PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

fouljuice

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby fouljuice » March 7th, 2013, 9:35 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^atleast you could play it. Was gonna buy it, then i found the reviews about it crashing on gtx 600 series cards... :|

I think that happening on some cards both 500 and 600 series and others too, and the temporary fix is to disable Tessellation.
nvidia wrote:We are aware of performance and stability issues with GeForce GPUs running Tomb Raider with maximum settings. Unfortunately, NVIDIA didn’t receive final game code until this past weekend which substantially decreased stability, image quality and performance over a build we were previously provided. We are working closely with Crystal Dynamics to address and resolve all game issues as quickly as possible.

Please be advised that these issues cannot be completely resolved by an NVIDIA driver. The developer will need to make code changes on their end to fix the issues on GeForce GPUs as well. As a result, we recommend you do not test Tomb Raider until all of the above issues have been resolved.

I disabled it from the start because of low FPS and it hasn't crashed for me so far. The game still looks good even on 'Normal' settings though :shock:

http://kotaku.com/5988941/a-quick-fix-for-tomb-raiders-crash+happy-pc-version

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 8th, 2013, 6:39 am

HCCA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:^atleast you could play it. Was gonna buy it, then i found the reviews about it crashing on gtx 600 series cards... :|

Anyway, had a day off today so i decided to get things started.

In what order your liquid flow gonna be?

In mine is Res out>pump>Rad in>Rad out>Video in>Video out>Cpu in>Cpu out>Res in

mine is pump/res > rad > cpu > gpu > pump/res

i was gonna fit a 120 rad on the rear of the case in between the cpu n gpu but the tubing is really tight and causing the gpu to sag. :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 8th, 2013, 8:57 am

2NR Smurf wrote:mine is pump/res > rad > cpu > gpu > pump/res

i was gonna fit a 120 rad on the rear of the case in between the cpu n gpu but the tubing is really tight and causing the gpu to sag. :(

Nah the 240mm u have now will be enough for your hardware.

I was using a 240mm rad to cool my amd 6 core and a radeon 5850 initially and it cooled well so your setup shouldn't be anything tough to handle.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 8th, 2013, 10:47 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Anyway, had a day off today so i decided to get things started.

In what order your liquid flow gonna be?

In mine is Res out>pump>Rad in>Rad out>Video in>Video out>Cpu in>Cpu out>Res in

mine is pump/res > rad > cpu > gpu > pump/res

i did a few builds with similar setups..

iv learnt through experience that a good pump and rad setup is VERY important. especially for high water flow rates...which is extremely important.
i have from my res which is on top of my swiftech pump which goes my front xspc ex360 rad to my gpu then to the top xspc rs360 rad then to the cpu and back into the res.

VERY happy with the loop, best temps i have seen around these parts when compared to other temps i see ppl getting. my card idles at 26c and 21 with AC on.. my cpu is like 29c and 39-42 after gaming for hours.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 8th, 2013, 7:25 pm

^wow those are some pretty good temps. Doubt i'd get such low idle temps as my room is pretty warm all the time and i hardly ever use my a/c.
My real limitation with this project is my 410 case. Depending on how this turns out...i might upgrade to something like a phantom 630 later on in the year.

orangeguy

Postby orangeguy » March 8th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Hey anyone worked with the Thermaltake GT 10 cases as yet? Thinking of getting one for a upcoming build. What you guys think of it?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 9th, 2013, 5:28 pm

So heres what i came up with. Leak testing in progress. Dont worry i spread my paper towels, i just removed them to take the pic.
The gpu has a lil sag now tho with the tubing and power connected, have to come up with something for that.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 9th, 2013, 5:42 pm

looks good meng :)
put a little blue highlighter fluid in it, put a few UV LEDs :)

ad as for the card sag : http://www.cardkeeper.net/

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » March 12th, 2013, 9:48 am

fouljuice wrote:

I think that happening on some cards both 500 and 600 series and others too, and the temporary fix is to disable Tessellation.
nvidia wrote:We are aware of performance and stability issues with GeForce GPUs running Tomb Raider with maximum settings. Unfortunately, NVIDIA didn’t receive final game code until this past weekend which substantially decreased stability, image quality and performance over a build we were previously provided. We are working closely with Crystal Dynamics to address and resolve all game issues as quickly as possible.

Please be advised that these issues cannot be completely resolved by an NVIDIA driver. The developer will need to make code changes on their end to fix the issues on GeForce GPUs as well. As a result, we recommend you do not test Tomb Raider until all of the above issues have been resolved.

I disabled it from the start because of low FPS and it hasn't crashed for me so far. The game still looks good even on 'Normal' settings though :shock:

http://kotaku.com/5988941/a-quick-fix-for-tomb-raiders-crash+happy-pc-version

Yeah tesselation is the culprit apparently...but seeing TressFx and having to disable it is torture...im sorry for console gamers i must say. Running great on my gtx 660ti so far though. Crysis 3 is what's pissing me off.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 14th, 2013, 2:20 am

orangeguy wrote:Hey anyone worked with the Thermaltake GT 10 cases as yet? Thinking of getting one for a upcoming build. What you guys think of it?

I have one on order for my new animation computer. I should have all the components for it this week hopefully. In my research it looked like the best choice:

5 Hot swap hard drive bays.
Fans galore.
Swap out the 120mm top fan for a 240mm water cooling radiator.
Big enough to move in a family of four!

Seems like a beast of a case and solid reviews throughout. When it lands I'll be posting up some pics.

Looks like the kind of case that would draw a crowd at a LAN party just straight out of the box.

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » March 14th, 2013, 10:55 am

DTAC wrote:
orangeguy wrote:Hey anyone worked with the Thermaltake GT 10 cases as yet? Thinking of getting one for a upcoming build. What you guys think of it?

I have one on order for my new animation computer. I should have all the components for it this week hopefully. In my research it looked like the best choice:

Fans galore.

Seems like a beast of a case and solid reviews throughout. When it lands I'll be posting up some pics.

Looks like the kind of case that would draw a crowd at a LAN party just straight out of the box.

Kool, let me know how it turns out. I was always interested in these cases too. How much that would cost on average to bring down though? Which one you settled on, the white snow edition or the regular black?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 16th, 2013, 5:19 pm

thinking to do sumn like this
except the desk will look like a normal desk

and there will be a crappy decoy PC in case someone breaks into my home

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 16th, 2013, 6:06 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Image

thinking to do sumn like this
except the desk will look like a normal desk

and there will be a crappy decoy PC in case someone breaks into my home

Yeah thas the Red Harbinger desk, $2000US for it.

On overclock.net and bit-tech.net have a lot of good build logs for diff desk-pcs.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 16th, 2013, 6:48 pm

I wa ah chair so...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 17th, 2013, 11:40 am

Yea I hadda get a good chair first too :lol:

Postby stev » March 17th, 2013, 1:21 pm

dem chairs in pricesmart good? i see some of them lookin shaky.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 17th, 2013, 5:58 pm

stev wrote:dem chairs in pricesmart good? i see some of them lookin shaky.

I have one of the brown ones about 3 years now. The chair still physically working good but the material start to flake out a while now so it looking like I buy it from a piper.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 18th, 2013, 2:57 am

Carnage117 wrote:
DTAC wrote:

Fans galore.

Kool, let me know how it turns out. I was always interested in these cases too. How much that would cost on average to bring down though? Which one you settled on, the white snow edition or the regular black?

I chose the regular "classic" black one. The case cost me $255US with about $30US ground shipping to the US address for everything. It's a big ass case so the shipping to Trinidad might be a good bit. The whole thing is coming by boat so it's taking forever (like another week again). I hope it's in my friend's container of computer parts, but I'll let you know what the shipping to Trinidad was once if it all came by itself when it's delivered.

xaira

Postby xaira » March 21st, 2013, 5:16 pm

anybody using powerline??? how it treating you? post ping and file transfer speeds if possible

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 24th, 2013, 7:43 pm

I've been trying to figure out a way to do this via 3rd party software but no luck. Only finding Cisco a network magic which is no longer supported. Basically I have a small WiFi network setup at home and I'd like to view all the wireless devices connected to my router with the ability to browse the contents of these devices and copy files etc as well as kick them off the network, is it possible to do this within windows ? I only see devices connected via Ethernet cables on windows. Thanks for any advice

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » March 24th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Not sure about transferring the files but I think there is a feature when you log in your router to view all the devices connected to it... I have a Belkin n150 and I can view all devices when I log in

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 9:22 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:I've been trying to figure out a way to do this via 3rd party software but no luck. Only finding Cisco a network magic which is no longer supported. Basically I have a small WiFi network setup at home and I'd like to view all the wireless devices connected to my router with the ability to browse the contents of these devices and copy files etc as well as kick them off the network, is it possible to do this within windows ? I only see devices connected via Ethernet cables on windows. Thanks for any advice

this can be done in windows

assuming that all your devices are computers (not smartphones / tablets):

1. verify that all the machines are on the same workgroup (eg. WORKGROUP, MSHOME, custom, etc)

2. verify all devices get IP addresses from a single source (assuming u use DHCP) and they all are on the same subnet.

then u will able to 'see' the machines in windows under 'network' in windows

u cant browse the devices freely without a username and password (assuming each device has one) and u can only see folders and copy stuff that u specifically share on that device.

the fastest way (in my opinion) to kick any device from the network is to log into your router which has the DHCP server on it....and look for the DHCP client list...i believe all routers will have this (someone correct me if i am wrong)

in this list u will see all devices connected to your home network and their respective MAC Addresses.....nearly all routers offer MAC Address filtering....search for the feature (probably under the security section) in your router and add the MAC address of the device u want to kick to the filter list....remove it from the list when u want to permit it.......smartphones / tablets can be filtered.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 24th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Gonna make a dust filter with wire and an old vest
the CD's covered with vaseline trap some dust, but thats the dust inside the case, I wanna prevent dust from going in all together

the air here is like 98% dust
I hadda breathe with a jockeys over my head

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 25th, 2013, 9:29 pm

stev wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:I've been trying to figure out a way to do this via 3rd party software but no luck. Only finding Cisco a network magic which is no longer supported. Basically I have a small WiFi network setup at home and I'd like to view all the wireless devices connected to my router with the ability to browse the contents of these devices and copy files etc as well as kick them off the network, is it possible to do this within windows ? I only see devices connected via Ethernet cables on windows. Thanks for any advice

this can be done in windows

assuming that all your devices are computers (not smartphones / tablets):

1. verify that all the machines are on the same workgroup (eg. WORKGROUP, MSHOME, custom, etc)

2. verify all devices get IP addresses from a single source (assuming u use DHCP) and they all are on the same subnet.

then u will able to 'see' the machines in windows under 'network' in windows

u cant browse the devices freely without a username and password (assuming each device has one) and u can only see folders and copy stuff that u specifically share on that device.

the fastest way (in my opinion) to kick any device from the network is to log into your router which has the DHCP server on it....and look for the DHCP client list...i believe all routers will have this (someone correct me if i am wrong)

in this list u will see all devices connected to your home network and their respective MAC Addresses.....nearly all routers offer MAC Address filtering....search for the feature (probably under the security section) in your router and add the MAC address of the device u want to kick to the filter list....remove it from the list when u want to permit it.......smartphones / tablets can be filtered.

Thanks a lot guys. I'll give this a try soon when I have some spare time.

Also I'm trying to troubleshoot some errors I'm having with a laptop, windows 7 WILL NOT install at all, getting stuck on setup is starting. Installed Ubuntu as suggested by someone here and it runs fine but I can't keep it running on Ubuntu cuz the X1200 ATI integrated card it has isn't well supported hence it moves really slowly.

Anyway, I've been thinking the only possible reason it may not install is due to bad RAM. Ubuntu detects a problem with the system, but it still runs.

I'm running a Memtest x86+ using Ubuntu and I tried each individual 2gb stick in each slot and each time it returned with infinite errors at Test 7. I'm currently running a test with both sticks installed but I assume the same error will pop up.

Anyone has any idea what this means? If the slots on the mobo itself could be faulty or what ?

From what I read, test 7 is when it uses larger memory blocks or something so and those errors would occur when the memory can't keep up. Cuz it gets pretty hot.

Btw the laptop is an Acer Aspire 5516

EDIT : this is rather weird, couldn't find my Windows 7 disk so I popped in a Windows 8 one and it installed find. I'm now wondering if I didn't seat the RAM cards right initially. Back up and running anyway :)
Last edited by Jonathan_337 on March 27th, 2013, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » March 26th, 2013, 10:45 am

Anyone here has a 680 for sale ?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 29th, 2013, 9:02 pm

I have a dead hard drive here, and I want to open it for lulz

but I doh have the screw driver for it because it looks like this

where sells this screwdriver singly?
or shud I file down a flat head to fit across 2 points?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 29th, 2013, 9:23 pm

It's a hex screw...hardware should most likely have it

Arkane

Postby Arkane » March 29th, 2013, 10:13 pm

Hello all,

New to the forums, so please excuse if I posted this in the wrong place,

I recently purchased a MSI Twin Frozer 7850 and was given a coupon for two steam codes for the games Bioshock Infinite, and the New Tomb Raider.

While I know they are both excellently reviewed and highly anticipated games, I would much rather recoup some of the cost of my graphics card.

So if anyone is interested in buying a pair of steam codes, PM me.

[url]http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/03/29/bioshock-infinite-review-already-the-game-of-the-year.html][/url]

[youtube]http://youtu.be/6-1Xn0hZsIw[/youtube]

Arkane

Postby Arkane » March 29th, 2013, 10:14 pm

Hello all,

New to the forums, so please excuse if I posted this in the wrong place,

I recently purchased a MSI Twin Frozer 7850 and was given a coupon for two steam codes for the games Bioshock Infinite, and the New Tomb Raider.

While I know they are both excellently reviewed and highly anticipated games, I would much rather recoup some of the cost of my graphics card.

So if anyone is interested in buying a pair of steam codes, PM me.

Postby stev » March 31st, 2013, 1:54 pm

not sure if it was posted b4 but anyone built their own DVR?

thinking about building one...any advice?