"State of Emergency" Thread

DSM_05

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby DSM_05 » August 24th, 2011, 8:02 am

The proclamation from President George Maxwell Richards was for a National State of Emergency!!! Not a Limited State of Emergency that is being reported by the Gov't! The curfew is limited to certain areas, but the State of Emergency is 24hrs a day for the entire country! Our constitutional rights have been suspended!! For the duration of this National State of Emergency we have NO RIGHTS, not limited rights as being told to us!! Whatever courtesies the police and army extend to us is solely at their whim and fancy!
A National State of Emergency is always a LAST RESORT! It is not simply a tactic or initiative that can be used at the whim and fancy of the Gov't. The Gov't has declared (by this National State of Emergency) that they cannot manage the crime problem under lawful conditions, remove the law (rights of citizens) and solve the problem?! WTF!!

x 1 billion

NO rights for the avg citizen anymore. YOu ca be arrested on mere suspicion. Imagine that!

EVEN if they suspect there was a coup attempt or something in the works, whey go and send the entire populace into panic with a massive state of emergency? People are even more afraid now than they were before. Crime was could NOT have been the only reason why this was done, and noe of the SUSPECTED reasons IMHO justify the full SOE.

Sounds more like the gov't acting like a drama queen to me.

and the idiocy abounds since I would have thought they would want to clean up the police service before doing something like this- but nah man, they giving crooked police even more power over the hapless citizen.

well done PP. :?

Postby Habit7 » August 24th, 2011, 8:26 am

What about 21st Century Policing, what about Kamla's plans for ankle bracelet tracking for repeat offenders and parolees, what about targeted wire tapping and camera surveillance. Its like Kamla was gently chiselling an ice sculpture and then get vex and start to use a sledge hammer. Or like Kamla press NOS in third gear.

This SOE better work otherwise there remains no more drastic measures to implement.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 24th, 2011, 8:45 am

as we on this "emergency" word..
trinidad knows nothing of emergency or crisis.

I does real crack up at the bullsheit adverts in the papers about the 'first responders' etc.
The other night..normal, no rain, wind nothing. Electricity went by me for 7 hours in the night. from 8pm-3am. Called TTEC..the operator said they were on a go slow.

I pray we really dont have a natural disaster or an uprising etc.
Cause we gonna be in sheit street!

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 24th, 2011, 8:55 am

this should actually be allowed to continue for at least a year

Infamous

Postby Infamous » August 24th, 2011, 8:55 am

Computerman wrote:The proclamation from President George Maxwell Richards was for a National State of Emergency!!! Not a Limited State of Emergency that is being reported by the Gov't! The curfew is limited to certain areas, but the State of Emergency is 24hrs a day for the entire country! Our constitutional rights have been suspended!! For the duration of this National State of Emergency we have NO RIGHTS, not limited rights as being told to us!! Whatever courtesies the police and army extend to us is solely at their whim and fancy!
A National State of Emergency is always a LAST RESORT! It is not simply a tactic or initiative that can be used at the whim and fancy of the Gov't. The Gov't has declared (by this National State of Emergency) that they cannot manage the crime problem under lawful conditions, remove the law (rights of citizens) and solve the problem?! WTF!!

This is exactly what Morgan was referring to last night. This is the government's ace, their strongest weapon. They must have called the SOE for a bigger reason because if the results at the end of 15 days aren't significant and are nothing more than regular police work then we are screwed. The government would not only have wasted the SOE but the fear they could have instilled with a threat of one. They better know what they doing.

Postby rfari » August 24th, 2011, 8:58 am

Computerman wrote:
rfari wrote:
Computerman wrote:I am a founding member of the COP! Don't speak of what you don't know little boy!

U could geh meh a guberment wuk orwah dawdi???
Yuh could cut grass or clean drain?

I ha meh school leaving certificate pal. I find yuh rell disrespecful. Just say that COP eh have any weight in de guberment and hymc nah dawdi.

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 9:07 am

zcarz wrote:this should actually be allowed to continue for at least a year

u want to live with a curfew and ur civil rights suspended for a year so the police could do regular police work. :roll:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 24th, 2011, 9:18 am

S_2NR wrote:

u want to live with a curfew and ur civil rights suspended for a year so the police could do regular police work. :roll:

my thoughts exactly. fellas who ask for the SOE to continue for a year clearly don't understand what the SOE entails in terms of loss of rights or recourse.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 24th, 2011, 9:23 am

DSM_05 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

my thoughts exactly. fellas who ask for the SOE to continue for a year clearly don't understand what the SOE entails in terms of loss of rights or recourse.

some people have put themselves under curfew for the last few years now.
Not going out at nights etc.
So I guess it's easy for some to say it should go on for a year because they have been living in fear for so long

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 9:26 am

a self imposed curfew is still very different to a government imposed one.
in one instance u choose to stay in ur house, in the other, it is illegal to leave ur house.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » August 24th, 2011, 9:40 am

rfari wrote:
Computerman wrote:
rfari wrote:
Computerman wrote:I am a founding member of the COP! Don't speak of what you don't know little boy!

U could geh meh a guberment wuk orwah dawdi???
Yuh could cut grass or clean drain?

I ha meh school leaving certificate pal. I find yuh rell disrespecful. Just say that COP eh have any weight in de guberment and hymc nah dawdi.
Yuh speaks de truth dere sonny!

S_2NR wrote:a self imposed curfew is still very different to a government imposed one.
in one instance u choose to stay in ur house, in the other, it is illegal to leave ur house.
[/sarcasm]I don't understand the problem. Ent Egypt was in a SOE for 20+ years? Everyting was fine, no 'crime' and happy citizens![/sarcasm]

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 24th, 2011, 9:48 am

sentraman wrote:after that smile and hand shake it sound like the AG start to cuss hahaha

Immediately after you could hear "Why you so...." then it ends. I'm sure he got up and start to open his mouth loud.

Postby S_2NR » August 24th, 2011, 9:53 am

The AG is a kant.
Shame on him for using people's emotions to gain support for this SoE.
Talkin about people having self imposed curfews, how long they in power? they now realise this?
And then saying no to independence fireworks and saying he want fireworks between police and criminals. This man is an arse.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 24th, 2011, 9:54 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:So this whole suitation involving people who have already booked flights to leave trinidad- many people are going to the police stations that have to drop and pickup people from the airport and are being denied a pass, some police stations are telling them that they have to go to the airport from the night before and stay there overnight if their flight is early.

So WTF, how do people get to the airport or home if Taxis are not even being given passes as well?
WILL PIARCO airport start putting beds there in their compound?
Some people have booked and paid for vacations for months now and what happens to them?

Na, it just happened to you.

Postby honda hoe » August 24th, 2011, 9:56 am

cacasplat3 wrote:i'm not a supporter of Annand, however the reporter was a complete moron.......
the AG was becoming aggravated by Dominic(sp?)
he asked a question, then while answering, he jumps in and then changes the question........seems like he was intent on making it a debate........
then the Ag says he cannot comment on a matter because he is the AG, Dominic makes an absurd remark like "well AG cap off then" what kind of jackass says that?

THIS :!:

banzai clearly prefers to jump on d "oh goooooood" bandwagon instead of understanding what was actually being said

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 10:00 am

Stephon. wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:I'm eager to hear from the head of Doma - Aboud is it? Did he say anything on this yet?

he was calling for an LSOE years now - I'd love to hear him complain about "loss of business" to DOMA members now.

Gregory Aboud is in full support of the SOE to be quite honest.

Is where you getting your information from :|

DOMA sees negative effect

The 9 pm curfew imposed will cause substantial disruption for the business community. So said president of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) Gregory Aboud during a telephone interview yesterday.

He said it was obvious the curfew would have a dramatic effect. “The negative effect of these provisions, however, need to be balanced against the terrible loss of life that has been occurring so frequently in the past several weeks,” said Aboud. He reflected that the business community would need to be patient as they awaited further information on details of the initiative.

Aboud also raised concerns for law-abiding citizens who resided in areas deemed “hotspots”. “We wish to highlight the need for discretion in dealing with the thousands of law-abiding citizens when searches and others initiatives take place in these areas,” Aboud said. Following an emergency meeting with members of the National Security Council on Sunday, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a limited state of emergency in areas deemed as crime hotspots. The state of emergency took effect from midnight on Sunday. The Prime Minister said it would be reviewed daily.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/08/ ... ive-effect

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 10:06 am

Sumana.00 wrote:22 Gang leaders Apprehended

TEMPERS flared and emotions ran high on Nelson Street, Port of Spain, after police detained 22 residents from the area yesterday.

Officers said they detained the suspects for questioning in connection with criminal offences including robberies and gang-related activities.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cop ... 95278.html

Since when does living on Nelson Street and being suspects = gang leaders?

Either yuh showing your true colors or yuh speaking out yuh arse.
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on August 24th, 2011, 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 10:06 am

patiently waits to see outcome of the SOE....

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2011, 10:06 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:I'm eager to hear from the head of Doma - Aboud is it? Did he say anything on this yet?

he was calling for an LSOE years now - I'd love to hear him complain about "loss of business" to DOMA members now.

The 9 pm curfew imposed will cause substantial disruption for the business community. So said president of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA) Gregory Aboud during a telephone interview yesterday.

He said it was obvious the curfew would have a dramatic effect. “The negative effect of these provisions, however, need to be balanced against the terrible loss of life that has been occurring so frequently in the past several weeks,” said Aboud. He reflected that the business community would need to be patient as they awaited further information on details of the initiative.

Aboud also raised concerns for law-abiding citizens who resided in areas deemed “hotspots”. “We wish to highlight the need for discretion in dealing with the thousands of law-abiding citizens when searches and others initiatives take place in these areas,” Aboud said. Following an emergency meeting with members of the National Security Council on Sunday, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a limited state of emergency in areas deemed as crime hotspots. The state of emergency took effect from midnight on Sunday. The Prime Minister said it would be reviewed daily.

Actually Gregory Aboud is in support of the SOE he said so himself

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 10:16 am

Cops, residents in standoff as 22 arrested
By Akile Simon

Story Created: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 23, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT

TEMPERS flared and emotions ran high on Nelson Street, Port of Spain, after police detained 22 residents from the area yesterday.

Residents faced off with heavily armed officers as police led those detained into waiting vehicles before they were carted off to the Besson Street CID.

The drama unfolded just after 3 p.m. after officers from the Port of Spain CID, Court and Process Branch, Inter-Agency Task Force, Guard and Emergency Branch and the Police Canine Unit swooped down on the area.

The crowd moved in on police who were placing the suspects into vehicles and in some cases attempted to prevent the officers from leaving the area with the men.

Police immediately took up strategic positions and ordered the irate residents, who hurled abuses at the officers, to step back and allow them to do their jobs.

Officers said they detained the suspects for questioning in connection with criminal offences including robberies and gang-related activities.

The suspects, as they were being led away by police, protested their innocence and accused the officers of wrongfully detaining them.

"Better all you shoot me and kill me here today because I ain't do nothing and just so all you locking me up," one of the men shouted at police.

The residents said they were fed up with being targeted by police officers. They called the names of several police officers who they claim have been constantly abusing Nelson Street residents.

As a police helicopter circled overhead, the screams of injustice and police brutality grew louder as police attempted to secure the suspects and leave the area.

Inspector Sahadeo Singh of the Besson Street CID, who led the exercise, was heard pleading with the suspects to calm themselves.

"It doesn't mean that you are under arrest because we are leaving the area with you. We have outstanding enquiries and investigations which we want to interview you in connection with, and soon as we have completed that and based on the outcome, you will be allowed to go home," Singh told two suspects, who refused to go into the tray of an unmarked police vehicle.

Nelson Street falls within one of the country's major crime hot spots under a 9 p.m.-5 a.m. curfew effective from Monday night after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced on Sunday a limited State of Emergency in the country.

Police have been afforded powers to arrest people and search homes without warrants and the Anti-Gang legislation has also been enforced which gives police powers to detain people suspected to be involved in criminal gangs and gang-related crimes.

Before the drama involving police, residents and the detained suspects, George Street resident Felix Edwards, 46, claimed he was savagely beaten about the body with a steel baton by a police officer while sitting outside a friend's home on Nelson Street.

Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.

He said after he told the officers that he had just completed painting and was taking a rest before he headed off to his home, one of them drew his baton and began to beat him about the body.

"It one of them who had on the badjohn uniform (Task Force clothing), flick out he steel baton and start to beat me all over my body. He said 'we in charge now'.

"We know what we does be going through inside here when them badjohn police pass through. Is licks like peas we does get and they only playing nice now because all you (members of the media) around here. If all you wasn't here, the amount ah blows we would have been getting you swear licks going out of style," Diaz said.

Diaz said he decided to speak out on the actions of the officers because he wanted them to stop and change their ways toward residents of East Port of Spain.

... Meanwhile, Minister of National Security John Sandy said yesterday that 22 gang members, including several gang leaders, were arrested in east Port of Spain.

Sandy, accompanied by deputy Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams and Chief of Defence Staff Kenrick Maharaj, interrupted regular broadcasting with an emergency address to the nation yesterday just after 6 p.m.

He said this was just the start of the arrests and the joint police and army patrol would be "out there in all the areas, in particular those we pinpointed as hot spots".

"We are going to ensure that at the end of it we are successful," he said.

Sandy said the period of their discomfort would not be in vain and would in fact be a positive experience.

"While you will endure some inconvenience due to the curfew and in particular due to the type of operations that we would be conducting through our police and military, we want to ensure you that every effort is being made to ensure that you are comfortable and at the end of it you would be better for what you have done in this period," Sandy said.

Sandy confirmed all of Trinidad and Tobago is under a State of Emergency and not just in various hot spots.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cop ... 95278.html

think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 10:17 am

eliteauto wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Actually Gregory Aboud is in support of the SOE he said so himself

That may very well be the case, however, given his statements, it is cautiously so and not fully, as was previously stated in this thread.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 24th, 2011, 10:19 am

*rumour mill*
petrotrin shut down?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 10:20 am

16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....

Uhm, it was 3pm in the afternoon. :?

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 24th, 2011, 10:25 am

White CZ4A wrote:*rumour mill*
petrotrin shut down?

the refinery down since april and may not be up until next yr....we have been importing fuel since April...if the unions shut it down the bond under a soe, the regiment would man the bond....contractors could transport and distribute fuel in the event of this happening.....

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 24th, 2011, 10:28 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
16 cycles wrote:think people now start to understand how serious the SOE is....don't breeze in a hotspot area just before curfew....get inside....

Area deemed a hotspot...they can do it.....outside of a hotspot is a different story

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 24th, 2011, 10:31 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Area deemed a hotspot...they can do it.....outside of a hotspot is a different story

Do what, Aaron??

If curfew starts at 9pm you mean to tell me residents in "hot spot" areas are advised to not "breeze in a hotspot area" 6 hours beforehand???

So "just before curfew" now means 6 hours before?

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 24th, 2011, 10:34 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Do what, Aaron??

If curfew starts at 9pm you mean to tell me residents in "hot spot" areas are advised to not "breeze in a hotspot area" 6 hours beforehand???

So "just before curfew" now means 6 hours before?

I aint no expert so don't shoot the messenger...I'm going on the same info and everyone else....

Intel provided to the defense arms know who they are looking for....let the police do their work....

but as usual "police brutality, he was a good boy"

Postby tr1ad » August 24th, 2011, 10:46 am

i just got a bbm broadcast...

"fill up your tanks, np has closed down, petrotrin has shut down and the bond is closed"

bbm will really be the downfall of trinidadians yes

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2011, 10:47 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Edwards said he was involved in repainting a primary school in the area all day and decided to take a take a seat just before he left from his home around 8.30 p.m. Police officers, he said, pulled up in a vehicle and questioned him about his whereabouts.

comment made in reference to the above passage.....

netsket

Postby netsket » August 24th, 2011, 10:56 am

The Muslimeen complaining they lock up 22 fellas from Nelson Street.....but the Muslimeen KILL 22+ ppl and walking the streets!!!

Just the mere fact that they complaining means it working :P

dey say we didnt need a LSOE...but how wud they be arrested without cause....yuh know how these bandits always have rights!!!

Keep up the good work!! Start Killing NOW!!