so lunar air 80 should give 73% odd

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2023, 9:23 pm

pugboy wrote:so lunar air 80 should give 73% odd

You may need to meter your glass first.

I may have posted this before:

Nearly all automotive glass that is "untinted" falls into the 70% - 85% VLT range.

Factory glass has a light tint to disguise small manufacturing defects.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 5th, 2023, 9:44 pm

Make sure and check the glass first.

Mine was 80% from the factory. Added the air blue llumar and it came down to 64%.

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2023, 10:31 pm

so you took off the air tint as it made it illegal ?

Strugglerzinc wrote:Make sure and check the glass first.

Mine was 80% from the factory. Added the air blue llumar and it came down to 64%.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 5th, 2023, 11:24 pm

My 64% still looks untinted and has no 6" strip. It looks factory and I doubt the police bothering to check my windshield.

The fellas inspecting the car last year came out with the razor blade to take off the last sticker before I stopped them from cutting the tint.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2023, 5:41 am

insp station i went never checked my tint
i guess once it’s not blacked out they don’t bother with detail of %

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 6th, 2023, 8:25 am

pugboy wrote:so you took off the air tint as it made it illegal ?

Strugglerzinc wrote:Make sure and check the glass first.

Yes. Wife made me.

If I'm honest, I didn't like the blue tinge on everything. I complained about it from day one, especially as it cost $600.

The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2023, 2:30 pm

So for those of you who tint the entire front windscreen, how do you deal with the inspection stickers that need to be removed when you get a new inspection done?

Can they remove the old sticker and not damage the tint?

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2023, 3:07 pm

good question
i didn’t bother to put on my sticker as the paper cert is good enough if stopped

Postby gastly369 » April 6th, 2023, 3:28 pm

Lol

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 3:42 pm

pugboy wrote:good question
i didn’t bother to put on my sticker as the paper cert is good enough if stopped
Ummm...you have the new sticker that the inspection centers themselves install with the qr code?

I cut a oval in my tint around the sticker

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2023, 5:12 pm

what happens when they change the shape of the sticker?

Postby redmanjp » April 6th, 2023, 5:28 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:So for those of you who tint the entire front windscreen, how do you deal with the inspection stickers that need to be removed when you get a new inspection done?

Can they remove the old sticker and not damage the tint?

same thought occurred to me this morning. maybe cut the tint around the sticker?

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2023, 5:41 pm

so most ppl remove the old sticker ?

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 5:41 pm

I had strip my front glass the other day when I had to go for inspection. For years it's been rectangle sticker. U feel they changing from oval anytime soon?

I probably have to strip my front glass anytime i hadda inspect in any event

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2023, 5:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I had strip my front glass the other day when I had to go for inspection. For years it's been rectangle sticker. U feel they changing from oval anytime soon?

So why not apply for an exemption?

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2023, 6:09 pm

what’s the exemption procedure?

*KRONIK* wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I had strip my front glass the other day when I had to go for inspection. For years it's been rectangle sticker. U feel they changing from oval anytime soon?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2023, 6:11 pm

pugboy wrote:what’s the exemption procedure?

*KRONIK* wrote:

It have a form online, fill out and drop off
Once approved, they will call u for an inspection and give u the approved VLT
You get a certificate also

The criteria varies, they will consider whats presented and act accordingly

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 6:16 pm

The exemption doesn't allow you to have g5 or fully blacked out tint.

I applied once or twice....people call me for bribes after I drop in the form...
One man wanted 10k for 3 vehicles. One man wanted 5k for one vehicle.

As it is now I does just roll fully g5 and I have certain police to call in different areas depending on where I get stopped who will tell whoever in charge of the road block to let me be on my way if it comes to that. But 9/10 times I can talk my way out of it.

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 6:21 pm

With regards to that 80% nano tint

You can cheaply bring in a 10 foot long piece to do a whole car including full front windscreen for like 400 450.

I have this on my whole vehicle then g5 over it.

Idk how men does make out with no tint and light tint and without nano tint in this weather na.
Screenshot_20230406-181956_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2023, 6:26 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:So why not apply for an exemption?

I applied.

Was told they not signing off any applications because the tint act “gone back to parliament” and they have 3000+ applications on the man desk.

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2023, 6:28 pm

An example of an exemption:

IMG_1322.JPG

So doh feel getting an exemption let’s you wet up the place and flaunt with 5% right rong.

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 6:32 pm

Yea that exemption is failure. Some people getting permits though. Security companies. Ppl with FUL etc

Postby gastly369 » April 6th, 2023, 6:42 pm

Also isn't the exemption valid for 1 year and have to go thru whole process again?

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2023, 6:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yea that exemption is failure. Some people getting permits though. Security companies. Ppl with FUL etc

Well yeh the usual who u know with GT.

With regard to the FUL, there isn’t anything on the form or any area on the form to include you are a FUL holder.

Tint or no tint a FUL holder should not have their firearm exposed in a vehicle.

Open for discussion.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2023, 7:02 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:The exemption doesn't allow you to have g5 or fully blacked out tint.

I applied once or twice....people call me for bribes after I drop in the form...
One man wanted 10k for 3 vehicles. One man wanted 5k for one vehicle.

As it is now I does just roll fully g5 and I have certain police to call in different areas depending on where I get stopped who will tell whoever in charge of the road block to let me be on my way if it comes to that. But 9/10 times I can talk my way out of it.
Goals yes

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2023, 7:03 pm

gastly369 wrote:Also isn't the exemption valid for 1 year and have to go thru whole process again?
2 years I think

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2023, 7:03 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:So why not apply for an exemption?

I applied.

Was told they not signing off any applications because the tint act “gone back to parliament” and they have 3000+ applications on the man desk.
Sounds legit

Most of the men who i know GT, the GT when LO was closed during covid

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2023, 7:04 pm

MaxPower wrote:An example of an exemption:

IMG_1322.JPG

So doh feel getting an exemption let’s you wet up the place and flaunt with 5% right rong.
Yes

I know they have their specifications for what they consider "dark tint"