrote:Well it turns out that L&DG not having any stock of the tire that I had my mind set on buying now that I am ready to buy (the Ecsta SPT) may have been a blessing in disguise.

After this I called Tyre Centre on Wrightson Rd. with no expectations yesterday to see if they by chance had the Hankook V12 Evo in my size. "Yes sir we do". I was shocked, because last year when I was buying tyres (after seeing posters and banners with it in their stores), I checked both branches for them and they just laughed saying that the posters were only a Hankook advertisement - they didn't actually have them.

I actually called the south branch on Monday this week and they said they had none in my size.

So I went today to buy them, and surprise, they were the correct tyre and in my size! I was half expecting a situation like Strugglerzinc mentioned above. Couldn't believe it, and I'm excited about the purchase. This tyre is actually the one I would have bought even if I had all the different tyre types available to me, because of this comparison test from C&D with it and 8 other performance "summer" tyres http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/comparisons/09q2/tire_test_nine_affordable_summer_tires_take_on_the_michelin_ps2-comparison_tests - it came in 2nd place.

Will update the thread once they "break in" and I can give a proper review on them.

Very good tyre. After almost a year of use and several solodex events, the fronts are worn to about 60% (expected) and fairly evenly. Only minor wear on the inside due to camber, and minor wear on the outside due to hard cornering in solodex. The rears were virtually new.

Swapped them around and fully expect another year 10k kms out of them.

The grip is surprising on these and they are still very quiet. I did have ONE scarry situation, coming back from Galeota near Tumpuna road, there was haevy rain and a puddle of water settled on the highway. Was going about 75 KMph and felt a little wiggle from hydroplaning.

Other than that, very very nice tyres indeed.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » September 22nd, 2011, 10:36 am

no one answered my question?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 22nd, 2011, 4:51 pm

CBH, I've been taking my time on them since I put them on to give them a proper "break in". Did about 1200km since, so I'm starting to explore them a bit now.

Took a nice on-ramp flyover a few days ago at some decent speed while accelerating and not even a screech - amazing grip which kinda caught me by surprise. My last set of "summer" tyres (Dunlop SP9000s) would scrabble for traction accelerating while doing the same thing. Impressed thus far, but want to do some more "testing" to see how good they are.

I also bought them because most of what I've read was that they had superior wet traction and above average hydroplane resistance. Have not been able to confirm either of these yet, but the couple small puddles I've driven through thus far haven't given me the tug at the wheel I used to get with my old tyres.

Did the wiggle you experience happen with the 60% worn tyre?

Postby crazybalhead » September 23rd, 2011, 7:56 am

Yeah, the worn ones were in front. And it was a pretty deep puddle. If it were another tyre, I might have had to clean some stains off the seat.

On regular driving, most of the time, I don't even notice water on the road from tyre feedback.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 23rd, 2011, 9:46 am

Cool - that's just what I was looking for, esp. as the wife also drives the car. Didn't want to take any chances this rainy season.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 23rd, 2011, 11:02 am

Just out of curiosity.....what kind of mileage you guys get out of a set of tyres? Indicate brand and driving style.

My current set of Toyo Proxes T1Rs have almost 40000kms on them and nowhere near the treadwear indicators. And I'm a spirited driver.

Postby X_Factor » September 24th, 2011, 9:03 am

i jus had to

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 24th, 2011, 6:28 pm

Oh the pain and the jealousy......

I envy your rubber greatly..

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2011, 1:27 pm

i relll doh like the tread pattern on those eagles tho......jus becuz of nexen, it looks ricey...:(

very good rubber indeed tho!

zorced

Postby zorced » September 27th, 2011, 2:53 pm

bushwakka wrote:i relll doh like the tread pattern on those eagles tho......jus becuz of nexen, it looks ricey...:(

then u might find this is rice cake then!

victra.JPG
victra.JPG (5.29 KiB) Viewed 1961 times

idk about that nexen lookalike stigma, but i find these look as good as they perform

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 29th, 2011, 10:38 pm

zorced wrote:
bushwakka wrote:i relll doh like the tread pattern on those eagles tho......jus becuz of nexen, it looks ricey...:(

victra.JPG

idk about that nexen lookalike stigma, but i find these look as good as they perform

maxxis victra ma-z1, i'm using these right now, very good tyre, the straight line traction is great so this translates into better braking as well, but i found that the lateral traction, though while being very good, is not as good as the kumho ecsta spt, which i used previously. In terms of Price/performance though, these win...

zorced

Postby zorced » September 30th, 2011, 8:56 am

ghostbusters wrote:
zorced wrote:

victra.JPG

maxxis victra ma-z1, i'm using these right now, very good tyre, the straight line traction is great so this translates into better braking as well, but i found that the lateral traction, though while being very good, is not as good as the kumho ecsta spt, which i used previously. In terms of Price/performance though, these win...

cool scene bro, i've never tried the ecstas but what u said about the cornering has me interested. whats the ballpark $ on them?
how much did u get the victra for as well? i got 205/60/14 for $650/ea not too long ago

Postby bushwakka » September 30th, 2011, 9:16 am

zorced wrote:

victra.JPG

actually....i much prefer those lol! i just don't like the straight V cut pattern wit nuttin else

ghostbusters wrote:
zorced wrote:

victra.JPG

how much u pay for the maxxis?? a while ago, i was told that 215/45/17 would cost about $800......dunno if thas still the case....