Re: Public sector salaries

Postby matr1x » April 23rd, 2021, 5:36 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
matr1x wrote:
teems1 wrote:Wow. To think you have the same voting power as regular people.
matr1x wrote:An interesting question.

The real question is, what value do private sector companies bring to the economy? Right now they eat more than they contribute.

Most private companies skirt taxes and ask any inland revenue find officer how much pressure it is to collect taxes from private companies.

Salaries aren't just figures that fall from the sky

Look at the major eaters of forex. There is your answer

When the major consumers of forex use it they actually buying products for joe public to use. Pricemart, Massy and Unicomer's business are to sell consumer goods to the public. Massy and Ansa not importing all the cars for themselves.

The major eater of forex are Trinis with their lifestyles.

Standards of living are supposed to improve as a country becomes more developed. Trinidad does not manufacture the goods that are typically consumed when living standards are increased.

If you want to be the ideal citizen according to Clarence "imported doubles" "ketchup forex" Rambharat, go live in a country with no hope for development.

Lol, I was going to tell him something about his mother

Postby Dizzy28 » April 23rd, 2021, 5:44 pm

Good thing you didn't . Don't think I would ever have recovered from that burn.
matr1x wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
matr1x wrote:
teems1 wrote:Wow. To think you have the same voting power as regular people.
matr1x wrote:An interesting question.

The real question is, what value do private sector companies bring to the economy? Right now they eat more than they contribute.

Most private companies skirt taxes and ask any inland revenue find officer how much pressure it is to collect taxes from private companies.

Salaries aren't just figures that fall from the sky

Look at the major eaters of forex. There is your answer

When the major consumers of forex use it they actually buying products for joe public to use. Pricemart, Massy and Unicomer's business are to sell consumer goods to the public. Massy and Ansa not importing all the cars for themselves.

The major eater of forex are Trinis with their lifestyles.

Standards of living are supposed to improve as a country becomes more developed. Trinidad does not manufacture the goods that are typically consumed when living standards are increased.

If you want to be the ideal citizen according to Clarence "imported doubles" "ketchup forex" Rambharat, go live in a country with no hope for development.

Lol, I was going to tell him something about his mother

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 23rd, 2021, 5:47 pm

What are teachers' salaries like these days?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 5:49 pm

Doctors who are house officers who have to work call (16-24 hours straight) every 3-4 days getting the same as a T&TEC clerk.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2021, 5:51 pm

I think teacher III is ~12k

But good luck even getting a permanent teacher position. Talk to anybody in their mid 20s that applied for teaching and hear how long they waiting on MoE and interviews.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 23rd, 2021, 6:18 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Doctors who are house officers who have to work call (16-24 hours straight) every 3-4 days getting the same as a T&TEC clerk.

I guess so then...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 6:24 pm

How unfair is that.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 23rd, 2021, 7:05 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Doctors who are house officers who have to work call (16-24 hours straight) every 3-4 days getting the same as a T&TEC clerk.
The same as a ttec clerk yuh say

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 7:07 pm

viedcht wrote:

Somebody say the tt&tec clerks making 20k+ on this thread....that's why I said that.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 23rd, 2021, 7:28 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
Somebody say the tt&tec clerks making 20k+ on this thread....that's why I said that.

Orrrhorr I now wondering the difference between a H/Officer and ah MO I.

I hope them seek some kinda help... bout TTEC paperpushers collecting >20k

Postby matr1x » April 23rd, 2021, 8:04 pm

viedcht wrote:

I feel no sympathy for them doctors.

Plenty time they running racket out of hospitals. Taking hospital medications and carrying it to their practices or pharmacy and reselling it.

Let's not talk about them priority their practice versus the hospital where they actually employed. Coming 2 hours late for clinic.

How about steering patients to their private practice. And charging real money.

Every single example I quote I see thick papers and examples of each. Firetruck them

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 8:07 pm

matr1x wrote:
viedcht wrote:

Plenty time they running racket out of hospitals. Taking hospital medications and carrying it to their practices or pharmacy and reselling it.

Let's not talk about them priority their practice versus the hospital where they actually employed. Coming 2 hours late for clinic.

Every single example I quote I see thick papers and examples of each. Firetruck them

Hello matr1x,

can you explain the steering patients to private practice thing?

Also that's not nice of doctors here to do....I didn't know they did things like that.

But for the original comment, house officer doctors rarely have private practices....as they're not specialists.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 23rd, 2021, 8:24 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:I think teacher III is ~12k

But good luck even getting a permanent teacher position. Talk to anybody in their mid 20s that applied for teaching and hear how long they waiting on MoE and interviews.
Teachers get through in their 30s and no longer 20s due to over saturation.

Postby alfa » April 23rd, 2021, 8:59 pm

wtf wrote:

I think it depends on the subject though. I know a guy applied to teach maths some years ago. For interviewed and called to teach within a few months

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2021, 9:10 pm

alfa wrote:
wtf wrote:

I think it depends on the subject though. I know a guy applied to teach maths some years ago. For interviewed and called to teach within a few months

That is either incredible luck, connections or he run them down enough. I work with a few people who waiting nearly 4 years now for interviews. One has a BSC in maths, one has physics, another has geography, all waiting.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 23rd, 2021, 9:13 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
alfa wrote:
wtf wrote:

That is either incredible luck, connections or he run them down enough. I work with a few people who waiting nearly 4 years now for interviews. One has a BSC in maths, one has physics, another has geography, all waiting.
Exactly. I dont even think connection work in MOE.
Also I wonder who gets placed faster between UTT and UWI graduates in a school?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2021, 9:20 pm

wtf wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
alfa wrote:
wtf wrote:

Exactly. I dont even think connection work in MOE.
Also I wonder who gets placed faster between UTT and UWI graduates in a school?

I always say that the world is a more chaotic place than we think. When they see a BSc and a DipEd I doubt they even care enough to separate the UWI from UTT, is just a box to tick and a sentence to write on a sheet.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 9:37 pm

Tuner friends,

what you all think the real unemployment rate in this country is?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 23rd, 2021, 9:38 pm

matr1x wrote:

Coming 2 hours late for clinic.

IN-WARD

Howzabout the nurses who doc the meds log in-ward and claim giving patients who just had major surgery prescribed morphine/pain meds but feeding them panadol (and the pain meds gorn). Or why gauze and other dressings materials always short even though the ward signed off just that morning for a 3 day supply. Meds have to be doctor-requested, and delivered/handled/controlled by nurses.
Not saying all nurses as sus, but some make things bad for other medpros

DOCTORS

The MO's and the big Fellows may be able to do what you suspect "all doctors" of doing but I never confirmed theft, or encouraging patients to their private practice. Closest I know is JT but being on TV brought more business rather than any kinda coercion.

As for the clinic presence you highlight, I can't say about the community clinic, but doctors do the hospital wards rounds every weekday morning before heading to SFGH Outpatient clinic. Not that they deliberately late but rounds take time, sometimes waiting for the senior. Blame the seniors who don't prioritise the clinic.
Last edited by viedcht on April 23rd, 2021, 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 23rd, 2021, 9:41 pm

alfa wrote:I think it depends on the subject though. I know a guy applied to teach maths some years ago. For interviewed and called to teach within a few months

No it's by rank and range; Teacher I, Teacher II, Teacher III, Principal I, Principal II etc.
Promotions and vacancy really dictated by service commission.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 23rd, 2021, 9:48 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Tuner friends,

what you all think the real unemployment rate in this country is?

probably 20-22%

Youth unemployment probably 30-40%

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 11:20 pm

so high wtf.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 23rd, 2021, 11:39 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:so high wtf.

I'm glad you asked that question.

I will say this the other youth issue is the fact that there are many young guys dropping out of school right now to find employment as it at this time is better for them families need the income. Don't know how successful they are though.
Last edited by Numb3r4 on April 23rd, 2021, 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 11:44 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

You think it that high too?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 23rd, 2021, 11:56 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

There just isn't much so I don't doubt that figure.

Most of the cases I know are small businesses that have not quite laid off folks but have drastically cut hours.
You now have some folks working 2 days out of 6 and trying to pick up another few days elsewhere, so technically they are not unemployed.
A good statistic to measure would be how many folks have more than one job?

With regards to the young folk many of them are underemployed, the ones that are "doing well" (I guess) were the ones who went to work with the multi-nationals and have still managed to keep their jobs. Still these jobs come with their own pros and cons.

The guys working for the government are most likely underemployed know of an industrial engineer who I think is working in the primary school system on contract. I believe that person was a scholarship winner but just couldn't get an industry job. Heard of engineers employed as clerical in the Ministry of Education can't confirm this.

A few retrained but can't say if they were successful in their new fields most were stuck at basic entry level jobs with the hope of moving up or out as they acquire experience.

Postby matr1x » April 24th, 2021, 9:21 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
matr1x wrote:
viedcht wrote:

Hello matr1x,

can you explain the steering patients to private practice thing?

Also that's not nice of doctors here to do....I didn't know they did things like that.

But for the original comment, house officer doctors rarely have private practices....as they're not specialists.

So you go to the hospital, and they say you have a condition. Obviously you need help. They will tell you of the big wait time. But they will be able to help you. Give you and address and practice.

Either a referral to a friend or if they bold, them.

No surprise of the long wait time if they spend most of their time at their private practice.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 24th, 2021, 10:40 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Most of the cases I know are small businesses that have not quite laid off folks but have drastically cut hours.
You now have some folks working 2 days out of 6 and trying to pick up another few days elsewhere, so technically they are not unemployed.

With regards to the young folk many of them are underemployed, the ones that are "doing well" (I guess) were the ones who went to work with the multi-nationals and have still managed to keep their jobs. Still these jobs come with their own pros and cons.

The guys working for the government are most likely underemployed know of an industrial engineer who I think is working in the primary school system on contract. I believe that person was a scholarship winner but just couldn't get an industry job. Heard of engineers employed as clerical in the Ministry of Education can't confirm this.

A few retrained but can't say if they were successful in their new fields most were stuck at basic entry level jobs with the hope of moving up or out as they acquire experience.

Interesting way to look at it.

You think engineering jobs might become more available in the near future in Trinidad?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 24th, 2021, 11:08 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

You think engineering jobs might become more available in the near future in Trinidad?
Their will be no jobs in Trinidad in the future.
RIP Energy Sector.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 24th, 2021, 6:40 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Specifically Mech, Chem and Indus a lot less, even if we have the presence of the multi-nationals the market is so flooded with experienced folks that many young guys won't stand much of a chance. If they are in IT well there maybe a future especially if they an get recruited for remote work the degree could get them into the door at least and then they can go from there. It may not be an avenue for migration though with the way the world is going but at least they have a job or income.

Note these IT jobs may be more in the service sector not so much in the software development side. Ideally it would be nice for them to get development experience.

Civil might stand a better chance in the sense that if government keeps up its attitude to infrastructural projects you may get the ability to at least get some training or "an end" as it were from a ministry contract or maybe be lucky enough to get a job with a small contractor.

Now it remains to be seen what will happen to our food and beverage sector, the food processing industry can be an employer of technical professionals from lab technicians al the way to engineers, remember many food processing plants are just that plants instead of producing chemicals they make food which is essentially chemicals we can eat. Whether or not the industry can expand or will, well, we'll see. This doesn't apply to only local producers, if we can in the case of Nestle get foreigners to set up a food processing plant that could work.

The Elec guys may not be so badly off, especially if they have a little coding experience they could fit in within the telecommunication sector it remains to be seen what will happen with TSTT, if they remain then don't count on too many new jobs being created, if they shrink operations and we are fortunate to get some more providers there may be opportunity. If they just shrink and no new service providers....well...

Many of the existing Oil and Gas multinationals have not really hired since 2017, they have placed ads for vacancies but by the job specifications it seems they already have an idea of the preferred candidate or they don't want to train a young person. Even when they do hire local labour of any skill level it will most likely be done via an HR firm or labour provider (i.e. Kenson or JSL) limited opportunity for direct hire.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 25th, 2021, 1:47 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Specifically Mech, Chem and Indus a lot less, even if we have the presence of the multi-nationals the market is so flooded with experienced folks that many young guys won't stand much of a chance. If they are in IT well there maybe a future especially if they an get recruited for remote work the degree could get them into the door at least and then they can go from there. It may not be an avenue for migration though with the way the world is going but at least they have a job or income.

Note these IT jobs may be more in the service sector not so much in the software development side. Ideally it would be nice for them to get development experience.

Civil might stand a better chance in the sense that if government keeps up its attitude to infrastructural projects you may get the ability to at least get some training or "an end" as it were from a ministry contract or maybe be lucky enough to get a job with a small contractor.

Now it remains to be seen what will happen to our food and beverage sector, the food processing industry can be an employer of technical professionals from lab technicians al the way to engineers, remember many food processing plants are just that plants instead of producing chemicals they make food which is essentially chemicals we can eat. Whether or not the industry can expand or will, well, we'll see. This doesn't apply to only local producers, if we can in the case of Nestle get foreigners to set up a food processing plant that could work.

The Elec guys may not be so badly off, especially if they have a little coding experience they could fit in within the telecommunication sector it remains to be seen what will happen with TSTT, if they remain then don't count on too many new jobs being created, if they shrink operations and we are fortunate to get some more providers there may be opportunity. If they just shrink and no new service providers....well...

Many of the existing Oil and Gas multinationals have not really hired since 2017, they have placed ads for vacancies but by the job specifications it seems they already have an idea of the preferred candidate or they don't want to train a young person. Even when they do hire local labour of any skill level it will most likely be done via an HR firm or labour provider (i.e. Kenson or JSL) limited opportunity for direct hire.

Thanks for all the advice. Going away to do software not sounding so bad after all.