3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

cornfused

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby cornfused » August 25th, 2013, 9:13 am

Great Marco DV

Postby DVSTT » August 25th, 2013, 6:57 pm

Thanks Bro

Postby shogun » August 25th, 2013, 7:01 pm

My goodness!.... beautiful photo man.

Postby foss » August 25th, 2013, 7:11 pm

phone pic.
Mayaro two weeks ago.

Postby hydroep » August 25th, 2013, 8:13 pm

xfactor wrote:I took this pic at sunset today, note the coloured patch of sky at the edge of the cloud, I think it might be the sunlight reflecting off some high level moisture or ice crystals.

Most unusual.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 27th, 2013, 6:29 pm

Pics from Toco
toco lighthouse trees - Copy.jpg
Toco Lighthouse Cliff - Copy.jpg
Toco Lagoon - Copy.jpg
Mush - Copy.jpg

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2013, 12:16 pm

altec wrote:Need a lil assistance... I want some decent bokeh shots. What lens gives good bokeh for indoor and portrait pictures? The lenses I have are tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD, nikkor af-s 35mm 1.8 and the 18-55 kit lens. The camera is a d5200 Nikon. I can get bokeh but the background has to be really far away.

The Tamron will give even better bokeh at 300mm and f/8 than the 35mm at f/1.8. Blurred background is a function of: Maximum aperture, Separation of background from subject, how close your subject is to the lens, and focal length. The 35mm's bokeh is not that great to begin with, and being wide angle, you really need to shoot it wide open, then you get shallow DOF. At f/8, you may get respectable DOF with the 300mm focal lenght, and still get the background blurred. Remember, you need some DOF to keep your subject sharp. Anyway, look at these photos:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =1&theater

This I shot at 100mm I think at f/8. The subject was near to the background, about a few feet and the background already started to melt away. If I wanted to, I could have pulled her forward more and the background would be paste. She was about 10 feet away. Her face is sharp, you can see every pore in the enlargement. See this next shot:

This is the other extreme,
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =1&theater

This is my 50mm f/1.4 @f/1.4. Because my son was so close to the lens for me to fill the frame, I had a hard time getting much anything in focus and sharp. I focused on his left eye.

Hope this helped.

Postby SMc » August 28th, 2013, 12:46 pm

^^Nices!!

I am off to but 50mm when I get paid hopefuly the week, and was looking at the Canon 50mm F1.4 or the Sigma of the same spec.

Anyone have experience with both lenses could offer their feedback on what they prefere and why?

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 28th, 2013, 12:48 pm

got the 1.8...love it

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 28th, 2013, 1:03 pm

Had the 1.8 Canon , was over the moon with it , sweet pictures , sharpest lens I ever used . Until I visited Kimmie's museum (when she was alive) . I was taking some picture of some small bronze pieces . The room was dark and out side was bright at that time , I could not get it to focus , just get the zipping sound over and over . That was the end of the loving relationship . I sold and got the 1.4 and am very happy . :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2013, 1:09 pm

The canon 50mm f/1.8 is extremely sharp. No need to spend money on a f/1.4 unless you really need that extra low light performance. I have shot both and prefer the f/1.8. I have one for sale actually. I have given up on Canon.

Postby SMc » August 28th, 2013, 3:00 pm

Thanks for both responses, my local camera place has the Canon 1.4@ 50% off for the next few weeks which now puts it at a much lower price than the Sigma of the same spec, yet still more than the 1.8. (not much more)

@Mr. Rotors, at that point ..given that choice would you have wanted to spend the extra bit or stick with the 1.8?

Postby DVSTT » August 28th, 2013, 3:33 pm

The sigma is miles ahead of the 1.8 canon. I heard some not so good stories about the canon 1.4 cuz ts not a true USM just a micro motor, that apparently not very durable so I opted for the sigma. IQ is top notch, and it's quite sharp at 1.4.

Lioniron

Postby Lioniron » August 28th, 2013, 3:33 pm

Where is your local camera shop? At 50 percent off the 50 mm 1.4 is a steal. Definitely worth getting instead of the 1.8 in my opinion.

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2013, 3:44 pm

The sigma is HUGE. I loved the f/1.8 because it took 52mm filters just like my nikon lenses. The sigma is also very heavy while the f/1.8 weighs nothing at all, and the canon f/1.4 is also lighter than the sigma. Just something to consider.

Postby SMc » August 28th, 2013, 4:01 pm

DVSTT wrote:The sigma is miles ahead of the 1.8 canon. I heard some not so good stories about the canon 1.4 cuz ts not a true USM just a micro motor, that apparently not very durable so I opted for the sigma. IQ is top notch, and it's quite sharp at 1.4.

Thanks again for the responseI had not really considered the 1.8 so I dont really want make a comparison with it.

If you were offered the Canon 1.4 for £280 vs the Sigma 1.4 for £380..would you be still as happy buying the Sigma over the Canon due to the motor?

BTW my 'local' shop is Park Cameras in Haywards Heath...its not close to anything to be honest.

With regards the the weight, I currently lug around a 100-400 and shoot it hand held most of the time. Hence the reason most of my pics are crap :(

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2013, 6:00 pm

Wassup folks, long time I haven't posted anything on this thread....

Dusted off the ol' workhorse D200 and went toco last weekend... was doing some tutorials with mih pardna who recently got a D5100 and is very excited about photography.... found a sudden opportunity for a quick snap while he was practicing.

SOOC (Straight Out Of Camera) shot

Just as I was taking that pic and reviewed it in the LCD screen, something about it just screamed at me "old vintage war-photograph".... so I photoshopped the heck out of that image and came up with this....

My friend saw it on facebook and said "hey nice Instagram pic!" and my heart instantly sank.... stupid hipster filters, destroying the joy of using Photoshop!!

Last week was driving along the Piarco bypass road, and got an absolutely fantastic sunset behind some clouds....
Didn't have my D200 at the time, all I had was the Samsung Galaxy S3, so I took a few shots of the clouds/sunset while stopped in traffic and behind slow-moving vehicles.

These are SOOC from the Galaxy S3...

And then after about 5 mins of tinkering around in PS CS4, voila!

"Quick!! Someone call Will Smith!!"

"Welcome To Earth!"

Hope you guys liked it, sorry that I haven't been posting as much lately. Will try to do some more shooting and posting!

Lioniron

Postby Lioniron » September 4th, 2013, 1:48 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378316847.646302.jpg

This is a shot of an orchid in my back yard.

Postby DVSTT » September 5th, 2013, 5:01 pm

Baby Turtle! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Postby SMc » September 5th, 2013, 5:31 pm

Green turtle...loggerhead has less pronounce 'spiky' back..head up G Riviere now and you might get the end of the leatherbacks hatching. If the not around the cobos will entertain

Postby DVSTT » September 5th, 2013, 6:41 pm

SMc wrote:Green turtle...loggerhead has less pronounce 'spiky' back..head up G Riviere now and you might get the end of the leatherbacks hatching. If the not around the cobos will entertain

Right mayaro I go and I see them.

Postby DVSTT » September 5th, 2013, 6:44 pm

Only leatherbacks though, can't remember the last time I saw any other species locally.

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2013, 12:24 pm

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2013, 8:48 pm

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2013, 12:52 am

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2013, 4:40 pm

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 19th, 2013, 5:15 pm

Hey I have that same flash in my cart on amazon...let me know how it works

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2013, 6:12 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Hey I have that same flash in my cart on amazon...let me know how it works

It was too tempting, I opened it. Works great, different to the YN560 II though. Sadly I don't have the yongnuo triggers :/. Guess I'd have to get one :/. Optical slave mode works.
Last edited by DVSTT on September 19th, 2013, 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2013, 6:37 pm

SMc wrote:
DVSTT wrote:The sigma is miles ahead of the 1.8 canon. I heard some not so good stories about the canon 1.4 cuz ts not a true USM just a micro motor, that apparently not very durable so I opted for the sigma. IQ is top notch, and it's quite sharp at 1.4.

Thanks again for the responseI had not really considered the 1.8 so I dont really want make a comparison with it.

If you were offered the Canon 1.4 for £280 vs the Sigma 1.4 for £380..would you be still as happy buying the Sigma over the Canon due to the motor?

BTW my 'local' shop is Park Cameras in Haywards Heath...its not close to anything to be honest.

With regards the the weight, I currently lug around a 100-400 and shoot it hand held most of the time. Hence the reason most of my pics are crap :(

YES! Bokeh on the Sigma is better due to 9 aperture blades VS canon's 8. But the motor issues had scared me away from the 50mm 1.4 canon. I mean if you are willing to risk it, you may not have any problems with it, but I was never that lucky with taking risks, so I opted for the sigma. Extremely happy with it, no complaints.

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2013, 8:55 pm

BMW 7 Series! by DHARIN, on Flickr