Budget 2014/2015

Re: Budget 2014/2015

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2014, 5:09 pm

toyolink wrote:This was a benign budget as any election presentation would be.
The state seems to have spared us any significant damage and really what this signals is business as usual.
The problems which gnaw at us, which require tough measures are certainly not going to take centre stage at least for the next 12 months and the exchequer must be prepared to be open fisted with $$$$$$$$.
The probability of many of the measures being operational within the next three months is as always remote due to regulatory impediments.
People don't go rushing to buy hybrids and electric 'quite as yet'.

They won't...not when you still have $1.50/l and $2.70/l fuel.

cng, lower cost of hybrids, etc. is meant to give us another option so that when they eventually DO raise regular fuel we have an alternative

Postby UML » September 8th, 2014, 5:23 pm

NO new taxes added!!!

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 8th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Thanks, time to upgrade to prius or nissan leaf

Postby SR » September 8th, 2014, 6:52 pm

Tesla only started making rhd in june this year for the uk japan hong kong and austrailian market and its still an exclusive dealership owned by tesla so i dont see that being an option anytime soon on this market

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2014, 7:25 pm

Best country in the world,
Money for baby
Free education all the way to university
Cepep/urp if you duncey

A human cant go wrong in this country

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2014, 7:34 pm

Coppershot wrote:Thanks, time to upgrade to prius or nissan leaf

so without tax what's it going to be 40% less?

Postby Gladiator » September 8th, 2014, 7:55 pm

pugboy wrote:Best country in the world,
Money for baby
Cepep/urp if you duncey

You would certainly think so eh!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 8th, 2014, 8:20 pm

Sabriel wrote:What they mean by 'Orange is the new Budget' ??

This. :/

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 8th, 2014, 8:23 pm

redmanjp, I have no idea what will be the cost.
Ask a dealer. The price might be higher since the limit is 2yrs. I wonder about the excisting honda civic hybrids roro that are over the 2yr limit.
But the 2yr limit might be a good thing.
Newer cars have better range. About 20-35% improvement over previous models.
The european market highly competitive for hybrids and evs. Check there to see what are the best options.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 8th, 2014, 8:25 pm

Super and diesel prices not changing till at least the next budget. No reason to switch to anything else at the moment despite the removal of vat and MVT.

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2014, 8:29 pm

How long now they removing tax on them CCTV cams?

Postby pioneer » September 8th, 2014, 8:45 pm

Toyota Trinidad & Tobago Limited sells brand new hybrid vehicles.

Why roro?

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2014, 8:47 pm

Budgets during my life time have all been characterized by long difficult speeches (Dr Eric Williams the master) and a 2 week period during which I try to figure out .....Wha he say?
This is really the time of the year where all kind of academics try to analyse the crap out of things not said and the population as a whole become more confused.
My views are not restricted to any one political party or contrived combination of parties.
All I am holding onto at this time is GATE intact (probably for the next 2 financial years) and students make this time count.

Postby pioneer » September 8th, 2014, 8:55 pm

When they get another 5 years next year, GATE throat will get buss.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » September 8th, 2014, 8:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:
so without tax what's it going to be 40% less?

This is what I wanna find out. Saw a mods out Prius brand new for U$30,000. Would it just be this cost plus shipping or would there also be added charges?

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2014, 9:05 pm

pioneer wrote:When they get another 5 years next year, GATE throat will get buss.

Hopefully all contenders for Govt would have to make so much promises that it going be kinda too blatant to take it away right after.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 8th, 2014, 9:06 pm

Larry Howai for PM

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2014, 9:21 pm

Just wait until the muffler men 'ketch they-self' and start to bawl that they business go buss with the dam electric thingies.
Hope people know that the purr of the engine would be replaced by the whine of the electic motor (really takes some getting used to).
The hybrid Lexus RX450 when at stand still (like at traffic light) you sometimes wont hear a thing (only engine ready light on) and you do have have to adjust some of your learned perceptions to know vehicle is ready to launch.These buggers do launch!

Postby The_Honourable » September 8th, 2014, 9:45 pm

toyolink wrote:
pioneer wrote:When they get another 5 years next year, GATE throat will get buss.

Hopefully all contenders for Govt would have to make so much promises that it going be kinda too blatant to take it away right after.

Agreed, GATE on borrowed time. They should go back to dollar for dollar and your performance would be tied to your GPA.

Below 2.5 - Student pays full cost

2.5 - 4.0 - Dollar for Dollar

If student maintains a GPA of 3.5 and up for two years - Government pays in full... and you must maintain that high GPA otherwise you at risk. This should only apply for degrees that the country needs so you sure you getting jobs. Nobody cares about a Bachelors in Carnival.

If Kamla gets another 5 years, they would tackle GATE maybe the 2nd or 3rd year far away from general elections. Super and Diesel prices might get shaft same pace.

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2014, 9:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
toyolink wrote:

Agreed, GATE on borrowed time. They should go back to dollar for dollar and your performance would be tied to your GPA.

Below 2.5 - Student pays full cost

2.5 - 4.0 - Dollar for Dollar

If student maintains a GPA of 3.5 and up for two years - Government pays in full... and you must maintain that high GPA otherwise you at risk. This should only apply for degrees that the country needs so you sure you getting jobs. Nobody cares about a Bachelors in Carnival.

If Kamla gets another 5 years, they would tackle GATE maybe the 2nd or 3rd year far away from general elections. Super and Diesel prices might get shaft same pace.

I vote you for prime minister. You talk more sense there than all of them put together for the last few years.

Postby toyolink » September 8th, 2014, 10:05 pm

More sense;
Only commercial or public transport vehicles should be allowed to access subsidised diesel.
The Ministry Of Energy would issue licenses to qualifying applicants for subsidies.
Holders of licenses would pay full price at pump and at end of month submit rebate claims to NP (which will be authorized state rep) for settlement within 30 days.
All other owners of diesel vehicles for domestic purposes will pay full pump price.
BTW, the amount diesel consumered by the 'well to do' would amaze you.

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2014, 10:16 pm

Nah nah nah, Me eh like that one about diesel. :lol:

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » September 8th, 2014, 10:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:
toyolink wrote:This was a benign budget as any election presentation would be.
The state seems to have spared us any significant damage and really what this signals is business as usual.
The problems which gnaw at us, which require tough measures are certainly not going to take centre stage at least for the next 12 months and the exchequer must be prepared to be open fisted with $$$$$$$$.
The probability of many of the measures being operational within the next three months is as always remote due to regulatory impediments.
People don't go rushing to buy hybrids and electric 'quite as yet'.

They won't...not when you still have $1.50/l and $2.70/l fuel.

cng, lower cost of hybrids, etc. is meant to give us another option so that when they eventually DO raise regular fuel we have an alternative

Thisssss

xtech

Postby xtech » September 8th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2014, 1:21 am

Money for baby
Cepep/urp if you duncey

Yep,
A budget for nags to move up, hope they make use of it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2014, 1:53 am

toyolink wrote:More sense;
Only commercial or public transport vehicles should be allowed to access subsidised diesel.
The Ministry Of Energy would issue licenses to qualifying applicants for subsidies.
Holders of licenses would pay full price at pump and at end of month submit rebate claims to NP (which will be authorized state rep) for settlement within 30 days.
All other owners of diesel vehicles for domestic purposes will pay full pump price.
THIS!

T&T is currently hemorrhaging the subsidy on diesel fuel with the great amount of family and private vehicles, pickups, SUVs etc that use diesel. Such a subsidy should be for industry and commerce, not private use!

Of course removing the subsidy, even though companies can claim it back, will result in price hikes by unscrupulous businesses.

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2014, 3:08 am

bumblebeetuna wrote:teslas like wow in trini den.. place yr order

Did they make rhd teslas? The model S is a beast though.

helpmehoutnah

Postby helpmehoutnah » September 9th, 2014, 5:32 am

Money for baby
Cepep/urp if you duncey

Pension too!!

....dey minding yuh from cradle to grave

Seeker

Postby Seeker » September 9th, 2014, 6:01 am

THIS!

T&T is currently hemorrhaging the subsidy on diesel fuel with the great amount of family and private vehicles, pickups, SUVs etc that use diesel. Such a subsidy should be for industry and commerce, not private use!

Of course removing the subsidy, even though companies can claim it back, will result in price hikes by unscrupulous businesses.

One Caribbean Muddacan

Postby One Caribbean Muddacan » September 9th, 2014, 6:12 am

Seeker wrote:
THIS!

Apalled by low levels of reasoning

would you also like us to adopt that mentality back on the cane fields without tasting the sugar?