T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby noshownogo » February 16th, 2014, 8:44 pm

know two people change Tucson brake pads with very low mileage, must be making the pads with chalk.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 17th, 2014, 12:51 pm

They get changed under warranty or people had to shell out money?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 17th, 2014, 5:19 pm

tourniquet wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:
tourniquet wrote:Passed through Maska and M. Rampersad as well, but didn't bother taking note of their pricing; had a good laugh though.

I said the same until I went Massey and started adding accessories to my van then I got a shocker, in addition so far I've seen two cases where the local 4x4 Manual 6FWD Navara Clutch cylinders are breaking off at the firewall anyone on tuner experience this??

One more, Tuscon owners have you had to change brakes (all pads) after your first 5K service ??

wrt to the navaras and hilux, feature wise, the only useful advantages/ features I could see with the outside dealerships, were the cruise control, and in some cases, traction control. Beyond that, the blingy wheels, additional lights, body kits and side cladding really aren't to my taste. The worst thing for me though has to be the interior, where the term "putting lipstick on a pig," really comes to mind.
Mechanically speaking, I honestly can't recall the major differences, but I know the guys over in the truck forum mention them ever so often.

As for the Tuscon, I was chatting with some old guy last year at the stealership and he mentioned he was in to have all his pads replaced; I think he was doing around 12,000 km.

I myself thought that Rampersad etc. were just adding crap to vehicles for the sake of it but low and behold after I did some research and it wasn't so, yes they add items if owners want but they start with certain trims available only to the Asian market and that is what they import.

I'm not a fan of the lights, blingy wheels myself so I ordered a simple Sports Version, which came directly from Nissan Thailand in its full trim all surpporting documentation in glove box with 256km on the odometer its slightly more powerful and holds the road alot better than it's local counterpart, I had several friends that own Navaras try it and its always the same reaction I also had a local that a different story.

In my case I had already chosen the vehicle I was taking from Massey then decided to make a trip south and that was that, I have no regrets and a 3 year warranty with 1 more free service, currently on 15k +.

In addition when I was finished adding basic accessories such as side steps and tray cover to the local 4x4 Auto leather (what Nissan calls leather) came up roughly 22k more than Rampersad who also gave me a an additional discount on the overall price more the the 4k discount Massey offered this was before N&M sale madness.

Personally, I may just be fed up of the nonsense I've been served from local firms but what is one to do but look for the best option available.

I've met quite a few owners of local pickups coming to Rampersad for help because they ended up screwed and Rampersad tries to help even when there is no gain for them and that customer service is why I would buy from them again.

Heres a link to a discussion we had last year in the Truck and Pickup section viewtopic.php?f=41&t=515114&hilit=rampersad

A link to the one we have in the garage home http://www.nissan-core.com/online/SNA/e ... 140745.htm exact thing.

For me it come down to where I felt I got more value for my money, at this moment a friend is without his Navara due to a cracked clutch cylinder (cracked right by the firewall) which adds to the number of these issues I've seen with the local 4x4 Manual.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 17th, 2014, 5:23 pm

drchaos wrote:They get changed under warranty or people had to shell out money?

I changed on our two doing under 10,000km and I had to pay,one is hardly driven, must of been given special pads??? :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 20th, 2014, 5:40 pm

good stuff man, hope it continues to treat you well :)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 22nd, 2014, 11:47 pm

Checked out the Ford Kuga today, did not test drive.
Overall was not very impressed, the interior had alot of cheap plastics that would flex and creak when you gently push on it or grasp it. Sitting did feel comfortable with the driving position and infotainment system was very good, bluetooth and iphone connectivity, push to start and all the needed buttons on the steering wheel (which was not leather wrapped, soft vinyl). Lots of buttons on the dash which can be hard to use while driving.

pretty expensive at 329 K for a 1.6L engine (It is Turbo charged) and 4 wheel drive.

Lastly the automatic trunk door seems more like a gimmick rather that something that would be useful.

Also sat in an Accord and boy did that feel nice compared to the Fords.

aidan

Postby aidan » February 23rd, 2014, 10:58 am

So anyone know the specs and pricing on the Nissan NP300?

Oxonian

Postby Oxonian » February 24th, 2014, 6:37 pm

Does anyone have pricing info on the Range Rover Evoque?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 24th, 2014, 7:13 pm

if u hadda ask mean u cant afford it

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 24th, 2014, 8:39 pm

The range rover evoque starts around $650K. There are 3 lines available with the price going all the way up to $765K.

Oxonian

Postby Oxonian » February 24th, 2014, 8:56 pm

650k isn't bad as i'm looking at the X3. Didn't get a chance to go down to Trafalgar from Richmond so thanks for the info!

Postby S_2NR » February 24th, 2014, 9:05 pm

yu could call you know. phones still do that

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » February 24th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Oxonian wrote:650k isn't bad as i'm looking at the X3. Didn't get a chance to go down to Trafalgar from Richmond so thanks for the info!

But to get the nice looking Version you do have to pay the $750k. :) the base is nice but just doesn't have the nice pipes and the whole extra body package etc.

I think you get better for you buck with the X3.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 25th, 2014, 7:16 am

I agree with 4motion. The X3 will be the better buy

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 12:08 pm

So the 2014 Mazda 3 sedan and hatchback is officially here and should be in the showroom for display however all units are sold out with the exception of 1 as of yesterday.

My source indicated the following unconfirmed features which applies to both h/back and sedan:

- 1.5 / 1.6?? DOHC 16V dual SV-T SKYACTIV-G in-line 4 cylinder
- 6 speed SKYACTIV transmission (which they claim is more efficient than a dual clutch)
- dual SRS airbags
- 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS/EBD and EBA
- projector HID headlights
- fog lights
- 16" alloy rims
- steering wheel controls
- manual a/c
- fabric seats
- indicator lights on wing mirrors
- rear view camera
- front and rear independent suspension (Mc Pherson strut front and multi-link rear)
- Driver Information TFT display on top of dash (just like the new BMW 3-series) with knob controller on center console
- typical AM/FM/CD/Mp3 sound system
- split seatbacks (rear) with only 2 head rests
- keyless entry system with push button start
Priced at $210,000.

If there is anyone who can post more info wrt confirmed specs and pricing I'm sure we all would appreciate this.

Talk is the fully equipped 2.0 version with 6 airbags, leather power seats, sunroof, BOSE audio, lip spoiler, 17"/18" rims and dual zone auto climate control etc may be on its way in a couple months.
speculated pricing would be in the $250-$260k range

Lastly the 2.5L option is not available for T&T otherwise if it was and they brought them in, I am almost certain no one will pay for a $300k+ little Mazda 3

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 7th, 2014, 12:39 pm

the 2.0 version you got that from sales people for that is just speculation? The price sounds a little low, as the MVT would be almost 40K alone for a 2.0L engine. Also with leather, sunroof, bose system, 17's and spoiler its starts to sound like it maybe more like 280

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 12:53 pm

you are right chaos. I tend to be very mindful of info obtained from dealers especially when you hear words like "speculated" and "estimated" etc..thing is, I wouldn't be surprised if a lower figure is quoted in the earlies only to find out months later via explanations like "well the price of oil fluctuating" and the "USD losing value" talk. If the special order Jetta is 292k and the 1.8 Civic is $297k then I'm guessing a 2.0 mazda 3 @ 280k may not be so far fetched after all. The GT Lancer with sunroof is almost there too.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » March 7th, 2014, 4:56 pm

acesinghit do you know if those projector hid's are the one with the DRL's?

Also from my research the skyactiv transmissions do indeed have less losses but the extra weight (compared to the DCT and of manual) negate any overall benefits.
You can see it quite clearly from the difference in performance figures for manual vs auto in the skyactiv suite as compared to the difference between manual and dual clutch in other cars

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 5:30 pm

Adjudicator sorry but I don't think it has the embedded drls in the headlights. Maybe someone can confirm this for us...wrt to the transmission I guess if we are getting the skyactiv 1.5 then that should keep up with its 1.6 and 1.8 competitors? If true it's funny how the new corolla is now a 1.6 and the Mazda is now a 1.5 tables turn.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 7th, 2014, 6:29 pm

Sales guy in South told me 1.6 non Skyactiv engine will be brought in with the rest of the car being skyactiv.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » March 7th, 2014, 7:53 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Sales guy in South told me 1.6 non Skyactiv engine will be brought in with the rest of the car being skyactiv.

Well that sucks.
They were already bringing the deadest skyactiv engine now we hear it's not even skyactiv at all

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 7th, 2014, 8:32 pm

Lol lol so the dated mzr 1.6 tracing its roots to my2003 is fitted in a car designed around the skyactiv philosophy? That is dissapointing because my contact told me 1.6 but I thought he made an error! Turns out it's the 2nd time carry over motor. This also means the transmission is 4speed and not 6speed.
The irony in this is I saw them convoy style with demo plates heading east tonight so perhaps they carrying them to Sando. I made sure to observe the front lights and saw no drl LEDs.

Rip Mazda

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » March 7th, 2014, 9:03 pm

This is pretty sad because I always had a soft spot for mazda and their philosophy. The only logic I can see in this should it prove to be true is SS are afraid to scare away customers with a car that can only use premium.
Oh well I suppose if I really have my heart set on the new 3 then foreign used will answer my call complete with all the bells and whistles

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 7th, 2014, 10:24 pm

The only thing not skyactiv is the engines so don't bother writing about old this and that cuz the rest of the car is skyactiv including the chassis and tranny which means it's lighter and more efficient and gets better fuel economy than the old outgoing Mazda 3.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2014, 4:15 am

Thought the new slyactiv engines run on super? Read In foreign they need Ron 91. Super high compression but they messed with the headers to help cool the engine better so lower octane can be used. Anyone can confirm or refute? Lastly shame on ss they should tell Mazda full skyactive or shove it. This is not some crap 3rd world market they can dump their old hardware.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » March 8th, 2014, 8:26 am

I did a quick browse of the internet and from the few articles I read Skyactive does indeed use premium.

The 91 octane that is referred to is 91 AKI which is the equivalent of 95 RON (t&t premium)

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » March 8th, 2014, 8:45 am

Actually the US market does get a detuned version that uses 91RON however we like most other places get the Japanese version which would require 95.
Also I don't think the Trinidad market is large enough to dictate too much what they want

Postby Morpheus » March 8th, 2014, 10:35 am

Doh worry. Only the Audi and BMW drivers need premium. They could afford it.

All ten :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 8th, 2014, 11:12 am

Well if skyactiv engines really require a higher octane fuel naturally because of the higher compression ratio then I guess it was smart of Mazda to pack these cars with the mzr 1.6 sadly though they did not have any powerful small displacement in inventory to choose from. Imagine with the top handling dynamics of this Mazda paired with the Suzuki m16a motor from the new swift sport... :twisted:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 8th, 2014, 12:59 pm

acesinghit wrote:. . .paired with the Suzuki m16a motor from the new swift sport... :twisted:

But doesn't that engine also require premium fuel? At least, that's what Lifestyle Motors had published in an advertisement the other day in the newspapers.