d spike wrote:dtp wrote:u don't need religion to d spiritually strong
pioneer and d spike [edited] u all b negative about god seriously
u all no d more u all try to find fault in god u are sealing your own fate
What makes you think I have said anything negative about God?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: However in the case with evolution, we do NOT know what the outcome will look like. We have no idea what humans will look like or act like in 3 million years from now.
bear with me here,d spike wrote:I will try once more, as simply as I can, to explain:
To accept the Bible literally is to invite confusion, due to the different idioms that exist throughout the multiple writings within it.
d spike wrote:A good example is Genesis. Can one believe the incidents recorded there as factual, as one would with St. Luke's writings?
The Ark, the Tower of Babel...
megadoc1 wrote:1 before you said "taking the bible wholesale" as in entirety? ,is it really the same as taking it literary?
I am telling you what I wrote (which you can also read for yourself) and there is a remarkable thing called a dictionary, which despite whatever trepidations you might have, can be used quite easily. Forgive me if I do not hate the English language, but as you force me to have to repeat myself (for you keep reviewing the SAME issues over and over - why? In the hope that you bore those you argue with?) I rely on that wealth that is ours to use in the hope that I may not bore readers.
2 thru out the multiple writings there was one spirit, that same spirit is here today living in the believer, is he (the holy spirit ) now incapable of relating/interpreting what he wrote?
Many people claim to be led by the same Spirit. Jim Jones, for example.
3 Christians are to abide in the same spirit that inspired these writings, if this is done would they encounter such confusions?
There is something called life. Live it. By all means, call on the help of the Creator, if that is your belief... but his gifts to us to aid us in our lives here must not be denied and ignored, such as the ability to think rationally - how would you feel if you gave a starving man on the coast a fishing line, yet he keeps coming back to you begging for fish?
4 is the holy spirit incapable of working in the life of a believer without the books that were left out of the bible ?
You want to have your cake and eat it too. Side with Luther against the horrible old holy rollers, yet deny his influence in your beliefs... hence this question. The Abyssinian Church held only a modified version of the Gospel of Luke as scripture, and they survived in faith (they also consider Pontius Pilate as a Saint)... The workings of God in the lives of men WERE NEVER DEPENDENT ON SCRIPTURE. What scripture did Abraham or Mohammed hold dear?
Please... take the titty out of your mouth, put on a pants, and go out into life and see what He has in store for you.d spike wrote:A good example is Genesis. Can one believe the incidents recorded there as factual, as one would with St. Luke's writings?
well actually God is looking for your faith, to believe such simply requires faith
you just said you guys were being entertain which is it? make up your mind nahd spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:1 before you said "taking the bible wholesale" as in entirety? ,is it really the same as taking it literary?
I am telling you what I wrote (which you can also read for yourself) and there is a remarkable thing called a dictionary, which despite whatever trepidations you might have, can be used quite easily. Forgive me if I do not hate the English language, but as you force me to have to repeat myself (for you keep reviewing the SAME issues over and over - why? In the hope that you bore those you argue with?) I rely on that wealth that is ours to use in the hope that I may not bore readers.
I never asked who claimed to be led by the spirit! we were talking about the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced , how then you gave an example of someone who walked contrary according to the scriptures? just now yuh go tell meh Hitler too!d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:2 thru out the multiple writings there was one spirit, that same spirit is here today living in the believer, is he (the holy spirit ) now incapable of relating/interpreting what he wrote?
Many people claim to be led by the same Spirit. Jim Jones, for example.
the holy spirit is a gift to us in him is Life, when we walk with him we live it ,thankfully my God, gave me the fishing line and send the fish too....or better yet he becomes my fishing line and my fish....d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:3 Christians are to abide in the same spirit that inspired these writings, if this is done would they encounter such confusions?
There is something called life. Live it. By all means, call on the help of the Creator, if that is your belief... but his gifts to us to aid us in our lives here must not be denied and ignored, such as the ability to think rationally - how would you feel if you gave a starving man on the coast a fishing line, yet he keeps coming back to you begging for fish?
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:4 is the holy spirit incapable of working in the life of a believer without the books that were left out of the bible ?
You want to have your cake and eat it too. Side with Luther against the horrible old holy rollers, yet deny his influence in your beliefs...
nice .... so your missing scripture argument was bs right? ..... God working in the lives of men come through some kind of relationship,d spike wrote:hence this question. The Abyssinian Church held only a modified version of the Gospel of Luke as scripture, and they survived in faith (they also consider Pontius Pilate as a Saint)... The workings of God in the lives of men WERE NEVER DEPENDENT ON SCRIPTURE. What scripture did Abraham or Mohammed hold dear?
Please... take the titty out of your mouth, put on a pants, and go out into life and see what He has in store for you.
The Bible teaches me how to have a relationship with God. All the answer for life are in GOD, some of the answer for life are in the Bible. For example; who should I marry? Where should I work? Does God want to direct me in these things? YES! Can I read the Bible and know who to marry? NO! I will learn what kind of person to marry, but not WHO to marry. I will have to depend on my RELATIONSHIP with God for that.
no one is arguing whether God wrote scripture or not. we know men did! but their idiom, culture and multiple bad habits, fears and desires. does not negate anything God said through them,he wants us to have faith in what is said through them.d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:d spike wrote:A good example is Genesis. Can one believe the incidents recorded there as factual, as one would with St. Luke's writings?
well actually God is looking for your faith, to believe such simply requires faith
Whether God is looking for faith or not, He didn't write any scripture. Men did... with their idiom, culture and multiple bad habits, fears and desires.
To believe literal interpretation can't be done with a living faith (that is infused with the other gifts we have, such as rational thinking) but only with ignorance and blind faith.
MG Man wrote:lols
see what a lil sarcastic comment does create?
muahahahahahahahaha
you are contradicting yourselfrspann wrote:The problem is never with God,it is always with man.God has put what he wants man to know about him,in man's heart,in the writings and has also made his spirit available for man to understand what he wants man to understand. Man however,tries to use his own wisdom and understandind,and eventually gets it wrong.That is why there is one bible,but thousands of christian religions,with each of them having a different opinion or differerent beliefs.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you are contradicting yourself there is no contradictions in what the guy is sayingrspann wrote:The problem is never with God,it is always with man.God has put what he wants man to know about him,in man's heart,in the writings and has also made his spirit available for man to understand what he wants man to understand. Man however,tries to use his own wisdom and understandind,and eventually gets it wrong.That is why there is one bible,but thousands of christian religions,with each of them having a different opinion or differerent beliefs.
if God has put wisdom and knowledge into a man, how could the man get it wrong if it was given to him by God? simple ! if man refuse to believe in and walk in what god told him and rely on their own opinions in a matter you end up with just what the guy was saying...
To suggest this is to purport that holy scripture that God had put to the man/men who wrote it could have been interpreted wrongly. read what the guy said!!! he is talking about the approach taken by men to what God is saying by having thier own opinion and not trusting in God himself
and HOW do you know which opinion is the right one?megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you are contradicting yourself there is no contradictions in what the guy is sayingrspann wrote:The problem is never with God,it is always with man.God has put what he wants man to know about him,in man's heart,in the writings and has also made his spirit available for man to understand what he wants man to understand. Man however,tries to use his own wisdom and understandind,and eventually gets it wrong.That is why there is one bible,but thousands of christian religions,with each of them having a different opinion or differerent beliefs.
if God has put wisdom and knowledge into a man, how could the man get it wrong if it was given to him by God? simple ! if man refuse to believe in and walk in what god told him and rely on their own opinions in a matter you end up with just what the guy was saying...
To suggest this is to purport that holy scripture that God had put to the man/men who wrote it could have been interpreted wrongly. read what the guy said!!! he is talking about the approach taken by men to what God is saying by having thier own opinion and not trusting in God himself
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and HOW do you know which opinion is the right one?megadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you are contradicting yourself there is no contradictions in what the guy is sayingrspann wrote:The problem is never with God,it is always with man.God has put what he wants man to know about him,in man's heart,in the writings and has also made his spirit available for man to understand what he wants man to understand. Man however,tries to use his own wisdom and understandind,and eventually gets it wrong.That is why there is one bible,but thousands of christian religions,with each of them having a different opinion or differerent beliefs.
is your idea of the way the right one? or is that just YOUR opinion?
my opinion is nothing, it is what the spirit of God says we believeand has also made his spirit available for man to understand what he wants man to understand
ah ok, but how did you determine which religions' God you will believe?megadoc1 wrote:my opinion is nothing, it is what the spirit of God says we believe
pioneer wrote:What satanic symbols/wallpaper on my pc can i use to frighten co-workers?
I'm absolutely sick of hearing them with their delusional single-minded sh1t everyday.
ah ok now i understand and appreciate what you are saying.rspann wrote:Duane,I am not contradicting myself,I said he made it available,I never said that all men avail themselves of it's power.You could have a fire extinguisher in your car,but unless you choose to use it in case of a fire,your car will burn to the ground.In the book of matthew,the parable is told of the sower sowing seeds.The seeds fall on different types of ground,and thus,have different results.It is an analogy to different people hearing the same word,but it has different effects on their lives.I am not trying to prove the existence of God,thats's his job,I am just trying to explain what I think Christianity means to me.I have no problem with what you believe,everybody has to account for himself.I know what I believe and what works for me.i made a concious choice of what To believe in based on careful study and not because my parents taught me their religion and I stayed in it.
I do not believe in any religion's God,I believe in the creator of the universeDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:ah ok, but how did you determine which religions' God you will believe?megadoc1 wrote:my opinion is nothing, it is what the spirit of God says we believe
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you do not believe in the teachings of Islam or Hinduism or Buddhism, it is therefore YOUR opinion that guides what you believe to be right.
megadoc1 wrote:in all this you are yet to declare whether you are talking about taking the bible in its entirety or literary ,you started of talking wholesale and then it turned on the literary stuff.
megadoc1 wrote:I never asked who claimed to be led by the spirit! we were talking about the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced , how then you gave an example of someone who walked contrary according to the scriptures? just now yuh go tell meh Hitler too!
megadoc1 wrote:the holy spirit is a gift to us in him is Life, when we walk with him we live it ,thankfully my God, gave me the fishing line and send the fish too....
megadoc1 wrote:or better yet he becomes my fishing line and my fish....
megadoc1 wrote:where you got that I sided with luther?
megadoc1 wrote:and wherr you get "the horrible old holy rollers"
from ? ..hah hah...oh I see.... your whole argument needs to hang on this premise ....
megadoc1 wrote:so your missing scripture argument was bs right?
megadoc1 wrote:you just said you guys were being entertain which is it?
megadoc1 wrote:we were talking about the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced
megadoc1 wrote: the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced
meccalli wrote:The holy spirit does not possess you, it does not own you , you are free to leave it and go as opposed to a demonic entity. Its purpose is to convict man of sin and keep believers in check
keep believers in check
thanks ........d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:in all this you are yet to declare whether you are talking about taking the bible in its entirety or literary ,you started of talking wholesale and then it turned on the literary stuff.
It is not my fault that you can't read.
For someone who likes to use polysyllabic words, the meanings of simple words seem to evade you. Taking something literally/wholesale means accepting it in the form it is, word for word... jeezanages, get a flippin' dictionary, for God's sakes, man![]()
Ever since this nonsensical concept arose in our discussions, I have maintained the SAME point: A literal interpretation of scripture is a path to error. (I guess you NEVER really read my posts all this time, eh?)
no that's a bad assumption if you left out the premise that one is being led by the spirit and with this spirit recognition of scriptures that are a result of the spirit,no room for opinions hered spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I never asked who claimed to be led by the spirit! we were talking about the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced , how then you gave an example of someone who walked contrary according to the scriptures? just now yuh go tell meh Hitler too!
You never asked... and you never will - because you operate on the childish premise that because:
1. The Spirit of God inspired the scriptures;
2. You read the scriptures;
3. Therefore your opinions (and those whose opinions agree with yours) are the result of the guidance of the Holy Spirit.
thats your opinion ....d spike wrote:The question before men is not whether the Spirit is incapable of guiding men, but whether what is guiding you is that same Spirit! Just because you believe it is, doesn't make it so!
d spike wrote:Clearly, you know nothing of Jim Jones (among a multitude of other things) apart from his foolish end, for you to spout such stuff. Read up on his earlier life, his preaching and the testimonies of his followers from these times.
“Nobody’s gonna come out of the sky!” Jim Jones informed his flock. “There’s no heaven up there. We’ll have to have heaven down here!” The reverend threw the Bible to the floor in his Peoples Temple and openly stated his disbelief in God. Before Jim Jones orchestrated the deaths of more than 900 people at his South American jungle commune, Willie Brown, Angela Davis, Harvey Milk, and other leading leftists lauded him as a hero. After the carnage at Jonestown, the Left conveniently dismissed him as just another crazed Christian fundamentalist"
"By the spring of 1976, Jones began openly admitting even to outsiders that he was an atheist. Despite the Temple's fear that the IRS was investigating its religious tax exemption, by 1977 Marceline Jones admitted to the New York Times that, as early as age 18 when he watched his then idol Mao Zedong overthrow the Chinese government, Jim Jones realized that the way to achieve social change through Marxism in the United States was to mobilize people through religion. She stated that "Jim used religion to try to get some people out of the opiate of religion," and had slammed the Bible on the table yelling "I've got to destroy this paper idol!" In one sermon, Jones said that, "You're gonna help yourself, or you'll get no help! There's only one hope of glory; that's within you! Nobody's gonna come out of the sky! There's no heaven up there! We'll have to make heaven down here!"
"I’m uh, you know, an agnostic. We have a— some emphasis on the terms of paranormal, because uh, it brings results, uh, there is something to therapeutic healing, all medical science has proven, but we don’t link that with any kind of causative factor of a loving God. Off the record, I don’t believe in any loving God. Our people, I would say, are ninety percent atheist. Uh, we— we think Jesus Christ was a swinger. He taught some pretty damn good things at feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, uh, maybe a little paternalistic, but it’s still uh— all the emphasis of the judgment of character— the only time he ever mentioned judgment at all was in Matthew 25, and it had to do totally with what you were doing for other people, so we— we emphasize the teachings of Christ, but um, we’re a— we are as um— we’re the most unusual church I’ve ever run into.."
even if he is my fish too? what would I need to find the sea for?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:the holy spirit is a gift to us in him is Life, when we walk with him we live it ,thankfully my God, gave me the fishing line and send the fish too....
Maybe so, but if you don't develop the other gifts God gave you, such as your intelligence (logic, rational thinking) you won't be able to find the sea, and then starve due to stupidity.
I am always catholic! If you are asking have I become roman catholic , what this have to do with Jesus becoming my bread /fish?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:or better yet he becomes my fishing line and my fish....
You'll eat him? Have you become a Catholic?
oh well in that case I sided with paul because I agree with his teachings ent?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:where you got that I sided with luther?
...and you agree with his teachings, not so? Let me guess... he got his ideas from you then.
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:and wherr you get "the horrible old holy rollers"
from ? ..hah hah...oh I see.... your whole argument needs to hang on this premise ....
What premise? So people just wandered through the halls and randomly selected writings and stapled them together? Clearly you have not thought through your excuse for denying what is recorded history. Whatever jovial term I use to refer to those esteemed folk doesn't negate or lessen the importance of their actions - the result of which you use to base your arguments, decisions, justifications and whatnot on.
what Abraham relied on was necessary and it is written down today,that's scripture does it becomes unnecessary when it is written then? if so whats the difference ?d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:so your missing scripture argument was bs right?
Why? Because people exist without it?
Who says the scriptures are necessary for life? (Apart from you and others like yourself who are too blinded by their opinionated ignorance to see the Creator within His Creation?)
Of course they are important... not necessary...
wait wait wait .this is true but it happens when one comes to faith in jesusd spike wrote:I thought it was preached "God's laws were written in the heart of man"... I guess your ilk believe everyone else suffered from typographical errors and misprints...
Jer 31:31 Behold, the days come, saith the LORD, that I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah:
Jer 31:32 Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they brake, although I was an husband unto them, saith the LORD:
Jer 31:33 But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.
Jer 31:34 And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.
Heb 8:7 For if that first covenant had been faultless, then should no place have been sought for the second.
Heb 8:8 For finding fault with them, he saith, Behold, the days come, saith the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah:
Heb 8:9 Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day when I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt; because they continued not in my covenant, and I regarded them not, saith the Lord.
Heb 8:10 For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:
Heb 8:11 And they shall not teach every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest.
Heb 8:12 For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.
Heb 8:13 In that he saith, A new covenant, he hath made the first old. Now that which decayeth and waxeth old is ready to vanish away.
Heb 10:16 This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, saith the Lord, I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds will I write them;
Heb 10:17 And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more.
Heb 10:18 Now where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin.
Heb 10:19 Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus,
Heb 10:20 By a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh;
Heb 10:21 And having an high priest over the house of God;
Joh 6:45 It is written in the prophets, And they shall be all taught of God. Every man therefore that hath heard, and hath learned of the Father, cometh unto me.
Mar 14:24 And he said unto them, This is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many.
d spike wrote:You go ahead and base your faith on a book, that's your choice.
You cling to the street-sign... the rest of use will walk the street.
acceptance does not implyd spike wrote:The simple fact remains (whether you continue to dance around it, pretending not to see it) pieces of the Bible were taken out by those who had their own agenda long after the Bible was compiled and accepted.
d spike wrote: You cannot claim to hold the Bible as "the Word of God" and at the same time, refuse to accept those writings as inspired as well.
based on your premise it becomes only an opinion of yoursd spike wrote:To do this is not to accept the Bible as inspired scripture, but to accept Luther's choices as inspired scripture
me aggrieved? lol... then ah might as well abandon my faith because of what happened between peter and paul...(to think peter was in eror? but but but he walked with Jesus!)d spike wrote: - hence my reference to Luther. The very fact that you seem aggrieved by this reference, and are always quick to either dismiss or ignore it, shows that you are very well aware of my point (highlighted in your favourite colour).
lol ...good oned spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:we were talking about the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced
Sounds like Jim Jones all right.
but in your fallacy you fail to realize that those actions are actually in disobedience to scriptured spike wrote:Precisely what do you mean by:megadoc1 wrote: the results of the scriptures, which are to lead the believer into a walk with God and is evident by the fruits it produced
"The results of the scriptures" are evident in history: the crusades, countless inquisitions (the Protestant inquisitions were far more gruesome, brutal and resulted in far more deaths than the Spanish Inquisition - but that was probably due to the latter being based on Spanish politics, while the former was squarely based on good and proper ol' time religion!) and the savagery unleashed in the New World...
..."is evident by the fruits it produced"... yup, you got that right.
Luk 9:51 And it came to pass, when the time was come that he should be received up, he stedfastly set his face to go to Jerusalem,
Luk 9:52 And sent messengers before his face: and they went, and entered into a village of the Samaritans, to make ready for him.
Luk 9:53 And they did not receive him, because his face was as though he would go to Jerusalem.
Luk 9:54 And when his disciples James and John saw this, they said, Lord, wilt thou that we command fire to come down from heaven, and consume them, even as Elias did?
Luk 9:55 But he turned, and rebuked them, and said, Ye know not what manner of spirit ye are of.
Luk 9:56 For the Son of man is not come to destroy men's lives, but to save them. And they went to another village.
MG Man wrote:so basically you possessed by a demon that forces you to believe in a wandering hippie?