Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2015, 6:06 pm

Yeah, and once you drain them immediately after pulling from stove they dry which helps as they hot.

Rendered duck fat can be stored for weeks in glass container in fridge or months in freezer.
Duck fat is supposedly not a bad fat as other animal fats or butter.

Postby meccalli » May 21st, 2015, 6:10 pm

It's 1000000000000 times better than margarine, taste and health wise, I know that for sure :mrgreen: .

Postby *KRONIK* » May 21st, 2015, 6:12 pm

How is said duck fat obtained??

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2015, 6:15 pm

Aytime i roast a duck, i steam it first in wok covered and collect the fat,
Steaming first softens up the skin and make it crisp nce when roasted.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 21st, 2015, 6:18 pm

I never had duck anyway other than curry....

Will like to try it another way...

How to roast duck??
Just the basics...

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » May 21st, 2015, 8:29 pm

^ not sure if he meant roasting before actually currying. There is a Chinese styled duck I ate at Shanghai in movietowne some years ago wasn't bad at all .

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2015, 8:36 pm

Roast as in a baked duck, eg chinese roast duck you see hanging up outside kam wah
Not roast as in burn off the fine feathers and skin before currying.

Unfortunately local ducks not so good for oven baking, they too tough.
Have to use imported but you get plenty fat which is a good thing.

Postby shogun » May 22nd, 2015, 12:51 am

eurogirl wrote:my area !! .. i'm queen of roasted veggies .. duck fat !!! :| for health reasons i'm gonna not eat it as often i'd like to

Shogun , half boil potatoes in Trinidad we get crappy taters so unless u wanna go spend alot of munny on taters half boil them ! .. just let the water boil give them at least 10 mins start the cooking process . Mix a sauce ! , I use olive oil ,or red wine vinegar salt, black pepper, garlic pepper flakes .. when your potatoes are cool cut them up in desired size and toss together coating evening leggo onto a baking sheet and roast @ 300 degs for 20 mins . Enjoy !

I do it with sweet potatoes as well and carrots ( minus the half boil for carrots )

Hey thanks eurogirl.

Hmmmm, gonna try it with the sweet potatoes as well.

Postby X_Factor » May 22nd, 2015, 7:21 am

Bought this so i gonna be trying the sous vide technique soon
Pugboy...any tips

Postby X_Factor » May 22nd, 2015, 7:21 am

Vacuum sealer
1432293697675.jpg

Postby meccalli » May 22nd, 2015, 8:04 am

Whatever route you go, you need a waterbath that's steady in holding temps constant as well as accurate instruments.

Postby X_Factor » May 22nd, 2015, 8:36 am

im thinking a slow cooker and i can get a thermometer with the digital display wire probe type

Postby meccalli » May 22nd, 2015, 9:36 am

I think pug has a an actual machine, I do mine diy with a large thermos for things like chicken breast, burgers and steak. A crockpot seems like a good idea once it holds steady temps and you could vary with keep warm and low with a probe. I find I actually get nice results with chicken in a small crock on high on a bed of aromatics to keep it off the bottom. You can poke it all the time till it's done lol. You don't have that seal of liquids and fats like sous vide though.

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2015, 4:33 pm

Yeah, i have one of the first controllers that came on the market, it is basically
A pid temp controller and temp probe which turn on/off a solidstate relay which in turn is used to power a rice cooker in my case.
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?main_ ... ucts_id=44

You can buy a generic controller complete with relay and temp probe for around $50usd
And wire it up yourself to, google diy sous vide

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJxRM6Pk7A4

You can use those controllers to do anything, i am looking to use one to
Get a broken ge electric stove oven working again as the original ge board not available.

Postby X_Factor » May 22nd, 2015, 4:40 pm

how long have you done meat for via this style?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » May 22nd, 2015, 6:34 pm

X_Factor wrote:how long have you done meat for via this style?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » June 7th, 2015, 10:28 am

nick639 wrote:Anyone knows how to make *Marr* ???

Dunno how to spell it, but it's a lil kinda drink from the boiled rice water where they add stuff to it and it tastes kinda salty I think??

Haven't had this in years and wanna try it again.

Postby meccalli » June 7th, 2015, 12:59 pm

I thought it was just the ricewater and salt. Didn't know there's addition prep.

Postby meccalli » June 7th, 2015, 10:54 pm

hmm, sounds like it would taste interesting lol.

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2015, 7:28 am

anova sous vide immersion circulator is on sale for $129 now, $50 less fathers day sale

http://store.anovaculinary.com/products ... ion-cooker

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 10th, 2015, 10:14 am

where sells whole duck breast?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 10th, 2015, 10:14 am

I have duck to sell!

Drake and hens!

Postby *KRONIK* » June 10th, 2015, 12:40 pm

Price...from 150 up

Located sangre grande

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » June 11th, 2015, 2:39 pm

i will have some baby ducklings for sale aprox. monthend.

Postby Hook » June 11th, 2015, 5:54 pm

"baby ducklings" = ducklinglings

Postby *KRONIK* » June 11th, 2015, 6:54 pm

playerskrew wrote:i will have some baby ducklings for sale aprox. monthend.

U interested in a swap?

I wanna add some "outside" genes to my next generation

Postby dougla_boy » June 12th, 2015, 8:13 am

hmmmm.....hadda check allyuh for a duck yes.....

GRIM

Postby GRIM » June 12th, 2015, 8:36 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Price...from 150 up

Located sangre grande

me ent know you sellin duck
pm price on a few drake in the 8+lbs range if yuh have

Postby *KRONIK* » June 12th, 2015, 10:35 am

Yeah...
I have some ducks

And plenty x-layers coming soon

Gonna do a sort on the ducks weekend and see who looking ready for pot.

Will update accordingly

Postby Hook » June 12th, 2015, 3:08 pm

Update it in a separate duck selling thread nuh...cuz this one's about cooking. And PM Duane about becoming a Powerseller.