Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby sharkman121 » June 20th, 2012, 6:44 am

True, yr right about that though there is a lottt of broscience and misinformation online. I take every thing with a grain of salt and try to sift through whats correct and up to date and what not.

12g of sugar is the equivalent of eating a banana with breakfast.

jsr

Postby jsr » June 20th, 2012, 7:48 pm

drinking alkaline water daily can help rid your body being in an acid state and ward off health issues

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 9:13 pm

^ there are 2 sides to that eh

when the alkaline water hits ur stomach....what does it meet?....hydrochloric acid.....
so i really doubt the benefits of that water will really do anything to ur body because the acid will be more than the alkaline...but thats just my thoughts...

what may work is an alkaline IV straight into ur blood....but i dunno...

tell us how u feel

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » June 20th, 2012, 10:38 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ there are 2 sides to that eh

when the alkaline water hits ur stomach....what does it meet?....hydrochloric acid.....
so i really doubt the benefits of that water will really do anything to ur body because the acid will be more than the alkaline...but thats just my thoughts...

tell us how u feel

Some of the acid will be neutralized though....I think the alkaline water is just used if your system is TOO acidic to help regain the proper pH levels

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2012, 11:42 pm

was having some shitty sinus act ups recently and decided to try this
http://www.amazon.com/Natrol-Immune-Boo ... ne+booster

the epicor addition is quite interesting...

gonna do a CBC with DIFF test maybe weekend and then start taking them to see if it really does ne thing with the immune system

probably a good addition for those who lookin for an immunity booster

Postby AllTrac » June 21st, 2012, 9:25 am

anyone know where i can get macadamia nuts cheap? dem hand full $20 bags not cutting it. My wallet is not happy.

jsr

Postby jsr » June 21st, 2012, 12:25 pm

Romany wrote:
X_Factor wrote:^ there are 2 sides to that eh

tell us how u feel

Some of the acid will be neutralized though....I think the alkaline water is just used if your system is TOO acidic to help regain the proper pH levels

good for acid reflux

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2012, 3:33 pm

AllTrac wrote:did a blood sugar test by my family doctor and the test came back yesterday, he said I read 87mg/ dL, which according to him is perfect. Thats a huge accomplishment for me coming from a family with a history of diabetes and high blood pressure. My diet has been continuously improving my life in so many different ways.
Diabetes, COME AT ME BRO

That was fasting blood sugar level?

Postby AllTrac » June 22nd, 2012, 12:14 am

nah, it was an afternoon appointment, probably a lil bit after lunch.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 22nd, 2012, 3:54 am

^^^you get through with the thing yet?

Postby sharkman121 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:30 am

I really need to be more disciplined in preparing my breakfast from the night before or else oftentimes i end up buying doubles for bfast. :?

2 doubles = 692 cals, 102 carbs, 24 fats, 19 protein.

Trac, you checkout myfitnesspal as yet?

Postby AllTrac » June 22nd, 2012, 2:58 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I really need to be more disciplined in preparing my breakfast from the night before or else oftentimes i end up buying doubles for bfast. :?

nah boy i stop counting/tracking calories as ive reached my target weight plus i have been doing it religiously early in my regime (5 months straight) that i can guess my cal intake and not be off my much , so i kindda guess my cal intake now. Ive started a different plan now as ive reached my target which does require me to be that hardcore with the cal counting.
Good luck

Postby De Dragon » June 22nd, 2012, 3:06 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I really need to be more disciplined in preparing my breakfast from the night before or else oftentimes i end up buying doubles for bfast. :?

I really don't have the time for calorie counting. My basic rule is if you know it's chock full of sheit, avoid it or limit the amount that you intake. I'm really disciplined when it comes to avoiding crappy food choices. My weakness is the STAGOSAURESES!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

Postby AllTrac » June 22nd, 2012, 3:11 pm

my kryptonite is cheese cake and scotch :(

in the last 6 months iv had just a small helping of cheese cake, but ive managed to get my drink on often lol I just bump my metabolism up the next day using resistance training so i can have a couple hours after burn to balance things out.

Postby Redman » June 22nd, 2012, 6:18 pm

Diet is the hardest part for me.
So I've come to a good IMHO compromise , I will have a bowl or two of salad and cut my portion in half of the usual amount of food I will have.
Or what I find works when I have a shake is to have the shake and a couple mouth full s of food so I'm full and feel like I've eaten.
Lunch after the gym is usually a shake and a couple cheese
crackers after

I'm definitely eating less and as time goes by I will take the quality of what I'm eating up as well.

Later

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2012, 8:56 am

eating less is a key start. It's hard to get accustomed to, but makes the diet easier.

down to 182, but I ate some crap this weekend, so I doubt my next week's weighing will be much different.

Trac, dont forget to send me some exercise tips for the days that I cant face cardio.

icefox

Postby icefox » June 25th, 2012, 10:11 am

Hey fellas I'm relatively new to this group, I've followed some of y'all routines an nutritional habits an I'm glad 2 say after a month of eating rite an cardio, im down to 195 form 205, my goal is 2 reach at least 175 by August I really wanna look good an feel goid for d summer when I hit some parties.

Postby Greypatch » June 25th, 2012, 10:44 am

time for a summer speed ?

Postby AllTrac » June 25th, 2012, 11:02 am

vex dogg ill pm you what I have

Icefox, research heavily on Paleo/low carb/High fat diets, you will see it burns fat while retaining the lean muscle you have, it could further boost you weight loss, it has made a world of a difference for me. Glad to hear you are dropping the weight. Please try and include resistance training on the days you not doing cardio, nutting eats fat like muscle, plus the after burn goes on for hours. I have personally experienced this, when i do cardio my heart rate and metabolism goes back to normal probably 45 mins after, when i lift weights and do supersets, my metabolism is still racing hours after.

icefox

Postby icefox » June 25th, 2012, 12:31 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Icefox, research heavily on Paleo/low carb/High fat diets, you will see it burns fat while retaining the lean muscle you have, it could further boost you weight loss, it has made a world of a difference for me.

Yea all trac I do weight training. At d gym,
25 min cardio to start
45 min to finish each wrk out
Monday- chest an back
Tuesday- legs
Wednesday -arms
Thursday- shoulders
Friday- cardio
And dats basically my routine wrk outs

Postby AllTrac » June 25th, 2012, 12:42 pm

sounds like a solid plan you got there, as long as its working for you then hit it hard

Postby sharkman121 » June 25th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Would also incorporate some hi it training in there..helps blast away fat even more quickly. Also I would do cardio last after the weight training. Just warm up first before u hit the weights then after the weights, go as hard as possible on hiit to exhaust any remaining supplies of glycogen.

15-20 mins of hiit training x 3-4 times a week along with weight training 4-5 times a week is all u really need to blast fat, not mentioning the nutrition aspect of course. As trac said once u hit it hard and don't cheat yrself u bound to see results.

icefox

Postby icefox » June 25th, 2012, 3:41 pm

AllTrac wrote:sounds like a solid plan you got there, as long as its working for you then hit it hard

I am, I gonna check out dat diet plan u was telling me bout, c If I can incorporate it in my diet

Postby meccalli » June 25th, 2012, 10:59 pm

I don't really have much goals, losing fat or anything but i'm giving the 'warrior diet' a shot. Interesting concepts, and can be adapted- wanna see how it affects me. Its designed by Ori Hofmekler if anyone wants to have a look.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 25th, 2012, 11:00 pm

What do you guys use to track body fat and lean mass? I just got myself a Withings smart scale and it told me I have 206.4 lbs lean mass, 34.2 lbs of fat @ 6ft 1in. Is that bad? Average?

Postby sharkman121 » June 26th, 2012, 1:33 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:What do you guys use to track body fat and lean mass? I just got myself a Withings smart scale and it told me I have 206.4 lbs lean mass, 34.2 lbs of fat @ 6ft 1in. Is that bad? Average?

i don't trust those online averages AT ALL. it more caters for the small frame white boy average. judge by the mirror how yr clothes fit, not even the scale so much.

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2012, 6:42 am

hear nah, to judge belly fat for me, when i sit on the toilet and lean foward
i jus stick my thumb at the bottom of my belly and i get my measurement

i went from totally covering my nail, to half of the nail showing...

Postby AllTrac » June 26th, 2012, 7:08 am

X_Factor wrote:hear nah, to judge belly fat for me, when i sit on the toilet and lean foward
i jus stick my thumb at the bottom of my belly and i get my measurement

i went from totally covering my nail, to half of the nail showing...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: thank god you stop at that story of what u does do in de toilet yes :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » June 26th, 2012, 7:13 am

:| :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 26th, 2012, 5:53 pm

buh wtf X!!!! you eh fat to begin with....steups...you talking about nail?....man here could shove ah whole hand....lol...