2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

PariaMan

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby PariaMan » October 3rd, 2012, 11:45 am

DJ Q wrote:^"Trying something" can cause you to spend the "big money" in the end.
Research is important.

PariaMan wrote:I saw that image, however, it doesn't specify whether that is the 1.5 or 2.0L

I need to be sure

I think they only specified the engine sizes if one of the sizes carried a different RON rating.
That simple!

Thanks.[/quote]

Well you can always put premium if you not sure! :roll: :roll: :roll:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 3rd, 2012, 11:47 am

PariaMan wrote:
DJ Q wrote:^"Trying something" can cause you to spend the "big money" in the end.
Research is important.

PariaMan wrote:
DJ Q wrote:I saw that image, however, it doesn't specify whether that is the 1.5 or 2.0L

I need to be sure

I think they only specified the engine sizes if one of the sizes carried a different RON rating.
That simple!

Thanks.

Well you can always put premium if you not sure! :roll: :roll: :roll:

It's amazing how you knock someone for asking questions :|

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 3rd, 2012, 11:50 am

Not knocking you but to me the picture is clear it says Sylphy uses 91.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 3rd, 2012, 11:55 am

Dear all,

Malaysian Sylphy with MR20DE engine is tuned for RON91 and above gasoline(written on Sylphy's manual), thats why its engine output tuned to 133HP ONLY. If the output is tuned higher than original, like Impul Bluebird SSS Japan with 160+hp, then higher RON is required, I guessed.

Therefore, using RON92 or 97 makes no different in Malaysia. Our local RON92 is unleaded with cleaning agent, so no harm using it. FYI, I have been driving my Sylphy with RON92 since last year.

Saving 10 cent per-litre may make quite a little difference.

Which version do we get?

http://z10.invisionfree.com/SylphyForum ... owtopic=24
Last edited by DJ Q on October 3rd, 2012, 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » October 3rd, 2012, 11:56 am

Research is important.

PariaMan wrote:
DJ Q wrote:I saw that image, however, it doesn't specify whether that is the 1.5 or 2.0L

I need to be sure

That simple!

Thanks.

umm
neal and massey sells the 2.0 sylphy?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 3rd, 2012, 11:57 am

The average retail price of premium fuel had increased and might continue to escalate in the near future. Many drivers that had been using premium fuel are sceptical about changing it back to ordinary gas, but since it is a lot cheaper, its substitution is encouraged.

In order to cater and move along side with the engine technology, many car manufacturers recommends the usage of premium fuel, but the fact is, using a regular grade of fuel will not spoil any parts of your engine. The only visible difference is the performance of your car, but such will only be affected by a little; at times, it does not differ as well; perhaps while accelerating from 0 to 60 the time needed increased only by half a second.

However, the true understanding is that whether the usage of premium fuel should be encourage or minimised. There are lists of cars which were compounded and categorize into 2 main aspects: first is premium recommend and second is premium required. If your car model falls under the premium recommended, it is safe to switch to ordinary unleaded fuel. On the other hand, if your car falls under the premium required list, you should continue using the premium fuel as not to damage any parts of your vehicle. If you do not have the time to search for such information online, you can simply turn to your car user manual to locate such information.

Traditionally, cars that were built years back do not have the flexibility to accommodate various octane ratings. Therefore, if car owners were to use the wrong type of fuel, the engine and the fuel combustion unit can be transformed into a ‘hulk’ thus damaging the inner component of an engine over a period of time. But with the advancement of technology, car engines are now built to cater for low octane fuel. However, the alternation in the usage of fuel will need to be compensates with a few adjustment to safeguard the life span of the engine. With such enhanced system, car owners now have the authority and flexibility to choose any grades of fuels that they desired without damaging any components of the vehicle.

The only downfall of switching a premium fuel with a low octane fuel is that it does not allow the engine to work at its peak thus preventing it to perform as expected. Since the usage of lower octane fuel does not provide the power needed to boost the performance of the car, its usage had been ‘so-so’ over the years; however, with the increasing fuel price worldwide, some car owners are forced to settle with fuel of lower price, thus forgoing the actual performance of their vehicle.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 3rd, 2012, 11:59 am

cinco wrote:
pete wrote:
[X]~Outlaw wrote:Yea removing the catalytic converter automatically reduces the compression ratio :roll:

We have a PBW Corolla that has been running on Super since it was bought with no problems. My parents even fill up at the gas station in Cocorite that has horrible gas.

sister has a pce nze corolla and her friend has a pcc mazda 3
both have been running super from inception and no issues

I won't doubt you guys. My car has 230K Km on it been using premium from day one and I have never had any issues what so ever so I'm not about to start experimenting now.

Postby DFC » October 3rd, 2012, 12:02 pm

Did anyone notice that the live budget broadcast was brought to you by NP ?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 12:06 pm

cinco wrote:
Research is important.

PariaMan wrote:

I need to be sure

That simple!

Thanks.

umm
neal and massey sells the 2.0 sylphy?

Last year when I was looking around for a car the sales rep at N&M tried selling me one(bigger commission for him). Was somewhere close to $250,000 I think.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 3rd, 2012, 12:08 pm

So can anyone confirm?

Postby cinco » October 3rd, 2012, 12:17 pm

didnt know that N&M sold em
DJ Q check your owners manual and let us know nah

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 3rd, 2012, 12:17 pm

cinco wrote:didnt know that N&M sold em
DJ Q check your owners manual and let us know nah

I want to buy one lol

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 12:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:conspiracy theory time again:

see what PariaMan talking about, it start.

If prices were increased same time on all fuels less people will try to convert to super.

Now with the experimenting people will damage vehicles either in the short term or long term and these damages will be done long before they jack up the prices on super.

Who services vehicles, who brings parts, who you have to run to?

Who funds these parties during election time?

They have to eat a food.

wtf this actually makes sense
you're so smart :oops: :oops:

Daran

Postby Daran » October 3rd, 2012, 12:47 pm

2005 Mazda 3 1.6L.....a friend's car....using premium since purchased and wants to know if she can switch to super...she is bess btw.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 12:49 pm

Daran wrote:2005 Mazda 3 1.6L.....a friend's car....using premium since purchased and wants to know if she can switch to super...she is bess btw.

you know the rule around here:

pics or bann!

get busy.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 3rd, 2012, 12:49 pm

Daran wrote:2005 Mazda 3 1.6L.....a friend's car....using premium since purchased and wants to know if she can switch to super...she is bess btw.

Pic of her in car to prove bessness and ownership.

Postby TRAE » October 3rd, 2012, 12:58 pm

information on newer model vehicles

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 3rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

TRAE wrote:Image

information on newer model vehicles

Ouch for focus owners.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 3rd, 2012, 1:04 pm

Here's some useful info

Effects of octane rating

Higher octane ratings correlate to higher activation energies: This being the amount of applied energy required to initiate combustion. Since higher octane fuels have higher activation energy requirements, it is less likely that a given compression will cause uncontrolled ignition, otherwise known as autoignition or detonation.
The compression ratio is directly related to power and to thermodynamic efficiency of an internal combustion engine (see Otto-cycle). Engines with higher compression ratios develop more area under the Otto-Cycle curve, thus they extract more energy from a given quantity of fuel.
During the compression stroke of an internal combustion engine, as the air / fuels mix is compressed its temperature rises (PV=nRT).
A fuel with a higher octane rating is less prone to auto-ignition and can withstand a greater rise in temperature during the compression stroke of an internal combustion engine without auto-igniting, thus allowing more power to be extracted from the Otto-Cycle.
If during the compression stroke the air / fuel mix reaches a temperature greater than the auto-ignition temperature of the fuel, the fuel self or auto-ignites. When auto-ignition occurs (before the piston reaches the top of its travel) the up-rising piston is then attempting to squeeze the rapidly expanding (exploding) fuel charge. This will usually destroy an engine quickly if allowed to continue.
There are two types of induction systems on internal combustion engines. Normally aspirated engine (air is sucked in using the engines pistons. Or, forced induction engines (See supercharger|supercharged or turbocharger|turbocharged engines).
In the case of the normally aspirated engine, at the start of the compression stroke the cylinder air / fuel volume is very low, this translates into a low starting pressure. As the piston travels upward, a compression ratio of 10:1 in a normally aspirated engine will most likely not start auto-ignition. But 11:1 may. In a forced induction engine where at the start of the compression stroke the cylinder pressure is already raised (having a greater volume of air / fuel) Exp. 2 Bar (14.7Psi), the starting pressure or air / fuel volume would be 2 times that of the normally aspirated engine. This would translate into an effective compression ratio of 20:1 vs. 10:1 for the normally aspirated. This is why many forced induction engines have compression ratios in the 8:1 range.
Many high-performance engines are designed to operate with a high maximum compression, and thus demand fuels of higher octane. A common misconception is that power output or fuel efficiency can be improved by burning fuel of higher octane than that specified by the engine manufacturer. The power output of an engine depends in part on the energy density of the fuel being burnt. Fuels of different octane ratings may have similar densities, but because switching to a higher octane fuel does not add more hydrocarbon content or oxygen, the engine cannot develop more power.
However, burning fuel with a lower octane rating than that for which the engine is designed often results in a reduction of power output and efficiency. Many modern engines are equipped with a knock sensor (a small piezoelectric microphone), which sends a signal to the engine control unit, which in turn retards the ignition timing when detonation is detected. Retarding the ignition timing reduces the tendency of the fuel-air mixture to detonate, but also reduces power output and fuel efficiency. Because of this, under conditions of high load and high temperature, a given engine may have a more consistent power output with a higher octane fuel, as such fuels are less prone to detonation. Some modern high performance engines are actually optimized for higher than pump premium (93 AKI in the US). The 2001 - 2007 BMW M3 with the S54 engine is one such car. Car and Driver magazine tested a car using a dynamometer, and found that the power output increased as the AKI was increased up to approximately 96 AKI.
Most fuel filling stations have two storage tanks (even those offering 3 or 4 octane levels): those motorists who purchase intermediate grade fuels are given a mixture of higher and lower octane fuels. "Premium" grade is fuel of higher octane, and the minimum grade sold is fuel of lower octane. Purchasing 91 octane fuel (where offered) simply means that more fuel of higher octane is blended with commensurately less fuel of lower octane, than when purchasing a lower grade. The detergents and other additives in the fuel are often, but not always, identical.
The octane rating was developed by chemist Russell Marker at the Ethyl Corporation in 1926. The selection of n-heptane as the zero point of the scale was due to its availability in high purity. Other isomers of heptane produced from crude oil have greatly different ratings.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane_rat ... nt_methods

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 1:19 pm

Dunno about the 2005 models but every car in that particular showroom even down to the Mazda 2 needs premium, with the exception of the BT-50. She would most likely need to keep using premium though since the 2009 Model Mazda 3 also needs premium. She should have bought an Axela :lol:

Postby pete » October 3rd, 2012, 1:44 pm

If was me.. I'd start mixing part premium part super til I found the ratio it starts knocking at then next time increase the ratio a little bit.

Start with 75% Premium and decrease til ya get knock and then just put a little more premium.

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2012, 1:50 pm

where meh tuner pardner with the tida he brought in from japan that running on lpg

surprised i eh see him post in here yet

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 3rd, 2012, 1:58 pm

RB20DET / RB25DET/ RB26DET whats your take on super vs premium with these engines

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 2:17 pm

lawd tr1ad...

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2012, 2:21 pm

serious rfari

it's for sale now....he's asking 60k

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 2:26 pm

Is it a kit in the vehicle with stck engine etc? or something else?

normal 20lb cylinder you talking about here?

kit for sale? :mrgreen:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 3rd, 2012, 2:31 pm

What must be determined to is whether the 95 is recommended or required.

If it required you must use it

If it is only recommended you can use 91 with a little sacrifice in terms of performance once the vehicle not knocking!

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2012, 2:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Is it a kit in the vehicle with stck engine etc? or something else?

normal 20lb cylinder you talking about here?

kit for sale? :mrgreen:

just like the cng kit
40 to fill somewhere in couva

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 2:36 pm

tr1ad wrote:serious rfari

it's for sale now....he's asking 60k

i tort u was just trolling there.
price not bad at all. what the mileage like on full tank?

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2012, 2:39 pm

iirc somewhere around 650/700