Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » December 29th, 2021, 3:36 pm

any the politicians silent. 2022 going to be a fuqued up year worst than 2021.

Postby K74T » December 29th, 2021, 3:39 pm

FB_IMG_1640806604254.jpg
FB_IMG_1640806606437.jpg
FB_IMG_1640806608614.jpg
FB_IMG_1640806610763.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 29th, 2021, 4:06 pm

any word from country pride if them increasing prices also?

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 7:22 pm

pugboy wrote:what we washing the fresh chicken with now?

maggi citrus wash dan , when they introduced it was $1\pack now is $1.25

i know ur being rhetoric or sarcastic ...

Postby timelapse » December 29th, 2021, 7:34 pm

pugboy wrote:what we washing the fresh chicken with now?
The tears of orphans

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 7:35 pm

Plenty people does wash their fresh chicken with flour tho...

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 7:39 pm

i find flour really washes out freshness d bess ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 7:51 pm

The flour isn't for taking out the freshness it's to make the chicken look clean, use lime or vinegar to remove freshness.

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 8:25 pm

flour takes out freshness, slime, odors - anyhow u want to say\describe it ... google it

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 8:26 pm

Well I used it for washing the chicken, always use lime or vinegar to remove freshness.

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 8:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Its true what he saying
The people who really know agriculture and can get great yields are the ones who get refused grants and funding.

All these idiots who getting large parcels of agri land and hundreds of thousands in grants always flop.
They do it to get tax concessions on 4x4s and don't know one arse about framing.

Most of these scamps get it via the bailiser whore house. Ask eliteauto-tuntun

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2021, 9:23 am

Rovin wrote:flour takes out freshness, slime, odors - anyhow u want to say\describe it ... google it

dem yungstrs eh go kno about dem ole trix bai.
& flour works exceptionally well on wild meat, especially guana & manicou

snatman

Postby snatman » December 30th, 2021, 10:08 am

Rovin wrote:flour takes out freshness, slime, odors - anyhow u want to say\describe it ... google it

That is correct. Only thing is, you gotta make sure and rinse out every last remnant of the flour, otherwise you might end up with a gummy end result.

Source: Me a long time ago.

Postby hover11 » December 30th, 2021, 11:00 am

$10 DOUBLES COMING SOON, SAYS THE T&T DOUBLES ASSOCIATION.

Doubles can rise to $10

The T&T Doubles Association is warning that the increased flour cost could mean an increase in doubles prices but bread manufacturers like Kiss Baking and Linda’s are currently going over their processes and both said they would revert to customers at a later date.

Head of the T&T Doubles Association Kurt Nigel Mason said that as all raw material costs go up, the final product price would have to be adjusted.

He said that citizens would have to learn to adapt to wheat flour mixed with another type of grain.

“If doubles is made with cornflour instead, prices may be controlled,” he said.

“In Guyana to cut the cost, wheat flour is mixed with cassava flour to make bread,” Mason said.

Mason said that for food to remain affordable, Trinidadians must learn to adapt to corn, cassava, rice and potato flour instead of the traditional wheat.

“T&T belly must adapt to hard times,” he said.

“$10 for doubles coming soon,” he added.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/nfm-ann ... f66920c773

Postby Chimera » December 30th, 2021, 11:07 am

The lime / vinegar makes the meat more tender as well.

I does use lime or vinegar if we going to use to meat immediately after washing it.

Flour if it going in the freezer

And only flour for lamb/pork

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 11:09 am

Only flour for shrimp, can't use lime or vinegar on it as it will take away all the taste.

As for doubles going to $10, so that means I can only eat 2 doubles now instead of 4 unless I willing to spend more? :shock:

Postby The_Honourable » December 30th, 2021, 11:21 am

Knowing Trinis... we would still buy.

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2021, 12:32 pm

hover11 wrote:$10 DOUBLES COMING SOON, SAYS THE T&T DOUBLES ASSOCIATION.

Doubles can rise to $10

The T&T Doubles Association is warning that the increased flour cost could mean an increase in doubles prices but bread manufacturers like Kiss Baking and Linda’s are currently going over their processes and both said they would revert to customers at a later date.

Head of the T&T Doubles Association Kurt Nigel Mason said that as all raw material costs go up, the final product price would have to be adjusted.

He said that citizens would have to learn to adapt to wheat flour mixed with another type of grain.

“In Guyana to cut the cost, wheat flour is mixed with cassava flour to make bread,” Mason said.

Mason said that for food to remain affordable, Trinidadians must learn to adapt to corn, cassava, rice and potato flour instead of the traditional wheat.

:lol: I find it rather amusing that he couldn't see the alternative option that even more viable to the consumer, that ppl go stop buying doubles altogether & done.
only way a doubles could sell for $10 and people MIGHT be inclined to buy it, is if the size increased 120% and is a triple. other than that, doubles men might hadda end up eating their own product in bulk.

Postby Rovin » December 30th, 2021, 12:34 pm

$10 doubles he hadda be fackin madd or he gonna make it bigger to suit d price otherwise he might have to eat dat by he self

i dont ever use vinegar in my meats, i know u not supposed to use much but i find i does still pick up on d taste

sometimes i use baking powder or even a lil bit of fresh grind season to soak it for a lil while to also cut any funniness

yall ever notice when u buy frozen goat in d grocery how red d meat is, dise plenty blood in it, what i do is let d meat soak for a while then rinse it multiple times until u see d true pinkness color, another way in let water run on it in a bowl until u see all d redness comes out ...

wing

Postby wing » December 30th, 2021, 12:35 pm

hover11 wrote:$10 DOUBLES COMING SOON, SAYS THE T&T DOUBLES ASSOCIATION.

Doubles can rise to $10

Just don't buy. Simple. As a fit person, hover will understand that doubles is basically a cholesterol bomb.

Postby MaxPower » December 30th, 2021, 12:41 pm

zoom rader wrote:Any you support KFC, pizza hut and other 1% scam outlets than local.

Carry on

No no Zoom,

There are many other 1% establishments to support out there.

Yuh see the 1% places Trini sufferers like to plant dey self in….i does stay far from that pa.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 12:49 pm

I saw the feature on the news last night when they were talking about food prices going up due to flour price hike and a man come out straight and say he willing to pay $8 for a doubles. :shock:

Check at the 1:47 mark

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2021, 1:18 pm

DMan7 wrote:I saw the feature on the news last night when they were talking about food prices going up due to flour price hike and a man come out straight and say he willing to pay $8 for a doubles. :shock:

Check at the 1:47 mark

d man say he go pay $8 for "big bara and nice channa, ah bellyfull"

sellin a doubles for $10? hadda be d size of a small roti to get ppl to pay that.
otherwise, doubles will go the way of the dodo bird

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 1:24 pm

Keep the doubles the same size and charge the same $. Otherwise doh bother. Btw when they say they increasing the price of doubles they never said about making it bigger, same size doubles for higher price.

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 1:40 pm

shark and bake might be $60 now

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2021, 1:47 pm

Subway and pizza prices too. Well look chouble.

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2021, 1:51 pm

saheena price should not be affected much

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Bodi prices ?

Postby K74T » December 30th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Screenshot_20211230-145411_Facebook.jpg

Postby bluefete » December 30th, 2021, 3:02 pm

Good thing I do not buy KISS bread / products.

So they increased some of their prices in September and now increasing all of their prices in January.

Good going.