WASA Thread ...

PariaMan

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby PariaMan » June 24th, 2024, 11:23 am

Had a problem like that with float filling up changed the float and that was it . Also had to change a check valve as tank was filling from below

Postby Les Bain » June 25th, 2024, 8:59 am

redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
pugboy wrote:if you have high pressure supply the ball valve can vibrate
Les Bain wrote:Some years back my tank was over flowing like mad. The float ball took on water somehow so it didn't rise to lock off the water.

Kinda puzzling the odd times it's since done that. The float rose and the tank still overflowed.

Sure looking so, because there was high pressure this morning and it happened again.
My plumber says to just lock the water off and give the tank a gentle shove then turn the water on again. Works normally again.

but u have to wait till it full (and likely overflowing) to do this? if it was me that would be after midnight or 1am i would be waiting as it doh full till around that time.

Is an automatic setup that basically at the whim of WASA schedule. When it works, I only use the shutoff valve when I overnighting or out of the country.
Pre COVID I would return from work and find the backyard soaked cause that MF overflowing like a main cause of high pressure.

As PariaMan said somewhere above me, a float change works.

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2024, 9:29 am

strap on a piece of wood to the pvc line going to the fill valve
it will dampen the vibrations when the tank is close to full at high pressure
trust me, it happen to me at 2 locations
it’s only after i watched it in a cctv camera i realized what was going on
in one case the vibrations actually broke the pipe

what happens is the narrow high pressure water squirting out as the valve is almost shut causes a resonant vibration and makes a kinda farting sound shaking up the float so it never settles and closes seated

Les Bain wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Some years back my tank was over flowing like mad. The float ball took on water somehow so it didn't rise to lock off the water.

Kinda puzzling the odd times it's since done that. The float rose and the tank still overflowed.

Sure looking so, because there was high pressure this morning and it happened again.
My plumber says to just lock the water off and give the tank a gentle shove then turn the water on again. Works normally again.

but u have to wait till it full (and likely overflowing) to do this? if it was me that would be after midnight or 1am i would be waiting as it doh full till around that time.

Is an automatic setup that basically at the whim of WASA schedule. When it works, I only use the shutoff valve when I overnighting or out of the country.
Pre COVID I would return from work and find the backyard soaked cause that MF overflowing like a main cause of high pressure.

Postby Les Bain » June 25th, 2024, 9:39 am

pugboy wrote:strap on a piece of wood to the pvc line going to the fill valve

what happens is the narrow high pressure water squirting out as the valve is almost shut causes a resonant vibration and makes a kinda farting sound shaking up the float so it never settles and closes seated

Les Bain wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Will give it a shot. Thanks!

Postby Dizzy28 » June 25th, 2024, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:strap on a piece of wood to the pvc line going to the fill valve

Les Bain wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

I put a rubber slipper under the pipe leading in to the tank. Vibrations gone!!

Re: WASA Thread ...

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2024, 6:32 pm

https://files.fm/u/8ugyejmxmf

watch this video of the vibration. There are two tanks in the vid, rightmost tank is barely visibile and fill valve on left tank was disconnected during the troubleshooting
the right fill valve started vibrating and caused other loose side to vibrate enough to break itself off.

note the lower section of the pipe was braced but not the upper which is where it is more important.
all i did was strap piece of wood all the way to the top to kill the vibration.

this is in maraval where pressure easily hits 100-120psi

matix

Postby matix » June 25th, 2024, 6:45 pm

pugboy wrote:https://files.fm/u/8ugyejmxmf

watch this video of the vibration. There are two tanks in the vid, rightmost tank is barely visibile and fill valve on left tank was disconnected during the troubleshooting
the right fill valve started vibrating and caused other loose side to vibrate enough to break itself off.

note the lower section of the pipe was braced but not the upper which is where it is more important.
all i did was strap piece of wood all the way to the top to kill the vibration.

this is in maraval where pressure easily hits 100-120psi

lol wtf I seeing here.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 25th, 2024, 6:51 pm

Lol I was doubting the man yes

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 25th, 2024, 7:05 pm

Wtf... the most we get in central is 15psi... and i consider that excellent.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 25th, 2024, 7:09 pm

Man could pressure wash without pressure washer

Postby maj. tom » June 25th, 2024, 7:20 pm

Wda that is oil well pressure yes. I does barely get a trickle.

Postby redmanjp » June 25th, 2024, 8:22 pm

100 psi! wasa need to install a pressure reducer/regulator on your line

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2024, 8:24 pm

most ppl in these areas do have pressure regulators
and usually run off pump mainly since water usually comes and goes few times a week

1000gal tank filling in a few hours
redmanjp wrote:100 psi! wasa need to install a pressure reducer/regulator on your line

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 25th, 2024, 9:23 pm

jeez louise.
north is really a whole different country eys.

Postby alfa » June 25th, 2024, 9:29 pm

I've even heard urban legends that north/west people don't own tanks :shock:

Postby pugboy » June 25th, 2024, 9:45 pm

nah, most of maraval water goes for a day a few times a week

pressure has to be high to push up into the hills

alfa wrote:I've even heard urban legends that north/west people don't own tanks :shock:

Postby Les Bain » June 26th, 2024, 8:45 am

Wda... pressure had the pipe acting horny before it buss.

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2024, 9:03 am

alfa wrote:I've even heard urban legends that north/west people don't own tanks :shock:

I have a relative with no tanks in Arouca. But their billing is metered and pays >$100 a cycle.

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2024, 9:24 am

jails, hospitals must always have water
wasa does make that a priority

Habit7 wrote:

I have a relative with no tanks in Arouca. But their billing is metered and pays >$100 a cycle.

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2024, 9:29 am

Yip, they get their bill delivered right to their cell at MSP.

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 12:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yip, they get their bill delivered right to their cell at MSP.
PNM Government run institution dont pay their bills

Stop talking crap

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2024, 2:07 pm

Why are people so shocked at the water pressure in Maraval?

Who lives there?

Imbert and Hinds. On top a high hill to boot.

Plus Imbert have something in Moka - up the hill as well. WASA must be bound to send water with full pressure.

Postby maj. tom » June 26th, 2024, 3:05 pm

Does it have gravity water towers in that area to maintain the pressure if power cut? Or Wasa really pumping all that energy uphill 24/7 with no reserve?

Postby redmanjp » June 26th, 2024, 3:06 pm

too much pressure will buss pipe- i doh think imbert and hinds want that. the solution is either to put pressure regulators for the lower customers or have lower pressure and boost it only for the higher areas.

blazing

Postby blazing » June 26th, 2024, 8:13 pm

Pressure regulators are a regular feature

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2024, 9:10 pm

hose ban extended for another month

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2024, 8:25 am

Those numbers look really distressing.

As maj.tom wrote some time ago - What is the plan if the numbers do not reach the lta by the end of the rainy season?

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2024, 7:20 pm

bluefete wrote:Those numbers look really distressing.

As maj.tom wrote some time ago - What is the plan if the numbers do not reach the lta by the end of the rainy season?
PNM logic bro

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2024, 11:06 pm

bluefete wrote:Those numbers look really distressing.

Well we have today's tropical wave, Beryl feeder bands and the next active wave soon to become a depression. So WASA should check back the levels next week. In d mean time if u leaking water 24 hrs a day either turn it off or fix it.

Postby redmanjp » July 18th, 2024, 8:29 pm