Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby DFC » January 26th, 2014, 9:18 pm

Trinidad and Tobago we love we powdah.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 26th, 2014, 9:45 pm

So much for that Facebook page and their hoax list of names.

Anyone feel like speaking out?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 26th, 2014, 11:40 pm

Unlikin' dem right now...........

Postby Bizzare » January 26th, 2014, 11:43 pm

yea da fb page on sheit. cyah corl names and eh put a lil ;)

Postby janfar » January 27th, 2014, 3:15 am

Kamala is real lulzment yes... she dont even have a clue on how to fool people...

PM: Every nation has narco-trafficking issues.

Trinidad and Tobago’s international trade reputation will not be negatively impacted despite the $644 million cocaine bust in the United States last month from a container originating in Port of Spain, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday.
“We were able through allies to bust this container of goods, unfortunately with a Trinidad and Tobago name on it. We still don’t know if it was something done here or elsewhere; that is under investigation. The shipment may have left T&T, but what transpired after that is still sensitive and still under investigation. Certainly there will be concerns, but I’m not sure we will be impacted so negatively that we will be branded everywhere and blocked everywhere and I’m fortified in that view that the manufacturer was able to show these labels were counterfeit, and that the shipment was not made by them.
“Every nation in the world has issues with narco-trafficking and therefore it’s (about) our response now. We learn every day,” the Prime Minister told reporters at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Port of Spain, before she delivered the feature address at the launch of the National Week of Prayer.
This was her first official statement since the story broke two weeks ago that Customs and Border Protection (CPB) officers at the Port of Norfolk in the US state of Virginia seized 732 pounds of cocaine concealed in cans bearing the labels of SM Jaleel product Trinidad Orange and Grapefruit juices on December 20 last year.
The wholesale value of the cocaine is about US$12 million and has a street value of as much as US$100 million, according to Customs officials.
The PM refrained from commenting further, but endorsed the “information lock down” advocated by National Security Minister Gary Griffith pertaining to news on the progress of investigations.
“The matter is under investigation. It is sensitive and it would be inappropriate to comment on it at this time... I think with this being such a sensitive matter, information should be shared on a need to know basis. Therefore, this blanket in terms of sharing information is on lock down; I think it’s a good strategy because we’ve seen in the past where leakages could lead to compromising of the investigation,” Persad-Bissessar said, adding she read an article earlier that the region was becoming the number one transshipment point for illegal drugs destined for Europe and North America.
“I don’t think it’s a new factor but certainly Trinidad is being used more and more; our geographic location, I suppose, may be a reason we are targeted,” she said.
Last week, Griffith said he was invoking a “gag order” on the media and officials from reporting any new information on investigations by local and US law enforcement.
He and Cabinet colleagues Trade Minister Vasant Bharath, Communications Minister Gerald Hadeed, Tourism Minister Chandresh Sharma and National Diversity Minister Rodger Samuel were also at NAPA.
Griffith said since the bust, current border security protocol had “most definitely” been reviewed.
“We have been ahead of the game but also it shows the importance to have a legitimate port of entry security which is what we have been putting in place through scanners, canine and other security initiatives at this point in time,” he said.
A $25 million scanner to examine import containers—purchased through a Chinese grant under the condition that the product purchased was made in China—is currently being installed at the Port of Port of Spain.
Bharath, who last Monday said export containers are not traditionally checked by Customs before leaving the country, added that the division is still examining the ways to “close all loopholes regarding that”.
He added that three scanners that were to be acquired through US aid last year were delayed because of regulatory issues that had to be approved by the US Senate, but that has been received and the scanners are expected in June. See Page 4.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 27th, 2014, 4:23 am

They could put 1 million scanners and it still won't stop the drugs leaving here...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 27th, 2014, 7:19 am

hmmm, so all of a sudden Jamaican patties are hard ot get and not available from the Supplier?

what a coincidence ????

airuma

Postby airuma » January 27th, 2014, 12:55 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:hmmm, so all of a sudden Jamaican patties are hard ot get and not available from the Supplier?

what a coincidence ????

Ah wonder if gyros will be hard to get too!!

Postby pioneer » January 27th, 2014, 1:49 pm

Pricesmart still slow to restock their shelves

Jus sayin

Postby rfari » January 27th, 2014, 2:18 pm

noticed the same yesterday. No frozen mixed veggies and frozen fruit

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 28th, 2014, 7:36 am

Jattan: I owned company
Drug bust saga continues

By Mark Bassant CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist
Story Created: Jan 27, 2014 at 9:53 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 27, 2014 at 11:20 PM ECT
The whereabouts of ex-director of Caribbean Sea Works Ltd, Victor Jattan, finally came to light yesterday as Jattan revealed himself to TV6 and the Express who were seeking answers about allegations made against him by a Guyanese businessman.
Caribbean Sea Works Ltd was the defunct company reported exclusively by TV6 and the Express that was sending shipments of juice to Virginia in the USA over the last two years, before it was busted at Norfolk Port in Virginia when $644 million in cocaine was found concealed in juice cans.
The find has triggered a transatlantic investigation by the US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) which has led them to the shores of Trinidad and Tobago where the cocaine originated.
Through Jattan’s son, Victorio, TV6 and the Express were able to reach the businessman.
Background checks on Victor Jattan revealed he is the president of Lynwil International Trading in Guyana and that the company had been registered in the US in Florida in 2012, with agent Charles Mac Gruber.
On several websites Jattan’s address was listed as 3060, Canter Lane Kissimmee, FL 34746. Kissimmee is located not far from the city of Orlando.
On some of the websites Lynwil International Trading in Guyana boasts of “specialising in the import and export business” and Jattan even stated on one business company website:
“Husband, father, and entrepreneur living in Florida, but born in Trinidad. I came to America in my early twenties and studied marine engineering before returning to Trinidad.”
Guyanese businessman Lyndon Thomas has disputed this claim, saying he was the sole owner of Lynwil International Trading Guyana as well as Lynwil International Trading Trinidad which he still does business with.
“I met Jattan and things went smoothly but for some reason I thought why does this guy want to get involved in fuel in Guyana when he has a company in Trinidad that deal with fuel and you have Petrotrin which is a big supplier so I was kind apprehensive,” Thomas said.
Thomas, who still does business with his Trinidad-based Lynwil Trading company registered since 2003, said: “Jattan offered to buy Lynwil International Trading Guyana which at that time was a shell, there were no transactions or business through that company, which was literally inactive.”
Late yesterday evening, Victor Jattan contacted TV6 and the Express in an attempt to tell his side of the story and clear his name of the allegations made by Thomas.
“I have documents to prove I own that company,” Jattan said in his defence.
“I am talking with my lawyers in relation to other matters but I can produce documents to show that I own that company,” he said.
He promised in the coming days once it was cleared by his lawyers that he would speak on other allegations made against him.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jat ... 13211.html

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 28th, 2014, 9:10 am

60 more staff as Customs BEEFS UP

Story Created: Jan 27, 2014 at 9:27 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 27, 2014 at 11:10 PM ECT

Sixty new appointments have been made to Customs and Excise to mitigate the current manpower shortage at the Division, Finance Minister Larry Howai has said.

The new personnel are expected to assume their posts by the beginning of March and the number is expected to increase in the coming months.

In a release yesterday, Howai said these assignments are among plans to improve the Division, including manpower, technology, and training.

Last week, Minister in the Ministry of Finance Vasant Bharath said there were only 200 customs officers, when the full complement should be 460.

Customs has come under scrutiny recently after it was reported a week and a half ago that a $644 million cocaine shipment originating from the Port of Port of Spain was intercepted at the Port of Norfolk in the US state of Virginia on December 20.

Bharath subsequently noted that export containers were “not traditionally checked” before sailing.
The Division’s capabilities to protect the integrity of trade in Trinidad and Tobago has always been a key priority for the Government, Howai said, noting that four mobile container scanners were expected to be delivered from the US by the end of June.

A scanner procured using a grant from the Chinese government is currently being installed at the Port of Port of Spain.

“These mobile container scanners will improve our ability to closely monitor shipments both entering and leaving our ports,” Howai said.

The Minister further noted that the integration of the ASYCUDA and Single Electronic Window systems is at an advanced stage and full integration is expected by the end of February.
The Customs Act will also be amended to allow for the exchange of advanced cargo and passenger information that will facilitate faster clearance from the air and seaports.

The Customs and Excise Division can expect to move into a fully-outfitted building before the end of the year as preliminary works have already commenced, Howai added.

“We are also developing new training programmes to enhance the capability of our officers and their sensitivity to the concerns of the travelling public and legitimate business enterprises” he said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/60- ... 09301.html

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » January 28th, 2014, 9:18 am

60 more staff as Customs BEEFS UP???

Hold on Howai...
taking bribes and over 10yrs of dishonest experience added to resume.. sending to you now

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 28th, 2014, 9:22 am

Meanwhile it eh lil bit too much of ah coinky dink dat de gubbment hadda look for a US$100 mil US from the smelter plan gone bad.. and was a US$100 mil whoever stood to make offa dat #cocainejuice?

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2014, 11:21 am

Daurius Figueira who wrote the book "Cocaine and Heroin Trafficking in the Caribbean: The Case of Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Guyana" back in 2004 (poorly edited but makes you think) was on tv6 morning edition last week talking about who run things in T&T and the Caribbean. Take in the clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=
Last edited by The_Honourable on May 30th, 2014, 7:54 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby janfar » January 28th, 2014, 12:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Daurius Figueira who wrote the book "Cocaine and Heroin Trafficking in the Caribbean: The Case of Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Guyana" back in 2004 (poorly edited but makes you think) was on tv6 morning edition last week talking about who run things in T&T and the Caribbean. Take in the clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHWUhLg1JFo

I don't expect people to believe what he is saying. As Fazeer said, Trini's too naïve.

Postby shogun » January 28th, 2014, 2:29 pm

The_Honourable wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHWUhLg1JFo

Missed this interview. Hmmmm.

Postby Redman » January 28th, 2014, 3:09 pm

janfar wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Daurius Figueira who wrote the book "Cocaine and Heroin Trafficking in the Caribbean: The Case of Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Guyana" back in 2004 (poorly edited but makes you think) was on tv6 morning edition last week talking about who run things in T&T and the Caribbean. Take in the clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHWUhLg1JFo

I don't expect people to believe what he is saying. As Fazeer said, Trini's too naïve.

It's to be expected, the only real sign of the transhipment biz that 95% of Trinis see is the turf war killing.
And that's attributed to the laventille crowd.

So not seeing the ingress through small vessels or egress through containerized cargo,mules,stashed on planes or compressed into hard cover notebooks for export means it does not exist.
To 95%of Trinis.

The reality is now in Norfolk VA.
You either believe that shipment is a one off or you confront the fact that it's an thriving on going biz.

Postby The_Honourable » January 28th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Read up on El Chapo Guzman and the Sinaloa Cartel. That is the Mexican cartel Daurius was talking about. They are or about on the same level as the once popular Pablo Escobar and the Medellin Cartel in Colombia that use to run things in the 70's 80's up to the early 90's.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » January 28th, 2014, 6:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Read up on El Chapo Guzman and the Sinaloa Cartel. That is the Mexican cartel Daurius was talking about. They are or about on the same level as the once popular Pablo Escobar and the Medellin Cartel in Colombia that use to run things in the 70's 80's up to the early 90's.

Researching now...

Postby redmanjp » January 28th, 2014, 7:08 pm

tv6- another robbery at CGA

Postby K74T » January 28th, 2014, 7:12 pm

Attempted robbery BTW.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » January 28th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Speak Out T&T
STAGED OR MERE COINCIDENCE?

Just mere hours before a warrant was to be issued for a thorough search of the compound, SM Jaleel reports that Armed Gunmen opened fire at the Juice Factory at their Trinidad Juice Compound located on Eastern Main Road, Laventille.

Security officers (Allied Security) contracted by SM Jaleel were shot at. This happened at approximately 1pm says the company. Their security took cover while the company alleged that bandits shot at the compound for about 5 minutes after raiding it.

The company reports that the alleged criminals fled into the hillsides while the Inter-Agency Task force came to their rescue, but nobody was apprehended.... Yet. #CocaineJuice

sm jaleel has something to hide.....

#cocainejuice

Postby bluefete » January 28th, 2014, 8:41 pm

mediahouse wrote:
Speak Out T&T

Just mere hours before a warrant was to be issued for a thorough search of the compound, SM Jaleel reports that Armed Gunmen opened fire at the Juice Factory at their Trinidad Juice Compound located on Eastern Main Road, Laventille.

Security officers (Allied Security) contracted by SM Jaleel were shot at. This happened at approximately 1pm says the company. Their security took cover while the company alleged that bandits shot at the compound for about 5 minutes after raiding it.

The company reports that the alleged criminals fled into the hillsides while the Inter-Agency Task force came to their rescue, but nobody was apprehended.... Yet. #CocaineJuice

#cocainejuice

Maybe it would have been too expensive to burn down the factory.

:cry: :cry: Wonder who tipped them off?

Postby RASC » January 28th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Plot thickens.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 28th, 2014, 9:30 pm

Not surprised by this at all..

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 28th, 2014, 10:45 pm

bluefete wrote:
mediahouse wrote:
Speak Out T&T

#cocainejuice

Maybe it would have been too expensive to burn down the factory.

:cry: :cry: Wonder who tipped them off?

How did the gunfire stop the search though?
What destruction of evidence could possibly be achieved by shooting into the compound? The police arrived mere minutes after and were free to walk around and conduct whatever search they had planned.