COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115 cases, 8 deaths, 37 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2020, 10:18 pm

that should be an easy lawsuit cause no SoE, the max days u getting for this ting across the globe is 27 days, but locally, the quarantine period is 14 days, and then a person is allowed back in society. with no symptoms, supposed to get a double negative test at that time. if he didnt get any testing after the 14 day period, with no symptoms, i wish i was a lawyer to fight that.
wrongful imprisonment.

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2020, 10:22 pm

sry to hear that.. that is real carnage going on.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2020, 10:46 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Situation was not helped at all by Trump pushing it as a wonder drug for covid to his stupid anti-vaccine type people.
So within the next weeks we should see some Clorox injection deaths. And severe UV exposure burn cases. Quite a pity, quite remarkable also.

When Trump mentioned the drug, the outbreak in the US was still in its infancy. Doctors around the world didn’t know enough about Covid19, and fast forward months later and they’re still chasing their tails with this virus.
My father was pretty bad off in the hospital with Covid and he was treated with Zithromax and Cloroquine.. He’s at home now, alive and well but still on oxygen a few hours a day.
According to a few doctors in the family and a pharmacist friend, the virus shows different symptoms in different people, therefore no 2 patients are responding to the same drug & dosage.
I was told the virus acts like a combo of HIV, MERS and Coronavirus. They even tried A Frontline dog med on 2 patients, but one 1 made it through while others are responding well to HIV meds ($7000 per prescription).

Cloroquine worked in Italy and South Korea but as doctors learn more about the virus, other more effective meds are now being used. No need to knock Trump and or Cloroquine because the drug helped to save my pops life.

I also had the virus but got over it within 17 days.. the lowest my oxygen level got was 94, and there were 5 intense days short breath. I was only able to take 1/3 of a regular breath and sleeping consisted of sitting up with pillows around me. No laying down because I just couldn’t breath. I’m going on 10 days from my last fever and I still have lung pain if I take a deep breath and hold.

Respect Bro... That's quite an ordeal that you are going through. Keep strong and fight through... where you located if you don't mind me asking.

I’m in Westchester NY, 1/2 mile from the first outbreak in NY (New Rochelle).
My dad got it (our guess is from his retail store), passed it on to my mom & myself. His situation was much worst than myself & moms.
My aunt in the Bronx got it (diabetic, amputee) and she died at home. Her time of passing was at 9am, and they waited until 7pm before a funeral home was able to pickup the body. No ambulance etc. available because NYC hospitals were in chaos and they were lucky to find a funeral home to take her. Only 1 family member & priest was allowed into the funeral home for her funeral.

Personally we know of at least 10 deaths of friends & their friends who died from this virus. All in the NY area.

In my case the doctor didn’t give me any meds. I was told to ride out the fever with Tylenol & check into a hospital if my oxygen dropped below 94 or if I had trouble breathing.

Damn, really sorry to hear this! Condolences to you and the family and I hope you and your parents pull through.

Postby redmanjp » April 24th, 2020, 10:57 pm

10 deaths u say :shock: - i guess practically almost everybody there had it
Last edited by redmanjp on April 25th, 2020, 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 24th, 2020, 11:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:10 deaths u say- i guess practically almost everybody there had it

Accordining to recent anti-body testing roughly 15% of people have had it NY.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » April 24th, 2020, 11:04 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:these pests getting to come back now want home quarantine ?
steups.

Tell me about it.

But I would like to commend Stuarty for holding firm with his decision to keep them out despite all the provoking rants towards him.

Let this be a lesson for all you irresponsible Trinis.

You do know Goebbels Young folded like a cheap suitcase in the end right?

In the end, yes he did.

He did well...still a pantyman, be he did well.

Max y ya doh learn to hymc, and stop posting toots for once lol (literally laughing while I type this)

u is the original pantyman

I anoint you with the following: MaxPanty

Lol peace

Postby MaxPower » April 24th, 2020, 11:35 pm

^ Hey RedVEVO,

Still looking for attention i see.

matix

Postby matix » April 25th, 2020, 1:57 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:1f512b28-27be-4f11-9448-cfdb5254065b.jpg

"He said exemptions are continuing in strict ways and he gets scores of calls daily- and in the case of people on cruise ships, hundreds of calls. "
"The minister said the 33 people who were stranded in Barbados and were allowed to return home yesterday were in a very different category."

:?

Stuarty is just a easy nut to crack.

Those 33 pests are just as irresponsible as the other jackasses begging to come in.

If our borders are closed, there should be no discussions for exemptions.

Under no circumstances should we mix sympathy with irresponsibility in a pandemic.

Borders are closed? I know you have an obsession with Venezuelan men but max you have to be the most ‘dotish’ person with regards to Venezuelans and your home which is Trinidad & Tobago. You have any idea about the lack of health care in Venezuela? So many coming here on boats illegally and flooding the already strained healthcare system with issues. What tests are done on them before they enter the country?

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » April 25th, 2020, 2:06 am

matix wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

"He said exemptions are continuing in strict ways and he gets scores of calls daily- and in the case of people on cruise ships, hundreds of calls. "
"The minister said the 33 people who were stranded in Barbados and were allowed to return home yesterday were in a very different category."

Those 33 pests are just as irresponsible as the other jackasses begging to come in.

Under no circumstances should we mix sympathy with irresponsibility in a pandemic.

Borders are closed? I know you have an obsession with Venezuelan men but max you have to be the most ‘dotish’ person with regards to Venezuelans and your home which is Trinidad & Tobago. You have any idea about the lack of health care in Venezuela? So many coming here on boats illegally and flooding the already strained healthcare system with issues. What tests are done on them before they enter the country?

Ya see MaxPanty! Ya too damn dotish ! Lol

Postby The_Honourable » April 25th, 2020, 2:40 am

Condolences to you and the family RoTaRyBoYz. I hope you and your parents make a speedy recovery.

Postby adnj » April 25th, 2020, 4:24 am

2 studies show many people who tested positive for Covid-19 displayed no symptoms

By Rosa Flores, Sara Weisfeldt and Arman Azad, CNN

Updated 12:48 AM EDT, Sat April 25, 2020

Miami-Dade County and the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine conducted a random antibody testing study of the county's 2.75 million residents, with about 1,800 people participating, Miami Mayor Carlos Gimenez said Friday during a news conference.

The data showed 6% of the people in the study tested positive for Covid-19 antibodies, which extrapolates to around 165,000 residents, Gimenez said.

In comparison, the Florida Department of Health says 10,701 people have tested positive in Miami-Dade County.

That means that the actual number of Covid-19 cases in Miami-Dade County is about 16.5 times the number reported by the state, Gimenez said.

Gimenez said this appears to mean a significant number of his constituents were carrying the virus while being asymptomatic. He emphasized that imposing social distancing requirements has worked.

For that reason, Gimenez said any reopening strategy will require strict rules regarding social distancing with police enforcement of those rules.

"Identifying the number of asymptomatic individuals is critically important for public health," Gimenez said. "Like I have said before, those are the folks who can pass on the virus to the most vulnerable."

According to Gimenez, the study's researchers are 95% certain that the true number of people infected in Miami-Dade County is between 4.4% and 7.9%, or between 123,000 and 221,000 people.

The data shows that the African Americans and Caribbean communities might be twice as likely to be infected with Covid-19 than other racial groups, Gimenez said.

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/ ... er-169.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2020, 6:02 am

there were a couple other studies in california too

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2020, 7:05 am

double edged sword good news with those studies. since they confirmed more people had it, that means their death rate is lower and potential herd immunity is stronger, afterwards. the bad part is ur carrier rate is higher so meet people susceptible to it more too.

at this stage, if they could study to get some data about herd immunity. by now large parts of the population woudl have passed the infectious stage. so is to get some of them that are willing to be exposed to it again and try to see if they can get reinfected with it. and if so, if its worse/better if they can carry etc etc.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2020, 7:14 am

MDtuner70 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:these pests getting to come back now want home quarantine ?
steups.

Tell me about it.

But I would like to commend Stuarty for holding firm with his decision to keep them out despite all the provoking rants towards him.

Let this be a lesson for all you irresponsible Trinis.

You do know Goebbels Young folded like a cheap suitcase in the end right?

In the end, yes he did.

He did well...still a pantyman, be he did well.

Max y ya doh learn to hymc, and stop posting toots for once lol (literally laughing while I type this)

u is the original pantyman

I anoint you with the following: MaxPanty

Lol peace

funny how all the benefits of keeping them away from trinidad seem to evaporate when lawyers got involved. cause just like ravi balgobin's challenge, any action taken CITING the lock down measures as its reason is illegal, because its not law that was passed in parliament. as of now they are essentially guidelines. the intent and purposes wise, its good guidelines, but u kinda following them voluntarily.

Postby maj. tom » April 25th, 2020, 8:13 am

USA numbers approaching 1 million cases! (925,758) :shock:
Way past China and Italy.

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2020, 8:45 am

and they relaxing restrictions in some states

maj. tom wrote:USA numbers approaching 1 million cases! (925,758) :shock:

Postby K74T » April 25th, 2020, 9:28 am

PM media conference at 2 today

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 25th, 2020, 10:14 am

K74T wrote:PM media conference at 2 today

feeling a 1 mth extension on the lockdown.
kwote meh on dis.

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2020, 10:17 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:

kwote meh on dis.
Terrence say to ride it until the 30th..then they will make a statement on that.

Postby Gladiator » April 25th, 2020, 10:29 am

aaron17 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

kwote meh on dis.
Terrence say to ride it until the 30th..then they will make a statement on that.

They following everything the US do... so i feel the next step is to open back some businesses to relax the lockdown and then wait and see what to follow them with next week.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 25th, 2020, 11:14 am

If you choose to believe China
maj. tom wrote:USA numbers approaching 1 million cases! (925,758) :shock:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 25th, 2020, 11:58 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:

kwote meh on dis.

Honestly makes no sense if they are being guided by their figures. Hoping for a small ease up on May 1st

Postby MaxPower » April 25th, 2020, 12:05 pm

matix wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

Hello matix,

I understand your jealousy and pain over our Venezuelan brothers and sisters. Quite normal for Trini failures who are obviously affected by their presence. Why is it that sufferers, as yourself, are the only ones complaining about Venezuelans? Your status in society is clearly unstable and easily threatened by them.

If Trinis changed their attitude, the Venezuelans would think twice about coming here as employment would not be this easy. Compose a letter in this downtime to your Govt and vent your frustration.

Remember matix my brother, you have the power to overcome your oppression. All this hate you Trini boys have inside is wasted energy. If allyuh would step up your game and be responsible and productive, the Govt, business communities and the service seeking public wouldnt treat allyuh like a lump of sheit and favor the Venezuelans.

Back on topic, and to answer your question, NO tests are being done on them before entering. I understand your concern with them flooding in from a poor health system, but we must commend them for practicing social distancing and having zero cases to date. Should they require testing, your MOH publicly and proudly stated that anyone, and he specified Venezuelans, can and will be tested.

Keep well and be safe.

Postby The_Honourable » April 25th, 2020, 12:15 pm

lol :lol:

Postby maj. tom » April 25th, 2020, 12:18 pm

It funny eh, but this is exactly what's going on. That's exactly what Governments are advising. There is no plan really.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 25th, 2020, 2:39 pm

Extended to May 15th

Postby paid_influencer » April 25th, 2020, 2:41 pm

ST Auto wrote:Extended to May 15th

maybe May 10th if all the 700 tests come back negative. 50 tests per day is the capacity limit at this time.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 25th, 2020, 2:43 pm

15th for now , 30th coming
stay woke bros

Postby K74T » April 25th, 2020, 2:50 pm

Relaxation of measures: Hardwares will now be allowed to open from 8am - Midday, Monday to Saturday.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 25th, 2020, 2:52 pm

It's not relaxation. They admitted too much ppl was gathering on the 3 days hardwares were open so they revert it back to 6 days till midday to mitigate against ppl flocking to the hardwares 3 days