The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » June 7th, 2013, 3:19 pm

The catch is you have to buy a sim card for $200 which comes with a certain number of minutes.

My wife found one :)

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 7th, 2013, 4:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image

Nuh sure about the catch but s2 @ 899

Just see s3 in bmobile for over 5000 prepaid.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » June 7th, 2013, 5:10 pm

pete wrote:The catch is you have to buy a sim card for $200 which comes with a certain number of minutes.

Still not bad though.. Considering I see the AT&T versions still selling for $1600-2k used on the forums. Wish I could find one, would love to have as a secondary phone. Too much headache though.

Postby M_2NR » June 7th, 2013, 8:48 pm

pete wrote:The catch is you have to buy a sim card for $200 which comes with a certain number of minutes.

wrong.

bmobile.co.tt wrote:This promotion offers PREPAID customers reduced prices on selected Android devices with the purchase of a sim card of any denomination.

http://www.bmobile.co.tt/get-more-go-android-sale/

you should have been able to buy a $50.00 sim card and get it also.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 7th, 2013, 9:26 pm

More importantly, where Pete?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 7th, 2013, 9:39 pm

Feeling to get a Blu studio for moms yes..

or get myself the Note and give her the S2.

kornbyrd

Postby kornbyrd » June 7th, 2013, 10:15 pm

Some stores saying u Must buy a sim card for 300 to get the phones for those prices.

Postby RASC » June 7th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Bmobile again :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » June 7th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Them prices on the s2 correct?

Postby M_2NR » June 7th, 2013, 10:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Them prices on the s2 correct?
very.
Is where u going to get one.

Postby nervewrecker » June 7th, 2013, 11:13 pm

Had a feeling that was the case

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 10th, 2013, 1:46 pm

so 899 for a s2 prepaid brand new, but they just out of stock?

Postby pioneer » June 10th, 2013, 3:39 pm

guys are there really three different versions of android?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 10th, 2013, 3:46 pm

there are more actually

but the current ones are : gingerbread, icecream sandwich and jellybean, with key lime pie coming soon..

Postby pioneer » June 10th, 2013, 3:51 pm

lolwut?

Here I was thinking there was one standard software for all devices

damn...how does that work out?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 10th, 2013, 3:56 pm

pioneer wrote:lolwut?

gingerbread is android 2.3.3, icecream sandwich is more found on tablets which is also known as andoid 4.0

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 10th, 2013, 4:17 pm

works pretty well.. apps which run on gingerbread can still run on the latest jellybean. very few apps.. a handful of them dont run on jellybean so there's no worries really.

what version ur smartphone or tablet runs has to do with how much power the device has in terms of specs.. processor speed, available memory etc.

weaker devices will have gingerbread while stronger devices will carry ics and any future upgrade that fit within system requirements.

but u dont have to study all that... just think of them all as 'android'. no sweat.
Last edited by rocknrolla on June 10th, 2013, 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 10th, 2013, 4:22 pm

shaq090 wrote:

gingerbread is android 2.3.3, icecream sandwich is more found on tablets which is also known as andoid 4.0
honeycomb is more found on tablets yuh mean

Den ics

Postby pete » June 10th, 2013, 4:40 pm

Gingerbread was a much smaller OS and they put it on cheaper devices which had less RAM. Ice Cream sandwich and Jellybean have similar requirements so most ICS devices by now have been upgraded to JB. Those which are still on gingerbread probably won't be able to run either due to lower specs.

All my devices are running JellyBean except for one and that's basically just a knock around phone. Still has whatsapp, facebook and tapatalk.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 10th, 2013, 5:17 pm

how much phones you got?

Postby pete » June 10th, 2013, 5:43 pm

S2 note and 10" tab 2 on jb. Xcover and Galaxy Player 5 on ginger bread

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 10th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

honeycomb is more found on tablets yuh mean

Den ics

yea sry

Postby RASC » June 10th, 2013, 7:42 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:how much phones you got?

Many*

Pet peeve. I hope you guys don't sound/talk like this in public.

Postby RASC » June 10th, 2013, 7:45 pm

Google's Fragmentation is so annoying. My phone still on ics... update in sight either.

New ios look on point. Loving the font... colours do look a bit too "btight" for my taste tho.

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2013, 8:12 pm

RASC wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:how much phones you got?

Many*

Pet peeve. I hope you guys don't sound/talk like this in public.

how many does it annoy you?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 10th, 2013, 9:32 pm

RASC wrote:Google's Fragmentation is so annoying. My phone still on ics... update in sight either.

New ios look on point. Loving the font... colours do look a bit too "btight" for my taste tho.

Not Google’s fault when manufacturers/carriers abandon their devices, but Google Play Services is here to address that

Postby RASC » June 11th, 2013, 9:59 am

So no one noticed their Gmail changed... any thoughts on the redesign.

S4 active is coming out soon... making it a great option for us living that Caribbean lifestyle. Wonder if it records videos under water?

Samsung HTC Sony -pure Google experience phones... is the nexus brand dead?

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 11th, 2013, 10:01 am

RASC wrote:So no one noticed their Gmail changed... any thoughts on the redesign.

S4 active is coming out soon... making it a great option for us living that Caribbean lifestyle. Wonder if it records videos under water?

just noticed it after I read your post....I find its kool:grin:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 11th, 2013, 10:01 am

RASC wrote:So no one noticed their Gmail changed... any thoughts on the redesign.

just noticed it after I read your post....I find its kool:grin:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 11th, 2013, 10:37 am

wouldnt.. all my apps are blocked from playstore updating automatically. the versions i have work so i dont care for upgrades lol. backed up all my apks too, will be using them for a while.