COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby redmanjp » February 26th, 2020, 7:29 pm

pugboy wrote:ramlagans balmain had for $10 for the 3m n95

redmanjp wrote:OK so where can I get N95 masks at a reasonable price? Locally there's a store in POS that has it at $89 for just 1 mask

so the $89 is clear price gouging then

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2020, 8:06 pm

that is murder

Postby adnj » February 26th, 2020, 8:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:ramlagans balmain had for $10 for the 3m n95

redmanjp wrote:OK so where can I get N95 masks at a reasonable price? Locally there's a store in POS that has it at $89 for just 1 mask

so the $89 is clear price gouging then
There is definitely some price gouging happening on Amazon but...

3M makes about 100 different models of disposable N95 respirators that were selling last year between about US$1 and US$10 each depending on the model.

Many of them (and others) have been tested and certified by the CDC and OSHA.

Alcohol wipes and hand sanitizer are likely more effective than a mask. You may want to start there for now and move to the masks after the first documented transmissions occur in Trinidad.

[URL]https://www.cdc.gov/niosh/npptl/topics/respirators/disp_part/n95list1.html
[/URL]

[URL]http://abcnews4.com/news/local/protecting-yourself-from-airborne-illnesses-coronavirus-influenza-flu-medical-mask-hand-wash
[/URL]

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2020, 9:31 pm

Moses by roxy pos have also and not high priced inunderstand

Postby redmanjp » February 26th, 2020, 9:56 pm

Yeah I increased my handwashing especially awfter going home from Carnival but I travel to and from work and that itself is a risk in terms of the air itself in the maxi, I remember back with the swine flu they said that was a risk especially with AC.

With this virus aerosol transmission is even easier as the droplets are smaller and thus stay in the air longer.

I don't want to wait till we have confirmed cases because is major price gouging at that point if it not sold out quickly. And with Carnival if anyone came in with it and infected ppl we would know in 1-2 weeks.

As I typed this someone in the taxi just coughed.
Last edited by redmanjp on February 27th, 2020, 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » February 27th, 2020, 7:47 am

New countries with confirmed cases: Greece, Denmark, Estonia, Macedonia, Romania, Pakistan...:|

xtech

Postby xtech » February 27th, 2020, 8:56 am

uv light sanitizer Selling out

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2020, 9:37 am

nah

Amazon N95 Mask price_20200227-093428.png
Amazon N95 Mask price_20200227-093428.png (8.92 KiB) Viewed 5666 times

Postby Gladiator » February 27th, 2020, 10:51 am

Rowley had to go and blight the people bell.... LOL

US stock markets fall again due to coronavirus fears
From CNN’s Anneken Tappe

US stocks opened lower today, as the selloff over coronavirus fears picked up steam again.

The Dow and the Nasdaq Composite fell into correction territory, defined as 10% below their most recent highs.

Here's where things stand:

The Dow opened 1.9%, or 515 points, lower.
The Nasdaq sold off 2.5%.
The S&P 500 fell 1.9%.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 27th, 2020, 11:39 am

For anyone else still thinking this is not serious. There had just been the first case of someone getting reinfected with COVID-19. Normally you can't get reinfected with a virus because your body has already developed the antibody for it.

I wonder if this is a mutation of the original virus. I honestly have no idea how these things work.

Postby maj. tom » February 27th, 2020, 11:59 am

Postby aaron17 » February 27th, 2020, 1:06 pm

As a tuner ..how we handling them gas pumps? I doubt toothpicks.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 27th, 2020, 1:11 pm

aaron17 wrote:As a tuner ..how we handling them gas pumps? I doubt toothpicks.

get disposable gloves if you're that concerned.
If not, just have hand sanitizer on standby for immediate use

Postby Ben_spanna » February 27th, 2020, 1:12 pm

GAs pumps, door handles etc.... once i go out i always have clorox wipes with me, as i finished pumping gas, clorox wipes, dispose of it and then go back in my car. also occasionally i wipe down my steering wheel with it and keys too.
The hardest part is getting your kids to stop touching their mouths, faces and so forth all the time at school..

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:For anyone else still thinking this is not serious. There had just been the first case of someone getting reinfected with COVID-19. Normally you can't get reinfected with a virus because your body has already developed the antibody for it.

I wonder if this is a mutation of the original virus. I honestly have no idea how these things work.

this virus sounding more and more like a bioweapon- spreading fast, even without symptoms so u doh know, long incubation rate and high fatality rate and now reinfection

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2020, 1:27 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:GAs pumps, door handles etc.... once i go out i always have clorox wipes with me, as i finished pumping gas, clorox wipes, dispose of it and then go back in my car. also occasionally i wipe down my steering wheel with it and keys too.
The hardest part is getting your kids to stop touching their mouths, faces and so forth all the time at school..

get masks for everyone- it will stop aerosol transmission & also address touching of face

if the virus came in for Carnival ppl could be spreading it asymptomatically for days before we even hear of a confirmed or even suspected case. it playin dead to ketch kobo alive

how else countries getting trouble to trace their own patient 0

Postby hydroep » February 27th, 2020, 3:57 pm

The Dr. Campbell fella on YouTube talking about how this thing can be spread by handling cash and apparently the Chinese authorities have "called in all the cash and they're either going to burn it and replace it or decontaminate it somehow..."

Given the debacle that was the $ 100 polymer note exchange, imagine what would happen if they had to do that down here...:|

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2020, 4:12 pm

just heat the cash to 150f

Postby maj. tom » February 27th, 2020, 4:27 pm

Sous vide your money at 144°F for 4 hours.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 27th, 2020, 5:55 pm

Who has the appropriate masks selling locally?

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2020, 7:06 pm

T&T now bans persons from 5 other countries

The Office of Prime Minister Of Trinidad & Tobago FB page
People travelling from Italy, South Korea, Singapore, Japan, and Iran will now be restricted from entering Trinidad and Tobago because of the outbreak of the COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

This as Cabinet expands its 14-day travel restrictions which previously applied to persons travelling to this country from China.

Minister of Health, the Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh made the announcement today at the Post-Cabinet Media Conference at the Diplomatic Center (Thursday 27th February 2019).

Minister Deyalsingh said a directive was given to the North Central Regional Health Authority to expand capacity at Caura Hospital.

“So we are adding twenty beds to Caura which will be ready in about two weeks.”

The Health Minister also noted that the recently opened 67-bed facility in St James will also be made available if required. He said over the next two to three weeks a new facility at the Port of Spain General Hospital will be operationalised for isolation capacity.

Should the country experience a major outbreak of COVID-19 the Couva Hospital has been identified for use.

The Minister revealed, “In the event that there is a serious outbreak, we must have a major medical facility which could be quarantined and locked down by security."

Deyalsingh said Cabinet will be working with the Tobago Regional Health Authority through the Chief Medical Officer to ramp up their isolation capabilities.

Cabinet also announced the establishment of a Standing Committee to deal with public health concerns and emerging infectious diseases.

He said the committee will be chaired by the Chief Medical Officer and will report jointly to the Minister of Health and the Minister of National Security.

The Chief of Defense Staff, the Chief Immigration Officer, the Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs and the Ministry of Education are just a few entities that will be included on the committee

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 27th, 2020, 7:33 pm

Btw just wanted to show you all postponing Carnival would have been a terrible idea given the infection rate. It's highly unlikely anyone brought Covid-19 here at this time, but having it say in May would have likely brought the disease here (if it wasn't already).

Either way, it is inevitable it will be here. Just prepare, keep good hygiene and just ride it out until there's a vaccine.

But please please, please practice good hygiene, stop coughing with your mouth open, going to work when sick, always wash hands, sanitize surfaces etc.

Postby hydroep » February 27th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Yunno, if people really serious about coming here all they have to do is go Venezuela and hitch a ride on a pirogue.

Still can't believe some 'experts' were downplaying this thing. The kind of impact it's having Globally and the extreme measures being taken to control its spread would indicate this is anything but "just another virus"...:|

Postby sMASH » February 27th, 2020, 7:59 pm

hydroep wrote:Yunno, if people really serious about coming here all they have to do is go Venezuela and hitch a ride on a pirogue.

Still can't believe some 'experts' were downplaying this thing. The kind of impact it's having Globally and the extreme measures being taken to control its spread would indicate this is anything but "just another virus"...:|

was in PoS a couple weeks ago (eww, i kno) and jsut saw random white people walking all over. later to find out on news it was a cruise ship dock for a lil while. all that time corona in the news. people jess hadda stay in their ac, then come out, and they could enter the country.

our boarders are sheit. we depend on the western transit points screening for protection. as long as they hold, we good. but once those break through, we done.

i have yam in the deep freeze, and common fowl in the yard, with solar panels on the roof with roof water tanks. will vibes allyuh once a month.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 27th, 2020, 8:12 pm

Reading that the WHO is saying that the virus has now reached "pandemic potential"

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2020, 8:38 pm

^to think that just a couple weeks ago they were saying don't implement travel restrictions- if countries didn't do that it would already be one

acting more like World Trade than Word Health to me- but it will affect the world economy anyway if you let it spread where millions get sick and 10s of millions more who had close contact will have to stay home so u might as well ban/quarantine the few who entering a country's borders rather than allow them to infect 1000s.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 27th, 2020, 8:45 pm

Aside from the very clear and present danger to life, the economic fallout of mass quarantine is also very scary.

Postby sMASH » February 27th, 2020, 8:47 pm

imagine if this corona intermix with aids....

Postby Kenjo » February 27th, 2020, 8:52 pm

sMASH wrote:imagine if this corona intermix with aids....

Errr ok

Postby Gladiator » February 27th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Them is some real ass.... That reach pandemic long time.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reading that the WHO is saying that the virus has now reached "pandemic potential"