Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 15th, 2013, 5:55 pm

I decided on this

http://www.amazon.com/Rubena-Hopper-Bic ... 29er+tires

cheap and seems to be well rated

trinibajan34

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby trinibajan34 » December 16th, 2013, 1:18 pm

fellas question is it cheaper to buy hydraulic brakes down here or ship it in ,i want to upgrade my brakes from the hayes dyno comp, to shimano currently looking at these
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BQ7 ... M00QHQL0GS let me get alyuh opinion

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » December 16th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Can't tell you which is the best means to acquire them but what I can tell you is that I recently fitted a pair of these for someone and the process went smoothly . They did not even need to be bled after trimming the hoses . I simply tapped the hose so the bubbles would rise into the lever and then topped up the lever. Braking and modulation was excellent .

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 16th, 2013, 2:38 pm

I meant is it cheaper to buy online or just buy it down here

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 16th, 2013, 5:24 pm

Its cheaper to buy online because bike parts dont have any tax. However in most cases its about the same price.

But only if its a small item is then it may be cheaper.

You would get better quality online. Down here would have busted rejected 3rd world edition, where as Amazon would have first world quality. Just look at pricesmart its a dump portal for rejected old items that can't land on US soil or has been on US soil too long and is now too old to sell. And people down here does rush and buy it only to find out after the 30 day warranty it get busted.

Any event I bought this pump today. It looks like this but its a little longer, and has the hose connection. Its SKS Germany, bought it by the 3rd world bike Shop in madrass road in St Helena.

Surprisingly it has a few good items there at good prices. This cost me $50 TT and quite honestly that was an awesome deal for a SKS Germany pump considering that woman does only have Chinese quality stuff.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 18th, 2013, 5:25 pm

@trinibajan.... you can save a couple hundred for the most if you buy online. Got my SLX pre-bled setup locally.

A word of caution on that Deore BR-M596 pre-bled kit. The BH-90 hose may leak from the crimped banjo fitting. It's a Shimano defect, and from what I read on mtbr forums, people got the hose replaced under warranty.
Happened to mine, and I got a Jagwire Hyflow hose kit for replacement.

Also, the Deore disc brakes don't have "Ice Technology", which is the finned brake pads. Ice-tech starts from SLX up to XTR. Check me if you do get a Shimano kit, as I have the brake bleeding kit.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 18th, 2013, 6:29 pm

welll I was getting a desl on xt brakes but I only got the front and I really want to upgrade my brakes

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 19th, 2013, 12:34 pm

vk sportsman i was just looking through the other bike website an i didnt realize that the pads are stuck to the fins, do any of the bike shops have that type of pad here ?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 19th, 2013, 8:20 pm

Checked BikeInn south branch today, and they didn't have. Remember seeing XTR pads couple months ago by Mikes Bikes, but didn't inquire which model it was for.

http://www.mbaction.com/Main/News/Product-Test-Shimano-Metal-vs-Resin-Brake-Pad-Comp-5155.aspx

http://www.jensonusa.com/Brake-Pads?c=C0000E18

M988/985/785/675/666 brake pads: (G0**) is standard 'Race' series, while (F0**) is heat-sink finned 'Trail' series and are cross-compatible between systems.

Ice-tech pads: F01A(Resin) and F03C(Metallic)
Non Ice-tech pads: G01A(Resin), G03C(Metallic) , G03Ti (Metallic with Titanium backplate)

I'm using the F03C pad, however I will order the Resin version to try out if I cannot get locally, as I need a pair of 160mm Ice Tech RT86 rotors for my other wheelset.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 19th, 2013, 9:01 pm

was reading up on the m596 and the reviews are great so I will order them next year

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 21st, 2013, 8:43 am

The ice tech pads with the fins are the same as the ones without them.....compound wise I mean. I can't see myself ever needing the fins on trail rides with rotors 180 and up. On 160 rotors you will see the difference. If I need new pads, which is unlikely in the near future, it would be the metallic non finned version. Resin pads have much better initial bite over metallic, however, in the wet or muddy conditions wear on them goes up exponentially......in one long ride you can wear through a set.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 21st, 2013, 9:57 am

talking about disc size do you need adapters when moving from 160 to 180

bgh

Postby bgh » December 21st, 2013, 10:30 am

Off topic a little. Lets arrange an old years trail ride somewhere. Maybe chag!

I'm working half day so I'm going down there after....

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 21st, 2013, 10:33 am

sounds like a plan

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 21st, 2013, 5:07 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:talking about disc size do you need adapters when moving from 160 to 180

Yes yo will. The exact one needed will depend on the type of mounting points on your fork, frame and calipers. I suggest getting adapters from the same manufacturer of the brakes to prevent fitment issues whic can arise.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 21st, 2013, 5:09 pm

aLl post mount

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 21st, 2013, 8:05 pm

Question here

Even after sending the bike into bike inn for brake rubbing on the disk, while the part where the disk was rubbing real hard stopped.

There is still a lot of rubbing if you spin the wheel real fast you can get maybe 30 seconds before it comes to a complete stop.

this indicates to me its not a big deal since thats not enough rubbing to cause any kind of extra power required by me. But I am wondering if these brakes can go smooth? both front and back you always hear it rubbing the rubbing sound.

Is this normal with hydro disk brake bikes?

Also both wheels waggle a little bit I think this is due to my obesity. But in both wheels there is a very loose spoke 1 per wheel. Any idea on this?

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2013, 10:40 pm

it should be tightened if loose, but not a show stopper
machine made wheels are usually will go out of whack a little when put into use.

Wheelbuilding is quite an art.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 22nd, 2013, 5:48 am

trinibajan34 wrote:aLl post mount

In that case u need post to post mounts for 180 rotors. Unlike IS tabs, post mounts adapters are the same for front and rear. Jenson USA usually has shimano adapters.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 22nd, 2013, 6:44 am

is the stopping power better with larger discs or the same as the 160 ?

bgh

Postby bgh » December 22nd, 2013, 2:02 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:is the stopping power better with larger discs or the same as the 160 ?

The link below may answer some of your questions...

http://m.bikeradar.com/gear/article/buy ... brakes-45/

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 22nd, 2013, 3:23 pm

@bgh, that old year's ride sounds like a plan.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 22nd, 2013, 3:28 pm

thanks man so who in for ole years ride roll call and where we meeting

bgh

Postby bgh » December 22nd, 2013, 4:26 pm

bgh wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:is the stopping power better with larger discs or the same as the 160 ?

The link below may answer some of your questions...

http://m.bikeradar.com/gear/article/buy ... brakes-45/

Another article which may help...

http://www.bikeradar.com/mtb/gear/artic ... ize-37050/

bgh

Postby bgh » December 22nd, 2013, 4:34 pm

I'm thinking about 1pm. This would give a couple of hours of trail time with some R&R... hope its not raining that day.
I normally park at the golf club car park, but this is due to my late afternoon ride and after 6 returns.

bgh

Postby bgh » December 24th, 2013, 9:01 am

Some of the dangers we riders can encounter while doing what we love. I really need to stop riding alone!!!
Some what graphic in nature.

http://www.bikemag.com/videos/video-cedric-gracias-brush-with-death/

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 29th, 2013, 1:54 am

Heading to chag in the morning need to work off Xmas food

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2013, 3:55 pm

The other day I did some slight offroad riding and 4 spokes came lose from both wheels LOL

I bought a crescent wrench and tightened them myself because the wheel was waggling. They are for the most part pretty straight now. Had no idea the bike shop was supposed to grasp the spokes and squeeze hard to release tension and then check for alignment before selling someone a bike.

I learned about this online. So when allyuh go to buy a bike check to see if they do that first, I can only assume mikes bikes does those sort of things due to how much extra they charge for bike of pretty much identical components. Say in bike inn a bike is $5k well in mike bikes the same thing is $5800. They had a really nice Christmas sale on specialized road bikes for like $1k discount. You could have gotten the Allez for $4100

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/ ... t#features

this was it. I am wondering if Specialized bikes are better than Fuji. I know my Fuji is quite a looker, everyone always looks at it in amazement. No doubt the black matte paint and white colors bring it out. Its just the morons I have to watch out for who keep telling me I wasted money on a bicycle when I could have gotten a cheap motorbike or a car for the same price.

sigh

they just don't get it. On positive news I lost 1 inch on my waist riding this thing to work back and fort for 1 month. I am always tempted to lock out the shocks for road riding but with the anal roads in this country the shocks seem to come in quite handy for a smooth ride. When going over humps they sound and feel just like a new corolla shocks LOL :lol:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 29th, 2013, 4:06 pm

u need to come up chaguramas and ride up to the tracking station that will give you a real work out and build ur endurance