Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Chiney

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby Chiney » May 14th, 2012, 2:57 pm

well my htc sensation gets a text saying my handset is not 4g compatible along with an iphone4... when i try to confirm the service activation..

Postby ismithx » May 14th, 2012, 3:05 pm

the sensation will not be compatible as it does not support the 1900mhz band, which digi uses for their 4G service... the iPhone should though...

achillies

Postby achillies » May 14th, 2012, 3:19 pm

ismithx wrote:the sensation will not be compatible as it does not support the 1900mhz band, which digi uses for their 4G service... the iPhone should though...

QFT :lol: :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 14th, 2012, 4:13 pm

ismithx wrote:the sensation will not be compatible as it does not support the 1900mhz band, which digi uses for their 4G service... the iPhone should though...

thanks for clearing that up buddy! 8-)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 4:50 pm

tiger balm wrote:You all pulling my leg right?? A blu phone?? Can't check it out on youtube as I'm in work. Here I was wondering if it's the Samsung Galaxy III getting launched or something of that magnitude.

This is it here.

Nah is a cheap smartphone but it looks really well. It has nothing revolutionairy about a S3 in trinidad. Most can't afford it. If however they sell this phone for around $1k well it go be a true revolution.

think about it for a second. first time I heard about it I laughed I said who would buy this crap when you can buy a HTC or Samsung? I could not see myself going to this after getting a S2. Then it hit me, most people rocking Me 2. Most people who saying I go never spend that kinda big money on no S2 and stuff just to make a call them same people gonna be using this blu phone and when they realize what android and internet is all about the entire culture in trinidad will change and everyone will be more skilled in this.

to sell internet and make a big profit they need a market and as it stands only a tiny percentage knows about smartphones and internet. Mostly cause of the price.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 5:00 pm

TSTT strategy is brilliant when you think about it. Just like how even though flow has 5MB internet for $180 compared to TSTT 4MB for $350 at the end of the day you can still get 256k for $79 thats the cheapest price in the western world as far as I know.

Sure 256k is slow but come on $79? if all you does do is use facebook and play online games (Not Downloading) or if you have chirren going to school and they just need internet for research etc. Then $79 for high speed cannot be beaten. Flow cheapest package is only 20 hours thats pointless. This is why TSTT can stay ontop of the game with just DSL and not need 100MB connection like flow.

They know what they doing. They know to trinis, the money is the biggest concern. I expect to see big thins happen to the mobile internet market this year.

If they disappoint well I lost all faith in them. We go wait and see.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 14th, 2012, 5:02 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:TSTT strategy is brilliant when you think about it. Just like how even though flow has 5MB internet for $180 compared to TSTT 4MB for $350 at the end of the day you can still get 256k for $79 thats the cheapest price in the western world as far as I know.

Sure 256k is slow but come on $79? if all you does do is use facebook and play online games (Not Downloading) or if you have chirren going to school and they just need internet for research etc. Then $79 for high speed cannot be beaten. Flow cheapest package is only 20 hours thats pointless. This is why TSTT can stay ontop of the game with just DSL and not need 100MB connection like flow.

They know what they doing. They know to trinis, the money is the biggest concern. I expect to see big thins happen to the mobile internet market this year.

Seriously dude? "Chirren" could be reading this!

risley93

Postby risley93 » May 14th, 2012, 5:04 pm

any one knows the mms setting for the iphone 4 on digicel?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 5:05 pm

LOL yeah at chirren yuh know what ah mean nah

anyways here is the link that TSTT posted in the full page ad in the newspapers

http://www.blustudio53.com/features.html

before it used to redirect to this

http://studio53tt.com

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 5:14 pm

ok so i got the 4g plan on my iphone 4 i did all the setup process and what not and they confirmed the payment my phone displays 3g now but when i try to use the connection it says unable to connect please check settings any advice onn this guys?

Postby nemisis » May 14th, 2012, 5:24 pm

You have to be a WICKED individual effectic if you think that that $79 dollar net going to cut it for research for children. Have no justifying that speed or price anymore honestly!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 5:41 pm

LOL I know it slow but you must look at the price point.

What you rather 20 hours from flow with 5MB for "children research" or unlimited from tstt but 256k?

Most people in trini has 256k cause of the obvious price. I suspect TSTT might raise it in the next couple years as internet bandwidth becomes more demanding. AS of now it does load all websites in a ok time frame.

But yeah its definitely showing its age now. 1MB isn't too bad for $150 though.

TSTT customer reps claims their DSL is superior to flow cause of being dedicated and always getting constant stable speeds in peak hours compared to flow shared service.

Offcourse they could be trolling.

For what its worth, I still grateful for TSTT having DSL in majority of the country. Many places including piarco still does not have Flow internet. We still running analog. Without TSTT we would have nothing. Ah just pointing that out.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 14th, 2012, 5:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 14th, 2012, 5:41 pm

risley93 wrote:any one knows the mms setting for the iphone 4 on digicel?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 14th, 2012, 6:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:TSTT strategy is brilliant when you think about it. Just like how even though flow has 5MB internet for $180 compared to TSTT 4MB for $350 at the end of the day you can still get 256k for $79 thats the cheapest price in the western world as far as I know.

Brilliant, what are you drinking???

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Sure 256k is slow but come on $79? if all you does do is use facebook and play online games (Not Downloading) or if you have chirren going to school and they just need internet for research etc. Then $79 for high speed cannot be beaten. Flow cheapest package is only 20 hours thats pointless. This is why TSTT can stay ontop of the game with just DSL and not need 100MB connection like flow.

256k is not high speed, and is not even considered broadband, FLOW would never offer such a package because the are staying true to what they are, a Broadband ISP. The 20 hour package has many customers, that's the reason they have it, there are many people that "claim" 20 hours is more than they need and it is still broadband

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:They know what they doing. They know to trinis, the money is the biggest concern. I expect to see big thins happen to the mobile internet market this year.

TSTT hardly has a clue of what they are doing, this is the same company that claims that Trinidad & Tobago is not ready for high speed mobile access that is why they are in the position they are now, playing catch up. The top level executives of that company probably had to get an explanation from a lower level employee as to what Digicel just did to them

You type a lot, but you don't think enough

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 6:55 pm

LOL well yuh have a good point they.

But at the end of the day flow coverage is very small compared to TSTT. If not for them Piarco would have no internet cause I see flow has no plans to bring internet on this area anytime soon.

My 2MB does work fine for now but you right the price I paying for that I would switch to flow in the morning if they had coverage in my area.

If it is TSTT really did say that how Trinidad not ready for high speed mobile data then I take back all what I said to defend them. Never knew they said that. Da is backward thinking.

Ah still stand by the 256k unlimited a month is better than the flow 20 hours though. Atleast in my case cause I does be on the net all the time when I home playing online games. flow 20 hours won't cut it cause I go finish it in 2 days.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 14th, 2012, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2012, 6:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:TSTT launching a new cheap blu studio 53 smart phone check it on youtube.

When they say revolutionise trinidad they mean since this new smartphone is a chinese one with rejected 600mhz CPU

Now this phone may sound like garbage to people with galaxy s2 and other high end android phones but think about if if this phone is say $800 TT?

That phone will be atleast $1000+. Where do you pull these figures out from?? :?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 14th, 2012, 6:58 pm

risley93 wrote:any one knows the mms setting for the iphone 4 on digicel?

Didn't you guys get the configuration text message, I could upload a screenshot of my settings, but
1. I have never tried to send an MMS, so I don't know if it works, or if its the correct setting s

2. I have an Android phone

3. I'm seeing a password, I have no clue what that password is

EDIT: here you go anyway, hope it helps.

Last edited by achillies on May 14th, 2012, 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 7:05 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:TSTT launching a new cheap blu studio 53 smart phone check it on youtube.

When they say revolutionise trinidad they mean since this new smartphone is a chinese one with rejected 600mhz CPU

Now this phone may sound like garbage to people with galaxy s2 and other high end android phones but think about if if this phone is say $800 TT?

That phone will be atleast $1000+. Where do you pull these figures out from?? :?

Well i figured if this phone is say over $1000 then no one would buy it since they could get HTC and Samsung within the $1000+ Price range. Blu products real cheap. Forget the $800, lets put at $1k max.

Its 600mhz CPU and the galaxy Ace is like $1400 and has a 800 MHZ CPU. So if this going to revolutionize trinidad as TSTT claims it has to be sub $1000.

But then again allyuh fellas say TSTT has no clue what they doing here. So thats another issue by itself cause allyuh could be right.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 14th, 2012, 7:13 pm

^ the only thing TSTT has going for them right now are people who are content with what they have / don't know what else is out there. I guarantee if number portability was available you would see a significant number of customers switching to Digicel.

Digicel mms settings for those who wanted it
http://tsttproblems.com/index.php?showtopic=1660
Screen Shot 2012-05-14 at 7.09.25 PM.png
Screen Shot 2012-05-14 at 7.09.25 PM.png (19.65 KiB) Viewed 3070 times

achillies

Postby achillies » May 14th, 2012, 7:43 pm

mojosodope wrote:^ the only thing TSTT has going for them right now are people who are content with what they have / don't know what else is out there. I guarantee if number portability was available you would see a significant number of customers switching to Digicel.

This is the truth right here, but TATT drag their asses on everything, FLOW wanted this to be implemented since before 2011, we are in 2012 and I can't here anything about it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 8:07 pm

I remember just before they 4G launch, Digicel outgoing CEO said they were winning the war. And that its time the government start to think about selling out the final 51% they have to Cable and Wireless and let the whole thing become private and done and end the entire name Telecommunication Services of Trinidad and Tobago name it self.

Then some Communication Workers Union man come and say how the government should take back full control of TSTT. Remey I think he name is. He claimed that TSTT not being able to launch 4G was because of C&W wtf? I doubt he knew anything he was saying.

I still studying what Kamla meant when she told TSTT and Digicel to watch out that new phone companies is coming. I never heard anything after that. So sad that Laqtel just failed before they could even start.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 8:19 pm

i figured out my problem i didn't put in the apn (web.digiceltt.com)

oh yeh i got 5mb down and 2mb up in st james and 4mbs down 0.4 up in santa cruz

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 14th, 2012, 8:46 pm

^ good to know man.

Just wanna mention something before I go. I downloaded a app call 3G watch dog that tracks my data usage. according to my current data use per day I would need 2.1GB per month.

So the 2GB plan I took works out quite nicely. I use maybe 60MB a day I would say to browse websites. A page on trinituner takes 120KB to load fully.

Postby S_2NR » May 14th, 2012, 8:50 pm

EFFECTIC, killing threads slowly with his cool stories since Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:17 pm

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » May 14th, 2012, 8:53 pm

mojosodope wrote:^ the only thing TSTT has going for them right now are people who are content with what they have / don't know what else is out there. I guarantee if number portability was available you would see a significant number of customers switching to Digicel.

Working like a charm...

risley93

Postby risley93 » May 14th, 2012, 9:03 pm

will it work on the iphone once a 4g data package is taken?

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 14th, 2012, 9:07 pm

risley93 wrote:

will it work on the iphone once a 4g data package is taken?

yes i just set mine up today it works very well follow the instructions on the flier and then put web.digiceltt.com in the apn and your good to go finally get to use the iphone the way it was meant to be used

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 14th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Just now it go be RIP Digicel 3G thread or might have to rename it.

Val

Postby Val » May 14th, 2012, 9:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ good to know man.

Just wanna mention something before I go. I downloaded a app call 3G watch dog that tracks my data usage. according to my current data use per day I would need 2.1GB per month.

So the 2GB plan I took works out quite nicely. I use maybe 60MB a day I would say to browse websites. A page on trinituner takes 120KB to load fully.

Why do you need this app? ICS on the Galaxy S2 already has this feature built in.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » May 14th, 2012, 9:57 pm

I called bmobile's retention department today to tell them I'm interested in switching to Digicel's 4G network, being a post paid customer for the past 10 years.

All the CSR said was that I needed to settle my balance and call again to have my service terminated. I found this unbelievable that that was the type of service I received from the RETENTION DEPARTMENT of a company that should be using all their resources to keep their current users from switching. I even had to ask HER if they have any plans for a 4G network, although I already know they of course do, to which she replied that they don't have an exact date but it should be "within the next month".