anan@gmail.com

Re: anan@gmail.com

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 25th, 2013, 7:38 am

^^ so the express reporter make up that?
I pretty sure he have the conversation recorded...

Postby rfari » July 25th, 2013, 7:59 am

Seem like its was one big misunderstanding. He said it in the context that document may represent email contents and not actual emails. Therefore its fake if its referred to as emails.

Postby Habit7 » July 25th, 2013, 10:59 am

What the top cop said
Story Created: Jul 24, 2013 at 11:06 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 24, 2013 at 11:06 PM ECT

On July 5, acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams sat down with Express journalist Asha Javeed for an interview on the fifth floor of the Police Administration Building which lasted for about 76 minutes.
Topics of the interview included Anand Ramesar, crime, the budget and bad cops and focused primarily on whether the pronouncements by politicians on the political platform on the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) had negatively impacted on the public’s perception of the TTPS and its ability to handle the country’s crime situation.
During the interview, the competency and capability of the TTPS were questioned given the lack of convictions under its belt and the number of big cases such as the CLICO probe, the investigation into the New Flying Squad Investigative Unit (NFSIU) and emailgate which have yet to be concluded.
To this end, the issue of the TTPS’ ability to properly handle the emailgate matter was questioned given that it was a high-profile investigation and that it allegedly involved the country’s highest office holders as well as other officials who had been dragged into it such as chairman of the Integrity Commission Ken Gordon, Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard and Chief Justice Ivor Archie.
The following is a partial transcript of the interview with Commissioner Williams which was the basis for the story published in the Express on July 8 with the headline, “E-mails Fake.”
Asha Javeed (AJ): Commissioner, there is debate as to who should be conducting the emailgate investigations. What is the correct agency to handle the investigation into emailgate? Is it the Integrity Commission or should Dr Rowley have made a report to the police?

Stephen Williams (SW): The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is the only legal agency to address any kind of criminal investigation. In this instance, a probe has to be conducted because there is no established criminal offence. A probe into the content of the e-mails should help us determine what offences, if any, were committed. If there was an offence, no probe would have been necessary and the police would have acted. Has there been breaches? If so, who was responsible? On the face of it, a probe into the issue presented will give us a lead into who was responsible.

AJ: So, Dr Rowley should have reported the e-mails to the police?

SW: I repeat, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is the only legal entity to conduct a criminal investigation in Trinidad and Tobago. Do you know that the Integrity Commission refers matters to the police for investigation?

AJ: No, I was not aware of that.

SW: There are many people calling for all sorts of international agencies to look into the matter. That suggestion is so foolish and it’s coming from people who are supposed to be intelligent. I repeat, the only legal authority to investigate this matter is the TTPS.

AJ: Commissioner, the TTPS is being furnished with statements by IT professionals hired by the people under investigation…

SW: That is out of their own volition.

AJ: Would these statements be of any use to the police in the investigation?

SW: I can tell you, it is not an aid to us.

AJ: Commissioner, when can we expect this investigation to be concluded? You had initially said that it should be concluded in a short space of time.

SW: The speed at which the investigation takes place would depend on the cooperation of the parties concerned. If they are not cooperating, then it slows down the process especially if you have to go three and four times to engage an individual to get something. But this is a probe in the first instance, so participation is voluntary. You cannot force someone to sit down and talk to you. People have legal rights and you have to respect that. The extent to which they cooperate is being managed by them. So I cannot force anyone to sit down and talk to me. It is their right to choose to talk. And these things slow down the probe as yet we do not have an established criminal offence.

AJ: What exactly is the police probing? The e-mails?

SW: Those documents purporting to be e-mails but they are not.

AJ: So are they fake e-mails?

SW: They are fake. But it was constructed to give one a reasonable impression that they are e-mails.

AJ: So you’re not investigating whether the e-mails are authentic?

SW: The authenticity is one facet of the investigation. On the face of it, to any Trinidadian, those are not authentic e-mails. But do those documents read by the Opposition Leader represent the content of e-mails or exchanges? That is what the police is looking into.

AJ: So the content is under investigation?

SW: Yes, the investigators will have to go through line by line of the document to determine if any criminal offence was committed.

AJ: Instead of targeting Google, why haven’t the police just approached TSTT?

SW: The investigators will explore all facets of the investigation and I am sure all service providers will be targeted.

AJ: Commissioner, do these e-mails represent intercepted communication which the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) is capable of providing? Will the police approach the SSA for help on this matter?

SW: I cannot comment on that. I do not speak for the SSA.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wha ... 60191.html

Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2013, 11:41 am

buh he say dey fake?

Postby Habit7 » July 25th, 2013, 12:59 pm

Also he was that part of South Africa where he wasnt able to see or respond to the front page headline of him saying that they are fake. Although South Africa is the most technologically advanced country on the continent.

Postby pioneer » July 25th, 2013, 1:49 pm

Wha kinda mickey mouse man we have as CoP?

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2013, 5:18 pm

pioneer wrote:buh he say dey fake?

fake as in not actual printouts of emails i guess- but they could be copy/paste excerpts of actual emails- albeit with quite a few mistakes

civicman

Postby civicman » October 8th, 2013, 4:31 am

So why the real ones aint surface yet or digital or paper

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 6:53 am

civicman wrote:So why the real ones aint surface yet or digital or paper

Kamla and dem braksing

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 13th, 2014, 9:07 pm

I really find the vibes in this thread a bit dull given the fact that Google has confirmed they were never contacted to investigate the authenticity of these email accounts.

Zr toyota2nr UML...etc???

Why did ACP Mr. Mervyn Richardson feel compelled to lie to the public about awaiting a response from Google knowing he never solicited Google for assistance?

you all still think these emails fake?

why is there a reluctance to resolve this issue?

Postby rfari » January 13th, 2014, 9:24 pm

kamala and dem mubbe tek we for some cornt yes

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 13th, 2014, 9:35 pm

cornts we are to take this lying down....interesting days ahead!

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 13th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Is there an article published about this latest update?

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2014, 9:37 pm

so has Mr. Richardson been less than honest in his past responses ?

what about the big job he has been offered as post retirement work ?

Postby eliteauto » January 13th, 2014, 9:43 pm

ent Mervyn collect a new wuk weeks after retiring?
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,187113.html

ever heard of a Chairman as a post within the Police Service? Isn't the RRU staffed by Police Officers using equipment assigned to the TTPS? So why are they not under the ambit of the CoP?
Isn't this the same type of operation the Gov't was against when they disbanded SAUTT?

Hold some more questions from a fellow non-bright guy

http://guardian.co.tt/columnist/2013-12 ... richardson

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2014, 9:54 pm

^^^Well I have to confirm with police service regs...but I believe when there is a vacancy (in this case a pilot project) and there is no officer with the expertise...they can bring back a retired officer until they can fill the vacancy with someone who is still in the service.

But pilot projects/project units don't really get established and so remain contract positions for a long while. They usually hang the hat (in this case - the "chairman") so high only the retired person(s) can reach it...

In other words, project units are eat-ah-food units, make sure man belch and pum proper before dey dead. I see people all 70 years old collecting fat salary an perks to do nuttin.

My question is - ent police supposed to "rapidly" respond to distress calls? Or they normally wait ah few hours then decide to make ah turn? Why are they reinventing the wheel here?

Is there now a SRU - slower response unit?

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Say I dial 999, would I get a recording telling me:

Thank you for calling the TTPS.

For police office hours press 1.

For a listing of police stations press 2.

For a listing of road blocks press 3.

For emergencies including murder, rape, and home invasion press 4.

For crimes including car theft, robbery, assault, domestic abuse and accidents press 5.

For anything else please hang up and visit your nearest police station between 8am to 4pm.

This is a recording.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 13th, 2014, 11:25 pm

rfari wrote:kamala and dem mubbe tek we for some cornt yes

No dude....just you.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 13th, 2014, 11:34 pm

They told the country that a request was made to Google and it looks like that was never done. We need the truth here.

However we still have nothing to investigate. Only opposition supporters grasping at any straw would believe those to be authentic emails.

Postby zoom rader » January 14th, 2014, 4:54 am

Amazing that ppl still believe everything they read in the trinidad guardian

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 14th, 2014, 6:45 am

zoom rader wrote:Amazing that ppl still believe everything they read in the trinidad guardian

so you are saying Google was contacted?

Why when contacted yesterday did Mr. Richardson refuse to comment?

Why is Mr. Kowlessar hiding behind the veil of 'Confidentiality' ?

you guys are shameless.

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2014, 8:34 am

I'd have thought the Gov't would be falling all over themselves to have this investigation wrapped up and expose Rowley, that would make sense wouldn't it?

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2014, 8:36 am

"m'lady" - anand is a neckbeard

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 14th, 2014, 8:51 am

eliteauto wrote:I'd have thought the Gov't would be falling all over themselves to have this investigation wrapped up and expose Rowley, that would make sense wouldn't it?

Sense? Ha!

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 14th, 2014, 11:00 am

^^^ Please prove that the opposition leader presented authentic emails...

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2014, 11:01 am

^^ that is not the purpose of the investigation?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 14th, 2014, 11:02 am

toyota2nr wrote:^^^ Please prove that the opposition leader presented authentic emails...

and that's why Google were supposed to be contacted for assistance.

you cant just sit behind your computer and say its not!

can you prove they aren't?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 14th, 2014, 11:02 am

But what is there to investigate?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 14th, 2014, 11:03 am

5onDfloor wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:^^^ Please prove that the opposition leader presented authentic emails...

and that's why Google were supposed to be contacted for assistance.

you cant just sit behind your computer and say its not!

can you prove they aren't?

Take a look at them again and come back....

How many tuners here in IT? Can anyone say those are authentic?

Postby pete » January 14th, 2014, 11:04 am

They probably waiting for early next year. Good election gimmick?