MG Man wrote:science has proven that something CAN pop into existence out of nothing
I'd call you crazy even before the statue popped upbluefete wrote:MG Man wrote:mediahouse wrote:ok so if alluh ent believe in ah god what about supernatural stuff like obeah, spirits , jins etc?
what does one have to do with the other?
you are just listing phenomena that we do not currently have explanations for
sinple as that
there was a time when moving objects in the sky were supernatural...so were thunder and lightning......
MGMan & Duane, hear dis nuh: If I gave you a statue and you asked me where it came from and I said no one made it, would you call me crazy?????
Can Something Come from Nothing?
To most people, the claim that something cannot come from nothing is a truism. However, most physicists disagree. Against the claim, they often cite what are variously known as quantum vacuum fluctuations or virtual particles.
These are particle-antiparticle pairs that come into existence in otherwise empty space for very brief periods of time, in agreement with the Heisenberg uncertainty relations. They produce measurable effects, such as the Lamb shift and the Casimir-Polder force.
These particles are not anomalies; they are so common that some physicists argue that if we think of empty space as nothing, then there is no such thing as nothing, because space never is empty—it is always filled with virtual particles.
In short, if we follow most people in thinking of empty space as nothing, then we have at least one pervasive example of something that can come from nothing.
---------------
I have not attempted to argue that the universe did come from nothing, or even to survey everything in cosmology or philosophy that bears upon the question of whether or not the universe was created. All I have attempted to do is to argue that an atheistic universe ex nihilo, in both a popular and a technical understanding of nihil, is possible. Even that modest step is bitterly contested by many theists, but modern physics appears to underwrite it decisively.
bluefete wrote:MG Man wrote:mediahouse wrote:ok so if alluh ent believe in ah god what about supernatural stuff like obeah, spirits , jins etc?
sinple as that
there was a time when moving objects in the sky were supernatural...so were thunder and lightning......
MGMan & Duane, hear dis nuh: If I gave you a statue and you asked me where it came from and I said no one made it, would you call me crazy?????
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:are you saying that Christians are people living in a certifiable mess??? because the last time I checked they swallow everything in the bible wholesale...d spike wrote:Well, if you are going to swallow everything in the bible wholesale, you are going to end up in a certifiable mess,
1. You mean the "Christians" YOU know.
2. If the cap fits...
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:wasn't this the reason its called the bible ...(the books or collection of books) whats your point?d spike wrote: as the bible is simply a massive collection of writings, made up of many books,
My point (which is clear for those who can mentally follow the meaning of sentences strung together) is that many people who refer glibly to "the Bible", do so as though it is one book. I am sincerely happy for you that you are able to realize that this is not so.
agreed but they all wrote the same thing, its not like they were in disagreement like the crap you posted to suggest such, its a cool story though but I think you placed it wrongly...the various writers of the bible are not in disagreement.......(thats what you were suggesting).d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:
why can't this very statement be used as evidence that he is really the one he claims to be?
the issue here is NOT "that he is really the one he claims to be", but if He is what various writers of differing outlooks, religious beliefs, and cultures wrote of Him.
@ your argument thanksd spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:are these really the best reasons why the bible should not be taken wholesale?
c'mon
Actually, they are not.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'd call you crazy even before the statue popped upbluefete wrote:MG Man wrote:mediahouse wrote:ok so if alluh ent believe in ah god what about supernatural stuff like obeah, spirits , jins etc?
sinple as that
MGMan & Duane, hear dis nuh: If I gave you a statue and you asked me where it came from and I said no one made it, would you call me crazy?????![]()
In physics, a virtual particle is a particle that exists for a limited time and space.
Virtual particles pop in and out of existence all the time. By existence we mean in and out of our space time.
read this quote:Can Something Come from Nothing?
To most people, the claim that something cannot come from nothing is a truism. However, most physicists disagree. Against the claim, they often cite what are variously known as quantum vacuum fluctuations or virtual particles.
These are particle-antiparticle pairs that come into existence in otherwise empty space for very brief periods of time, in agreement with the Heisenberg uncertainty relations. They produce measurable effects, such as the Lamb shift and the Casimir-Polder force.
These particles are not anomalies; they are so common that some physicists argue that if we think of empty space as nothing, then there is no such thing as nothing, because space never is empty—it is always filled with virtual particles.
In short, if we follow most people in thinking of empty space as nothing, then we have at least one pervasive example of something that can come from nothing.
---------------
I have not attempted to argue that the universe did come from nothing, or even to survey everything in cosmology or philosophy that bears upon the question of whether or not the universe was created. All I have attempted to do is to argue that an atheistic universe ex nihilo, in both a popular and a technical understanding of nihil, is possible. Even that modest step is bitterly contested by many theists, but modern physics appears to underwrite it decisively.
MG Man wrote:bluefete wrote:MG Man wrote:mediahouse wrote:ok so if alluh ent believe in ah god what about supernatural stuff like obeah, spirits , jins etc?
sinple as that
so based on your logic...........where did your god come from?????
primordial soupbluefete wrote:Dawkins - the God of the Atheists (eh, Spikey!) - once wrote that it is possible that we came from mud. Now where did I read that before????
d spike wrote:rspann wrote:The best thing about God,is that he does not need any confirmation, support,defence or proof from anyone for his existence.God is infinite and cannot be understood or defined by finite minds.
No rspann. You are clearly in awe of something greater than you, and (don't get me wrong) there is nothing wrong with that.
However, your statement is wrong. The best thing about God is that He ensures that there is no proof of His existence... no one is forced to accept Him... we, the created, can live our lives and share in His Creation without being burdened by the demand to acclaim Him (except for mediahouse, of course)...
...the best thing about God is that He leaves us free to choose to acknowledge Him, free to approach Him however we see fit, to call Him whatever name we think best...
That is what Love is. Giving freely, accepting freely.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:primordial soupbluefete wrote:Dawkins - the God of the Atheists (eh, Spikey!) - once wrote that it is possible that we came from mud. Now where did I read that before????
for the millionth time, please go and read up on Abiogenesis
unless you plan to read and understand quantum physics, you are hardly in a position to denounce it
by the way, "God of Atheists" is an oxymoron
MGMan wrote: duane he's not going to read it............
rspann wrote:MG,be careful before bluefete or megadoc tell you to read Psalms 14;1
you read everything there is on Quantum Physics? wow! you are more gifted than megadoc1!!!!!bluefete wrote:MGMan wrote: duane he's not going to read it............
Well I did, MG.
megadoc1 wrote:pioneer wrote:Now how this translates to present society? People still fear death, they afraid god mighten be pleased and so they would burn in hell.
the christian preaches a gospel that says that all our sins are forgiven
through the work done by Jesus Christ and that our faith in Jesus,is what pleases God not what we think we can do(not our own works) plus anyone who believes receives the gift of eternal life ....now why fear death? If one has faith in jesus God is pleased with himbut do you have substantial evidence that there is no afterlife ? I guess not because you confess that " I have never seen/heard dead relatives or friends"pioneer wrote:People fail to realise when you die, you cease to exist. I am yet to have substantial evidence that there is an afterlife, i have never seen/heard dead relatives or friends.
so it all comes down to what you believe.....
rspann wrote:It remains still as The most widely read and most inspiring book ever.
well I know people of other religions who've read the Bible and still feel their holy book is still the most inspiring.sensiman wrote:rspann wrote:It remains still as The most widely read and most inspiring book ever.
According to those who read it.
rspann wrote:Isn't his creation (the created)proof of his existence?
Doesn't Romans 1.20 say that God is revealed through his creation?even saying the word creation gives the idea someone has to do the creating.
megadoc1 wrote:it don't matter, at this point I was only interested in your opinion
megadoc1 wrote: they all wrote the same thing, its not like they were in disagreement like the crap you posted to suggest such, its a cool story though but I think you placed it wrongly...the various writers of the bible are not in disagreement.......(thats what you were suggesting).
however, "if He is what various writers of differing outlooks, religious beliefs, and cultures wrote of Him" is really an issue of our faith in what they said
rspann wrote: I think it's clear that for there to be a creation there has to be a creator,otherwise we can't call it creation.
d spike wrote:Faith provides the vision to see that which one's faith is focused on.
d spike wrote:rspann wrote:Isn't his creation (the created)proof of his existence?
Doesn't Romans 1.20 say that God is revealed through his creation?even saying the word creation gives the idea someone has to do the creating.
Yes, "the creation is the fingerprint of the Creator"... but I'm afraid it isn't 'proof' in the logical sense of the word. The logic of using the existence of an artifact as proof of the existence of an artist depends solely on the acceptance of the fact that such an artifact is made by such an artist...
"God is revealed through His creation" is not precisely the same as "being evidenced by"... "reveal" is a beautiful word... it comes from the Latin re vellum which means to draw back the veil... Faith provides the vision to see that which one's faith is focused on.
d spike wrote:rspann wrote: I think it's clear that for there to be a creation there has to be a creator,otherwise we can't call it creation.
Quite right... for THOSE who think of it as a creation!
As I said in my response to you:d spike wrote:Faith provides the vision to see that which one's faith is focused on.
smhbluefete wrote:d spike wrote:rspann wrote: I think it's clear that for there to be a creation there has to be a creator,otherwise we can't call it creation.
Quite right... for THOSE who think of it as a creation!
As I said in my response to you:d spike wrote:Faith provides the vision to see that which one's faith is focused on.
Without a creator, there is evolution. The notion that things appear by "magic" or always existed in some form (isn't this how God is?) and adapt to their environment over time.