redmanjp wrote:Gladiator wrote:alfa wrote:I an not sure if what the coast guard did was in keeping with protocols and possibly jeopardizing the entire nation. Couldn't they have just tossed them some life jackets and called the Venezuelan authorities to come for their people?[/b] Imagine if we enter another lock down and hardworking nationals go back on the breadline because of selfish aliens who couldn't stay in their own infected country
That's a breach of international maritime laws.
even in a locally & WHO declared health emergency?
did the officers, being close to a port of entry not have PPE (N95s, not cloth masks) ?
This place full ah dummies, lolpugboy wrote:I still ain’t hear deal Singh say anything bout masks with exhale valves
Those less likely to smell up with bad breath
sMASH wrote:This place full ah dummies, lolpugboy wrote:I still ain’t hear deal Singh say anything bout masks with exhale valves
redmanjp wrote:sMASH wrote:This place full ah dummies, lolpugboy wrote:I still ain’t hear deal Singh say anything bout masks with exhale valves
it also not going to protect others- an infected person wearing that will still be expelling virus droplets
Have on a cloth mask too long and u will force it through to the other side easily.redmanjp wrote:sMASH wrote:This place full ah dummies, lolpugboy wrote:I still ain’t hear deal Singh say anything bout masks with exhale valves
it also not going to protect others- an infected person wearing that will still be expelling virus droplets
Key Points From The Ministry Of Health’s Virtual Media Conference On COVID-19 – Wednesday May 20th 2020:
- Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh reminded that we are still in a global pandemic and COVID-19 will be around for some time. Globally, there are over 5 million cases of the virus, with 325,556 deaths recorded.
- Minister Deyalsingh noted that Trinidad and Tobago took a careful decision to reopen some sectors of the economy in phases. Phase 2, involving the reopening of the construction and the manufacturing sectors, will begin tomorrow, Thursday May 21st 2020. With more people moving around in society with the start of Phase 2 tomorrow, Minister Deyalsingh said it is "absolutely critical" that citizens adhere to the New Normal to wear face masks in public, maintain physical distance, practice hand hygiene/cough etiquette, and stay home if they are ill.
- Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh noted that some people are not wearing their masks over their faces but are letting it hang around their chins or removing it to speak. He advised citizens to follow protocols in wearing their masks.
- The following is the update on COVID-19 patients and quarantined persons across the various facilities:
CAURA: 1 patient (Stable).
CASCADIA: 3 quarantined.
NAPA: 20 health care workers who completed their tours in treating COVID-19 patients.
TACARIGUA RACQUET CENTRE: 21 quarantined.
- 1,047 Community Tests have been administered in Trinidad and Tobago and all returned Negative for COVID-19.
- Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram confirmed that the County Medical Officers of Health conducted follow-ups with all 107 COVID-19 patients for seven days after their discharge from the Step Down Facilities. Most had no lingering virus symptoms but one person had a slight cough and underwent a complete check-up before being discharged.
- Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram said if there is a resurgence of COVID-19 in T&T, the Phases in reopening the economy will be rolled back. He said how far the roll-back goes will depend on the number of new cases in the public as well as other factors like Community Spread.
- Thirty two Venezuelan Nationals are being currently being assessed for acute illnesses after they were intercepted at sea. The TT officers who were part of the team that intercepted the Venezuelans will be subject to quarantine for 14 days if they were not wearing PPEs during the operation, or are currently exhibiting viral illnesses.
wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
pugboy wrote:Bring on the venes
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
2,805 samples submitted
168bcc09-8.jpg
redmanjp wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
2,805 samples submitted
168bcc09-8.jpg
so now that all cases are resolved the final death rate (among symptomatic persons) is 7%. did the cruise ship patients cause that? or are we as a population so unhealthy that we are at higher risk from covid than most countries?
and let's say, God forbid, this Govt went for herd immunity as some ppl here advocating: 70% of 1.5m= 1050000 ppl infected
a 7% death rate = 73,000![]()
by the way, with over a million infected over let's say 1 year, that's thousands per day at the peak. 90-95% will NEVER get treatment because even the greatest healthcare system, which we clearly doh have will be extremely overwhelmed.
which means that death rate will spike- let's say to perhaps 20-30%.
so we talking 210000-315000 dead? that's practically almost every household being affected? who getting d contract to build all the cemeteries we going to need?
Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
2,805 samples submitted
168bcc09-8.jpg
so now that all cases are resolved the final death rate (among symptomatic persons) is 7%. did the cruise ship patients cause that? or are we as a population so unhealthy that we are at higher risk from covid than most countries?
and let's say, God forbid, this Govt went for herd immunity as some ppl here advocating: 70% of 1.5m= 1050000 ppl infected
by the way, with over a million infected over let's say 1 year, that's thousands per day at the peak. 90-95% will NEVER get treatment because even the greatest healthcare system, which we clearly doh have will be extremely overwhelmed.
so we talking 210000-315000 dead? that's practically almost every household being affected? who getting d contract to build all the cemeteries we going to need?
Uhm 7% mortality on cases we found. We probably had 5x that but because of lockdowns we reduced their spread.
Look at countries where testing was done extensively, Qatar, Bahrain or Iceland
Qatar - 38,651 cases 17 dead - Mortality - 0.04%
Bahrain - 8,174 cases 12 dead - Mortality - 0.15%
Iceland - 1,803 cases 10 dead - Mortality - 0.56%
So the real death rate is close to 1%......to even get to 70% infection is difficult unless we wait a year or more. But that's 10K dead over that time.
Gladiator wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
2,805 samples submitted
168bcc09-8.jpg
Uhm 7% mortality on cases we found. We probably had 5x that but because of lockdowns we reduced their spread.
So the real death rate is close to 1%......to even get to 70% infection is difficult unless we wait a year or more. But that's 10K dead over that time.
you eh play you does talk some 2 2 nah... 5x cases so we had 600+ COVID cases?
7% TESTED persons. Symptomatic persons were denied testing due to lack of flight history. and after the Ian Alleyne episode, when they didn't restrict to flight history, people just didn't volunteer themselves. The govt, in my opinion, the made the testing exercise very unpalatable intentionally, just to keep official numbers down.Dohplaydat wrote:Gladiator wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wickedtuna wrote:How many unique tests ?
2,805 samples submitted
168bcc09-8.jpg
you eh play you does talk some 2 2 nah... 5x cases so we had 600+ COVID cases?
No one knows bro, 5x could even be conservative
https://medicalxpress.com/news/2020-04- ... dwide.html
Dizzy28 wrote:^^ WRT to our nationals being denied entry I wonder if Stewie alone making the decision or Parasram and Deyalsingh also have input?
Its an issue they keeping kicking further down the road but will have to deal with at some point.
pugboy wrote:Pinnochio is the man, he have all the power in the worldDizzy28 wrote:^^ WRT to our nationals being denied entry I wonder if Stewie alone making the decision or Parasram and Deyalsingh also have input?
Its an issue they keeping kicking further down the road but will have to deal with at some point.
dogg wrote:Are non-retail, non-manufacturing, private offices allowed to open?
Dave wrote:Stranded nationals: Please let us come home
As vessel refuels off Trinidad...
Hundreds of Trinidad and Tobago nationals stuck on cruise ships are begging to return home.
There are currently 395 nationals on board two vessels — the Disney Cruise Line ship with 49 nationals and the Royal Caribbean’s Vision of the Seas with 394 nationals.
All have been stranded by closure of the country’s borders to reduce the spread of Covid-19.
Now they are all are pleading with Minister of National Security Stuart Young to be granted permission to come home.
The Express spoke to several Trinidadians on both ships yesterday.
“So close to home yet so far away. Twelve miles off the north coast of Trinidad to be exact.”
This is how a Trinidadian on board the Disney Fantasy Cruise vessel described the situation as the cruise ship was being allowed to re-fuel off the coast of Trinidad but the T&T nationals are not being allowed to come home.
In a phone interview, Nalini Durgah, an assistant restaurant manager on the ship, said: “We are presently in Grenada. We dropped off our Grenadian citizens this morning and we will be here until 6.45 p.m. We will then proceed to the coast of Trinidad for refuelling. We will be bunkering at sea. We are so close to home. The captain announced that we will be 12 miles off the north coast of Trinidad at 8 a.m. (today). We are pleading with Stuart Young to reconsider and take his citizens back in.”
The nationals were employed with the Disney Dream, Disney Magic and the Disney Fantasy cruise ships but were all transferred to the Disney Fantasy to be repatriated to their home ports as per the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Disney company, the employees said.
Durgah said they were then informed by management of the Disney cruise line that the vessel was granted permission to re-fuel off the coast of Trinidad, but not given permission to dock for them to enter.
Durgah added: “We have been in quarantine for two months and counting, our vessel is Covid-free ... After tomorrow if there is no communication made we will return to Orlando (Florida) then we will have to travel via air when possible.
“We are scared. We don’t want to go via plane. We want to walk off just as all the other Caribbean nationals are doing and then we will go into the quarantine process.”
Adanna Long, a quick service attendant on the ship said:, “The company decided to repatriate all crew members to their home ports. They began their voyage from Port Canaveral in Florida to Mexico, Honduras, Dominican Republic, St Vincent and at present Grenada.
“They have successfully and safely disembarked over 300 crew members overall. While other countries are currently plagued with coronavirus cases, their governments are abiding by their constitutional rights to grant them re-entry into the country which is by far the most humane thing to do at a time like this. I am a mother and we have many mothers and fathers on board who want to see their children again.”
Another national who is in the food and beverage department said: “We are watching our co-workers disembark the vessel and return home. Trinis are now the laughing stock on board.
“Everyone else is being allowed to enter their countries but we are the ones being neglected. Mentally, we’re in a bad place.”
‘Contracts up, big man and woman begging
to come home’
Several nationals told the Express, in addition to being away from their families for so long, they are now jobless as many of their contracts have ended.
Long said: “I am currently out of contract over a month now...About 30 of the crew members have completed their contracts and are awaiting the relief news that we will be allowed to return to Trinidad soon but to no avail.”
Sean Ali, another food and beverage employee said: “I have been working with Disney Cruise Line for the past four years. I am begging. I am on my knees. I am begging please, we want to come home. And it’s not me alone. It’s the rest of the Trinidadians on board this boat. We want to come home so bad.
“Our contract is finishing (today). Our contract is finishing...and I don’t even know what we’re going to do now. The boat is going to be in Trinidad.
“The other countries brought back in their nationals. We watched crew members walk off and get in their country. So we are just begging, please. We have families too. We are all healthy on board this boat. We’ve been self-quarantined. I think we’re better at self-quarantining than some people have been because it’s just been the crew on board.
“No passengers have been on board the vessel. We’ve been practising social distancing and all the safety measures, washing hands and we have been doing our part on board and there have been no reports of any sickness on board our vessel and we just begging, we just want to come home.
“We have no more jobs. We haven’t seen our families in months. If this doesn’t happen, we will probably not see them until next year. Big man and woman crying just to see home.”
Another national, Keion George, said: “I have a newborn that I want to see. When will I reach home? My contract has ended. I haven’t seen my family since November 2019.”
Trinidadians told the Express their temperatures are checked twice daily and they all wear mandatory face masks while practising social distancing.
There were similar pleas from the Vision of the Seas cruise ship, which is currently docked in St Kitts.
Patricia Mitchell, an employee in the housekeeping division said: “There are 345 Trinis on board. The company has been in contact with the Government and we were due home on May 24. We then heard May 30. Now, the latest announcement is that they put off everything until June 1.
“Still there will be no certainty when we will be returning home. We are in St Kitts right now. It is really frustrating. We do not know what is going on.
“All the nationals in this company, most of them have gone home and the rest of them are in the process of going home. It’s only Trinidadians that don’t have a definite answer as to when we are coming home.
“We have six different nationalities on board, including Trinis. Everyone is being allowed to go home because their governments are accepting them and I think the company is doing the best they can do to get us home but the problem is our Government back home isn’t being lenient.
“We were told by our captain that the arrangements to have us return home were made by the company’s Miami office. Now, the latest update they gave us is that they will resume talks and negotiations with our government on June 1.
“We are seeing progress with our co-workers. The Jamaicans had negotiations with their government and they were told to quarantine here for 14 days then their government will taken them in, 200 at a time. They will be tested then allowed to quarantine at home.
“The Vincentians did the same thing. The Dominicans were required to take Covid-19 tests so they are going home tomorrow. What happen to us? It is mentally challenging. Why is our Government treating us like this?”
To date, there have been no reports of positive Covid-19 cases on either of the cruise ships.
Minister Young could not be immediately reached for comment yesterday.
This is very sad and would hate to think an abuse of power given current circumstances is being used.