Ads messing up browsers

Re: Digicel Ads messing up browsers - FIXED

Postby alfa » October 27th, 2020, 7:50 am

bluefete wrote:Fixed on my laptop - Thank you.

Duane: Maybe your advertisers could be a little bit more creative in their ad placements on the site.

That experiment failed because it shrunk the available space on the right, left and top sides of our screens. I think the constant scrolling also got people upset.

But I am not a techie.

Suppose that was how it was designed to work in that you are bombarded with Digicel in your face everytime your try to scroll. Either way it's working normal now. Thanks

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 28th, 2020, 10:25 am

The auto scroll is back.

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2020, 10:30 am

alfa wrote:
bluefete wrote:Fixed on my laptop - Thank you.

Duane: Maybe your advertisers could be a little bit more creative in their ad placements on the site.

That experiment failed because it shrunk the available space on the right, left and top sides of our screens. I think the constant scrolling also got people upset.

But I am not a techie.

Suppose that was how it was designed to work in that you are bombarded with Digicel in your face everytime your try to scroll. Either way it's working normal now. Thanks

ads shouldn't mess up your entire browsing experience like that

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 28th, 2020, 10:35 am

Time to move to adblock. This auto scroll is annoying.

Postby matr1x » October 28th, 2020, 10:36 am

its very annoying

Postby bluefete » October 28th, 2020, 10:58 am

What the hell?

It is back like a bad nightmare.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2020, 11:32 am

Can you explain the "autoscroll" so I can send it to the agency?
Because there is no auto scroll feature on the ad
The icons do follow the user down the page - is that what you mean?
The blocking of the page content was fixed

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 28th, 2020, 11:39 am

On Android with Chrome, the page returns to the top ad banner when completely loaded. Every page.

Usually I'm already halfway down the page when it auto scrolls back to the top.

No issues on PC.

Postby maj. tom » October 28th, 2020, 11:40 am

Tell the ad agency that people don't like ads following them everywhere. When they scroll past an ad, they don't want to see it again. If they were interested the first time, they would just scroll back up and click on it. It's very annoying and more like an invasion of privacy. Like someone following you around with a billboard after you say "no thanks." We saw the ad. Thanks. I don't want it grinding up on me like it's a fete after i scrolled past it. Tell them that that model is wrong. You're seeing that Trinituner's demographic not welcoming that model.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2020, 11:45 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:On Android with Chrome, the page returns to the top ad banner when completely loaded. Every page.

Usually I'm already halfway down the page when it auto scrolls back to the top.

No issues on PC.

Ok understood
Yes that would be a glitch that needs to be fixed asap
thanks

UPDATE: we were able to replicate it here and we sent it to the agency. They are working on a fix.

Sorry for the inconvenience

VII

Postby VII » October 28th, 2020, 6:39 pm

Messing up my phone browsing as we speak,trying to get rid of the tab but not getting an option to do so..

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2020, 6:50 pm

No worries ....we eh riot yet.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2020, 7:03 pm

It start back

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » October 29th, 2020, 3:59 pm

Wow this thing annoying.

I just had three different experiences browsing this thread to complain.

On page 1...no ad.
On page 2....it had a :D on both sides gradually from white to black.
On page 3...the ad returned.

maj. tom wrote:Tell the ad agency that people don't like ads following them everywhere. When they scroll past an ad, they don't want to see it again. If they were interested the first time, they would just scroll back up and click on it. It's very annoying and more like an invasion of privacy. Like someone following you around with a billboard after you say "no thanks." We saw the ad. Thanks. I don't want it grinding up on me like it's a fete after i scrolled past it. Tell them that that model is wrong. You're seeing that Trinituner's demographic not welcoming that model.

This is very true. You would like to think that the marketers and creative consultants would have know that this is the worst model possible to attract any traffic. But then again, given the prevalence of people spending time on tuner to rah rah, having an ad in their face following them can work.

Re: Digicel Ads messing up browsers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2020, 5:26 am

Swear this real annoying

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2020, 7:48 am

yeah esp as you start to scroll or read something at the start of clicking on a page and then 3 arc later it jump scrolls to the top

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2020, 10:08 am

We stopped the ads until they can fix it.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused

edit: Ads were fixed and running again

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » December 22nd, 2020, 1:57 pm

Maggi ads now

Postby sMASH » December 22nd, 2020, 5:24 pm

me no bothered too much by the ads. what bothering me is im viewing a portrait layout on a landscape monitor, and have to center wheel scroll more cause what supposed to be one line is made into 4 lines cause my lateral real estate is occupied by ads i dont watch.

hmmn, have me thinking to get 3 large 1080p monitors, and mount them portrait.

Postby Rovin » December 22nd, 2020, 5:44 pm

just a fyi to duane : no problem on my end , everything is working fine for me ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 22nd, 2020, 8:09 pm

No problem on desktop because i ent seeing any Maggi ad, but similar to before for tablet viewing, it goes straight to the ad when the page done load, regardless of where you are.

This time if you get to close to the bottom of the page, the ad popping up from below too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 22nd, 2020, 8:40 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:No problem on desktop because i ent seeing any Maggi ad, but similar to before for tablet viewing, it goes straight to the ad when the page done load, regardless of where you are.

This time if you get to close to the bottom of the page, the ad popping up from below too.

Ok will look into that

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2020, 5:32 am

Eeeet start back...similar to the digicel ads

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2020, 6:59 am

happens randomly on my phone
even when i clicked to reply to this thread it jumped to the top
and just did a second time as i typed this sentence .

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » December 23rd, 2020, 9:31 am

The browser on my phone jumps all over the place when loading up. Similar to what was happening when the new ads was placed on the site

xtech

Postby xtech » December 23rd, 2020, 11:40 am

Come on fellas where are your Christmas spirit?

It’s 2020 and Duane have money to make.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2020, 11:42 am

ok thanks for the feedback!
I reached out the ad agency and they are working on it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2021, 8:41 am

Different ad, same issue

Postby rollingstock » March 28th, 2021, 11:10 am

I stopped logging in because of this. Makes the site very frustrating to use.

wing

Postby wing » March 28th, 2021, 11:30 am

I agree, kinda ruining the experience.