PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

jm3

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby jm3 » June 27th, 2013, 12:06 am

Just installed the windows 8.1 preview patch Microsoft invited me to try it out ill let u know what I think

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 27th, 2013, 12:09 am

Gonna take awhile to install it seems I'm going to bed ill play with it in the morning

Postby stev » June 27th, 2013, 5:39 am

changes in 8.1 preview aint all that. :/

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 27th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Father and Son
1372360768886.jpg

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 30th, 2013, 2:28 pm

^Nicee

Fellaz i'm having a problem...when i'm playing games and I move the mouse the game sticks...I can only move using W,S,A,D without the game sticking. But from the time I move the mouse it sticks until I stop moving the mouse.

It happened with Assassin's Creed 1 and now BFBC2. Both games are usually ran on max settings without issues.

I tried updating my GPU driver as well as turning down the settings and no luck.

What should I do?

Here's a video with someone experiencing the same problem:

I also get this same problem even in game menus :|

My GPU is the EVGA GTX 560 SC @ Stock clocks

Update:
-It's happening in every game.
-I notice that in Furmark when I move the mouse my frames drop significantly.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 30th, 2013, 10:03 pm

So...while playing sleeping dogs...my xspc water pump just got way louder than usual...any ideas?
Temps were in the mid 50s while i was playing...which was for a couple hours...could the pump have overheated..and is this permanent? :(

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 30th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
nareshseep wrote:Looking for someone to test a AM3 8120, have it on a ga990fxaud3 ver 1.1 and i am getting random hangs, Not sure if is CPU or MB, Changed ram, passed mem test. Changed ps, and got a Kingwin Platinum, same issue. Upgraded bios, tried different revisions as well. Changed video card as well. Hoping if can test the CPU it will narrow down the problem. All parts mb cpu ram were bought new. Can

ISSUEs
It take a number of tries to turn the pc on.
Windows will install but it will hang at the windows logo when it reboots to complete the setup.
Will not start after a system reboot, I will have to manually reboot.

that sounding like a harddrive problem guy,i see yuh mention a lot of parts there but nothing about harddrive so check that.....that's for the os problem btw as for not coming on could be your mb its rarely ever the processor and if it is...its most likely due to overheating so just check that

Cross Blood wrote:
Is either the Hard drive or the motherboard ... remove the processor heat sink and check to see if the processor is heating up when you switch on the PC... if it is, then most likely your processor is good ...although your issues don't really relate to your processor

jm3 wrote:
Any bent pins on CPU? Or debri/ dust in the socket or ram slots. Tbh I've always had these problems with amd that's why I changed to intel lol

Tested with and without hard drives, same issue, no bent pins checked the cpu already. I got a am3 270 to test the mb and same issue, so its looking like the mb, the weird thing is i got another mb and cpu and when it was placed in case(Thermaltake Kandalf) was getting the same problem. I have since removed the board from the case and have it running outside and so far all is well, sometimes i still have to reset the bios to get this machine to boot. I got ubuntu 12.04 installed will get win7 loaded tommorow hopefully. I have examined the case and it has a projections in the mb area. But not anything that can touch the underside of the mb. Can a faulty switch give issues like this? This is the weirdest pc build i have come across so far. jm3, The Intel camp is looking brighter at the moment.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 1st, 2013, 4:59 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:So...while playing sleeping dogs...my xspc water pump just got way louder than usual...any ideas?
Temps were in the mid 50s while i was playing...which was for a couple hours...could the pump have overheated..and is this permanent? :(

Ok so i found out where i went wrong...

http://www.xs-pc.com/water-pumps/x2o-75 ... p-black-v4

Now i need to figure out how to get this thing to run even cooler :(

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 2nd, 2013, 10:17 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:I have 2 different brand monitors at the same size

thinkin to try a dual monitor set up :lol:

cyar wait to try autocad and games with that lovely seam in the middle <3

dual monitor sucks when it comes to games. i tried it out but that seam sucks. dual monitor is great for research and projects tho. i can keep research pages open on one screen while referencing for typing or read while watching a movie etc.

ive been thinking to remove the inner bezels so that the seam is reduced to just the lcd frame. might even remove all the electronics from the plastic moulded housing completely and mount it in it's own wooden housing. but ive been thinking also it might just be best to get one of those led projectors with 100-150inch display. waiting for them to come with 3d lol

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » July 3rd, 2013, 6:19 pm

http://multiplayerblog.mtv.com/2013/07/ ... tion-pc-2/

All the waiting, all the blood building anticipation and all the keyboard-fatality practicing has paid off. Your body was ready, but now your wallet is willing. Warner Bros. Entertainment and Netherrealm Studios' Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition for PC has officially launched on Steam.

The No-DRM aficionados have already been lapping up promotion of the game on Green Man Gaming, but those who are true, near and dear to the full and established bosom of Jedi Master Gaben can sleep easy knowing that Steam has delivered.

I know yesterday a lot of gamers were afraid that since Mortal Kombat Komplete wasn't listed on Steam as an early purchase that perhaps it wasn't going to arrive on time, similar to how Kenshi failed to originally show up on digital marketplaces last year, like a groom late for his own weeding after spending a wild bachelor's night with that stripper named Tammy... even though she used to be known as Tommy.

Anyway, the game brings some of that loveable violence and gore to the table that was such a staple in the series since its humble beginnings in the 1990s as well as its causation for the ESRB to step in and start telling us whether death-inducing anal probes are suitable for kids or adults.

The blood-letting, gore-flowing combat of old looks as good as ever on the PC platform and you don't even need a Blood Code to start seeing the red flow. The Komplete Edition on PC also comes with all the available DLC from the consoles and all the single and multiplayer modes that helped the game win over critics, gamers and sales charts alike last year.

The one thing that really stood out with this reboot/reincarnation of the popular fighting franchise is that the story mode is pretty slick and features a multi-playable cast of characters that covers the first three games in the Mortal Kombat lore. The one thing that stood out to me the most was how Jax lost his arms, holy crap... if you haven't played it, I'm not going to spoil it for you.

Anyway, this prime time fighter is now available for digitally for only $29.99 on the Steam Powered distribution portal. You can grab yourself a copy or two and start pummeling the crap out of your friends and foes alike. The game also has full Big Picture Mode support, so if you have your PC hooked up to your TV prepare to enjoy the game with all the benefits that come with being part of the PC Master Race but none of the vices of home consoles...mwahahaha.

Want to pick up a digital copy of the game right now? Head on over to the Steam page

orangeguy

Postby orangeguy » July 3rd, 2013, 8:07 pm

Hey people, just letting you all know I have some high end pc parts for sale at cost prices and cheaper than in the stores or online. Parts are new and sealed unless otherwise stated. I was going to use these parts for a build, but got some unforseen expenses to deal with. Check it out here: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=483753 Thanks a lot if anyone can assist in getting me a sale.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 6th, 2013, 3:57 pm

So i replaced my pump/res setup...and on draining my loop...this is what came out..

Any ideas on what might have happened here? I flushed all my equipment before use :|

desert punk

Postby desert punk » July 7th, 2013, 8:44 pm

http://postimage.org/app.php
Here's a little mod I saw people doing with their all in one cooler like the cosair h50,h60 an other all in one water coolers.
So I decided to try it seeing I had a h50 which was packed down.the mod was quite simple an little or no experience was need to do it.
The temps were 67-70 degrees while the gpu was idle an under load it was 84-90 degress with the stock cooler the gpu had although nvidai stated those were normal operation temps.
With the h50 on it the temps were 37-40 degrees idle an under load it was 56-58 degrees.
I tested it using msi kombustor an the max temp it reached was 61 degrees an it never went higher an I did the test for 1 hour.

If anyone wants to try this mod it is definitely worth it.
Here's the forum on it if anybody wants more info.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1203528/offi ... ka-the-mod

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 7th, 2013, 8:59 pm

desert punk wrote:Image
Here's a little mod I saw people doing with their all in one cooler like the cosair h50,h60 an other all in one water coolers.
So I decided to try it seeing I had a h50 which was packed down.the mod was quite simple an little or no experience was need to do it.
The temps were 67-70 degrees while the gpu was idle an under load it was 84-90 degress with the stock cooler the gpu had although nvidai stated those were normal operation temps.
With the h50 on it the temps were 37-40 degrees idle an under load it was 56-58 degrees.
I tested it using msi kombustor an the max temp it reached was 61 degrees an it never went higher an I did the test for 1 hour.

A tuner did that already on a gtx 680 i think, somewhere further up this thread.

You made that bracket yourself? Have someone on overclock.net selling dem for different cards.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2013, 9:12 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:I have 2 different brand monitors at the same size

thinkin to try a dual monitor set up :lol:

cyar wait to try autocad and games with that lovely seam in the middle <3

dual monitor sucks when it comes to games. i tried it out but that seam sucks. dual monitor is great for research and projects tho. i can keep research pages open on one screen while referencing for typing or read while watching a movie etc.

ive been thinking to remove the inner bezels so that the seam is reduced to just the lcd frame. might even remove all the electronics from the plastic moulded housing completely and mount it in it's own wooden housing. but ive been thinking also it might just be best to get one of those led projectors with 100-150inch display. waiting for them to come with 3d lol

I gues a tri monitor set up might be better since you focusing on a screen rather than a seam ?

tell me how your plan works doh :)

desert punk

Postby desert punk » July 7th, 2013, 9:18 pm

HCCA wrote:
desert punk wrote:Image

A tuner did that already on a gtx 680 i think, somewhere further up this thread.

You made that bracket yourself? Have someone on overclock.net selling dem for different cards.

yea I made the bracket my self.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 8th, 2013, 5:26 am

^NZXT is supposed to be bringing something like that to market sometime in the future, for the non-DIYers.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 11th, 2013, 9:58 pm

desert punk wrote:
HCCA wrote:
desert punk wrote:

yea I made the bracket my self.

Still have the bracket in case anyone want to buy it, only thing is it have the 680 logo on it but it's looks good :D Also have a 92mm fan for cooling the VRMs. The brackets supposed to work on any card I believe but you have to use a Antec 620 with mines.

The guy doing the brackets on OCN have alot on his plate so if you ordering from him ya in for a wait.

2NR Smurf wrote:^NZXT is supposed to be bringing something like that to market sometime in the future, for the non-DIYers.

Yea apparently NZXT approached him about doing it

desert punk

Postby desert punk » July 11th, 2013, 10:52 pm

I like how he put the 680gtx sign on it.
Other people sometimes use the zip-tie method which is also good if you can't afford the bracket.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 12th, 2013, 5:51 pm

Anyone here ever watercool with acrylic tubing? This looking kinda interesting..

http://www.primochill.com/index.php?dispatch=categories.view&category_id=111

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 5:53 pm

^^ was considering that for my current build, but i changed my mind. i rather the head room with tubing incase i need too move something for some odd reason

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 5:56 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:So i replaced my pump/res setup...and on draining my loop...this is what came out..

Any ideas on what might have happened here? I flushed all my equipment before use :|

dude..... what coolant u used??

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 12th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Next teardown of my build gonna go full acrylic with sum mayhem pastel coolant. Can't beat that clean look with regular tubing.

Ya gonna attempt it?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 6:02 pm

wont call it attempt in my book.. my everyday job makes these types of things look petty to do...

i just hate how it looks so straight and plain. the curves of a properly built and laid out tubing setup always looks so much better to me..

careful on those fancy coolants, they leave residue in your loop..... have enough experience with the last 5 WCed builds i did to know the after effect.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 12th, 2013, 6:25 pm

Planning to add bends in mine, I know what ya mean the majority I've seen so far are simple straight lines but seen some using copper/acrylic tubing with neat bends and those look really good.

Don't plan to use the pastel for a long period but I really wanna give it a try.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Okiee

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 12th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Chiney that was just distilled water alone :|

as far as the acrylic goes...most builds ive seen online used the bitspower crystal links for short runs and used couplers to add more straight pieces for longer runs hence why they so straight with lots of angle fittings

This primochill tubing coming in upto 36in lengths that you can heat up and bend any way you want, pretty much eliminating the need for 45 and 90deg fittings.

Question: Would going from 1/2"ID to 3/8"ID have any impact on temps?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 7:07 pm

no impact

as for your water situation... seems your blocks n such had some build up bro.... that was over time as well....

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 12th, 2013, 7:13 pm

^i was thinking that. The colour change was kinda shocking though. Flushed the entire loop twice since that and all seems good now.

Planning to hopefully upgrade to a Phantom 630 case in august. not sure yet if im sticking with my 1/2" flex tubing or to try the acrylic. I trying to visualize how im gonna set things up without making inside the case look like a rats nest :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 12th, 2013, 7:18 pm

planning planning planning..