PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 13th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Depends on how much you're willing to spend.
Judging by the age of that card...i'm guessing that your overall system is about the same age too?
Anything mid-range would do...So a GTX 550ti/560 would be good enough.

If you can source a GTS 450/GTX 460..you can get either one as well

A GTX 660 would be great but then again idk what's your overall system specs are because throwing in a GPU like that into a dinosaur system would just bottleneck it :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2013, 5:15 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Depends on how much you're willing to spend.
Judging by the age of that card...i'm guessing that your overall system is about the same age too?

A GTX 660 would be great but then again idk what's your overall system specs are because throwing in a GPU like that into a dinosaur system would just bottleneck it :|

I think he running ah athlon 64 x2 or sumting so. :lol:

CPU go hadda upgrade to support dem newer mid range cards.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » January 13th, 2013, 5:24 pm

Postby M_2NR » January 13th, 2013, 5:36 pm

And that's why I don't bother with oc'n and water cooling. The stress factor. I rel hoping that gpu eh get damage boy smurf.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2013, 5:41 pm

M_2NR wrote:And that's why I don't bother with oc'n and water cooling. The stress factor. I rel hoping that gpu eh get damage boy smurf.

Yeah but thas a tiny overclock on air dey, that nuh supposed to do anything.

Unless the card is a factory super duper overclocked wow wtf card.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 13th, 2013, 5:43 pm

Pios is bess yuh cho wey yuh PC oui

WRT to the GPU oc'ing

I had my 560SC OC'd to 925/950MHz on the core and 2225MHz on the Memory last year. Everything ran fine...threw 3d mark and furmark at it and any issues with it really...
Stock Clocks were 851MHz on the core and 2052MHz on the memory

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 13th, 2013, 7:47 pm

HCCA wrote:
M_2NR wrote:And that's why I don't bother with oc'n and water cooling. The stress factor. I rel hoping that gpu eh get damage boy smurf.

same thing i was thinking...one of the reasons why i bought this card was because of its overclock headroom. The card worked flawlessly up until the lil o/c, i just wish i knew exactly what went wrong...

*sigh* im giving it till after carnival to see how it holds up...after that i guess ill have to decide on a direct replacement or something new. the EVGA 680 FTW and the MSI N680GTX TWIN FROZR 4GD5/OC lookin good.

this is why i didnt want a high end gpu in the first place yes...but now the gfx bug done bit me... :(

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 13th, 2013, 8:53 pm

You should get the Lightening Edition instead...
I really doubt you actually need 4GB of VRAM :lol:

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 2:19 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Depends on how much you're willing to spend.

I think he running ah athlon 64 x2 or sumting so. :lol:

CPU go hadda upgrade to support dem newer mid range cards.

X2 250 :|

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 14th, 2013, 7:03 pm

pioneer wrote:What would be a decent step up from an NVIDIA 8800 GT?

bwahahahahaha, d pios runnin 8800 gt, even my htpc card better dan dat.....or is it :oops:

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 14th, 2013, 7:07 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

same thing i was thinking...one of the reasons why i bought this card was because of its overclock headroom. The card worked flawlessly up until the lil o/c, i just wish i knew exactly what went wrong...

*sigh* im giving it till after carnival to see how it holds up...after that i guess ill have to decide on a direct replacement or something new. the EVGA 680 FTW and the MSI N680GTX TWIN FROZR 4GD5/OC lookin good.

this is why i didnt want a high end gpu in the first place yes...but now the gfx bug done bit me... :(

Sorry about the card, but I wouldn't have done any OC'ing until I Water cooled. I not even touching my Card until I can. I have an XFX Black Edition Card so I guess I good to go for the while.

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 7:16 pm

Nah well I just use it for RTS game like company of heroes etc when I bored...my aim is not hardcore gaming

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 14th, 2013, 7:44 pm

pioneer wrote:Nah well I just use it for RTS game like company of heroes etc when I bored...my aim is not hardcore gaming

Then you wouldn't need to upgrade.

If you want directx 11 features you can use a gts 450, gtx 560 or gtx 650 so.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 14th, 2013, 9:41 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Sorry about the card, but I wouldn't have done any OC'ing until I Water cooled. I not even touching my Card until I can. I have an XFX Black Edition Card so I guess I good to go for the while.

I wasnt gonna o/c till i watercool either...but i mean...20mhz and 50mhz?? something way out of the ordinary went wrong here im sure of it. Waiting to see if amazon gets back in stock...it really is one of the better cards for the price out there. Where you got your black edition?

Postby M_2NR » January 15th, 2013, 1:27 am

Damn! That wasn't much either then. :(
You should probably try it out on another system though. Just to be certain.

Pios, if you're not gonna do much gaming my advice is buy an SSD if you still need to use the PC. You won't really notice much by bumping the GPU up from the 8800gt unless its dx11 games then you'd see an increase in fps but the rest of the setup will bottleneck most modern day "higher end" cards. The SSD will make the system feel quite faster though but don't expect any increase in performance in games.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 15th, 2013, 4:57 am

Or he could just build a new system.
Supertech has an Asrock N68-VS3 for $295 and a Phenom II X4 945 for $795

What allyuh think about this btw? :lol:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 15th, 2013, 8:16 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:

Hmmm that's something there yes

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 15th, 2013, 9:38 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Or he could just build a new system.

i think if it works and gets does what he needs it to do...

win!

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 15th, 2013, 12:45 pm

I think that board has a better VRM than most normal ATX boards lol

I want one for a mini mega gaming rig

desert punk

Postby desert punk » January 15th, 2013, 8:51 pm

anyone here knows who fixes the back light in the lcd monitors an them.
If you flash a light on the screen you can see the windows desktop everything.
here's the monitor
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/prod ... u=320-1070

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 15th, 2013, 10:44 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:
HCCA wrote:

I wasnt gonna o/c till i watercool either...but i mean...20mhz and 50mhz?? something way out of the ordinary went wrong here im sure of it. Waiting to see if amazon gets back in stock...it really is one of the better cards for the price out there. Where you got your black edition?

On Amazon through this seller, entire transaction was smooth.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0074C ... 02_s00_i00

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » January 15th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Or he could just build a new system.

Very nice, no airflow issues at all.

Have me excited to get my itx stuff tomorrow and then the itx case for it on Friday...

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 16th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:What allyuh think about this btw? :lol:

That's kinda funny but sad at the same time

AIO expandable WC solution from swiftech. Looking decent & from a very reputable company

xaira

Postby xaira » January 18th, 2013, 12:22 pm

inspiron 1525 9/10 $1,500

still have the gt 240 for $260

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 18th, 2013, 8:37 pm

Guys how feasible is it to RMA my card from trini? is this option even available to me since im outside the us?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 18th, 2013, 9:02 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Guys how feasible is it to RMA my card from trini? is this option even available to me since im outside the us?

Plenty people rma from trinidad. All u have to do is organise the rma with the manufacturer and get your skybox to ship it to them.

I think u have to notify ur skybox that the card dey shipping back is a replacement so u don't get charged vat when it comes back in.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » January 19th, 2013, 12:18 am

HCCA wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:Guys how feasible is it to RMA my card from trini? is this option even available to me since im outside the us?

Plenty people rma from trinidad. All u have to do is organise the rma with the manufacturer and get your skybox to ship it to them.

I think u have to notify ur skybox that the card dey shipping back is a replacement so u don't get charged vat when it comes back in.

Don't they kill us with shipping costs in outbound shipping?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 20th, 2013, 9:35 am

Anyone here ever done it before?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 20th, 2013, 3:46 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Anyone here ever done it before?

You can't ship it back to amazon? If not, I figure your best bet (believe it or not) is to read the negative reviews and see if anyone shipped items back to MSI

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 20th, 2013, 5:51 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:Anyone here ever done it before?

You can't ship it back to amazon? If not, I figure your best bet (believe it or not) is to read the negative reviews and see if anyone shipped items back to MSI

It have one tuner i know who ship back to msi, go ask him to comment here.

But amazon/original seller should be the first course for rma.