T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2014, 7:43 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:kurpal, is it redesigned 2014 Quashqai, also anyone knows when they will be bring in the redesigned 2014 X-trail? Need to start looking for a replacement.

No it's a PCX so 2012/2013 but are we getting the redesigned ones for 2014? Or the facelift models?

cinco wrote:Wow door rubbing fender means saggy hinge or twisted body. That is poor in a new uncrashed vehicle

I was happy with the van till that happened, ironic it's the door where I scraped the trim on a block so I hoping my sales guy don't say that cause it and void warranty :|

neexis

Postby neexis » June 3rd, 2014, 9:25 am

Morpheus wrote:
neexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Specs for Kia Optima priced at $322K:

Bluetooth
18" Alloy Wheels
2.0l MPI Engine
6 Speed Tiptronic Transmission
6 Airbags
Remote Key-less Entry System
Flare Kit
Paddle Shifter
Solar Glass
Panoramic Sunroof
Smart Key/ Push Start
Sports Grille
Reverse Sensor/ Camera
Sport Suspension
Aux & iPod USB Input
Daytime Running Lights (DRL)
Rear Spoiler

$322K... for a Kia?? Really???

Once saw a white Optima driving next to a new 5 series and for some reason the Optima looked better(I really tried to stop my brain from thinking that eh).....

This is not Kia/Hyundai from the 1995-2005 bro.

Ok so what is a fair price for a fully loaded Optima. Serious question?

Yea I get that the brand is better than it was before. I'm still not convinced though. Build quality still seems cheap, and so much of the design and features are just straight copied from The Big Three.

Considering a fully loaded Jetta @ about 275K, Passat @ 365K, Audi A3 @ 290K, CLA200 @ 370K, I don't think I would pay more than 300 for an Optima.
I know most of those vehicles are not in the same class as the Kia, but I'd rather spend a little more (or little less) and get an actual Euro that may not be as spec'd out or as large as the Optima

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 10:09 am

What about the build quality seems cheap?

Postby gastly369 » June 3rd, 2014, 10:19 am

Build quality seems pretty good imo..

neexis

Postby neexis » June 3rd, 2014, 10:38 am

metalgear2095 wrote:What about the build quality seems cheap?

Interior plastics, door thud, etc. General design and features seem to copy the big Euro manufacturers and makes it seem like a cheap knockoff version(to me anyway).
It just doesn't convey the feeling of a solidity like the Euros IMO.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 3rd, 2014, 10:57 am

yea but the cost to maintain them euros is more than the optima eh. look at total cost of ownership for 3 yrs and see which one makes sense.

most companies have charts and costs wrt service intervals ect. cater replacement tires as well.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 3rd, 2014, 11:18 am

Don't let the camera, flex steer, glass roof, 18" rims and rear spoiler fool you, like its little brother ie. the cerato. These cars require the extra knicks and knacks to close the sale. But where mid-size sedans are concerned, the optima is at the back of the pack when taking everything into consideration. Take some time and test drive those Korean mid-size cars and you'll quickly realize when it comes to luxury and quality the accord and camry are still ahead. When it comes to sporty handling, the mazda 6 is way ahead and when it comes to that overall euro feel its no where even close to a Passat.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2014, 12:40 pm

acesinghit wrote:Don't let the camera, flex steer, glass roof, 18" rims and rear spoiler fool you, like its little brother ie. the cerato. These cars require the extra knicks and knacks to close the sale. But where mid-size sedans are concerned, the optima is at the back of the pack when taking everything into consideration. Take some time and test drive those Korean mid-size cars and you'll quickly realize when it comes to luxury and quality the accord and camry are still ahead. When it comes to sporty handling, the mazda 6 is way ahead and when it comes to that overall euro feel its no where even close to a Passat.

This..... Holy sheit I agree with acesinghit

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2014, 12:48 pm

neexis wrote:
Morpheus wrote:
neexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Specs for Kia Optima priced at $322K:

Bluetooth
18" Alloy Wheels
2.0l MPI Engine
6 Speed Tiptronic Transmission
6 Airbags
Remote Key-less Entry System
Flare Kit
Paddle Shifter
Solar Glass
Panoramic Sunroof
Smart Key/ Push Start
Sports Grille
Reverse Sensor/ Camera
Sport Suspension
Aux & iPod USB Input
Daytime Running Lights (DRL)
Rear Spoiler

$322K... for a Kia?? Really???

Once saw a white Optima driving next to a new 5 series and for some reason the Optima looked better(I really tried to stop my brain from thinking that eh).....

This is not Kia/Hyundai from the 1995-2005 bro.

Ok so what is a fair price for a fully loaded Optima. Serious question?

Yea I get that the brand is better than it was before. I'm still not convinced though. Build quality still seems cheap, and so much of the design and features are just straight copied from The Big Three.

Considering a fully loaded Jetta @ about 275K, Passat @ 365K, Audi A3 @ 290K, CLA200 @ 370K, I don't think I would pay more than 300 for an Optima.
I know most of those vehicles are not in the same class as the Kia, but I'd rather spend a little more (or little less) and get an actual Euro that may not be as spec'd out or as large as the Optima

275 fuh a jetta????
Why would you pay that much for a car that has a history of the original beetle and the thing????

neexis

Postby neexis » June 3rd, 2014, 2:13 pm

MadCrix wrote:yea but the cost to maintain them euros is more than the optima eh. look at total cost of ownership for 3 yrs and see which one makes sense.

most companies have charts and costs wrt service intervals ect. cater replacement tires as well.

Yea.. higher cost of maintenance for a higher quality vehicle.

If we were ONLY talking about the total cost of ownership, of course the cheapest option makes sense. But I'm also talking about the overall quality of the product.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 3rd, 2014, 2:16 pm

acesinghit wrote:Don't let the camera, flex steer, glass roof, 18" rims and rear spoiler fool you, like its little brother ie. the cerato. These cars require the extra knicks and knacks to close the sale. But where mid-size sedans are concerned, the optima is at the back of the pack when taking everything into consideration. Take some time and test drive those Korean mid-size cars and you'll quickly realize when it comes to luxury and quality the accord and camry are still ahead. When it comes to sporty handling, the mazda 6 is way ahead and when it comes to that overall euro feel its no where even close to a Passat.

This

Postby j.o.e » June 3rd, 2014, 3:06 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

This..... Holy sheit I agree with acesinghit

I felt the same way

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 3:59 pm

For what my opinion is worth i agree. The korean's offer a lot for your money but its the superficial stuff. They still have not mastered the soul and the feel of a car. Driving dynamics, handling, steering feel and the way they tune their engines and transmission is all found lacking.

The dealers would like to charge more money for the korean offerings. I did a survey for N&M a few month back and it was asking how i felt about the korean brands. Desirability and if i would be still willing to buy if the price went up and was on par with the big Jap manufactures. Case in point the optima is already on par price wise with the Japs. The cerato is already more expensive than a corolla. For people who want a car that's excellent on paper then these are your cars!
People who want a little more look elsewhere.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 4:20 pm

The corolla is more expensive than the cerato though

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 4:26 pm

Really? thought the corolla started at 185 ...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 4:29 pm

There's a cheaper cerato as well which is 185 also. The higher level trim is cheaper than the higher level corolla by a negligible couple thousand or so.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 4:31 pm

Soooo same price then .....

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 4:38 pm

No. I'd still say a couple thousand is less. I can't really see the value of this big difference in quality y'all like to talk about when it comes to the cerato and corolla.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 4:46 pm

That's because you bought a cerato :P

Nah but agree quality is probably no different like I said, what i notice is that driving dynamics is different.

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2014, 4:52 pm

Wait you saying a corolla drives better than a cerato? Mind asplodes.
Btw i really enjoy everyone who hates on koreans and mazdas keeps the used prices reasonable for me

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 4:56 pm

Haven't driven the new corolla but the cerato sure drives better than the old one imo. Depends on your driving style as well. I drive slow generally so probably don't feel these driving dynamics. The lack of reverse sensors, camera, the interior design of the corolla make it a lesser car to me. Those lil 15 inch rims too. Those extras cost money. As for reliability of the cerato we will have to wait and see. I don't plan on keeping mine more than 5 years anyways.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 5:16 pm

NOOOOOOOO lol i don't mean the corolla i mean compared to other japs and euro's ..:(

Quality i think is pretty good.

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2014, 5:21 pm

drchaos wrote:NOOOOOOOO lol i don't mean the corolla i mean compared to other japs and euro's ..:(

Quality i think is pretty good.

Ever driven a tiida or a versa. The rio and cerato are far superior. The sylphy drives (somewhat) like a luxury car tho

Im tryin to figure out what jap car u are referring to wrt to the kia being subpar

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 6:23 pm

Honda civic, mazda 3, impreza, lancer.

Please you insult my intelligence ... are the tiida and the versa even cars? They are in the "box with wheels" just under the "super mini" and just above the "shopping cart" categories :P

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 6:26 pm

The lancer handles way better I must agree.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » June 3rd, 2014, 6:38 pm

I think this is trend we are going to see continue at least here in trinidad. I'm just going on anecdotal evidence but I think the elantra and cerato already outsell the lancer, civic and mazda 3. The unfortunate truth is that the things we consider to make a car superior just isn't relevant to the vast majority of the buying public ( handling, build quality, soul of a car etc).
To them all these cars drive the same and the koreans are better looking with more cool features.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2014, 6:57 pm

Adjudicator wrote:I think this is trend we are going to see continue at least here in trinidad. I'm just going on anecdotal evidence but I think the elantra and cerato already outsell the lancer, civic and mazda 3. The unfortunate truth is that the things we consider to make a car superior just isn't relevant to the vast majority of the buying public ( handling, build quality, soul of a car etc).
To them all these cars drive the same and the koreans are better looking with more cool features.

This is true. People buy cars for reliability and resale. I bought the cerato simply because I liked the look and features. I didn't even test drive because I was too busy with work at the time and I needed a car asap. I don't think handling and soul is that important in this segment and price point. That becomes more of a demand as you hit 300k. The more you spend the more you demand.

Also these euros have a reputation for being great cars to drive. I hearing bmw is the ultimate driving machine since primary school. I would never expect a Japanese car to drive like that level and if it did I wouldn't believe it till I drove one myself. We are conditioned to expect better from these brands.

Postby gastly369 » June 3rd, 2014, 7:03 pm

Men real hatin on de optima Jed :(

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 3rd, 2014, 7:06 pm

Optima looks great. Turns my head each time I see one. Still wouldn't buy a KIA.

IJS.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » June 3rd, 2014, 8:00 pm

Korean cars are overpriced...imo