NR8 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Finally decided to clean out my pc. One of the best investments I made were filters yes. The only problem is the fine particles that get pass them now.
You mind giving some more info on this? Where do you place the filter, source and price, etc?
Cross Blood wrote:Skylinechild, I don't think its a wise idea to build that PC to sell mainly because of the availability of parts in Trinidad. Most people would choose to go with a modern DDR3/Am3+ for a little higher price and the efficiency would be better. Also if a part stops working in a Am3+ system, you could easily access a wide range of parts online or at a local PC store. With that system, if one of the ram/processor/motherboard dies, chances are that the ssd, PSU and case would be salvaged as it would not make much sense going back with a ddr1 setup again.
My advice would be to post the parts you have in the misc. classifieds and someone with a ddr1 amd 745 setup might be interested as those parts have become very rare.
ismithx wrote:@skyline i would say sell it for parts as well,
please do NOT buy an 8400, it's an ancient graphics card. here is a build you could try (was planning to do this for someone)
from supertech:
Kingston 4Gb DDR3 1333 Ram 320.00
Samsung 24X DVD-RW SATA 125.00
and from The Wizz
AMD FM2 A6-6400K DUAL CORE $600.00
BIOSTAR A58MD FM2 MAINBOARD $425.00
which would bring you to a grand total of $1790 in parts, you could upgrade the processor and put in a graphics card later as you see fit
this would a a great pc for light to medium work. please don't go for anything cheaper, you will end up with a slow creaky system
skylinechild wrote:Cross Blood wrote:Skylinechild, I don't think its a wise idea to build that PC to sell mainly because of the availability of parts in Trinidad. Most people would choose to go with a modern DDR3/Am3+ for a little higher price and the efficiency would be better. Also if a part stops working in a Am3+ system, you could easily access a wide range of parts online or at a local PC store. With that system, if one of the ram/processor/motherboard dies, chances are that the ssd, PSU and case would be salvaged as it would not make much sense going back with a ddr1 setup again.
My advice would be to post the parts you have in the misc. classifieds and someone with a ddr1 amd 745 setup might be interested as those parts have become very rare.ismithx wrote:@skyline i would say sell it for parts as well,
please do NOT buy an 8400, it's an ancient graphics card. here is a build you could try (was planning to do this for someone)
from supertech:
Samsung 24X DVD-RW SATA 125.00
and from The Wizz
AMD FM2 A6-6400K DUAL CORE $600.00
BIOSTAR A58MD FM2 MAINBOARD $425.00
which would bring you to a grand total of $1790 in parts, you could upgrade the processor and put in a graphics card later as you see fit
this would a a great pc for light to medium work. please don't go for anything cheaper, you will end up with a slow creaky system
@cross blood - as i said... most of those parts i already have.
only thing i dont hav is the mobo, video card and optical drive.
everything else i have.
i'm not going to sell it as the beat up crew with start to cry down price.
@ismithx -
I'm not planing on buying parts to build a tower - i want to get rid of the parts i have by building a complete tower and sell it. video card wise i can put in a 9500GT or something similar which gives good performance. but what i wanna do is build a decent stable affordable tower - that someone can buy and use with no issues and thats cheap.
i know i wont get the price i'm asking for the parts separate - men want a 2 one gig DDR1 sticks for $100 an ting in the misc bargain sect..then beatin up when u call yuh price...![]()
so i figure i can build a tower that someone can benefit from.
theres going to be extras for this tower as well - full case fans all around - bluetooth adapter - and a 4 port usb header to give more USB ports !!! extra hard drives (IDE of course) and maybe a keyboard
The pc will be able to run NFSU and NFSU2 on high settings and other games from around that timeline with no issues..
so i really loking for justification for building the tower.
other tuners please feel free and weigh in your options.
HSA wrote:skylinechild wrote:I'm not planing on buying parts to build a tower - i want to get rid of the parts i have by building a complete tower and sell it. video card wise i can put in a 9500GT or something similar which gives good performance. but what i wanna do is build a decent stable affordable tower - that someone can buy and use with no issues and thats cheap.
i know i wont get the price i'm asking for the parts separate - men want a 2 one gig DDR1 sticks for $100 an ting in the misc bargain sect..then beatin up when u call yuh price...![]()
so i figure i can build a tower that someone can benefit from.
theres going to be extras for this tower as well - full case fans all around - bluetooth adapter - and a 4 port usb header to give more USB ports !!! extra hard drives (IDE of course) and maybe a keyboard
The pc will be able to run NFSU and NFSU2 on high settings and other games from around that timeline with no issues..
so i really loking for justification for building the tower.
other tuners please feel free and weigh in your options.
by all means go ahead but dont expect to get alot for it....the advertised price should be $500 higher as men would want to beat you down and at least u can drop by a 500 gradually.....
bought a laptop for 700...good working hp with bluetooth etc...the guy had a bad pirate windows dvd and it kept restarting....from 1800 he dropped to 1400 then to 1000....as i was about to leave he said give him 700 and take it...and so i did...went home ,installed win7 and am using it ever since........![]()
Cross Blood wrote:I was not talking about you getting the parts. I was talking about the future owner of it. They might find it difficult to access parts in the future as the parts are becoming extinct. If you think the mobo/processor/ram would hold out for a good few years, then you could sell it complete. If not, as I said, people on Trinituner with similar setups might be looking for parts and may be interested.
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Check swiftech
They make really good pumps (Y)
skylinechild wrote:
tuners I need some advice - I have some DDR1 memory and a Athlon 3700+ processor - socket 754 (this is the HIGHTEST socket 754 processor offered) and a good casing - and a hard drive. just need a new board.- already found one on ebay-
Looks for a cheaper board, that one too expensive. Try ah auction too
u think it makes sense to rebuild a tower and sell on tuner..or just junk the items for parts.
your thoughts
this is the processor
http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCP ... &f12=False
CPU fan - thermaltake - already have
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-A4022 ... cessor+fan
Had one of those years ago on an amd am2 system, quiet and cools a bit better than the stock amd HSF but not 'high end' really. Maybe if was 2008 or something u could say it high end
casing is in new condition with power supply and case fans - already have didn't buy it
case is already rust proofed since day 1 - had the case 4+yrs now - still looks new![]()
motherboard - have to buy - old MB died and went to heaven (I hope)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asrock-Motherbo ... 43d207518e
As Cross Blood said, it may be good in your eyes but for the future owner it'll be hard to replace or upgrade if half the pc fails (board/cpu/ram)
SSD drive - already have one - thanks to a tuner![]()
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-120 ... +power+SSd
This part is the only worthwhile selling point for the system IMHO
RAM - already have 2Gigs of DDR1- board only hold 2 GB anyway
video card - have to buy - might not be this exact same unit it may be better
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI- ... video+card
If the system can be used as an HTPC then the video card is a good idea as it has an HDMI port. If not then the onboard video will suffice for normal PC tasks
Optical drive - dvd writer / blu ray ROM combo drive- have to buy - it may just be a DVD burner drive- depending
Samsung DVDRW drive in supertech go do, i sure it have people like me who stop using those things (install OS from usb stick, download drivers for components instead of included driver discs etc).
so u tuners think it make sense to build and sell or just junk what I got for parts.
if I build I'm askin $1200 for the complete unit.
tuners you thoughts and comments welcome.
HCCA wrote:skylinechild wrote:
tuners I need some advice - I have some DDR1 memory and a Athlon 3700+ processor - socket 754 (this is the HIGHTEST socket 754 processor offered) and a good casing - and a hard drive. just need a new board.- already found one on ebay-
Looks for a cheaper board, that one too expensive. Try ah auction too
u think it makes sense to rebuild a tower and sell on tuner..or just junk the items for parts.
your thoughts
this is the processor
http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCP ... &f12=False
CPU fan - thermaltake - already have
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-A4022 ... cessor+fan
Had one of those years ago on an amd am2 system, quiet and cools a bit better than the stock amd HSF but not 'high end' really. Maybe if was 2008 or something u could say it high end
casing is in new condition with power supply and case fans - already have didn't buy it
case is already rust proofed since day 1 - had the case 4+yrs now - still looks new![]()
motherboard - have to buy - old MB died and went to heaven (I hope)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asrock-Motherbo ... 43d207518e
As Cross Blood said, it may be good in your eyes but for the future owner it'll be hard to replace or upgrade if half the pc fails (board/cpu/ram)
SSD drive - already have one - thanks to a tuner![]()
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-120 ... +power+SSd
This part is the only worthwhile selling point for the system IMHO
RAM - already have 2Gigs of DDR1- board only hold 2 GB anyway
video card - have to buy - might not be this exact same unit it may be better
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI- ... video+card
If the system can be used as an HTPC then the video card is a good idea as it has an HDMI port. If not then the onboard video will suffice for normal PC tasks
Optical drive - dvd writer / blu ray ROM combo drive- have to buy - it may just be a DVD burner drive- depending
Samsung DVDRW drive in supertech go do, i sure it have people like me who stop using those things (install OS from usb stick, download drivers for components instead of included driver discs etc).
so u tuners think it make sense to build and sell or just junk what I got for parts.
if I build I'm askin $1200 for the complete unit.
tuners you thoughts and comments welcome.
Well since u said 'thoughts and comments welcome, i don't really consider $1200 (MY idea of budget is in the range of $0-$1000) a 'budget' price for that. If you want clarification i can provide details of 2 systems i acquired late last year that cost $1000TT and $500TT flat and were much better than what is listed here.
The cpu and ddr1 are the only two components that outdated/rare so is best you give them away or pipe them. I have like two semprons and an athlon 64 am2 cpus (as well as some other stuff i don't personally have use for) i gonna give away when i cleaning up my three rooms. The money u spending on that board alone you can get a more recent cpu/board/ram and be dollars within your estimated $1200 price.
Those will be my comments/thoughts for now. Please don't 'beat up' over them eh.
Plus don't ask me to value your system, when people ask me what price to ask and i say what, most of them does vex up.
sMASH wrote:Feel I will do dat too, put together the parts from the older rigs as a download tower. Leave the beast separate as the entertainment hub
nervewrecker wrote:Skylinrchild, you wah swap the ssd for a 500gb HD?
Take advantage while I half drunk
NR8 wrote:How can one determine how much watts their pc is using at any point in time during use? Was gonna do the same with my old AM3 board and Sempron processor after I upgrade, but really didnt consider the extra electricity charges until you mentioned it.
Spitfir3 wrote:^^not bad at all....my build is very similar, looking back i paid more than $3000 but my parts were bought individually
what would you be using that system for?