BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Chemical

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby Chemical » February 24th, 2015, 2:05 pm

Quick question...why not use a dry rub on the lamb instead of the wet local seasoning ?

IMO the local seasoning burns quickly even under very low temperatures and is not particularly suited and takes away the taste from the lamb.

McCormick's has a nice rub (Roasted Garlic and Herb) paired with some fresh rosemary that gives the lamb a really different twist.

BTW porterhouse looked good. Where did you purchase the steak and price / kg?

Postby X_Factor » April 19th, 2015, 11:09 pm

anyone has those rotisserie/toaster oven or new wave oven tingy
does it work well for the rotisserie?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 20th, 2015, 5:58 am

Yes it does the new wave oven, my parents have n early model
It works great for roasting a whole chicken but I prefer Beer can chicken in the oven or pit

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » April 20th, 2015, 7:04 am

Deboned a chicken but left the leg bones alone which was quite easy in the day of YouTube lol
Best way to bar b que a chicken quick n easy
Btw baby rays bbq sauce is one of the best I have had in a while

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1429527737.700974.jpg

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » May 11th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Where locally can i get a 22.5 grill grate?
like the weber 7441

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2015, 5:58 pm

target trading macoya is weber agent, they should have
or buy one of them cheap Chinese knockoffs to get the grill

Postby SR » May 11th, 2015, 6:52 pm

Bhagwansingh piarco or peakes cocorite has original weber

Postby X_Factor » May 20th, 2015, 9:15 pm

u could get or make a smoke box for the wood chips/chunks
let the grill burn for about 15 mins before you use it to burn off any residue etc it may have gathered during the manufacturing process
clean it as best as u can, especially stuff that gets on the burners, thats usually the first thing to rust off if left uncleaned

Postby SR » May 21st, 2015, 5:48 am

xtrail3

Postby xtrail3 » May 21st, 2015, 6:52 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1432205525.163266.jpg

Chinese street style. Dry rub with cumin, onions, soy sauce, 5 spice.

Sweet, tangy addictive flavor.

Postby Redman » May 21st, 2015, 7:48 am

nick639 wrote:Hey guys jus got one of these gas grills

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1432168796.936106.jpg

Pops went and get the fittings to hook up with the normal gas tanks etc and I gonna fire him up soon...

Any recommendations as to
1) what I should do to prolong the life of the grill
2) additional stuff to get the proper smoke flavours to my meats (because I not sure of its strict gas alone or I need smoker wood etc)

It's my grill to abuse so any tips would be appreciated

1)Get a cover-and use it. Not the cheap thin ones -a heavy Canvas material is best.

2) Clean the grill next day-And I hose down using Purple Blaster to get the stuff out.
When done I turn on the grill for 10 min on high to remove any moisture and cleaner residue
WD40 on everything after it cools down.Especially the electrical stuff
3) Cover it. Remember a secure dry spot with space is a custom built rodent hotel-so keep your eye on it.

4) Once or twice a year I power wash it and heat up and lubricate as above-

5) Before using I let it burn for a bit to burn off the residual lubricant

My gas grill is 8 years old and still cranks up like new..I would remove the battery if you aint using it regularly.. And Where I have it it takes rain whenever it rains.

Postby Redman » May 21st, 2015, 9:40 am

Well actually-the dog took a turn in the original covers tail -and my mom got the one I have now-dunno where she got it.

But once its looks resilient then go for it

Postby X_Factor » May 21st, 2015, 9:56 am

Hoss isnt that too much chemicals to use for something u using to cook....
Once the burners and gas pipes are clean and its storedin a dry place he should be good

Postby Redman » May 21st, 2015, 10:09 am

Well the PB is water soluble and I make sure to Wash out repeatedly...and frankly its better than the oven/grill cleaners Ive tried.

the WD40 really is not on everything just on the hinges,electrical and some of the spots where moisture is likely to accumulate

I said everything -my bad.

With the burn out before every use-I havent had any issues.

Postby Chimera » May 21st, 2015, 11:14 am

Man eating wd40 residue with he BBQ yes. I bought one of those cheap 1200 gas grills almost 2 years ago. I does leave it in the rain, sometimes wash it 4 months after using it (when I want to use it again) . And it still going strong lol.

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2015, 7:40 am

it brings a certain tangy flava -exceptional with lamb

crock101

Postby crock101 » May 24th, 2015, 9:02 am

i use a gas grill but i put few pieces of coal on some foil paper right between the burners to add the smoke flavor, also i add a metal bowl filled half way with water, the the water slowly evaporates and keeps the meat from drying out . gets perfect results everytime

Mini

Postby Mini » June 5th, 2015, 6:21 am

Looking for one of those charcoal chimneys locally... where can I get it?

Postby X_Factor » June 5th, 2015, 6:38 am

u mean to light coals?
bhags has it the cheapest i've seen, 130.00

Mini

Postby Mini » June 5th, 2015, 7:15 am

nice... the one in sea lots would have it you think? heading there today...

Postby SR » June 5th, 2015, 9:13 am

Chimney stack bhagwansighs piarco for sure and peakes in cocorite one of the best investments accessory for a charcoal pit

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » June 5th, 2015, 9:20 am

Anywhere in south has it?

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2015, 9:10 pm

Santa maria style grill coming soon.
image.jpg

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 29th, 2015, 9:35 am

SR , for home use I want to use coals . Currently looking for a coal pot . Any advice on that set up ?

Postby SR » June 29th, 2015, 9:51 am

I have one as well... go chaguanas choose your coal pot size to suit your needs go fair n square and buy a stainless steel basin to work as a cover for the size coalpot you bought you can fabricate a wooden handle for it as well as a smoke vent. Compare cost to a weber kettle grill from bagwansighs and decide which is more economical. Coalpots will outlast any kettle grill and you can get replacment grills depending on the size of the pot.

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 10:12 am

i always find coals is too much unnecessary hassle

and with there being no difference in taste...it doh make sense

over the weekend i removed the 2 feet long gas hose that came with my gas grill and put on a 8 foot hose, i use to have to fight up to put the gas tank under the grill because of how short the hose was.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 29th, 2015, 10:18 am

SR wrote:you can get replacment grills depending on the size of the pot.

Where? Need to get one.

Postby SR » June 29th, 2015, 10:36 am

Bhagwansingh piarco peakes cocorite have replacment grills bhagwansingh is cheaper i bought a grill there for my coalpot... and well wallmart if yuh does travel

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2015, 4:16 pm

buy the biggest coal pot you can afford and preferably the square ones,
they have a bigger center section which allows more air
the small round coalpots tend to only allow coals in center to burn hot.

Postby SR » June 30th, 2015, 6:10 pm

I just connected to the threaded end by the pit and a hose clamp no leaks to date and running the same setup on both my gas grill and smoker