The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby honda hoe » February 16th, 2013, 9:06 pm

6000th post :)

I know I gonna get pong from the apple fanboys *M2NRcough* lol but....

It have any apps on play store that works like face time on apple?

:oops:

Postby Trini Hookah » February 16th, 2013, 9:14 pm

You mean video calls? Skype ftw

achillies

Postby achillies » February 16th, 2013, 9:35 pm

honda hoe wrote:6000th post :)

Dan Dan dan

It have Skype, hangouts, gtalk video calling.

All depends on the other end too?

Postby honda hoe » February 16th, 2013, 10:06 pm

GTalk only works with other ppl who have it

Skype is popular so I'll download that

Also saw some video app called tango

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 16th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Skype ftw!

I use that more than FaceTime :/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 16th, 2013, 11:18 pm

yeah Skype would be the most popular option. it does everything: video, voice and text.

MS is also replacing Windows Live Messenger with Skype so the community will get even bigger...

Postby ismithx » February 16th, 2013, 11:23 pm

skype going downhill ever since M$ bought them :|

Postby M_2NR » February 17th, 2013, 12:27 am

Haha Strauss is more d fanboy. Yuh forget I have a touchpad with android :P

As others said before Skype for it sadly. And if its voice only, viber works ok.

---

Side note. I played with a note ii today. And. Umm. Anyone want a 4S to trade with a note ii? ROFL. I dunno what happen or how I found this to be so... But the screen on it seems to be better than the s3... I really dunno how but I'm impressed. I really can't say why I liked it so much and not the s3.
Edit: just read up on it. Apparently the note2 does have a better screen as the sub pixel array it different. Nice!

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2013, 12:32 am

M_2NR wrote:

As others said before Skype for it sadly. And if its voice only, viber works ok.

---

Side note. I played with a note ii today. And. Umm. Anyone want a 4S to trade with a note ii? ROFL. I dunno what happen or how I found this to be so... But the screen on it seems to be better than the s3... I really dunno how but I'm impressed. I really can't say why I liked it so much and not the s3.

Not the only one, a lot of people sold the s3 after playing with the note 2, I steered clear of them actually, cause I already had my mind set on the n4

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 17th, 2013, 1:20 am

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

---

Not the only one, a lot of people sold the s3 after playing with the note 2, I steered clear of them actually, cause I already had my mind set on the n4

How do u manage with 16gb of storage? One CWM and Titanium backup and you're halfway filled. Then music+games +apps. I don't see it working for someone who uses their devices to its full potential. There is cloud based storage, but data plan caps /:

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2013, 5:26 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

---

How do u manage with 16gb of storage? One CWM and Titanium backup and you're halfway filled. Then music+games +apps. I don't see it working for someone who uses their devices to its full potential. There is cloud based storage, but data plan caps /:

I don't play games on my phone, except temple run 2, I have 92 apps installed, one CWM backup and about 40 songs right now (that will increase later)

16 gigs is plenty
uploadfromtaptalk1361092837538.jpg

Postby stev » February 17th, 2013, 11:38 am

ismithx wrote:skype going downhill ever since M$ bought them :|

THIS!!!

i cant stand the new windlows live / skype combo....it feels like a poorly developed app on windows 8.

Postby Stephon. » February 17th, 2013, 12:12 pm

Dunno but I can live with 16GB. My pictures are 2GB on my internal, and it automatically uploads to my 50GB free dropbox storage so I can delete and clear that 2GB whenever I need to. I currently have a 32GB card in my S3 and barely use any room on it apart from music videos which are 100MBs each, and I have a Gaga concert there that is 4GB, that's pretty much it. I use google play music for my songs (1600 of them) which doesn't take up any room on your internal or external storage. Cloud feels good.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Exactly, 12 gigs of storage is plenty enough for a lot of people, especially if you get Google Music working

Postby Trini Hookah » February 17th, 2013, 12:29 pm

I haven't even used 5 GBs of my 16GB internal yet, and I take ALOT of pictures.

My 4GB card holds all the music, videos and docs I need anyway.

Postby Rooki3 » February 17th, 2013, 12:35 pm

s2 has 12gigs internal

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2013, 12:48 pm

guys i need a video player app for android that would be able to play all formats including audio AAC ....
HAVE a lot of movies with this audio format but dont hear any sound when playing the movie on my android tablet

I use act player 1 and some video player thing currently..

Recommend something for me nah....

Postby pete » February 17th, 2013, 12:57 pm

I only use mx player

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2013, 1:00 pm

^ I use Wondershare player.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ayer&hl=en

it plays everything, even full DVD video folders as a Cyberlink PowerDVD player would on your PC. VLC still in the beta on Android, and has been for years which was quite disappointing. No other player I have downloaded has been able to do what Wondershare does.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 17th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Rooki3 wrote:s2 has 12gigs internal

Yes, after OS and whatnot it's only 12..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2013, 1:02 pm

ill check it out maj...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 17th, 2013, 1:05 pm

Stephon. wrote:Dunno but I can live with 16GB. My pictures are 2GB on my internal, and it automatically uploads to my 50GB free dropbox storage so I can delete and clear that 2GB whenever I need to. I currently have a 32GB card in my S3 and barely use any room on it apart from music videos which are 100MBs each, and I have a Gaga concert there that is 4GB, that's pretty much it. I use google play music for my songs (1600 of them) which doesn't take up any room on your internal or external storage. Cloud feels good.

meh, let that cloud stay right dey. hope u dont store anything too private on it. might find it on a porn site in a timin. cloud opens the gates for a brutal invasion of privacy by server admins and staff.. yes they can view and read all ur files not to mention all those cloud servers gonna get hacked so easy and so fast.. u wont know when it happened that someone else has access to all ur uploaded files.

u might also find that if u delete something from ur cloud the server will still keep a copy of it even if u want it completely erased. wonder if anyone read the T&C. ud be amazed at what is in some apps t&c these days.

Postby Rooki3 » February 17th, 2013, 1:08 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

i doh think that correct

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 17th, 2013, 1:10 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:guys i need a video player app for android that would be able to play all formats including audio AAC ....
HAVE a lot of movies with this audio format but dont hear any sound when playing the movie on my android tablet

I use act player 1 and some video player thing currently..

Recommend something for me nah....

i use vlc.. plays everything

achillies

Postby achillies » February 17th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

i doh think that correct

S2 has a separate partition for apps, only apps can be stored there. Look below that, that's the siege where you can site your personal stuff, music etc

Postby ismithx » February 17th, 2013, 1:27 pm

lol.... you guys don't know the real hardcore... i live with 1GB of storage....

Postby S_2NR » February 17th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

i doh think that correct

11.50 is approximately 12 :|

Val

Postby Val » February 17th, 2013, 1:40 pm

Finally got the OTA 4.1.2 on Digicel

Postby Rooki3 » February 17th, 2013, 1:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

i doh think that correct

11.50 is approximately 12 :|

wey i say no?

TH say he have 16 internal

Postby S_2NR » February 17th, 2013, 2:33 pm

Face palm*

It is 16 internal TOTAL but it is partitioned in a way which allows 12 for user media and the rest for os and apps