tyres

Re: tyres

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 3rd, 2011, 6:02 pm

The Westlake and your new Sunew are in the same boat as Bolex, Goodride, Wanli and LingLong.

While they may appear to grip ok, Westlake, for example was recalled in the US some time back for ply separation.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 3rd, 2011, 6:19 pm

strangely enough the sunews got good review on tyrereview.uk, i wouldnt buy them though, nor westlake nor linglong, personal preference.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 4th, 2011, 5:42 pm

syntax wrote:
what dou guys recommend to run as a daily tyre about $600 each per tyre....

BTW the solus cost $400 each at MM

Consider Toyo Proxes ViMode
Got 215/60/14 for $600 is as Mileage mack

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » June 4th, 2011, 7:09 pm

my 2 cents is i had triangle on my civic and they work really well. it was triangle diamond back or something like that

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 4th, 2011, 7:17 pm

The Nexen’s were awful for this as they howled like wolf at a full moon … being spanked by a bear also howling at the moon … and the moon was howling.

http://imclumzy.wordpress.com/2009/07/2 ... re-review/

regarding maxxis victra tyre review

Postby bushwakka » June 7th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Wolfstein wrote:my 2 cents is i had triangle on my civic and they work really well. it was triangle diamond back or something like that

lardd....my padna had the triangle talon sport on his auto non-vtec civic, if he mash out too hard from rest, he used to get wheel spin :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 8th, 2011, 6:51 am

^^Went to South Saturday so I passed through by Ramrattan to see what he had. Indeed he had a wide selection & outside a large deliverly of Triangle passanger & SUV tires. I asked him his opinion on them & he said he sold a few thousand of them with not a single complaint. He even has a set on one of his cars which he said he's very impressed.

He went on to say for the no. of yrs in business experience, for passanger / suv he can't see why someone will spend an extra 2-3 hundred bucks / tire on more expensive brands when there is no difference.

He told me the Chinese are taking over the market now so big brand names are now moving their production to china in the same existing tire plants!!

He told me most trucks / busses are fitted with Chinese tires on the roads now & are holding up extremely well over branded ones.

That was his take on them.

As a personal observation, just see how many cars / suv's / luxury liners are fitted with roadstone etc. AM Marketing has taken over the market in TNT with their imported tires & people are sold on them. MM / ACL is even selling them now !

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 8th, 2011, 5:26 pm

everybody's using them is really no reason to do a thing.
the tyres may be sufficient, but enthusiasts look for a bit more than sufficient, just my thoughts on it.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 8th, 2011, 6:37 pm

While I agree with ghostbusters about it being sufficient... Sufficient is not really fine for something that can have a direct impact on my ability to live or not...

Basically, I will pay for more than simply sufficient on Tyres, Brakes (all parts) and general suspension parts (ball joints, bushings, etc)...

Yes the triangle can do the job but I am convinced that you can get good brands like Kumho for marginally more.. Note the use of GOOD and not GREAT.. To get GREAT you have to generally spend a significantly larger portion of money..

In the end, its up to you what you purchase but I am surprised that Ramrattan M gave that advice, but it does make sense from a business point of view. Last time I went there he complained to me that whenever they order high performance tyres they sit there so long because very few people are willing to pay for quality.. Instead, the average consumer will look to whats cheapest.. Hence the popularity of Nexen/Roadstone etc..

Postby Morpheus » June 8th, 2011, 11:29 pm

In the end, its up to you what you purchase but I am surprised that Ramrattan M gave that advice, but it does make sense from a business point of view. Last time I went there he complained to me that whenever they order high performance tyres they sit there so long because very few people are willing to pay for quality.. Instead, the average consumer will look to whats cheapest.. Hence the popularity of Nexen/Roadstone etc..

^^^So true. Most tyre shops I have gone to in the last 3 weeks only have Nexen, Westlake, Triangl, etc. No Dunlop, Sumitomo, Kumho, Michelin, Goodyear etc.
I just wanna get tyres that won't develop sidewall cracks and other defects all of a sudden, hence shying away from the "economy" brands. Not to mention wet road issues.

Postby X_Factor » June 9th, 2011, 6:54 am

From a business point of view, their mark up on those chinese tyres is alot more than a reputable brand and are still able sell the chinese tyre about 1-300$ less than the lowest line in any reputable brand....Think about it, they are able to sell a 15" for 450,
Minus now Shipping, taxes and profit and then guess the cost price

Since drivers are not educated about the importance of having a good tyre they fall for it every time they enter a tyre shop...Most just dont know as well and ive seen instances whereby ppl go to the tyre shop and ask for a pair of tyres and they take what they are givin by the tyre person just because they dont know better as well as trying to save a couple 100.00

It's so blatant now where u see alot of high end vehicles (BMW, Benz, Audi etc) using those chinese tyres.....now if u can afford that vehicle im sure u can afford good tyres so its not that they dont have the money, imo its because they dont know

Finally, when someone who has an idea about good tyres and they go to a shop and question the ppl, if u see how quiet they and jus cant wait for u to leave

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 9th, 2011, 8:49 am

Ramrattan (not him in particular but rather his brother, from on my side) has been importing tyres for many many years....they were the dominant importers of tyres who supplied the entire country, so he tends to know what he's talking about......his retail prices a bit high though....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 9th, 2011, 2:27 pm

X-Factor, your point is well noted but not necessarily true..

I know as a fact that you can pick up Kumho 15" tyres in the range of about $500 each if you look hard enough.. Quality tyres too, definitely better than any of the chinese and i feel like wherever you buy it from (either L+DG or MM) will be more likely to stand by their product than any of those fly by night sort of tyre shops..

I think on a whole consumers in Trinidad lack education... I'm not saying people not educated, but from the point of view of consumer choice and empowerment they badly lacking..
T + T stll has a culture which equates quality to cost on most things right.. eg. Cost of a fete, cost of a shoes, cost of a girl in villa etc, but then why would they walk into a shop and ask for the cheapest tyre on go to a parts place and cheap out on brakes.. It just doesn't make sense to me at all yes..

I guess things like tyres etc doh fit with the materialistic/bling/fronting culture we have nurtured over the past few years.. Buying better tyres doesnt directly improve your "social standing" or the way people "envy" you so then why bother..

$4000 for a phone, $1500 for tyres... Let them go on so yes... Once they doh come flying across the highway (through the picket fence) at my car..

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 10th, 2011, 5:14 am

^^I am yet to read of an accident where a tire blew out & caused the driver to cross the median etc. Its mostly irresponsible driving that causes most deaths etc on the roads etc.

My personal take on these tires are alot of improvements have been made over the years on these budget tires. Just like when Toyota & Datsun came to North America they were no good. Same applies to Hyundai cars 10 yrs ago.

Khumo / Hankook tires were real sheit back in 1998( Khumo powermax) . They rode very hard, bent easily, noisy etc. That time MM never sold them, instead they had Cooper & Avon tires & they pushed that along with AEZ rims.

AEZ were out of Germany, Avon/Cooper out of the US. All of a sudden, due to the costs AEZ, Avon & Cooper were dropped like a hot potato & Toyo & Khumo is now the in thing due to their advertising in car magazines etc & much cheaper costs. Now alot of folks loves Khumo as the local whites are pushing them in TNT but Ashmead has the market in TNT with the budget tires which IMO are doing what they are supposed to.

One hardly comes accross these Toyo/Khumo in Toronto. The more popular brands from Walmart (Nexen,Triangle), Canadian Tire( Motorcraft) , Michelin, Bridgestone, Firestone which are manufactured either in the states or Canada are the big sellers.

GT Radials which Quick Service is pushing is out of China.They are now selling Ling Long tires. Some Khumos are out of China. Some Goodyears are out of Brazil etc.

Roadstone, Nexen, Triangle etc are copying tread patterns from the high end tire manufactures coupled with the same materials (silica compounds, # of steel belts, Nylon and rubber).

One thing to note is when Americans are conducting tire tests like Continental against Ling long etc, its like comparing a BMW to a Chevy Cruz and one must keep that in mind. Remember sometimes one costs more than 100% over the other so is that a fair test ?

I remember one was Conti extreme contact over a normal Ling Long. Be mindful over the American's B.S.

All of a sudden, the American manufactures are winning motor trend's car & truck of the yr !

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 10th, 2011, 9:34 am

^^^shuddap!

You haven't been authorised to speak by tirerack.com

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 10th, 2011, 5:51 pm

Chemical wrote:

GT Radials which Quick Service is pushing is out of China.They are now selling Ling Long tires. Some Khumos are out of China. Some Goodyears are out of Brazil etc.

yes, but quality control and R&D are not the same as with nexens and roadstone etc, clearly, or else their sidewalls wouldnt be breaking up all over the highway...

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 10th, 2011, 6:18 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
Chemical wrote:

yes, but quality control and R&D are not the same as with nexens and roadstone etc, clearly, or else their sidewalls wouldnt be breaking up all over the highway...

quality control is relative...
If you sold 10,000 of brand "X" and 1,000,000 of brand "Y" and both brands were made under the same standards, say 0.01% failure rate.
Let brand "X" be the expensive brand name tires and brand "Y" be the cheap knockoff stuff.

Then:
1 out of every 10,000 of brand X you will see fail.
100 out of every 1,000,000 of brand Y you will see fail.

Just because something is made in china does not mean it is not good. All that it means is that their is a greater chance of you or someone you know getting a defect since it's mass produced in relatively high volumes.

note 1: I'm not implying that everything made in china is good quality. Some is just rubbish. Use your own discretion.

note 2: falken azenis tires suck dick when it comes to drag racing. :agrue:

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » June 11th, 2011, 12:02 pm

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 27th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Got some 205/50R16 Kumho KH31s from L&G today after a Dunlop DZ101 blowout on the highway.
Online reviews are pretty good for the KH31 but I'll see how it fares.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 27th, 2011, 2:54 pm

KH 31 is a very good overall tyre.
Good price, good treadwear, good grip dry or wet, not very loud..
Overall a winner if you are looking for a basic touring style tyre..

Beyond me why people will buy nexen etc for the same price..

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 27th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Actually went by L&D last week & the KH21 Solus is branded Marshal, not Kumho !

I'm not too sure what's going on now.

Postby X_Factor » June 27th, 2011, 9:44 pm

would u guys buy a cheap (<600) tyre or a pretty high end f.used tyre provided that its in good condition and within 2yrs of manufacture? considering both tyres would cost 400.00

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 28th, 2011, 3:30 am

Well thats an open ended question. I it depends on multiple factors such as brand,model, wear on the FU tyre, what you want to use it for etc..

I generally say NEVER buy used tyres just because you don't know whats its been through before you got it, but if its just for use to solodex etc thats fine.. For road use however I will always go for the new option..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 28th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Those KH31s I got were $550+VAT for 205/50R16s. That's cheap in my book!

syntax

Postby syntax » June 30th, 2011, 8:57 pm

installed a set of Hankook Ventus HRII. Its a Unidirectional tread pattern, overall tyre run really well in wet ( little to no hydroplaning) and great in dry.

alot of reviews online rates this tyre very low due to the fact that they using it mainly in snow...

Postby bushwakka » July 1st, 2011, 11:05 am

^tyre center hav evos?

Postby X_Factor » July 2nd, 2011, 8:30 pm

any reviews or opinions on the Maxxis MA-Z1 tyres
getting the 195/55/15 for 600 a piece

syntax

Postby syntax » July 3rd, 2011, 12:25 am

bushwakka i didnt get them at the centre i got them at wheel wizard in debe, anyway a lil update when i had my Kumho solus Kr21 in the slightest of wet roads the ABS will come on under a hard braking but what amazes me is that the hankook does not do this at all, had to stop hard in a muddy road and the abs didnt come on and braking distance was well short of the kumho

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » July 3rd, 2011, 11:01 am

X_Factor wrote:any reviews or opinions on the Maxxis MA-Z1 tyres
getting the 195/55/15 for 600 a piece

it's been mentioned somewhere in the thread before, seemed to get generally positive reviews...
where you getting those and do they have 205/55-15?

Postby Morpheus » July 3rd, 2011, 4:05 pm

Picked up a skid yesterday. Happened so fast. Damn Triangles in the back. New Dunlops in the front. Seems like the back stepped out. Some serious countersteering to get the car back in line. Was probably going about 50kph.

The Dunlops are about 3 weeks old and the Triangles are about 50%. My plan was to change the back to Dunlops by December at least. Looking to speed up that plan yes :shock:

My 1st Drift!!! LoL :| :|