Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Re: Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby alfa » June 28th, 2025, 10:53 pm

Erla did ask for 90 days or something so and she was given a free pass until then when people realized that she had no plan.

This guy seemed to have gotten some positive reviews on social media at least for his opening speech on school violence and giving cops carry home guns. In a few weeks time if the steam runs out he'll face the same scrutiny

Postby The_Honourable » June 28th, 2025, 11:30 pm

Not necessarily a free pass. We still in the honeymoon period and that's why you not really hearing any demands.

The population for the most part gives a new government the 90-100 day honeymoon period after a general election. We just past the halfway mark so we still in the "give the government ah chance nah, dey now come in" mode.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2025, 7:47 am

The answer still remains NO

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2025, 8:06 am

sandra and purge quiet

Postby The_Honourable » July 14th, 2025, 4:40 pm

Alexander: Crime fight underway, visible measures coming soon

Homeland Security Minister Roger Alexander says the government is actively working on plans to combat rising crime and gang violence in TT, promising that people will soon “see and not just hear” the results.

Speaking on the Morning Edition programme on CCN TV6 on July 14, Alexander acknowledged a recent increase in crime, particularly as the school term comes to a close.

“Statistics show that at the close of the term, there is an increase in crime. Gang warfare has continued to show its ugly face nationwide, putting people at risk,” he said.

He urged the public to support Police Commissioner Allister Guevarro, calling on people to give him a fair chance to lead the police service.

Alexander, who was appointed minister earlier this year, said government leaders are developing urgent crime-fighting policies.

He assured people that change is imminent.

“In the coming weeks, you will see and not just hear, but see what we are coming with,” Alexander said.

“There are some who may not agree, but then it is done for people to have a better quality of life and a safe and secure environment.”

Addressing the government’s pre-election promise to reduce crime within six months, Alexander said the reality of the situation required a major rebuilding effort.

“I know the population is waiting and wants to see immediate impact. But let me not throw the blame on anybody. What we met was an institution filled with emptiness, lack of vision and thoughts,” he said.

“So now we have to reconstruct nearly every institution under the national security apparatus. It takes time to do these things. When you think for a moment that you were going to jump into an immediate fight against crime and cause an immediate impact, on arrival, we met emptiness.”

The former police officer said he had long spoken about the deficiencies within the system, including a lack of vehicles, human resources, and communications resources.

“That is why now, I must take charge of and give to the people who could have an impact on crime,” he said.

On the issue of illegal guns, he said the government’s response will be so strong and visible that the public reaction may be one of disbelief.

“We intend to treat with that in such a way that you might say ‘My God, for real?’”

“We understand what guns and murders do internationally. As Homeland Security minister, it is my responsibility to ensure that all my citizens live a safe and comfortable life.”

He criticised the current state of the National Operations Centre (NOC).

“This centre was created for a particular purpose but is not serving its purpose at this time,” Alexander said.

He also revealed that a national school security initiative is being rolled out, which will include increased police presence.

“As we speak, we are rolling out a security network for schools. We will see police vehicles on every junction, highway and byway.”

Alexander said he was meeting with stakeholders and planned further talks with the police commissioner “to decide how we are going forward.”

Later in the morning, at 10.12 am, a Facebook post from the ministry said Alexander held “a productive meeting” with officials from Caricom Impacs at his Port of Spain office.

“The discussions focused on enhancing regional security collaboration, strengthening intelligence-sharing mechanisms, and advancing joint strategies to combat transnational crime and other security threats facing the Caribbean,” the post said.

It also said Alexander reaffirmed TT’s commitment to working closely with its Caricom partners to ensure the safety and security of all across the region.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/14/alexan ... ming-soon/

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2025, 6:37 pm

more massive road block exercises

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2025, 8:50 am

Homeland Security Minister Roger Alexander says the country should not appear soft on crime, and he is proposing that bail be denied for 180 days to those caught with illegal guns.

For more…
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/alexand ... 4d5807c976

PNM would never, a step in the right direction, we hadda get serious
FB_IMG_1753274945260.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2025, 8:55 am

what about cracking down on anybody with a car using fake plates?
that should be totally no bailable

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2025, 8:59 am

I hear what you saying but baby steps target the illegal gun holders first ....IMHO it should be no bail whatsoever let them languish in remand yard for 10 years until their case call....we hadda get serious if we wamt to do something about crime
pugboy wrote:what about cracking down on anybody with a car using fake plates?

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2025, 9:13 am

it goes hand in hand

every single serious crime is committed with firearms and stolen vehicles
some young boy is given the duty as being the getaway driver
need to stop that job role
he should actually be immediately put with gps tracking device

hover11 wrote:I hear what you saying but baby steps target the illegal gun holders first ....IMHO it should be no bail whatsoever let them languish in remand yard for 10 years until their case call....we hadda get serious if we wamt to do something about crime

Postby Chimera » July 23rd, 2025, 9:31 am

hover11 wrote:I hear what you saying but baby steps target the illegal gun holders first ....IMHO it should be no bail whatsoever let them languish in remand yard for 10 years until their case call....we hadda get serious if we wamt to do something about crime
Only issue I have with that is they need to have a proper process to legally
Issue firearms before they do that.

Alot of people have turned to illegal firearms to protect themselves and their families.

Postby mero » July 23rd, 2025, 9:36 am

hover11 wrote:Homeland Security Minister Roger Alexander says the country should not appear soft on crime, and he is proposing that bail be denied for 180 days to those caught with illegal guns.

For more…
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/alexand ... 4d5807c976

PNM would never, a step in the right direction, we hadda get serious
FB_IMG_1753274945260.jpg
UNC literally blocked the anti gang legislation act. Wam allyuh born April 28th 2025 or wha?

Postby mero » July 23rd, 2025, 9:42 am

Chimera wrote:
Alot of people have turned to illegal firearms to protect themselves and their families.

So who and where the people who "protecting their families" buying the illegal firearms from breds?

It have a circle of hard working non criminals supplying arms and ammunition to anyone who saying is to protect dey family?

Dont tie up yuhself here eh.

one eye

Postby one eye » July 23rd, 2025, 9:44 am

Not only the anti-gang legislation, many crime fighting initiatives were blocked by them.

They hate anything with too much transparency.

Postby MaxPower » July 23rd, 2025, 10:15 am

Who they really fooling?

What is the plan for all the corrupt, lazy, incompetent and rude AF officers?

We need the presence of a foreign army…and in the mean time start retraining and weeding out the TTPS.

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2025, 12:11 pm

one eye wrote:Not only the anti-gang legislation, many crime fighting initiatives were blocked by them.

You can't be that politically blind.
The opposition of the Anti gang legislation was because it would have impacted on the rights of the average citizen.It would have given TTPS absolute power.They could literally grab anybody under suspicion of Gang affiliation, including you, with zero evidence. That is what the PNM wanted. Only an idiot would have supported that.

Postby matr1x » July 23rd, 2025, 12:16 pm

Of course not.

Imagine a prison cyah stop cell phones.

Imagine getting a life sentence for smuggling. That will make ppl rethink

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2025, 1:13 pm

after all the brouha last week they raid prisons again last night and find more
even police commissioner was on the raid

Postby matr1x » July 23rd, 2025, 1:35 pm

one eye wrote:Not only the anti-gang legislation, many crime fighting initiatives were blocked by them.

You serious?

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2025, 2:10 pm

It might sound sad but every week they need to raid the prisons with both prison officers and police officers conducting the searches.
pugboy wrote:after all the brouha last week they raid prisons again last night and find more

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2025, 2:21 pm

that is actually the simplest solution
but they will find ways around it by somebody leaking the schedule

however there is no reason why there can’t be some way of making sure the jammers are switched on

hover11 wrote:It might sound sad but every week they need to raid the prisons with both prison officers and police officers conducting the searches.
pugboy wrote:after all the brouha last week they raid prisons again last night and find more

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2025, 2:30 pm

I just wanna know why they decommissioned carrera island????? Send them where they cannot get Wi-Fi or a signal…. Reopen the island prison and put them there
pugboy wrote:that is actually the simplest solution

however there is no reason why there can’t be some way of making sure the jammers are switched on

hover11 wrote:It might sound sad but every week they need to raid the prisons with both prison officers and police officers conducting the searches.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 23rd, 2025, 2:42 pm

crime and bandit is all you hear them studying. Bandit that has a gun or some sort of weapon but what about them criminals that running the regional corporation such as the corporation that controlling Maracas beach and them men renting the chairs. Recently a station wagon tried to sell doubles on the road and was chased off by the law but yet them chair rental continue to operate.
What about them that controlling the SAN JUAN LAVENTILLE corporation. why dont they target the illegal parking of broken down vehicles on the roadway of all them mechanics and garage in the district, what about the spanish that illegally squatting on the river bank, what about the DOTISH way them idiots in that corporation make streets one way, investigate who authorize or what gifts were given to allow a school to block off an entire lane of a major road so parents could park and wait on their children instead of the municipal police putting no parking signs in front the school and persons living in the area cant get their kids in the school but only SUV's an other expensive vehicles are seen waiting in front the school. I think investigations needs to be done on that corporation as soon as because clearly somebody in there not right in their head.

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2025, 4:54 pm

pugboy wrote:that is actually the simplest solution

let them try to hide it, i sure it have ways to detect the location of it

Postby MaxPower » July 23rd, 2025, 5:17 pm

hover[emoji637][emoji637] wrote:It might sound sad but every week they need to raid the prisons with both prison officers and police officers conducting the searches.

Jason,

They hadda put a stop to who giving the prisoners the heads up in the first place.

They could search whenever and however….the prisoners always get the word.

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2025, 6:03 pm

hover[emoji637][emoji637] wrote:It might sound sad but every week they need to raid the prisons with both prison officers and police officers conducting the searches.

Jason,

They hadda put a stop to who giving the prisoners the heads up in the first place.

I think that a third party should be employed to do all of the contraband checks of prisoners,visitors and prison officers alike.
Racket runs too deep in those places

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2025, 7:21 am

The answer is still no

Postby hover11 » July 24th, 2025, 7:26 am

timelapse wrote:

Jason,

I think that a third party should be employed to do all of the contraband checks of prisoners,visitors and prison officers alike.
Then that begs the question what is the point of the prison officers if we then have to pay them and this third party to do basically the same job

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2025, 8:00 am

where do we stand as a nation for the ppl at the top doing the right thing?

if a former prime minister and natsec minister could both public state they call a police commissioner to fast track firearm licenses for they padnas and see nothing wrong with that whilst at the same time running all kind inquiry into ful bobol…..

Postby MaxPower » July 24th, 2025, 8:02 am

timelapse wrote:

Jason,

Should be yes,

But just as all the other obvious and guaranteed measures to make change……its the people who have the power to implement don’t want to discard their white collar.

You feel me?