COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 117 cases, 8 deaths, 108 discharged in T&T

Postby maj. tom » June 4th, 2020, 8:27 am

110,000 in USA already dead from Covid-19. That is a mass death event.
But let it continue. And let it burn. America needs some reality at home.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2020, 9:08 am

5% of cases resulted in death, in america

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2020, 9:31 am

goalpost wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Edit

It's like everything lining up perfectly in the US for mass death from this disease.

Boi huh....

And iz hurricane season too

Postby K74T » June 4th, 2020, 6:22 pm

FB_IMG_1591308943771.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591308945917.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2020, 7:49 pm

sMASH wrote:5% of cases resulted in death, in america

and blacks make up most of them

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2020, 8:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:5% of cases resulted in death, in america

and blacks make up most of them

thread merge eminent

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2020, 9:06 am

First time since February I decide I will go buy doubles.

Went by Mamoos by Macoya. Had around 10 people huddled under a small tent b/c of the drizzle. Half were without masks. Left yes!!!

Trinis just don't business!!!

Postby j.o.e » June 5th, 2020, 9:43 am

Dizzy28 wrote:First time since February I decide I will go buy doubles.

Went by Mamoos by Macoya. Had around 10 people huddled under a small tent b/c of the drizzle. Half were without masks. Left yes!!!

When the borders open because it must at some point ..... and we have cases mingling. RIP Trinidad

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2020, 3:07 pm

j.o.e wrote:

When the borders open because it must at some point ..... and we have cases mingling. RIP Trinidad

not going to open for foreigners for ah while.. the locals who allowed in have to go in state quarantine so no threat to the public.. so is only whatever undetected local cases we have that not in quarantine and going out in public we have to worry about- hopefuly the lockdown woud have limited the spread

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2020, 3:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:110,000 in USA already dead from Covid-19. That is a mass death event.

i think they projected 1-2 million deaths if no measures/lock down were taken- so if they get 200000 for the year trump go say dey saved 90% of those lives

i wonder what our CMO projected as trinidad worst case scenario- 5000 maybe?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2020, 3:16 pm

maj. tom wrote:110,000 in USA already dead from Covid-19. That is a mass death event.

Given the disparity in the ethnicity of the dead you really think letting it continue is the best thing?

Postby j.o.e » June 5th, 2020, 3:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

not going to open for foreigners for ah while.. the locals who allowed in have to go in state quarantine so no threat to the public.. so is only whatever undetected local cases we have that not in quarantine and going out in public we have to worry about- hopefuly the lockdown woud have limited the spread

It’s not gonna open for awhile but trust me it will, covid isn’t going anywhere. It’s only so long we can maintain closed borders and government sponsored quarantine. Look around the world. Even within the Caribbean islands are opening borders, granted they need the tourist dollars.
But we will have a phased opening to some countries with self quarantine eventually and it just takes one case.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 117 cases, 8 deaths, 108 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 5th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Laaaad you made a good move.

In that small area....stink breath, doubles breath, level halitosis, coughing, phlegm snorting, burping and teeth sucking.

Yuck!

Postby matr1x » June 5th, 2020, 6:52 pm

Laaaad you made a good move.

In that small area....stink breath, doubles breath, level halitosis, coughing, phlegm snorting, burping and teeth sucking.

Yuck!

Better than guntress scent

Postby Dizzy28 » June 6th, 2020, 2:55 pm

Pastors unite!!!
Screenshot_2020-06-06-14-54-58-730_com.twitter.android.jpeg

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 6th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Stupes.

Have those places EVER been essential?
Shudda remain closed indefinitely.

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Stupes.

Have those places EVER been essential?
Shudda remain closed indefinitely.

u know non essential businesses have reopened right? anyone forcing u to attend?

and it's not back to normal - social distancing will be in effect so only a portion of ppl can attend and they must wear masks

besides we have a Constitution in this country

Postby paid_influencer » June 6th, 2020, 10:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:u know non essential businesses have reopened right? anyone forcing u to attend?

and it's not back to normal - social distancing will be in effect so only a portion of ppl can attend and they must wear masks

besides we have a Constitution in this country

well we all in this together. nobody forcing him to attend, but he (and everybody else) is being put at risk by the reopening. Granted, the sampling shows the risk is very low but we should keep it in mind.

Are choirs allowed? Choirs are known super spreaders. This is documented in the medical literature. Masks are not a solution, since the choir will sing harder to compensate for the the loss in sound and you get a muddled sound as well.

Keep the singers socially distanced (by definition not a choir), tell them to sing softly (with lowered masks for clarity) and allow the microphone to reinforce the sound. The microphone blocks your mouth, providing the same blocking effect as a mask.

Microphones should be sanitized after use. Mics should not be shared between individuals (encourage BYOM, bring your own mic)

Postby K74T » June 7th, 2020, 7:28 am

Stay home, read your bible, say your prayers, save your money.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 7th, 2020, 8:20 am

K74T wrote:Stay home, read your bible, say your prayers, save your money.

Ent

Postby aaron17 » June 7th, 2020, 8:41 am

For those ppl who are coming into tnt on cruise ships....they are saying that they are able to quarantine them on the ships itself. Are we still gonna quarantine them when they reach in trinidad?

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2020, 9:04 am

CMO in earlier conferences said quarantine cannot start until they have arrived here.

Postby K74T » June 8th, 2020, 10:38 am

FB_IMG_1591626962845.jpeg

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 8th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Was in pricesmart south on Saturday and they no longer have social distancing policies in place. Crowds inside, all cashiers were open an no enforcing of social distancing being done. They need to limit the amount of people going in like before to avoid the crowds building up inside

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 8th, 2020, 6:40 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Was in pricesmart south on Saturday and they no longer have social distancing policies in place. Crowds inside, all cashiers were open an no enforcing of social distancing being done. They need to limit the amount of people going in like before to avoid the crowds building up inside

Was there today and the previous guidelines were being enforced with spacing by cashier, sanitation of trolleys, hands and checkouts. I got to walk in freely so I'm not sure if they were limiting entrants.

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2020, 8:19 pm

NR8 wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:Was in pricesmart south on Saturday and they no longer have social distancing policies in place. Crowds inside, all cashiers were open an no enforcing of social distancing being done. They need to limit the amount of people going in like before to avoid the crowds building up inside

Was there today and the previous guidelines were being enforced with spacing by cashier, sanitation of trolleys, hands and checkouts. I got to walk in freely so I'm not sure if they were limiting entrants.

Too much inconsistency....

But much expected.

Trinis just cant get it.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 8th, 2020, 8:37 pm

How many have we tested in total?

Postby Ben_spanna » June 8th, 2020, 9:17 pm

And here we goooo, the USA now appears to be entering the second phase of the corona virus, more and more cases are being reported,
Keep our borders closed from any one entering and any Trinis returning should be kept under guard to ensure they stay quarantined .....

Postby redmanjp » June 9th, 2020, 6:48 pm

https://abcnews.go.com/International/satellite-data-suggests-coronavirus-hit-china-earlier-researchers/story?id=71123270

Satellite data suggests coronavirus may have hit China earlier: Researchers
Researchers say surge in cars at hospitals may indicate outbreak in fall.

By
Kaitlyn Folmer
and
Josh Margolin
8 June 2020, 06:04
18 min read

Counting cars: Satellite images suggest coronavirus may have hit China last fall

Harvard, BU researchers analyzed images that show hospital parking lots busier than usual.

Dramatic spikes in auto traffic around major hospitals in Wuhan last fall suggest the novel coronavirus may have been present and spreading through central China long before the outbreak was first reported to the world, according to a new Harvard Medical School study.

Using techniques similar to those employed by intelligence agencies, the research team behind the study analyzed commercial satellite imagery and "observed a dramatic increase in hospital traffic outside five major Wuhan hospitals beginning late summer and early fall 2019," according to Dr. John Brownstein, the Harvard Medical professor who led the research.

Brownstein, an ABC News contributor, said the traffic increase also "coincided with" elevated queries on a Chinese internet search for "certain symptoms that would later be determined as closely associated with the novel coronavirus."

Though Brownstein acknowledged the evidence is circumstantial, he said the study makes for an important new data point in the mystery of COVID-19's origins.

“Something was happening in October,” said Brownstein, the chief innovation officer at Boston Children’s Hospital and director of the medical center’s Computational Epidemiology Lab. “Clearly, there was some level of social disruption taking place well before what was previously identified as the start of the novel coronavirus pandemic.”

Since the outbreak in China last year, the coronavirus has swept across the globe infecting nearly 7 million and killing more than 400,000 worldwide, according to a count by Johns Hopkins University. It is believed that the virus jumped from animal species, where it had little effect, to humans, where it has become the most potent natural killer since the Spanish flu pandemic a century ago.

Though Chinese officials would not formally notify the World Health Organization until Dec. 31 that a new respiratory pathogen was coursing through Wuhan, U.S. intelligence caught wind of a problem as early as late November and notified the Pentagon, according to four sources briefed on the confidential information.

Because the origin of a novel virus is so hard to pin down but so critically important for scientists to understand, experts around the world are racing to uncover the secrets of the pathogen formally known as SARS-CoV2. The task for researchers is made far more complicated by the Chinese government’s refusal to fully cooperate with Western and international health authorities, American and WHO officials have said.

Brownstein and his team, which included researchers from Boston University and Boston Children’s Hospital, have spent more than a month trying to pin down the signs for when the population of Hubei province in China first started to be stricken.

Provided to ABC NewsWuhan Tongji Medical UniversityWuhan Tongji Medical University
Provided to ABC News
The logic of Brownstein’s research project was straightforward: respiratory diseases lead to very specific types of behavior in communities where they’re spreading. So, pictures that show those patterns of behavior could help explain what was happening even if the people who were sickened did not realize the broader problem at the time.

“What we're trying to do is look at the activity, how busy a hospital is,” Brownstein said. “And the way we do that is by counting the cars that are at that hospital. Parking lots will get full as a hospital gets busy. So more cars in a hospital, the hospital's busier, likely because something's happening in the community, an infection is growing and people have to see a doctor. So you see the increases in the hospital business through the cars… We saw this across multiple institutions.”

The picture painted by the data is not in itself conclusive, Brownstein acknowledged, but he said the numbers are telling.

“This is all about a growing body of information pointing to something taking place in Wuhan at the time,” Brownstein said. “Many studies are still needed to fully uncover what took place and for people to really learn about how these disease outbreaks unfold and emerge in populations. So this is just another point of evidence.”

Postby De Dragon » June 9th, 2020, 11:16 pm

Once again, we're being shown up by our less well off Caribbean neighbours for our lack of humanity. While Goebbels Young is blocking permanent resident, non-nationals married to Trinidad and Tobago citizens, Jamaica is allowing them in.
So, now a woman married to a Jamaican has to fly to Jamaica with her two children, to re-unite with her husband while they wait for his papers to be sorted out, when Goebbels Young could have just allowed the guy in. Thanks Goebbels, you always seem to make the right decision in these extremely complicated scenarios!