*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

rodfarva

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby rodfarva » July 28th, 2010, 9:43 am

ok, since the talk is on Subwoofer frequencies, help me out, because my ears seem oblivious either way :|

My HT setup has a good Sub - jbl es250p (have to double check), but my satellites are pretty mediocre (at best) stock..
I definately feel like something is lacking when I'm listening to music... (low-mids maybe?)
am i wrong in thinking that if I drop the frequency of the sub, that my lower midrange would suffer even more? (crossover is @ 90 right now)

Postby crazybalhead » July 28th, 2010, 9:49 am

Make sure your settings on your amp are correct, you may have your satellites set to "large". Set them to small and see.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2010, 10:40 am

^ yup and to clarify setting it to "large" on most HT receivers will send midbass to the satellites, setting to "small" will send only mids and highs to the satellites and will send the midbass to the sub.

Remember that frequency and EQ settings for watching movies are very different from those you would have when listening to music and that includes bass response.

I still waiting on SR to help me setup my system for music. I think I have the setting for movies down.

Postby crazybalhead » July 28th, 2010, 10:52 am

rodfarva, I mentioned that lots of DVD's have the THX set up sequence. It also does the setup for audio. Try it and see. The have a signal sweep from 200-20 Hz to make sure your sub is crossed over properly. When you run it, if there is a gap in the mid bass, you will hear a dip in response.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 28th, 2010, 11:02 am

i'll try it later - the sequence, though i have only a handful of blu rays and no dvd movies..hopefully one of them will have it
thanks cbh & duane

my satellites are set to small..

the thing is, im pretty happy with movie audio, which imo is more dependent on channel seperation, surround performance
when playing music, i feel like the 'fullness' is lacking...

i dont want music to be played through extra (rear) channels, or anything...but ive heard other peoples' systems, and the songs sort of envelop the room, and this is just straight up Left & Right stereo mode

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2010, 1:23 pm

^ there is "extended stereo" that puts stereo to the front and rear channels or many of the Dolby Pro Logic and THX settings that can take stereo and convert it to 5.1 or 7.1 to fill the room without feeling like its surround sound.

If you dont have a THX disc or any Luacsfilm or other THX movies then you can try these
http://sinan.ussakli.net/basstest/

Postby SR » July 28th, 2010, 2:17 pm

monday is ah holiday
will pull out all the test discs might have to review a porsche sound system for narend soon as well

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 28th, 2010, 6:15 pm

crazybalhead wrote:The terminal connecting the sub may have been loose.

probably,but it was intact when i took it out,well its still working properly now,thank god,and to think i was gonna get another sub. I forgot how low this biatch goes :o ,thanks for the halp guis

FYI,you guys should get this on CD/SACD:

http://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Greatest-Audiophile-Vocal-Recordings/dp/B000HIVOFU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1280355820&sr=8-1

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2010, 10:51 pm

^ would like to hear that on SACD

I got my hands on a Boston "Boston" SACD, the range was incredible!
http://www.amazon.com/Boston/dp/B00004U2G1/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1280458046&sr=8-1
I pulled lossless audio from it for one track "more than a feeling" and the flac file was 103MB!!!

Postby SR » July 30th, 2010, 8:21 am

just got my hands on pirates of the caribbean soundtrack.........well its the full length versions of the orchestral music
doing some listening on my crappy system in the car and i coult tell it screams for a high end system for instrument defination and imaging

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2010, 8:28 am

The Lord of the Rings score by Howard Shore is spectacular too

Postby SR » July 30th, 2010, 8:32 am

allyuh reel tempting meh to go back into home theatre
just cant justify the expense as i hardly watch movies at home

definatly gonna re do the 2 channel audiophile system though

question for the ht guys

does your sub really perform accuratly or is it jsut a boom..........

forget movies
go back to a true full band and listen to the accuracy of the bass notes
many ht subwoofers are really just boomy and do not accuratly reproduce the bass notes of instruments

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2010, 11:09 am

^ Audio set up for HT seems to be very different from audio set up for music. When you look at the equalisation settings for, let's say, "PLII + THX Music" and "PLII + THX Movie" you see a dramatic increase in vocal frequency ranges and a big drop in mid bass for the movie settings.

I much prefer to bitstream audio from the player and let the reciever pick up the raw DTS or Dolby encoding from the disc as the director intended, I don't like to use the processed settings on the receiver, however when you compare the processed setting for music and movie you hear the difference in EQ settings.

I hardly get chance to watch movies - the gear and setup and fiddling I think I enjoy more than the actual movie watching

though I love to put on a piece of Lord Of The Rings, Matrix or Avatar just to watch the cinematography and hear the audio every now and then.

Dolby TrueHD and DTS MasterAudio tracks are amazing!

Postby SR » July 30th, 2010, 11:16 am

so in other words.................you never actually took a proper listen to the defination or tonal accuracy of the subbass

:)

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 30th, 2010, 11:37 am

The reason i bought the mirage is because of countless reviews,i listen to more music than i watch movies,so this sub seemed perfect at the time,here's what the guys over @ HTR say about it

Sound
For its small size, the Omni S8 really put out a lot of deep, punchy, fast bass that only occasionally sounded strained or flabby. In fact, the quality and quantity of bass coming from that small box was pretty impressive. On movies and games, especially with smaller speakers, the Omni S8 excelled on just about every level. It provided punch, weight and speed and always seemed in time, coherent, and in control even on challenging passages. The amp, while not incredibly powerful on an absolute basis, matched very well with the driver and entire design, and pushed any straining away from the experience to where you barely noticed it. On music, as with the S10, the Omni S8 drew an excellent balance between speed, impact and clarity, lending good weight to acoustic, jazz, and even large scale classical recordings. It had enough speed to keep up with the many subtle cues that music presents, and didn't suffer from the random boom-boom offered by other budget designs. On rock and electronic material, it needed some more attack and attitude, but not much and delivered more than enough overall performance with this material considering its very affordable price and compact size. The Omni S8 didn't suffer much when near walls, and actually seemed to benefit in some situations.

http://hometheaterreview.com/mirage-omni-s8-powered-subwoofer-reviewed/
Last edited by ru$$ell on July 30th, 2010, 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » July 30th, 2010, 11:38 am

Well yuh know my take on that, must sound good for both. Duane, I never ever use surround effects, straight DD right through.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2010, 12:08 pm

^ me too

I also decided on a 10" sub over a 12 as I prefer the fast, tight bass that you get from smaller woofers

SR wrote:so in other words.................you never actually took a proper listen to the defination or tonal accuracy of the subbass

:)

that's why I calling you about 7 months now 8-)
but nooooooo

at this point I dont even know if I should be sending low frequencies to the satellites!

guru

Postby guru » July 30th, 2010, 1:35 pm

http://www.demo-world.eu/demo-dvds/dts- ... isc-14.php

I have this d/ld if anyone wants. No bluray burner yet tho, so man go hada pass tru with a...er..hmmm 32 gig+ flash drive or portable or laptop lol

Postby SR » July 30th, 2010, 1:44 pm

monday afternoon

fire up d bbq pit and run d neighbours

well no tell sho ah hear he runnin a garage by him now

i will be in the mood for some good audio after doing iasca comps on sunday

lemm go look for all meh live dvd's

fleetwood mac the dance is one of them as well as sade and some police

Postby crazybalhead » July 30th, 2010, 4:33 pm

Hmmmm...*puts oput FALing clothes*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2010, 4:36 pm

^ I not home this weekend, son's birthday.
next weekend

Postby SR » July 30th, 2010, 9:26 pm

no problem once u eh have kartin

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 4th, 2010, 4:47 pm

Got one of these borrowed. Definitely going to buy myself one
http://www.amazon.com/Brothers-Arms-20th-Anniversary-Straits/dp/B0009A21R6/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1280954564&sr=8-5

Dire Straits - Brothers in Arms Hybrid/SACD 5.1

"Ride Across the River" is spectacular - the audio is WAW!!!!!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 4th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Got one of these borrowed. Definitely going to buy myself one
http://www.amazon.com/Brothers-Arms-20th-Anniversary-Straits/dp/B0009A21R6/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1280954564&sr=8-5

Dire Straits - Brothers in Arms Hybrid/SACD 5.1

"Ride Across the River" is spectacular - the audio is WAW!!!!!

$200.00 - by order

should be in by next week

Postby SR » August 5th, 2010, 8:43 am

one of the better reccorded albums from the 80's for sound quality

bass on the money for nothing track should sound tight and not flabby when testing subwoofer response
there should be no overhang on the bass notes and it should cut off before the next note

Postby SR » August 5th, 2010, 8:49 am

also take a listen to the guitars to the end of sultans of swing

mazda_star

Postby mazda_star » August 8th, 2010, 11:42 pm

Guy is there any online site that carry the friday 13th sale online? or is anyone going away during that thanksgiving weekend?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 9th, 2010, 7:56 am

mazda_star wrote:Guy is there any online site that carry the friday 13th sale online? or is anyone going away during that thanksgiving weekend?

i buy from bestbuy for the sale

but i get the items at sale price about a month before and i can get any quantity.

Postby 16 cycles » August 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

chris botti in boston - nice addition to blu ray collection (jazz fans)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8NN4fpdm40

^ from the performance

andre reiu, vienna - classical fans can take a listen to this as well

Postby SR » August 9th, 2010, 8:43 am

tuning session was good last night

room acoustics were analysed reflections and lack of reflections were found
frequency bandwidth response of speakers was done
subwoofer orientation xover pt and gain control was played around with for best listening experience

limitations were found from an audiophile perspective

duane's system has a nice bandwidth response up to 12.5 khz with a natural acoustic gain at 31hz
there was an issue with overall phasing which was corrected and another phasing issue due to lack of reflections on the left side due to the location of the speakers in the room
more time is needed for further analasys next step will be to swap out the front left and right HT speakers with a pair of audiophile speakers for a comparison test
also the centre channel seems to be a bit low in comparison to the left and right speakers based on response
on audiophile tracks as well as with some 5.1 movies there was a slight (V) effect instead of a flate stage response

we need to adjust the centre channel angle as repositioning of the speaker will be a bit problematic

no issues were noticed with picture quality
ie d damn tv showin BESS :)

and 2 thumbs up for duane's attention to bling
1 remote for everything from ac to lighting etc

doh mind he lost like a hooker in church without it

now to reschedule another visit to finihs watching avatar in blue ray

and let crazyballhead give his review as he remained stuck to the sweet spot seating position all night