WASA Thread ...

Re: WASA Thread ...

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2024, 5:06 pm

so when a reservoir is low the associated plant cannot push out the usual amount of treated water?

matix

Postby matix » May 28th, 2024, 5:47 pm

pugboy wrote:so when a reservoir is low the associated plant cannot push out the usual amount of treated water?

Correct, which leads back to a lack of desilting.

Postby redmanjp » May 28th, 2024, 5:49 pm

pugboy wrote:so when a reservoir is low the associated plant cannot push out the usual amount of treated water?

it can- we would just run out soon.

but what about the desalination plant? that not wukking? :roll: we are an island we should be able to put sea water to use.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 28th, 2024, 11:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 28th, 2024, 5:49 pm

I wonder if they can provide tds and tss values for these current levels?

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2024, 6:23 pm

desal plants water is fully used
they plant was meant to make water for pt lisa’s use
now wasa depends on it a lot for use to rest of the country

Postby alfa » May 28th, 2024, 6:57 pm

Any word from met office or other agencies as to when we might get some significant rainfall?

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2024, 8:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:

it can- we would just run out soon.

but what about the desalination plant? that not wukking? :roll: we are an island we should be able to put see water to use.
Yes it is but we relying on old technology. Old reverse osmosis techniques are energy intensive, there are new low pressure high volume systems but thats a talk for another time. It's easier to keep wasa and sing the same song every year. Hopefully temps rise, freshwater reserves hit an all time low and / or get depleted and then maybe we will be forced to opt for change. This is after places that actually know how to riot and protest actually do riot and protest and don't get water.

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2024, 2:19 pm

is wasa hose ban still on?
have some pressure washing to do

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2024, 4:54 pm

pugboy wrote:is wasa hose ban still on?
have some pressure washing to do

supposed to be till June 30th - but with all d rain we getting they should remove the ban now

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 18th, 2024, 6:28 pm

Do the pressure wash in the rain . They can not be so wicked

Postby st7 » June 18th, 2024, 6:53 pm

who enforcing the hose ban?

go ahead and pressure wash lol

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2024, 7:25 pm

PUblic utilities minister said reservoirs still way below average

Postby bluefete » June 18th, 2024, 8:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:PUblic utilities minister said reservoirs still way below average

We need a ton of rain to refill the reservoirs. WASA should put out the figures every week so people would know.

Postby redmanjp » June 19th, 2024, 1:03 pm

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:PUblic utilities minister said reservoirs still way below average

We need a ton of rain to refill the reservoirs. WASA should put out the figures every week so people would know.

I think the water schedules might be more effective than the hose ban at helping the reservoirs recover. Think about all the thousands of leaks. If it only leaking twice a week vs 3 to 4 times a week that alone saving a tonne of water. My neighbor next door have an overflowing tank for the past 6 months and it seems yet another neighbor tank start doing the same so it's both WASA and customer leaks. But with water only coming for about 6 hrs 2 times a week that is preventing water from wasting 24/7 for instance.

But my hose use every 2 nights for half hr to wet the garden still uses way less water than each of those tanks. So they should keep the schedules for a few weeks again but discontinue the ban.

Postby maj. tom » June 20th, 2024, 12:10 pm

The reservoirs are not going to be filled significantly until around October.

It is going to get worse every year, worsened even more by the forever poor and unequal distribution by WASA. At some point soon with these patterns, the deficit will be permanent given the rapid climate change, and will lead to permanent drought in some communities and eventually migration from there.

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2024, 8:22 pm

Met Office forecasted above normal rainy season and we have a desalination plant - don't think we need to wait till October at least not to remove the hose ban. Just keep the current schedules as leaks making up most of the water lost not hoses.

Postby j.o.e » June 21st, 2024, 12:28 am

redmanjp wrote:Met Office forecasted above normal rainy season and we have a desalination plant - don't think we need to wait till October at least not to remove the hose ban. Just keep the current schedules as leaks making up most of the water lost not hoses.

Nobody stopping you from using yuh hoes I mean hose. Stop stressing
I have a neighbour who sprinkler system goes off twice a day everyday for the last decade and more. Greenest lawn in the country even during the dry season.

Postby K74T » June 21st, 2024, 8:45 am

reddo yuh hadda stop being frighty frighty

Use de hose nah pa

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2024, 8:57 am

The man say he neighbour is a bad cop who gonna get him for spite.

Postby K74T » June 21st, 2024, 9:00 am

Cyah settle to being ah louse and leh de neighbour imps him.

Show de man who is king.

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2024, 9:35 am

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I think the water schedules might be more effective than the hose ban at helping the reservoirs recover. Think about all the thousands of leaks. If it only leaking twice a week vs 3 to 4 times a week that alone saving a tonne of water. My neighbor next door have an overflowing tank for the past 6 months and it seems yet another neighbor tank start doing the same so it's both WASA and customer leaks. But with water only coming for about 6 hrs 2 times a week that is preventing water from wasting 24/7 for instance.

But my hose use every 2 nights for half hr to wet the garden still uses way less water than each of those tanks. So they should keep the schedules for a few weeks again but discontinue the ban.
Same thing in my zone. If wasa want them put a float on the tank wasa have to supply the float. Till then, it will lock off when they feel like it which is never. Saw that same thing in Pleasantville, tank overflowing 24/7.

Postby Les Bain » June 21st, 2024, 2:03 pm

Some years back my tank was over flowing like mad. The float ball took on water somehow so it didn't rise to lock off the water.

Kinda puzzling the odd times it's since done that. The float rose and the tank still overflowed.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2024, 2:43 pm

this is where paying metered rates will cause ppl to fall in line

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2024, 2:43 pm

if you have high pressure supply the ball valve can vibrate
Les Bain wrote:Some years back my tank was over flowing like mad. The float ball took on water somehow so it didn't rise to lock off the water.

Kinda puzzling the odd times it's since done that. The float rose and the tank still overflowed.

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2024, 5:24 pm

maj. tom wrote:The reservoirs are not going to be filled significantly until around October.

It is going to get worse every year, worsened even more by the forever poor and unequal distribution by WASA. At some point soon with these patterns, the deficit will be permanent given the rapid climate change, and will lead to permanent drought in some communities and eventually migration from there.

This is what everyone including WASA should pay attention to.

If the reservoirs are filled by October, WASA will have to start scheduling from January 2025. But that is election year, so waste water and salt after elections.

Let us hope the African Ghananian CEO has cojones to stand up to the politicians.

Postby Gladiator » June 21st, 2024, 9:16 pm

bluefete wrote:
maj. tom wrote:The reservoirs are not going to be filled significantly until around October.

This is what everyone including WASA should pay attention to.

If the reservoirs are filled by October, WASA will have to start scheduling from January 2025. But that is election year, so waste water and salt after elections.

Let us hope the African Ghananian CEO has cojones to stand up to the politicians.

Well 76% of Ghana gets fecal coliform in their water and they bring an "expert" from there to take over WASA.... things could always get worse...is Trinidad

Postby Les Bain » June 24th, 2024, 9:41 am

pugboy wrote:if you have high pressure supply the ball valve can vibrate
Les Bain wrote:Some years back my tank was over flowing like mad. The float ball took on water somehow so it didn't rise to lock off the water.

Sure looking so, because there was high pressure this morning and it happened again.
My plumber says to just lock the water off and give the tank a gentle shove then turn the water on again. Works normally again.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 24th, 2024, 10:03 am

Just change the float not expensive and you can d yourself

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2024, 10:30 am

changing the float may not help
what happens is as it is close to full the water squirts in a narrow manner and it vibrates the whole setup
what you can try is tie strap a piece of 2x4 wood to the pipe leading to the float fill valve to prevent it from vibrating

Postby redmanjp » June 24th, 2024, 11:02 am

Les Bain wrote:
pugboy wrote:if you have high pressure supply the ball valve can vibrate

Sure looking so, because there was high pressure this morning and it happened again.
My plumber says to just lock the water off and give the tank a gentle shove then turn the water on again. Works normally again.

but u have to wait till it full (and likely overflowing) to do this? if it was me that would be after midnight or 1am i would be waiting as it doh full till around that time.