:: The official TOOLS thread ::

jackal

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby jackal » May 23rd, 2021, 9:11 am

Electrical.jpg
Bought this electrical wire termination, ferrules kit.

I feel this is a must for a DIY electrical person.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2021, 1:01 pm

jackal wrote:
Electrical.jpg
Bought this electrical wire termination, ferrules kit.

Locally or Amazon?

Postby Rovin » May 23rd, 2021, 1:21 pm

looks good , i have a similar kit

i bet he got it from amazon cause locally doesnt have 1shit & even if anybody brings them in they wanna make a pound\crown ...

Postby Kenjo » May 23rd, 2021, 2:22 pm

Just did a diy change out of the radio unit on my car radio but the electrical tape to the harness has me feeling to use some of the more secure wire connectors I’m seeing on Amazon so I may just order something similar. Either connectors that need the heat gun or otherwise but I’ll check further on Amazon .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2021, 2:27 pm

Kenjo wrote:Just did a diy change out of the radio unit on my car radio but the electrical tape to the harness has me feeling to use some of the more secure wire connectors I’m seeing on Amazon so I may just order something similar. Either connectors that need the heat gun or otherwise but I’ll check further on Amazon .
Steves in San Juan have connectors for like $1 but with the lockdown is pressure.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2021, 2:30 pm

Rovin wrote:looks good , i have a similar kit

i bet he got it from amazon cause locally doesnt have 1shit & even if anybody brings them in they wanna make a pound\crown ...
I ordered a kit on Amazon a couple weeks ago for that same reason, skybox playing the donkey tho. Loving the diy route that I have gone with car audio and slowly getting my tools.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 23rd, 2021, 4:50 pm

Looking for some of those big ferrules tho

0g x2
4g x4
8g x2

Already have the kit with the smaller ones and the crimp tool

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2021, 9:02 pm

Can welding oxygen tanks be modified to be used for medical oxygen and if so are there any companies that do it locally

jackal

Postby jackal » May 24th, 2021, 6:46 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
jackal wrote:Electrical.jpgBought this electrical wire termination, ferrules kit.

Locally or Amazon?

Amazon.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 25th, 2021, 10:10 pm

that m12 screwdriver bess for the price, 2 batteries a charger and the tool.

i have plenty m12 tools and could do with some batteries.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 26th, 2021, 6:42 am

what a good cheap grinder to buy just for sharpening ah 3line and some knives occasionally?
What kinda price dem ting does be? I fedup goin by meh mechanic to get stuff sharpen.

For d car audio why not use the conversion harness an dem so you would have no cutting or nothing to do.

Postby Kenjo » May 26th, 2021, 7:04 am

daxt0r wrote:what a good cheap grinder to buy just for sharpening ah 3line and some knives occasionally?
What kinda price dem ting does be? I fedup goin by meh mechanic to get stuff sharpen.

For d car audio why not use the conversion harness an dem so you would have no cutting or nothing to do.

The car audio harnesses are sometimes different so you would have to cut the wires anyway. Could get grinders for around $300 but once you not planning any heavy duty use that should be just fine

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 26th, 2021, 7:15 am

not really, unless it a really special deck its harness would be ISO standard. I have conversion harness for multiple manufactures and for multiple years and it changes and they sometimes use a different pinout (like prado) and never had to cut a wire yet at least in new model vehicles i normally pull dem jap decks out of.
Never believed in cutting harness and soldering, seen all to much decks grounded off or affecting other sensitive circuitry with this type of thing, Straight conversion or Tconnectors. I see a Xtrail that windows would come down/up randomly when deck is powered on/off and power windows would fold if you change station lol.

Postby MG Man » May 26th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Kenjo wrote:
daxt0r wrote:what a good cheap grinder to buy just for sharpening ah 3line and some knives occasionally?

The car audio harnesses are sometimes different so you would have to cut the wires anyway. Could get grinders for around $300 but once you not planning any heavy duty use that should be just fine

I have a Skil grinder from pricesmart that has taken a ridiculous amount of jamming and abuse for a cheap tool
Def recommended

Postby Rovin » May 26th, 2021, 6:31 pm

Kenjo wrote:

I have a Skil grinder from pricesmart that has taken a ridiculous amount of jamming and abuse for a cheap tool
Def recommended

i same that same PS skil grinder some yrs going - maybe 8yrs i have it paid iirc $280 back then , not using it everyday but like mg said it got alot of use over d yrs on various projects & it still alive , no where in d class of a makita my bro has but for a cheapo tool it still working ...

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 26th, 2021, 6:34 pm

thx for d recommendation da sounds like a plan
PS section for all dem tings close off for now ah believe but ah go check it out whenever things get back relatively normal

Postby Rovin » May 26th, 2021, 6:41 pm

if u doing a a simple deck replacement & d original dash harness has never been tampered with b4 then yes all u need to do use a appropriate harness adapter & wire it to ur aftermarket deck harness & simply plug n play but some cars with steering wheel controls or if u adding amps or reverse cams u will need to hard wire some stuff .... cars nowadays far more complicated than long time : look at dean five star car stereo on youtube

Postby Gladiator » May 26th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Def recommended

Yeah boy I have one of those Skill grinders from Pricesmart... a very brutal tool. I hate it but it does wuk. Trying to spoil it for about 2 years now to upgrade... but it wont die.

Just weekend I had to buss piece of concrete and I dont have a hilti so I use the grinder with a masonary cutting bit and slice up the concrete in 1" squares to make it easy to buss. The grinder wuk and never complain...

Postby Chimera » May 27th, 2021, 12:28 am

anyone ever make a potato gun/ spud gun?

schedule 40 pvc pipe for all the fittings would work safely?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 27th, 2021, 4:40 am

Rovin wrote:

if u doing a a simple deck replacement & d original dash harness has never been tampered with b4 then yes all u need to do use a appropriate harness adapter & wire it to ur aftermarket deck harness & simply plug n play but some cars with steering wheel controls or if u adding amps or reverse cams u will need to hard wire some stuff .... cars nowadays far more complicated than long time : look at dean five star car stereo on youtube

yea all those things like reverse cams and steering controls have conversion harness and tech to maintain stock. only an amp would require hard wiring as its external accessory wired outside the car's electrical. That being said saw an amp signal on line causing headlight and window actuator issues due to sensitive CAN so yea new cars the more tech meaning you really shouldn't be cutting an soldering.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 27th, 2021, 11:50 am

Has anyone bought the Total cordless impact wrench or EMTop impact wrench? Any reviews on any of them if anyone bought them.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 27th, 2021, 12:54 pm

Anybody ever bought those oil filter cup removal kits?
The one with a variety of cups to take of oil filter. Like 20 sumthing cup.
I have a cup for mom NZE121 that works perfectly. But bought 2 wrong cups for the Hilux oil filter removal.

grnrstbn

Postby grnrstbn » May 27th, 2021, 9:00 pm

Sad day in the shop, my spirit level fell off my workbench and broke clear through... :/
Shopping for new ones now.
20210527_204358 (Large).jpg

Postby Kenjo » May 27th, 2021, 10:43 pm

grnrstbn wrote:Sad day in the shop, my spirit level fell off my workbench and broke clear through... :/

You fell to a whole new level ?

Postby De Dragon » May 27th, 2021, 11:04 pm

Kenjo wrote:
grnrstbn wrote:Sad day in the shop, my spirit level fell off my workbench and broke clear through... :/

You fell to a whole new level ?

Not uncommon in older, UV exposed plastics. I had a pair of shades for years with no issues, and one day a 3 foot drop broke it .

Postby Ted_v2 » May 29th, 2021, 11:02 am

ADONI wrote:Anybody ever bought those oil filter cup removal kits?
The one with a variety of cups to take of oil filter. Like 20 sumthing cup.
I have a cup for mom NZE121 that works perfectly. But bought 2 wrong cups for the Hilux oil filter removal.

Junk.

get a 3 jaw styled, those work good on the hilux, if u have a old piece of seatbelt you could make the belt styled one also, cups tend to slip a lot, doesn't fit with all filters etc, its good for OEM filters like working in a firm or something.

ill post up a picture of my belt one, made it in like 5 mins.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 29th, 2021, 11:11 am

IMG_9858.JPG
IMG_9859.JPG
IMG_9860.JPG

Postby Ted_v2 » May 29th, 2021, 11:40 am

the belt was roughly stitched on the inside, two loops around to keep the socket from spreading and assisting the belt from being removed, did like 20 oil changes with it so far, all worked fine, working from ph8A frontier/ranger/laurel to tiny qr20 oil filters. occupying the same space as a wheel socket in my toolpan.

hindian

Postby hindian » May 29th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:the belt was roughly stitched on the inside, two loops around to keep the socket from spreading and assisting the belt from being removed, did like 20 oil changes with it so far, all worked fine, working from ph8A frontier/ranger/laurel to tiny qr20 oil filters. occupying the same space as a wheel socket in my toolpan.
Made mine from 1/2" square steel, same principle as yours just mine longer about 12" I turn it with an adjustable wrench. Mostly used for hilux vigo and Rocco models and grand vitara filters. The grand vitara filter location is a PITA I find to take it out

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2021, 3:00 pm

how does it work ?