***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Numb3r4

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby Numb3r4 » November 4th, 2015, 4:26 pm

Does anyone know why so many people go into Port of Spain? Lika a chart showing the percentages of people doing what in PoS.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 5th, 2015, 9:09 am

All of the government head offices are in POS plus lots of businesses that want to be close to the centre of commerce.

What I want to know is where all those people going down the highway at 3am on a Sunday morning. In all directions.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 5th, 2015, 9:26 am

Trying to beat the traffic!

Postby Slartibartfast » November 5th, 2015, 10:34 am

People leave 5am on a weekday to beat traffic. What you talking about is borderline traffic abuse.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2015, 11:31 am

Only two Water Taxis working right now out of the four. One of them this morning had no a/c and the speed is curtailed for some reason. So against regulations it had to ride with the doors open. Still felt like a sauna. It was full to capacity to the point where ppl had to be turned away. I was sitting there thinking I wonder if the minister of energy who uses this know about this. Only to see when we arrived she popped out from the bridge and leave before all the plebs. I wonder if she rode there because they have a separate a/c system of because she wanted to give her seat to another soul.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 5th, 2015, 11:37 am

Habit7 wrote:
DurzoBlint1 wrote:Wait nah tuners, ent d country in for hard times? So howz about the government take dat same money and give it to citizens to help weather the hard times rather than waste a set of money and sink the country deeper into hard times. Wat allyuh say to that?
I continue to realise that most ppl who question this project are largely uninformed about the project.

The project will be a BOLT (build operate lease transfer) project. Meaning a contractor will build it, complete it and then the govt will start paying incrementally over several years. Jamaica with hardly 2¢ to run together, over the last 10 years built almost the amount of highways we did in 50 years. Thanks to BOLT they can afford it and trust me, it is the most beautiful road I have ever driven on.

A mass transit system will redound to the benefit if the said citizens with a more productive country, healthier emissions and more time home with their families and not in traffic.

Giving money carte blanche to citizens is what got us into this problem in the first place.

so we bolting down smooth roads or railway track?

i find it a bit uncanny, that someone would come to defend the rail project by using the example of smooth roads. i question, have they driven on trinidad's roads recently? and why is jamaica's roads more important than trini roads to the point that we have to sideline it and leave our roads in a deploraboe state, but get a railway? and justify it by comparing another's smooth roads project?

really?

what this boils down to,.. is this

after a great deal of research to determine factors supporting the railway idea, it was discovered that in almost no country does a rapid transit system run at a profit and thus, this angle cannot be used to sell the populous on the idea. now that we are unable to state how we would tackle making it a non-loss venture as history has shown us happens with almost all government public service projects, and can and will be plagued by the same maintenance issues as the bus service, they come now, to grasp and straws and tell us if we use our imagination we can drink juice.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2015, 11:51 am

bluesclues wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
DurzoBlint1 wrote:Wait nah tuners, ent d country in for hard times? So howz about the government take dat same money and give it to citizens to help weather the hard times rather than waste a set of money and sink the country deeper into hard times. Wat allyuh say to that?
I continue to realise that most ppl who question this project are largely uninformed about the project.

The project will be a BOLT (build operate lease transfer) project. Meaning a contractor will build it, complete it and then the govt will start paying incrementally over several years. Jamaica with hardly 2¢ to run together, over the last 10 years built almost the amount of highways we did in 50 years. Thanks to BOLT they can afford it and trust me, it is the most beautiful road I have ever driven on.

A mass transit system will redound to the benefit if the said citizens with a more productive country, healthier emissions and more time home with their families and not in traffic.

Giving money carte blanche to citizens is what got us into this problem in the first place.

so we bolting down smooth roads or railway track?

i find it a bit uncanny, that someone would come to defend the rail project by using the example of smooth roads. i question, have they driven on trinidad's roads recently? and why is jamaica's roads more important than trini roads to the point that we have to sideline it and leave our roads in a deploraboe state, but get a railway? and justify it by comparing another's smooth roads project?

really?

what this boils down to,.. is this

after a great deal of research to determine factors supporting the railway idea, it was discovered that in almost no country does a rapid transit system run at a profit and thus, this angle cannot be used to sell the populous on the idea. now that we are unable to state how we would tackle making it a non-loss venture as history has shown us happens with almost all government public service projects, and can and will be plagued by the same maintenance issues as the bus service, they come now, to grasp and straws and tell us if we use our imagination we can drink juice.

bluesclues i dont normally respond to you but Jamaican highways where the roads are smooth are toll roads.
And several times I drew reference to Santo Domingo's RR which operates at a profit viewtopic.php?f=4&t=644953&start=660#p8934130 nevertheless operating at a profit is not the only criteria for a RR.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 5th, 2015, 3:35 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Does anyone know why so many people go into Port of Spain? Lika a chart showing the percentages of people doing what in PoS.

Iz called work. You think the people that work in POS actually live in POS ? A single office building could have a 100 working in it.

Postby desifemlove » November 6th, 2015, 9:39 am

200,000. wouldn't surprise me based on maxi, taxi and private vehicle traffic.

Postby desifemlove » November 6th, 2015, 9:54 am

src1983 wrote:"I have car, I a dan" mentality, men lack progression thinking yes.

People thought the water taxi would fail, but you can't get tickets if you're too late. The train will not stop people from using their cars, people will still use them for groceries and liming etc. But to go to/from work many may just opt to use the train just to get in/out the city faster.

so country can't develop cos men does want free space to drive... too many backward/uneducated people does live here.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 6th, 2015, 5:05 pm

They should adapt my idea of training dogs to drive, we jess hadda sit back and relax.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 6th, 2015, 5:30 pm

amd-dude wrote:They should adapt my idea of training dogs to drive, we jess hadda sit back and relax.

No wonder amd in trouble :lol:

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 6th, 2015, 6:39 pm

What I meant was to determine why so many people have to be in PoS find out the services that can be moved and do move it especially when it comes to Government Services.

Why is it that government services still entertain customer complaints in PoS? Why is it that some one conducting business can't deal with people outside of PoS, I have no problem with the final processing of the claim at PoS but still you could just have the documents forwarded back and forth in a timely manner. It would mean that people won't have to go into PoS to do business.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 6th, 2015, 7:44 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:What I meant was to determine why so many people have to be in PoS find out the services that can be moved and do move it especially when it comes to Government Services.

What we meant was that most people are in POS not for services but for jobs. I wouldnt be surprised if POS employed more than 200,000 people. Out of a pop of 1.3 million. Govt and Private sector

Postby Habit7 » November 6th, 2015, 8:48 pm

For those who think that POS is the reason for traffic.
Central traffic is crazy

Published on Nov 6, 2015, 9:37 am AST
Updated on Nov 6, 2015, 10:12 am AST
By \\\\\ Sue-Ann Wayow

THE Chaguanas Chamber of Industry and Commerce (CCIC) is calling for a permanent solution to the traffic problem in Chaguanas.

Chamber president Richie Sookhai is hoping there would be some sort of solution before Divali and for the busy Christmas period.

He said the chamber was prepared to work with the relevant authorities.

Sookhai said:“As the Chaguanas Chamber, our focus is on ensuring the business community has every opportunity and representation to achieve their vision for growth and expansion, but our very deep concern is the impact of traffic congestion on businesses and the families of the borough.”

He said: “Traffic, particularly in the afternoon, is cutting hours of time out of family life and even the social lives of people in Chaguanas. Young professionals, business people and children are trapped in crawling traffic on a daily basis and having identified that the problem is getting worse, the Chaguanas Chamber is presenting itself as a partner in finding a lasting solution.”

Sookhai said traffic congestion was particularly harsh around the Price Plaza area where traffic was now coming in from at least three directions, and being channelled by two roundabouts.

“We have traffic on afternoons entering from the highway close to the Divali Nagar; from the Endeavour off-ramp close to AMCO, and from the flyover coming from Caroni Savannah Road. All of this comes together to create standstill congestion and what should be a 15 minute drive with families on their way home can become as long as an hour and a half,” he said.

Sookhai said he will be making contact with all stakeholders in order to have “an effective and action oriented consultation process” .

He said: “If something isn’t done immediately, concerning this horrendous situation, businesses and burgesses will suffer greatly.”

Acting director of highways Colin Nakhid told the Express: “ We are trying to solve that problem. The chief traffic engineer is in discussion with the Chaguanas Corporation.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151106 ... c-is-crazy

Those Endeavour Flyover roundabouts are a colossal example of how we just can't expect traffic management and more roads to solve the traffic problem. Last Saturday it took me about an hour to get from Evolution Fitness to the northbound lane.

Traffic is bad in Marabella, O'Meara Rd. Arima, and other places outside POS. Killing POS and putting up a multistory building in some suburban area will just bring comess to quieter communities, like how Trincity residents are opposed to multistory building. Public transportation needs to be quick, efficient and reliable.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 6th, 2015, 8:55 pm

I actually think those roundabouts make the traffic worse!

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2015, 9:01 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:What I meant was to determine why so many people have to be in PoS find out the services that can be moved and do move it especially when it comes to Government Services.

What we meant was that most people are in POS not for services but for jobs. I wouldnt be surprised if POS employed more than 200,000 people. Out of a pop of 1.3 million. Govt and Private sector

And what we insinuate, is that not all the jobs in PoS don't have to be in PoS . Some can be decentralized elsewhere.

Take for example, the oil companies. They are in PoS because this is a small island and that is the capital, many of the government agencies would be there. The hotels are there to facilitate that. Its also reasonably close to the airport.

Buttttt , if the airport, government agencies, hotel accomodstions are the main attractions to PoS, why not make an expatriates zone eastwards of the airport.

Have five star accomodation, government agency suboffices ( IT of today could allow it), still reasonable access to the airport and development of the roadways to mayaro from that side would make it easier for them to go to their investments.

U have done one iteration of decentralization, and have reduced the loading into PoS , while developing another site, and making communicating more efficient both monitarily and ecologically.

Not everything in PoS needs to stay in PoS.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 6th, 2015, 9:44 pm

sMASH wrote:And what we insinuate, is that not all the jobs in PoS don't have to be in PoS . Some can be decentralized elsewhere.

Take for example, the oil companies. They are in PoS because this is a small island and that is the capital, many of the government agencies would be there. The hotels are there to facilitate that. Its also reasonably close to the airport.

Buttttt , if the airport, government agencies, hotel accomodstions are the main attractions to PoS, why not make an expatriates zone eastwards of the airport.

Have five star accomodation, government agency suboffices ( IT of today could allow it), still reasonable access to the airport and development of the roadways to mayaro from that side would make it easier for them to go to their investments.

U have done one iteration of decentralization, and have reduced the loading into PoS , while developing another site, and making communicating more efficient both monitarily and ecologically.

Not everything in PoS needs to stay in PoS.

Correct, They dont NEED to be. But they WANT to be.

In the end its this. Ministers have to have thier main office somewhere. Wherever that is , the bureaucracy will follow and take root. And then the Private sector will follow and try to have thier HQ as close as possible to the the centre of Political power. And then the rest of the chain of commerce follows.

The heads of BG and BP and BHP and whoever else will not want to be far from where they can grab a Minister's personal attention.

Postby desifemlove » November 7th, 2015, 8:43 am

Habit7 wrote:For those who think that POS is the reason for traffic.
Central traffic is crazy

By \\\\\ Sue-Ann Wayow

THE Chaguanas Chamber of Industry and Commerce (CCIC) is calling for a permanent solution to the traffic problem in Chaguanas.

Chamber president Richie Sookhai is hoping there would be some sort of solution before Divali and for the busy Christmas period.

Sookhai said:“As the Chaguanas Chamber, our focus is on ensuring the business community has every opportunity and representation to achieve their vision for growth and expansion, but our very deep concern is the impact of traffic congestion on businesses and the families of the borough.”

He said: “Traffic, particularly in the afternoon, is cutting hours of time out of family life and even the social lives of people in Chaguanas. Young professionals, business people and children are trapped in crawling traffic on a daily basis and having identified that the problem is getting worse, the Chaguanas Chamber is presenting itself as a partner in finding a lasting solution.”

Sookhai said traffic congestion was particularly harsh around the Price Plaza area where traffic was now coming in from at least three directions, and being channelled by two roundabouts.

“We have traffic on afternoons entering from the highway close to the Divali Nagar; from the Endeavour off-ramp close to AMCO, and from the flyover coming from Caroni Savannah Road. All of this comes together to create standstill congestion and what should be a 15 minute drive with families on their way home can become as long as an hour and a half,” he said.

Sookhai said he will be making contact with all stakeholders in order to have “an effective and action oriented consultation process” .

He said: “If something isn’t done immediately, concerning this horrendous situation, businesses and burgesses will suffer greatly.”

Acting director of highways Colin Nakhid told the Express: “ We are trying to solve that problem. The chief traffic engineer is in discussion with the Chaguanas Corporation.”

Those Endeavour Flyover roundabouts are a colossal example of how we just can't expect traffic management and more roads to solve the traffic problem. Last Saturday it took me about an hour to get from Evolution Fitness to the northbound lane.

Traffic is bad in Marabella, O'Meara Rd. Arima, and other places outside POS. Killing POS and putting up a multistory building in some suburban area will just bring comess to quieter communities, like how Trincity residents are opposed to multistory building. Public transportation needs to be quick, efficient and reliable.

public bus routes, tram. and change in car use. too many people in chag (everywhere) using short drops. But then how will it kill POS? is the fact that POS has govt. department bodies it's only industry? what about movietowne, Frederick/Henry streets, the avenue, woodbrook one?

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2015, 11:15 am

desifemlove wrote:
Habit7 wrote:For those who think that POS is the reason for traffic.
Central traffic is crazy

By \\\\\ Sue-Ann Wayow

public bus routes, tram. and change in car use. too many people in chag (everywhere) using short drops. But then how will it kill POS? is the fact that POS has govt. department bodies it's only industry? what about movietowne, Frederick/Henry streets, the avenue, woodbrook one?

Habit7 and a few others belong to an ill informed and elitist group who believe that everything should be centered in POS. I guess they alone earned the privilege of driving 5 minutes to access Gov't and other services.

Postby Habit7 » November 12th, 2015, 5:58 pm

San Fernando in mess right now because of one accident in Tarouba. Can't see how a third lane would help this.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 12th, 2015, 8:16 pm

^^^ The rapid rail will travel above this.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 12th, 2015, 8:20 pm

Also the reason the majority of big businesses tend to settle in PoS is probably due to the fact that the city has been the recipient to a lot of funding to develop it while other areas have lagged behind. As a result the businesses want to go their as it is to their advantage.

Had the government spend the time and effort to develop other areas of Trinidad then you might have found that these businesses may have not located themselves in PoS.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 12th, 2015, 9:12 pm

Most businesses are in PoS because it's the capital, mystery solved.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 12th, 2015, 9:33 pm

ninjabilly wrote:Most businesses are in PoS because it's the capital, mystery solved.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Postby Habit7 » November 12th, 2015, 9:47 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ The rapid rail will travel above this.
I don't know if you aware but the rapid rail runs on rails. Traffic accidents on roads would not hamper rail going vehicles.

Numb3r4 wrote:Also the reason the majority of big businesses tend to settle in PoS is probably due to the fact that the city has been the recipient to a lot of funding to develop it while other areas have lagged behind. As a result the businesses want to go their as it is to their advantage.

Had the government spend the time and effort to develop other areas of Trinidad then you might have found that these businesses may have not located themselves in PoS.
POS has been the capital for like 200 years now. It wasnt a recent PNM policy. Furthermore POS is not a primate city. The airport is in Piarco, university in St Augustine, biggest mall in Trincity and the largest population is in Chaguanas. However Kingston is a primate city because the airport, university, mall, 25% of the population and all major government and private services are located there.

It is clear today that the problem is not only in POS, on accident on the outskirts of Sando and nearly all the streets were gridlocked. The problem is our dependence on cars and not public transport.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 16th, 2015, 9:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ The rapid rail will travel above this.
I don't know if you aware but the rapid rail runs on rails. Traffic accidents on roads would not hamper rail going vehicles.

Yeah it could at a road-rail crossing....or if the rail parallels a road at ground level...you know how we love to cross medians an accident could end up on the rails....Not to mention if the rail parallels the road, debris from the accident could end up on the rail causing an emergency shut down.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 16th, 2015, 9:16 pm

Beside I thought the rapid rail was supposed to be an over head system to minimize the footprint?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 16th, 2015, 9:18 pm

^^^ Some one mentioned it above the percentage of people and services that are located in Kingston what is that figure for PoS?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 16th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Some one mentioned it above the percentage of people and services that are located in Kingston what is that figure for PoS?

3% of the population or thereabouts lives in PoS.