PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 30th, 2013, 10:35 am

^damn...i think while you were typing that post i was placing my order on ppc.
bought 1 to see how it would look up close.
picked up an alphacool 45' and double 45' as well as a 'fatboy' 1/2" barb. The only problem i have with barb fittings are the hose clamps. The cost of a 'good looking' hose clamp negates any cost saving you would have had over a compression fitting.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 30th, 2013, 11:06 am

Small thing, at least is just one yuh bought you may end up liking it yuh never know. I just find is a ripoff just cause they put some shiny vinyl almost 9us for one, nah man. You'll be happy with those alphacool rads, they cool really well, what fans yuh gonna be using? Highly recommend the AP-15s but have alot of "nicer" looking ones tho.

Barbs work just as good, you could always get the plastic clamps and pass a spray on it

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2013, 11:18 am

lol was doing some steel work whole morning and wow..my hands are killing me..damn!
site up and running fully! as well as the gaming is back on in full blast!
just last night PT caused drama, again.

as for dual 690s...the name of the build is over kill... lol

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 30th, 2013, 12:13 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Small thing, at least is just one yuh bought you may end up liking it yuh never know. I just find is a ripoff just cause they put some shiny vinyl almost 9us for one, nah man. You'll be happy with those alphacool rads, they cool really well, what fans yuh gonna be using? Highly recommend the AP-15s but have alot of "nicer" looking ones tho.

Barbs work just as good, you could always get the plastic clamps and pass a spray on it

i went with xspc rx series rads. I currently have a pair of SP120s on my EX240 and im pretty happy with them so i think ill continue with those. Still not 100% sure bout painting the rads...need to find the 'right' blue to put them in

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2013, 12:33 pm

The RX line is amazing. Will be using them as long as I can

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 30th, 2013, 12:45 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Small thing, at least is just one yuh bought you may end up liking it yuh never know. I just find is a ripoff just cause they put some shiny vinyl almost 9us for one, nah man. You'll be happy with those alphacool rads, they cool really well, what fans yuh gonna be using? Highly recommend the AP-15s but have alot of "nicer" looking ones tho.

i went with xspc rx series rads. I currently have a pair of SP120s on my EX240 and im pretty happy with them so i think ill continue with those. Still not 100% sure bout painting the rads...need to find the 'right' blue to put them in

Aww alphacool 45 deg fittings u meant, thght it was d rads. Yea the xspc works just as good as well as the sp120s. Automotive spray paint will work real good, just make sure to get primer, clear coat and sand paper & yuh orn.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 31st, 2013, 8:32 am

Hey guys.

Ive been out of PC's for a while now so bear with me.

Where's the best place to pick up some 120mm fans.
Also, best price locally on can-of-air? Need to clear out my fossil a.k.a Thermaltake Shark.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2013, 9:03 am

not sure about fans, but any local PC store usually sell them there cans o air!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 31st, 2013, 10:05 am

Guys...any ideas where i can get this locally ?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 31st, 2013, 10:13 am

You already tried the local Duplicolor distributor?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=409649

If he doesn't have it I'm sure he'll be willing to piggyback your request on his next available shipment...really cool guy.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 31st, 2013, 10:32 am

^wow the real source was right here on 2nr all the time yes... /shame :oops: :oops:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 31st, 2013, 10:39 am

^^ Kinda pricy but the colors look nice.

Conrad forget about canned air & invest in this instead. Works much better

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2013, 10:50 am

iM@st@1 wrote:^^ Kinda pricy but the colors look nice.

got two of those in the office.. really good investment

Conrad

Postby Conrad » July 31st, 2013, 10:55 am

Ooooooh, noice.

Where could I get it locally for reasonable price? If not reasonable I'll import like everything else.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2013, 11:01 am

^^ Altec55 on the forum has them for sale..he is the dealer

his number is : Rajin - 733-8435

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=366307&hilit=duster

that is the link!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 31st, 2013, 11:16 am

His price not too bad as well cause I paid a lil bit less than what he charging to bring in mines so you might as well buy it down here I think.

Chiney how much to clear the 900d bro? PM me if u don't want ya biz in the open pls

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2013, 11:19 am

oh

i paid 1250

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 31st, 2013, 11:38 am

Ok cool scene

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 31st, 2013, 6:55 pm

Raptor had some of those electric dusters sometime ago.

Also, CM 690 III

http://www.coolermaster.com/product/Detail/case/mid-tower-cm690-series/cm693.html

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 31st, 2013, 9:56 pm

My cable lacing attempt.
Tried it on a extra 8pin i had.

Not the best thread for the job, but was all i could find home.
This would definitely be a whole lot easier on freshly sleeved cable, rather than cable thats been wound up and taken shape after some time. :|

Think i'll lace my 24pin and use mod/smart kobra clips for the others.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 31st, 2013, 11:12 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:My cable lacing attempt.
Tried it on a extra 8pin i had.

Not the best thread for the job, but was all i could find home.
This would definitely be a whole lot easier on freshly sleeved cable, rather than cable thats been wound up and taken shape after some time. :|

Think i'll lace my 24pin and use mod/smart kobra clips for the others.

So you did that to achieve a sort of flatness to the cables?

Like how these are nah:

Or is for something else?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 31st, 2013, 11:54 pm

^not so much flatness, but to have the cables individually sleeved while still maintaining a neat shape and not having the individual wires crossing and bundling over each other.

Look where the 24pin connects to the motherboard has been laced a couple inches...and the rest of the wire kinda frays all over...sure you cud zip tie it, but it just wouldnt look as good i guess...esp when you have multicolored sleeving

Postby M_2NR » August 1st, 2013, 4:49 am

Conrad wrote:

Ooooooh, noice.

Where could I get it locally for reasonable price? If not reasonable I'll import like everything else.
I got mine from raptor.

I still have a can of air for smaller things. This thing rellllll powerful. I use it to almost instant dry my zalman when I wash it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 1st, 2013, 8:30 am

I wud invest in the electric duster raptor has so u wont have to keep buying cans

also, where can I get a water pump? I not going to use it in the room I am in, so noise is not an issue
The rad gonna be outside the room so I kinda need something a lil powerful

I was thinking to use a windshield wiper pump but I hear that it doesn't give a high enough pressure.
Or what about a car fuel pump?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 1st, 2013, 8:46 am

^i guess you cud check a garden or a petshop for a good pond pump? a good eheim should do the job.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 1st, 2013, 9:57 am

awww ye

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » August 1st, 2013, 10:21 am

Hey people, looking for a NZXT (Black or Red) Full Tower Case, a Thermaltake Level 10 GT Black or a Coolermaster HAF XM Case. Anyone has any? Must be able to fit an E-ATX Motherboard. Can be new or used once the price is right. PM Me please.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2013, 6:59 pm

^All of the above support E-ATX form factor Motherboards. Not sure if the XM would do it as it's a mid tower case...it's pretty large for a Mid-Tower though. Don't know where you'd get them locally but Amazon sells them.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 2nd, 2013, 10:27 am

^^ what he said!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 2nd, 2013, 12:41 pm

Only hardware talk passing.

What FPS you all play the most? Contemplating if BF3 makes sense to get still (btw Origin site in Espanol is annoying) or if to get CoD.