Dohplaydat wrote:
Still no one wearing masks though
paid_influencer wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:
There is no evidence to support the use of cloth masks in community settings (WHO).
People are seriously over-estimating how much protection a cloth mask gives them. Yes, it would be better if they used masks, but mask-use is hardly as important as social distancing and handwashing. Two of those three things have data behind them. One was invented to reduce the demand for surgical/N95 masks.
If carnival was in January, would it have been disasterous?EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is a job well done by the government we are the only country that has squashed covid completely
N95 masks were not recommended. Cloth was recommended.redmanjp wrote:pugboy wrote:i see plenty masks with valve for exhale
that means a positive mask wearer could still easily spread germs
yeah i seeing that too- they do make breathing easier and less moisture builds up- but MOH should inform ppl about this
The use of cloth masks has been studied for pandemic use for 100 years.paid_influencer wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:
There is no evidence to support the use of cloth masks in community settings (WHO).
People are seriously over-estimating how much protection a cloth mask gives them. Yes, it would be better if they used masks, but mask-use is hardly as important as social distancing and handwashing. Two of those three things have data behind them. One was invented to reduce the demand for surgical/N95 masks.
elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
In a nutshell Mr. Young stated that people caught eating by roadside vendors can be charged by the police... eating outside falls under what criminal offense? While i understand the need for social distancing this pandemic should be no excuse to violate my himan rights... if u wanna do that call a SOE and stop scaremongering
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is a job well done by the government we are the only country that has squashed covid completely
redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
In a nutshell Mr. Young stated that people caught eating by roadside vendors can be charged by the police... eating outside falls under what criminal offense? While i understand the need for social distancing this pandemic should be no excuse to violate my himan rights... if u wanna do that call a SOE and stop scaremongering
5 (1) f and g:
paid_influencer wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
5 (1) f and g:
I should have taken my time and read the article fully before just reading what was being said on social media... i was of the assumption that you could not eat outside in totality... even if you 100 feet away from the vendor once u eating outside u can get charged... in reading the article i see that he did mention just by roadside vendors... also would you be able to tell me if this was always in the regulations or something they added on after the fact as i could still remember people eating by doubles vendor before the total lockdown in April
Up to 5 NY Children Dead, 93 Sickened by Rare COVID-Related Illness
New York City issued an initial health alert early last week after identifying more than a dozen children in city hospitals with the rare illness; now up to 93 cases have been identified statewide. Five children have died
By Melissa Russo • Published 5 hours ago • Updated 4 hours ago
What to Know
New York state health officials are investigating 93 children who may have been diagnosed with a recently identified illness associated with COVID-19 that some doctors are referring to as "pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome"
Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Sunday two more deaths are waiting confirmation, which would bring related deaths to five
Doctors say in some cases, kids are taking up to 6 weeks after exposure to the virus to present with symptoms of this illness
New York may have as many as 93 cases of children presenting with a new pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome likely linked to COVID-19. At least three children have died, and two more deaths are under investigation, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced.
Cuomo previously confirmed the deaths of two boys in New York City and Westchester County, as well as a teenager in Suffolk County. Details on the two most recent fatalities weren't immediately available.
A complication of the coronavirus the state had not even acknowledged a week ago, this new condition is now being seen across the country and is striking newborns and teenagers alike.
"As it turns out, these children happened to have the COVID antibodies, or be positive for COVID, but those were not the symptoms they showed when they came into the hospital system," Gov. Cuomo said Saturday.
The New York State Dept. of Health is working in partnership with the CDC to develop national criteria for the health departments and hospital systems in the 49 other states to help them identify, track and respond to help children exhibiting symptoms, Gov. Cuomo said. Doctors in the state say children are not presenting with symptoms until 4 to 6 weeks after exposure to the virus.
"This is every parent's nightmare, right?" Cuomo said, adding that the state is investigating additional child deaths and will conduct further studies to better understand the illness.
A 5-year-old boy died in New York City Thursday, the first child identified by the state to die from inflammatory syndrome brought on by COVID-19 complications.
New York City confirmed the syndrome's presence in at least 38 children over the weekend. On Monday, Dept. of Health Commissioner Dr. Oxiris Barbot said an additional 12 cases were under investigation and would be reportable in the coming days.
"If [your child has] a fever, their energy level is off, their appetite is off, they're developing a rash, their lips look extra red, their tongue is looking extra red, those I think are the early signs that we want parents not to discount them and say 'oh they'll be better tomorrow' but to reach out to your pediatrician, have that conversation and then do the testing if your pediatrician thinks its indicated," Dr. Barbot advised.
News 4 New York's Melissa Russo interviews Dr. Steven Kernie, chief of pediatric critical care at Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital in Manhattan, on the new inflammatory illness striking kids with coronavirus.
How to Identify the Symptoms Early
So what are the symptoms of pediatric multi-system inflammatory syndrome? The NYC Health Department said that children had a fever, and more than half reported having rashes, abdominal pain, vomiting or diarrhea. While it has been considered a direct symptom of COVID-19, less than half of the pediatric patients in the city displayed any shortness of breath.
Any child that shows symptoms relating to Kawasaki disease or toxic shock syndrome should be seen by a doctor as soon as possible, as the health department said early recognition and a pediatrician's referral to a specialist are essential, including admission to critical care units if necessary. Beginning treatment quickly can help prevent end-organ damage and other long-term problems, Demetre Daskalakis, the Deputy Commissioner of Disease Control with the New York City Health Department, said in the city's medical alert.
Dr. Newburger suggests that any parent who finds their child to have a high fever and "seems unwell" should call their pediatrician and seek medical attention.
Mount Sinai Hospital previously confirmed reports by NBC New York that they are seeing the new and unusual COVID-19 related illness in several pediatric patients, up from just two on April 28. The hospital’s chief of pediatric critical care issued a warning to parents to be on the lookout for certain symptoms.
In a statement, Dr. George Ofori, Pediatric Critical Care Director at Mount Sinai Kravis Children’s Hospital said, "Some of the cases that we are currently treating entered our care presenting with symptoms such as abdominal pain, vomiting, diarrhea, and a low-grade fever. Others presented first with a rash, conjunctivitis, and/or cracked lips.”
Dr. Ofori said some patients have developed heart problems and low blood pressure that led to shock. He explained that some had been diagnosed with COVID-19 2-3 weeks before these symptoms developed.
"Whether the underlying condition is COVID-19 or the body’s response to COVID-19 is not known at this time. While it is too early to definitively say what is causing this we believe it is important to alert the public as to what we are seeing," he said.
A different source told NBC New York some of these children had no previous underlying health conditions.
elec2020 wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
5 (1) f and g:
I should have taken my time and read the article fully before just reading what was being said on social media... i was of the assumption that you could not eat outside in totality... even if you 100 feet away from the vendor once u eating outside u can get charged... in reading the article i see that he did mention just by roadside vendors... also would you be able to tell me if this was always in the regulations or something they added on after the fact as i could still remember people eating by doubles vendor before the total lockdown in April
redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
5 (1) f and g:
f was in effect before, not sure about g
adnj wrote:elec2020 wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
5 (1) f and g:
The 21 March 2020 order (No. 2) only restricted seated dining.
The "violates my human rights" and "violates my constitutional rights" is a recent dog whistle that has appeared on social media.
Nearly every nation has a department of health and nearly every nation has clauses and conditions in law that allow the suspension of (some) basic human rights when the greater social good requires protection because of disease, war, famine, or social unrest. It is for this reason that prisons are lawful. A state of emergency is not necessary because a worldwide pandemic is known to exist and those existing laws are now relevant.
The special restrictions of quarantine and isolation are nothing new. They are simply not nearly as common because of the reduction in widespread disease outbreak.
Dohplaydat wrote:If everyone wears f*cking mask we could literally go back to a normal life.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Was in pos and curepe today.
Not a single taxi driver wearing a mask.
Probably 2 out of 10 people on the road wearing masks
Went to several businesses today to do deliveries and probably 1 in 10 ppl have on masks
Went rbl grand bazaar and they have a handwashing sink inside the bank. The security making sure you wash your hand. The staff have a shield straight across separating the staff from customers but the staff have no masks or gloves.....so....your money that you handing them still contaminating them not so? If they not sanitizing between each customer
elec2020 wrote:adnj wrote:elec2020 wrote:redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/11/young-dont-eat-at-roadside-food-outlets/?fbclid=IwAR3qARUew5aLBwK5XAqkdiKlQDWnKfEKw8zbC_O-Dd0XH7iQ1PgwRhYga5s
5 (1) f and g:
The 21 March 2020 order (No. 2) only restricted seated dining.
The "violates my human rights" and "violates my constitutional rights" is a recent dog whistle that has appeared on social media.
Nearly every nation has a department of health and nearly every nation has clauses and conditions in law that allow the suspension of (some) basic human rights when the greater social good requires protection because of disease, war, famine, or social unrest. It is for this reason that prisons are lawful. A state of emergency is not necessary because a worldwide pandemic is known to exist and those existing laws are now relevant.
The special restrictions of quarantine and isolation are nothing new. They are simply not nearly as common because of the reduction in widespread disease outbreak.
My entire irk has been that the government and TTPS has made it seem like some of their policies...like the stay at home order... was law... and if caught outside for reasons not listed in the stay at home order you could have been fined or jailed... that has since been corrected after much backlash from the law community... i have no qualms with having legal movement restrictions to prevent the spread of covid... what i have a problem with is misinformation... bending the truth and using scaremongering techniques to do things outside of the legal remit... that has been my issue with some of these restriction policies... we are part of a democracy... and in any democracy their are human rights... people died for these rights that we enjoy today... we should not allow people to tranple on these rights unless they do so with the right legal ammendments... otherwise we are communist state... not only in TnT are people finding fault with the application of these covid restrictions... and just like in TnT many international governments are being taken to court for overextension of these restrictions... again i am not advising nor saying that current government restrictions are wrong... i am just saying misleading, scaremongering and unequal application of these restrictions are wrong... for instance a few people got arrested a few weeks ago for attending a funeral... while i dont agree with what happeneded there i understand why the TTPS did so as those individuals exceeded the 5 member group restriction... what i have a problem with is that in a similar funeral where a brother and sister died in a botched home entry/hit their were photos of said funeral on social media showing scores of people... but their were no articles of people in said funeral being arrested or charged... anyway that is a topic for another discussion
Sleeping/loitering in public
Sleeping or loitering in public? You could be given a $200 fine or imprisoned for up to one month if you don't have a good enough reason for doing so.
Under the Section 64 (1) of the Summary Offences Act: "A person committing any of the offences mentioned below in this section may be deemed an idle and disorderly person, and shall be liable to a fine of two hundred dollars, or to imprisonment for one month—
(c) any person found sleeping or loitering in or under any building, including any open outhouse, verandah, gallery, passage, or gateway, or in any vehicle or vessel, without leave of the owner, occupier or person in charge thereof, or on or under any wharf, quay, jetty, bridge, footway, or in any street or other public place, and not giving a good account of himself".
https://www.looptt.com/content/10-thing ... and-tobago
These eleven suspects were subsequently charged with the offence of gathering in a public place where the number of persons gathered exceeded five persons, in accordance with Regulation 3 (1) (b) of the Public Health [2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)] (No. 9) Regulations, 2020.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/a ... da110.html
redmanjp wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:Was in pos and curepe today.
Went to several businesses today to do deliveries and probably 1 in 10 ppl have on masks
Went rbl grand bazaar and they have a handwashing sink inside the bank. The security making sure you wash your hand. The staff have a shield straight across separating the staff from customers but the staff have no masks or gloves.....so....your money that you handing them still contaminating them not so? If they not sanitizing between each customer
i think masks should be mandatory under the Ordinance for any taxi driver as social distancing is not possible especially in those small taxis even with 50% capacity.
as for the public at large i myself noticed some not ppl wearing masks, some wearing it on dey chin (doh know what purpose dat serving), 1 person in Massy had one strap of the mask on the other side off and the mask hanging off they face
Tesla and Elon Musk reopen California facility, defying orders meant to stem coronavirus spread
(CNN Business)Tesla (TSLA) CEO Elon Musk escalated his standoff with county officials in California on Monday as he announced that the automaker would be "restarting production today against Alameda County rules."
The decision follows the executive's sharp Twitter outbursts in recent weeks objecting to state lockdown orders meant to stem the spread of the novel coronavirus. In a tweet on Monday, Musk said he would be at the factory, "on the line with everyone else."
"If anyone is arrested, he tweeted, "I ask that it only be me."
Musk has argued that restrictions put in place by Alameda County closing non-essential businesses, where Tesla's Fremont factory is based, are overly aggressive and unconstitutional. On Saturday, the company filed a federal lawsuit against the county. Musk has also threatened to relocate Tesla's manufacturing out of California.
In a statement Monday afternoon, county officials said they are negotiating with Tesla on a plan to reopen the plant more fully.
"We continue to move closer to an agreed upon safety plan for reopening beyond Minimum Basic Operations by working through steps that Tesla has agreed to adopt," the Alameda County Public Health Department said in a statement. "These steps include improving employee health screening procedures and engaging front-line staff on their concerns and feedback regarding safety protocols."
Musk has won support from some in the Trump administration. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told CNBC on Monday that California's government should work harder to reopen the local economy.
"He's one of the biggest employers and manufacturers in California, and California should prioritize doing whatever they need to do to solve those health issues so that he can open quickly or or they're going to find, as he's threatened, he's moving his production to a different state," Mnuchin said.
But speaking to reporters on Monday, Gov. Gavin Newsom deferred to county officials, saying each county is reopening according to conditions on the ground.
"Again, it's county-led enforcement," he said. Still, Newsom said he had "great reverence" for Tesla and its founder and said he had spoken to Musk "a number of days ago."
In response, Musk tweeted: "Thank you Governor Newsom!"
Newsom added that he expects the county to allow Tesla to reopen by "as early as next week," based on his understanding of interactions between the company and local officials.
Tesla didn't immediately respond to a request for comment.
Dohplaydat wrote:And now the Elon Musk downward spiral continues.
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/05/11/cars ... index.htmlTesla and Elon Musk reopen California facility, defying orders meant to stem coronavirus spread
(CNN Business)Tesla (TSLA) CEO Elon Musk escalated his standoff with county officials in California on Monday as he announced that the automaker would be "restarting production today against Alameda County rules."
The decision follows the executive's sharp Twitter outbursts in recent weeks objecting to state lockdown orders meant to stem the spread of the novel coronavirus. In a tweet on Monday, Musk said he would be at the factory, "on the line with everyone else."
Musk has argued that restrictions put in place by Alameda County closing non-essential businesses, where Tesla's Fremont factory is based, are overly aggressive and unconstitutional. On Saturday, the company filed a federal lawsuit against the county. Musk has also threatened to relocate Tesla's manufacturing out of California.
In a statement Monday afternoon, county officials said they are negotiating with Tesla on a plan to reopen the plant more fully.
"We continue to move closer to an agreed upon safety plan for reopening beyond Minimum Basic Operations by working through steps that Tesla has agreed to adopt," the Alameda County Public Health Department said in a statement. "These steps include improving employee health screening procedures and engaging front-line staff on their concerns and feedback regarding safety protocols."
Musk has won support from some in the Trump administration. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin told CNBC on Monday that California's government should work harder to reopen the local economy.
"He's one of the biggest employers and manufacturers in California, and California should prioritize doing whatever they need to do to solve those health issues so that he can open quickly or or they're going to find, as he's threatened, he's moving his production to a different state," Mnuchin said.
But speaking to reporters on Monday, Gov. Gavin Newsom deferred to county officials, saying each county is reopening according to conditions on the ground.
"Again, it's county-led enforcement," he said. Still, Newsom said he had "great reverence" for Tesla and its founder and said he had spoken to Musk "a number of days ago."
Newsom added that he expects the county to allow Tesla to reopen by "as early as next week," based on his understanding of interactions between the company and local officials.
The state said Tesla can open, and the county attempted to override the state and said they cannot open. That is like the MP for your area trying to override a directive from the PMDohplaydat wrote:And now the Elon Musk downward spiral continues.
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/05/11/cars ... index.htmlTesla and Elon Musk reopen California facility, defying orders meant to stem coronavirus spread
Kronik wrote:The state said Tesla can open, and the county attempted to override the state and said they cannot open. That is like the MP for your area trying to override a directive from the PMDohplaydat wrote:And now the Elon Musk downward spiral continues.
sMASH wrote:redmanjp wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:Was in pos and curepe today.
i think masks should be mandatory under the Ordinance for any taxi driver as social distancing is not possible especially in those small taxis even with 50% capacity.
as for the public at large i myself noticed some not ppl wearing masks, some wearing it on dey chin (doh know what purpose dat serving), 1 person in Massy had one strap of the mask on the other side off and the mask hanging off they face
u all can still stay home.